Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: this claim recites the limitations “at least partially overlapped” in the final lines. Examiner believes the claim limitations are not clear because it does not specify how overlap is evaluated (plain view, cross-sectional, projection, etc). Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
The following is a claim comparison of the instant application and the claims of U.S. Patent 12,333,980
Application No. 19/208605
U.S. Patent No. 12,333,980
1
An electronic device, comprising:
a display panel having a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area,
wherein the display panel comprises:
a pixel disposed in the display area;
a data connection line disposed in the non-display area; and
a scan connection line disposed in the non-display area;
a data signal driving circuit, wherein the data connection line is electrically connected
between the pixel and the data signal driving circuit; and
a scan signal driving circuit, wherein the scan connection line is electrically connected
between the pixel and the scan signal driving circuit,
wherein the data connection line and the scan connection line in the non-display area are at
least partially overlapped.
1
An electronic device, comprising:
a frame; and
a transparent display device, at least partially disposed in the frame, and comprising:
a display panel comprising a display area, a non-display area adjacent to the
display area, and a plurality of pixels disposed in the display area, wherein a difference between
a transmittance of the display arca and a transmittance of the non-display arca is less than 30%
of the transmittance of the display area; and
a driving element electrically connected to the plurality of the pixels,
wherein when the transparent display device is moved to a state, the display panel is at
least partially exposed outside the frame, and the driving element is hidden inside the frame.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent 12,333,980. Applicants’ claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of U.S. Patent 12,333,980 as illustrated above The dependent claims are not patentably distinct from the Patent claims for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2020/0295117) in view of Yang (10,840,273).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches an electronic device (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4, display device), comprising: a display panel having a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area, wherein the display panel (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4, circuit area and display area including pixels) comprises: a pixel disposed in the display area (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4); a data connection line disposed in the non-display area; and a scan connection line disposed in the non-display area (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4, circuit area and display area including pixels); a data signal driving circuit (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4), wherein the data connection line is electrically connected between the pixel and the data signal driving circuit; and a scan signal driving circuit (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4, scan lines and data lines), wherein the scan connection line is electrically connected between the pixel and the scan signal driving circuit (Park: abstract and Figs 1-2 and 4).
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the data connection line and the scan connection line in the non-display area are at least partially overlapped. Yang teaches wherein the data connection line and the scan connection line in the non-display area are at least partially overlapped (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of the teachings of Yang so as to provide dense routing in the non-display area while maintaining insulation at overlaps to avoid shorts and improve reliability.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the data signal driving circuit comprises a packaged integrated circuit element (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the scan signal driving circuit comprises a packaged integrated circuit element (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, a driving integrated circuit including a gate/scan driver).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches a driving carrier board
bonded to the display panel, the data signal driving circuit is disposed on the driving carrier board (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, flexible printed circuit board in which a driving integrated circuit has been arranged.).
regarding claim 5, the combination teaches a first insulating layer,
located between the scan connection line and the data connection line (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, insulation/passivation layer at the crossover point).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches a second insulating layer
located on the first insulating layer and the data connection line (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, stacked dielectric layers around the routing stack and a crossover insulation layer at overlap points).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches a scan line and a data line,
disposed in the display area (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, scan lines and data lines disposed in the display area.).
regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the display panel further comprises another data connection line, another pixel, and another scan connection line, the another data connection line is electrically connected between the data signal driving circuit and the another pixel, and the another scan connection line is electrically connected between the scan signal driving circuit and the another pixel, and wherein the data connection line and the scan connection line are included by a first angle, and the another data connection line and the another scan connection line are included by a second angle different from the first angle (Yang: abstract and Figs. 4, 6, and 8, see also Park as discussed above, different routing orientations among different lines is disclosed and overlap routing concept is clearly taught. It would have been obvious to modify Park in view of Yang to form different angles depending upon arrangement and routing direction and provide the same predictable results.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Yang in further view of Liu et al. (2019/0012957).
Regarding claim 7, the combination does not explicitly teach the concept of wherein the pixel comprises a micro-LED. Liu teaches wherein the pixel comprises a micro-LED (Liu: abstract and Figs.1-2, micro-LEDs). They are analogous art because they deal with the same field of invention of a display device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the light-emitting element and pixel system in Park with micro-LEDs of Liu because micro-LED pixels are a known alternative emissive pixel technology.
Inquiries
/SEJOON AHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628