Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin (US 20090161326 A1, and Lin hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin discloses a mounting plate for a switch module, comprising:
a first assembly having a first plane (322, fig. 3), wherein the first plane is provided with at least one switch mounting hole (e.g., portion of 322 occupied by 316 and 322, fig. 3); and
a second assembly (horizontal tab extending from the top portion of 322, fig. 3) having a second plane (horizontal), wherein the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane (fig. 3), the second plane is provided with at least one locking hole (fig. 3), and the locking hole is perpendicular to the switch mounting hole (fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin discloses a switch module, comprising:
the mounting plate for a switch module according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above); and
an electronic switch assembly (including 312 and 316, fig. 3; “on/off switch 316”, [0024]) arranged in the switch mounting hole (fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin discloses the switch module according to claim 4, wherein the electronic switch assembly is a power switch or a socket switch (“input socket 312 and a conventional on/off switch 316”, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin discloses the switch module according to claim 4, wherein the first plane is provided with two switch mounting holes (312 and 322 in fig. 5: each one goes through 322), and the electronic switch assembly comprises a power switch and a socket switch which are respectively arranged in the two switch mounting holes (fig. 3; “input socket 312 and a conventional on/off switch 316”, [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Wang (US 20040066622 A1, and Wang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin discloses the mounting plate for a switch module according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose an edge of the first plane is provided with at least one notch.
Wang discloses an edge of a first plane (35, fig. 2) is provided with at least one notch (351, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin to incorporate the teachings of Wang so that an edge of the first plane is provided with at least one notch, in order to couple an external heat management system such as an air fan to the power supply (70, fig. 4 of Wang). This modification could be implemented by adding one or more notches at the peripheral edges of the front panel, which in the case of Lin panel 322 that supports the switch elements 316 and 322.
Claims 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Fiorentino et al. (US 20050207129 A1, and Fiorentino hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin discloses the mounting plate for a switch module according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the second assembly is provided with a give-way hole.
Fiorentino discloses a second assembly (144, fig. 4) is provided with a give-way hole (annotated figure I below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin to incorporate the teachings of Fiorentino so that the second assembly is provided with a give-way hole, in order to accommodate cables that are connected to the assembly, such as for grounding purposes, as suggested by common practices in the art and also by the shape of the cable terminal shown in annotated figure I below).
Regarding Claim 7, Lin discloses the switch module according to claim 4, further comprising a circuit board (310, fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose an electronic wire set, wherein the electronic wire set connects the electronic switch assembly and the circuit board.
Fiorentino discloses an electronic wire set (figs. 6A-6E, e.g. wires corresponding to 150 in fig. 6C), wherein the electronic wire set connects an electronic switch assembly (including 146 and 150, fig. 6B) and the circuit board (110L, fig. 6C; “Line voltage from the input socket 146 is connected through the on/off switch 150 to the input power line of the printed circuit board”, [0053]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin to incorporate the teachings of Fiorentino so that it comprises an electronic wire set, wherein the electronic wire set connects the electronic switch assembly and the circuit board, in order to establish proper electrical connection between the switch module and the circuit board of the power supply.
Regarding Claim 8, Lin discloses a power supply unit, comprising:
the switch module according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above); and
a housing (including 319 and 321, fig. 3), comprising:
a base comprising a bottom wall (321, fig. 3), a first direction side wall (319, fig. 3), and a first extension portion (horizontal tap extending from the top end of 319, fig. 3), wherein the first direction side wall is connected to the bottom wall (fig. 3), the first extension portion is perpendicularly connected to the firs direction side wall (fig. 3), the first assembly of the mounting plate is arranged parallel to the first direction side wall (fig. 3), and the second assembly of the mounting plate is locked parallel to the first extension portion (fig. 3).
Lin does not explicitly disclose an upper cover covering the first extension portion.
Fiorentino discloses an upper cover (110U, fig. 5) covering a first extension portion (horizontal tabs located at the top end of 110L, fig. 5. See also fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin to incorporate the teachings of Fiorentino so that it comprises an upper cover covering the first extension portion, in order to enclose and protect electronic components from environmental agents (“110U and 110L that fit together in a clamshell manner (to be secured together by appropriate fasteners) to thereby essentially fully enclose the power supply circuitry therein” [0051] of Fiorentino).
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841