DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by XIE (CN 109451021 A), filed March 8, 2019 (English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, XIE discloses a computer-implemented method for an automated transformation of data information (converting sensor acquired parameters to JSON format) for a field device (Terminal access device) (XIE [0008-0009] discloses a method in an Internet of things (IoT edge-side) multi-heterogeneous network access system, including a terminal access device and device and a cloud-based IoT management system, wherein the terminal access device includes a slave module and a master module. The slave module is used to acquire sensor parameters into formatted JSON) comprising:
receiving, by the field device (Terminal access device), the data information (sensor acquired parameters) sent by an entity device (Sensor) (XIE [0008-0009] discloses a management system which includes a terminal access device, wherein the terminal access device includes a slave module and a master module. IoT sensors acquire parameters that are sent to the slave module of the terminal access device);
sending, by the at least one field device (terminal access device), a transformation request (slave module sends sensor data to the cloud to be processed) containing at least the received data information (parameters received from sensors) to a transformation device (Device used to transform the parameter to JSON format) (XIE [0010] the main module is configured to receive the collected data sent by the module, and push the collected data to the cloud Internet of Things management system through the MQTT protocol. When the sensor is replaced, the main module uploads the abnormal information to the cloud Internet of Things management system);
determining, by the transformation device (Cloud IoT management system), a corresponding transformation function (JSON conversion) based on the received data information (sensor acquired parameters) (XIE [0011], the cloud IoT management system determines the reception of an abnormal information sent by the main module, then, the management system is configured to remotely configure and update the main module and the slave module according to an abnormal information sent by the main module),
wherein the transformation function (JSON conversion) is configured to transform the received data information (sensor collected parameters) from a first information format (initial format) into, a target and second information format (JSON converted format) that is processed by the field device (Terminal access device) (XIE, [0024] S202, the slave module identifies the sensor parameters collected by the sensor interface according to the upgraded program, and performs formatted JSON conversion on the collected parameters from a first format to a second format, and send the formatted JSON converted data (second format) to the main module);
providing, by the transformation device (Cloud IoT management system), the determined transformation function (JSON converted sensor acquired parameter) to the field device (Terminal access device) (XIE, [0024] S202, the cloud management system continue to run according to the upgraded program. The slave module identifies the sensor parameters collected by the sensor interface according to the upgraded program, and performs formatted JSON conversion on the collected parameters from a first format to a second format, and send the formatted JSON converted data (second format) to the terminal access device. Step - S201, [0023], providing HTTP protocol URL analyzing subscription subject program packet to the main module, the main control module sends the received package to upgrade the subscription subject program from the module through the AVR910 protocol);
executing, by the field device, the received transformation function to transform the
received data information into the second information format that can be processed by the
field device (XIE, [0024] S202, the main module and slave module continue to run according to the upgraded program. The slave module identifies the sensor parameters collected by the sensor interface according to the upgraded program, and performs formatted JSON conversion on the collected parameters from a first format to a second format, and send the formatted JSON converted data (second format) to the main module).
Regarding claim 5, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the transformation device is at least partly remote to the field device and is embodied as an edge device, a cloud-based device, or a server-based device (XIE [0008-0011] discloses edge side multi-heterogeneous network access system, the system includes a terminal access device and a cloud internet of things management system, the terminal access device includes a slave module and a master module, the slave module acquires the collected data of a sensor, uses the master module to send the cloud internet of things management system, and uses the cloud internet of things management system to remotely configure the master module and the slave module, implements a sensor that can be applied to any new communication protocol by using multiple heterogeneous networks, and performs data collection and uploading process).
Regarding claim 6, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the first information format is configured as a model-based information [0249; discloses that an edge component might convert raw sensor readings into standardized units or structured data formats like JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) compatible with endpoint systems for transmission to a cloud analytics platform via one or more application programming interface (API) calls and finally as instructions/commands to the endpoints for execution. The use of “JSON” for conversion of the sensor data implies that the first information format is configured as a “model-based information”).
Regarding claim 8, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the determined transformation function is provided as downloadable or distributable software component to the field device (XIE, [0011] the cloud-based IoT management system may be configured to remotely (Distributed) configures and upgrades the master module and slave module according to an abnormal information sent by the master module, comprising: sending URL analyzing subscription subject program by HTTP protocol packet to the main module, the main control module sends the received packet to upgrade the subscription subject program from the module through the AVR910 protocol, the main module and continuing to operate according to the upgrading program from the module).
Regarding claim 9, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein executing is performed whenever required to enable a data flow between the field device (Terminal access device) and the entity device (IoT device) (XIE fig. 1, [0045] discloses an Internet of things in a multiple heterogeneous network access system, comprising a terminal access device and network management system, a terminal access device comprises a module and a main module, a slave module, for the sensor interface collecting sensor parameter, and collecting the parameter JSON formatted and the formatting of the collecting data JSON conversion and sends it to main module, and receiving the control instruction transmitted by the main module and executing the received command. At step 101, sensors are used to monitor and collect parameters from the sensor interface module and the collected parameters are converted into a JSON format compatible to IoT devices, thus, ensuring communication of parameters between field devices and other entities whenever required).
Regarding claim 10, XIE discloses a computer comprising a processor configured to perform a computer-implemented method for an automated transformation of data information for a field device (XIE [0014] discloses the main module of a system includes an ARM processor connected to an Ethernet communication circuit for communicating data between field devices and other entities), comprising:
The rest of the limitations of claim 1 are rejected with rational similar to that of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE (CN 109451021 A), filed March 8, 2019 (English translation attached), in view of Gill et al. (US 2023/0283668 A1).
Regarding claim 2, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, but did not explicitly disclose wherein after the obtaining the data information, the method includes validating the received data information, by the field device, and determining whether the field device is capable of processing the received data information.
Gill discloses wherein after the obtaining the data information (raw sensor data), the method includes validating the received data information (converting sensor data into formats compatible with cloud systems), by the field device (IoT), and determining whether the field device (IoT), is capable of processing the received data information (instructions/commands) (Gill, fig. 2, [0014-0015] a plurality of sensors 202 are used to collect data that may be used to control IoTs. Data collected by the sensors are sent to an interpreter/converter where the data is converted into common human-readable and machine-readable data formats such as the well-known JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) data format that is compatible to the human and machine communication. In the downlink, the human-readable information is converted into machine-readable sensor data compatible with the sensors).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine XIE and Gill because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for providing control command to IoTs.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Gill into the invention of XIE. The motivation would have been to enable the use blueprints to determine how interpreter/converter functions when converting sensor data to human readable formatted information in the uplink, and when converting human readable formatted information to sensor compatible machine-readable byte array data in the downlink, Gill, [Abstract].
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE (CN 109451021 A), filed March 8, 2019 (English translation attached), in view of Wei et al. (CN 115460299 A), filed December 9, 2022 (English translation attached)
Regarding claim 3, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, but did not explicitly disclose wherein the transformation request contains a device information about the field device.
CHEN discloses wherein the transformation request contains a device information (attribute information of the device) about the field device (IoT device – smoke detector) (CHEN [0010] discloses a system obtaining attribute information of the device to be connected from the device server and reports the attribute information of the device to be connected to the Internet of Things platform. At step 104, the field device may be defined as an oil smoke detector, where the attributes may be temperature, humidity, noise, etc.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine XIE and CHEN because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for providing control command to IoTs.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by CHEN into the invention of XIE. The motivation would have been to enable obtaining attribute information of the device to be accessed from the device server, and reporting the attribute information of a device to be accessed to the internet of things platform. The solution of the invention realizes the device access by the protocol adaptation program developed for the device to be accessed, the protocol adaptation program is decoupled with the IOT platform, the code coupling is reduced, CHEN, [Abstract].
Regarding claim 4, XIE modified by CHEN discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the device information is at least one of: data model information, type of the device, and/or functionality of the field device (CHEN, [0018 -0027] obtaining the access device list corresponding to the device type identification. The target device list comprises the factory identification of the candidate device, the access device list comprises the access device of the factory identification, the comparison of the target device list and the access device list to determine the device to be accessed, comprising: comparing the factory identification of the candidate device in the target device list with the factory identification of the accessed device in the accessed device list, so as to determine the device to be accessed from the candidate device).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 3.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE (CN 109451021 A), filed March 8, 2019 (English translation attached), in view of Moon (US 2023/0231909 A1).
Regarding claim 7, XIE discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, but did not explicitly disclose wherein the determined transformation function is configured as an executable container or a virtual image that includes a translation capability or a translation functionality required by the field device.
Moon discloses wherein the determined transformation function is configured as an executable container or a virtual image that includes a translation capability or a translation functionality required by the field device (Moon [0026] discloses the establishment of a secure cohort connections as an aggregation of the two-way relationships between all the trusted network devices of the trusted network entities, by the secure executable containers, enables each target IoT device within a trusted IoT entity to securely share cohort interface element definitions based on exchanging encrypted messages using the cohort key pairs. The cohort interface element definitions provide an ontological specification of executable IoT device commands that enable any trusted network entity (e.g., a trusted human user, a trusted IoT entity comprising one or more trusted IoT devices, etc.) to establish a human-to-machine or machine-to-machine (M2M) command interface for secure retrieval (via encrypted messages) of a sensor data value from the target IoT device, and/or secure generation and transmission (via encrypted messages) of one or more IoT commands to the target IoT device).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine XIE and Moon because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for providing control command to IoTs.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Moon into the invention of XIE. The motivation would have been to enable establishing a two-way trusted relationship between the network device and a target network device; obtains, based on the two-way trusted relationship, cohort interface element definition describing commands executable by the target network device, Moon, [Abstract].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following publications show the state of the art related to translating sensor collected parameters to a format compatible with field devices.
Davidoff (US 2026/0086519 A1)
/D.F.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/GLENFORD J MADAMBA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451