Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.-An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. 2 Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. (FP 7.30.05) 3. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim 12 includes three limitations that do not use “means” but are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). In each limitation, “unit” serves as a generic placeholder, while “modeling,” “correction,” or “reconstruction” identifies an operation rather than a particular structural device. The determination is based on each complete limitation and its context, rather than on the use of “unit” or “configured to” alone. The limitations are:
Modeling unit: “a modeling unit configured to generate a theoretical model which represents an oscillating structure of a magnetic field generation unit based on an echo-planar sequence that is to be applied, wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents are induced in the oscillating structure and produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in an examination region, and to determine the gradient-type interference magnetic field based on the theoretical model;”
Correction unit: “a correction unit configured to determine corrected magnetic resonance raw data based on the magnetic resonance raw data and based on the determined gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region;”
Reconstruction unit: “a reconstruction unit configured to reconstruct magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data.”
The following combined table separately applies all three prongs to each identified limitation of claim 12:
The 3-prong Analysis for Claim Limitation: the limitation “a modeling unit configured to generate …”, “a correction unit configured to determine corrected magnetic resonance raw data based on the magnetic resonance raw data ..” and “a reconstruction unit configured to reconstruct magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data..” are theoretical model which represents an oscillating structure of a magnetic field generation unit based on an echo-planar sequence that is to be applied, wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents are induced in the oscillating structure and produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in an examination region, and to determine the gradient-type interference magnetic field based on the theoretical model;” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Its entire function includes generating the specified sequence-based structural model and determining the gradient-type interference field from that model, including the recited oscillation-to-current-to-field relationship..”
Met
Prong A
The term “unit” is a generic placeholder. “Correction”, “reconstruction” or “modeling” identifies the operation, rather than a definite type of circuitry or other structural device. Paragraph [0023] permits implementation as software in a processor; paragraph [0065] identifies unit 3 by its correction function.
YES
Prong B
The phrase “configured to” links “unit” to reconstructing image data from the corrected raw data.
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
All three prongs are met for each identified limitation. Accordingly, the presumption against applying 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is overcome for these limitations.
7. For the modeling-unit limitation, the corresponding disclosure is modeling unit 3a in paragraph [0062], implemented by a processor as permitted by paragraph [0023] and programmed with the disclosed modeling procedure. Paragraph [0031] describes an attenuated harmonic oscillator through natural frequency and attenuation. Paragraph [0056] determines the echo-to-echo interval from an initial reference recording. Paragraph [0057] uses that interval to generate the harmonic mechanical model and estimate the eddy-current contribution to the field and phase response as a function of k-space line and excitation frequency. Paragraph [0058] uses the modeled contributions in the extended field and phase correction. The limitation covers the processor programmed to perform that disclosed procedure and its statutory equivalents.
8. For the correction-unit limitation, the corresponding disclosure is correction unit 3 in paragraph [0065], implemented by a processor as permitted by paragraph [0023] and programmed with the disclosed phase-correction procedure. Paragraph [0058] calculates corrected field and phase values for each k-space line from reference estimates and modeled contributions. Paragraph [0059] performs raw-data phase correction using those corrected values. Paragraph [0028] links correction of the scanned signal phase to the theoretical model. The limitation covers the processor programmed to perform that disclosed correction procedure and its statutory equivalents.
For the reconstruction-unit limitation, the associated disclosure is reconstruction unit 4 in paragraph [0066] and Figure 6, together with the processor-based implementation permitted by paragraph [0023]. Paragraphs [0015] and [0022] likewise state the reconstruction result. These passages identify corrected raw data as the input and image data as the output but do not sufficiently identify the programmed procedure performing the conversion. Sufficient corresponding programmed structure for the entire reconstruction function therefore cannot be identified. The resulting deficiencies are addressed separately under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Applicant may amend the identified limitations to recite sufficient supported structure performing their entire functions, or present a sufficient showing that the limitations already recite sufficiently definite structure to avoid interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Any amendment must comply with the prohibition against new matter. Applicant’s intent alone does not control the interpretation. See MPEP §§ 2181 and 2187, including form paragraph 7.30.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The disclosure does not describe the reconstruction-unit limitation in sufficient detail to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor possessed the claimed corresponding programmed structure at the time the application was filed.
The limitation “a reconstruction unit configured to reconstruct magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), for the reasons stated above. Its entire function is reconstructing magnetic resonance image data from corrected magnetic resonance raw data. For the disclosed processor-based implementation, the corresponding structure includes the processor programmed to perform that reconstruction function.
Paragraph [0023] permits software modules in a processor. Paragraph [0066] identifies reconstruction unit 4 and states that it reconstructs image data BD from corrected raw data KRD. Paragraphs [0015] and [0022] likewise identify the desired reconstruction operation. These passages specify the computing environment, input, and output, but do not sufficiently describe the computational procedure that converts KRD into BD. Figure 6 supplies the component and data connections without identifying that procedure.
The modeling and phase-correction procedures in paragraphs [0056]–[0059] determine the model and correct the raw data; they do not identify the subsequent image-reconstruction procedure performed by unit 4. The background discussion of GRAPPA reference recordings describes a conventional correction approach, but does not clearly associate a complete reconstruction procedure with unit 4 in the claimed system. Read together and from the perspective of one of ordinary skill in the art, these disclosures do not identify an express or sufficiently implicit reconstruction procedure associated with that unit.
The deficiency concerns the absence of sufficiently described programmed structure for the claimed reconstruction function. Source code or a particular reconstruction technique is not required. A description in prose, mathematical expressions, a flowchart, or another understandable form may suffice when it identifies the operative procedure and associates that procedure with the claimed function. An ordinarily skilled person’s ability to devise suitable software does not, by itself, establish that the application describes the corresponding programmed structure possessed by the inventor at filing. See MPEP § 2181, subsections II.B and IV, and § 2163.03, subsection VI.
Examiner Note
Claim 1 recites reconstruction as a method act and does not incorporate claim 12’s reconstruction-unit limitation. Accordingly, the corresponding-structure deficiency identified for claim 12 does not automatically apply to claim 1. Claim 1 remains subject to independent written-description and enablement review under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). No separate rejection of claim 1 is made on this ground because omission of a reconstruction algorithm, without additional claim-specific findings, has not established inadequate support for its method. No separate enablement rejection is made.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a reconstruction unit configured to reconstruct magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data.” As interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), this limitation requires corresponding structure performing its entire reconstruction function. Reconstructing image data from corrected raw data requires programming that implements the conversion. That function is not merely receiving or storing data and cannot be performed by an unprogrammed general-purpose processor. The generic processor disclosure in paragraph [0023] therefore does not, by itself, supply sufficient corresponding structure.
Paragraphs [0015], [0022], and [0066] state the reconstruction result but do not sufficiently identify the computational procedure performing it. Figures 4 and 5 disclose the reference, modeling, extended-correction, and phase-correction stages. Figure 6 shows unit 4 receiving KRD and producing BD but does not disclose how that conversion is performed. As explained above, the separate GRAPPA background discussion does not clearly associate a complete reconstruction procedure with unit 4. The disclosure therefore does not sufficiently identify the corresponding programmed structure, expressly or implicitly, that performs the entire claimed function.
Because sufficient corresponding reconstruction structure cannot be identified, the structure and statutory equivalents defining the scope of this limitation cannot be determined. Understanding the stated function does not supply the missing corresponding programmed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, namely an abstract idea, without significantly more.
Representative claim 1 recites: A method for performing magnetic resonance imaging of an examination region using an echo-planar sequence, comprising: generating a theoretical model which represents an oscillating structure of a magnetic field generation unit based on the echo-planar sequence, wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents which produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region are induced in the oscillating structure; determining the gradient-type interference magnetic field based on the theoretical model; applying the echo-planar sequence; receiving magnetic resonance signals from the examination region, wherein magnetic resonance raw data is generated based on the magnetic resonance signals; determining corrected magnetic resonance raw data based on the generated magnetic resonance raw data and based on the determined gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region; and reconstructing magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data.
The limitations treated as reciting the abstract idea are highlighted in bold above. The remaining language is considered as additional elements and constraints. The physical application of the EPI sequence and receipt of MR signals are not treated as mental acts.
Step 1 - Statutory Category
Under Step 1, the claimed subject matter is evaluated to determine whether it falls within a statutory category: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Claim 1 recites a series of acts and therefore falls within the process category. Claims 2–11 further limit that process and also satisfy Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong One - Judicial Exception
Under Step 2A, Prong One, the claim is evaluated to determine whether it recites a judicial exception. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the highlighted limitations encompass preparing a representation of a physical response, determining values from that representation, correcting supplied numerical signal values, and deriving image-data values. These operations fall within the mental-process grouping to the extent explained below. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Mental processes
The claim does not require a computer, a particular modeling algorithm, a minimum raw-data matrix size, or completion of the calculations within a specified time. A person can prepare a simplified structural-response model on paper from the EPI timing and structural parameters, evaluate its response at selected sample times, determine the corresponding interference-field values, adjust a finite set of supplied raw-data values, and calculate corresponding image-data values. The specification permits a harmonic model described by natural frequency and attenuation in paragraph [0031]. This is a concrete example of paper-based evaluation encompassed by the functional language.
The mental-process finding concerns the representation and evaluation of the physical phenomenon and the numerical data. It does not concern mentally producing an MRI magnetic field or mentally receiving a physical MR signal. Nor does the finding assume that a human can reconstruct every clinical image mentally at scanner speed. The claim contains no required resolution or computational deadline that excludes the practical paper-based embodiments described above. Generic computer implementation, where used, does not remove those operations from the mental-process grouping.
Mathematical concepts
The numerical modeling and correction may involve mathematics, but a possible mathematical implementation alone is not a separate basis for finding a mathematical concept in claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 rests on its coverage of the mental evaluation described above. Claim 5 expressly narrows the model to an attenuated harmonic oscillator and is separately addressed as reciting the corresponding mathematical relationship. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea under the mental-process grouping.
Step 2A, Prong Two - Practical Application
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements are evaluated individually and in combination with the exception to determine whether the claim integrates the exception into a practical application. No finding of well-understood, routine, conventional activity is used in this prong.
The additional elements include “applying the echo-planar sequence;” and “receiving magnetic resonance signals from the examination region, wherein magnetic resonance raw data is generated based on the magnetic resonance signals;”. These limitations perform the physical acquisition supplying the data for the recited evaluation. The MRI examination region, magnetic-field-generation unit, and specified oscillation-induced eddy-current source constrain the environment and subject of that evaluation.
The required relationship “wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents which produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region are induced in the oscillating structure;” has been considered. It identifies the particular physical error represented by the model. The requirement that the predicted field be used to determine corrected raw data also has been considered. The claim nevertheless states the modeling and correction in terms of the information to be used and the result to be obtained, without reciting a particular rule for converting modeled structural displacement into induced current, converting current into a spatial field, or applying the field to individual acquired samples.
Specification paragraphs [0013]–[0017] and [0028] describe improved imaging and reduced ghosts. Those benefits are relevant, but claim 1 reaches any calculation producing corrected raw data from the selected field model. Its acquisition steps supply the values to that calculation, and its final operation derives an image-data result. The claim does not recite a specific acquisition change driven by the model or a particular correction procedure that restricts how the asserted improvement is achieved. The issue is the scope of the recited solution, rather than the absence of new hardware or the absence of express improvement wording. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(f).
Considered as an ordered combination, the sequence acquires MR data, evaluates the selected physical-error representation, and calculates corrected and reconstructed data. The hardware serves to supply the measurement data; the asserted improvement is expressed as the result of the abstract evaluation. The required use of the calculated field gives the evaluation an MRI purpose but does not supply the particular technical procedure missing from the functional calculation limitations. On this interpretation, the acquisition is insignificant data gathering and the image-data calculation is the output of the evaluation. The additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Claim 1 therefore requires analysis under Step 2B.
Step 2B - Significantly More
Under Step 2B, the additional elements are evaluated individually and as an ordered combination to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The data-acquisition limitations considered as extra-solution activity in Prong Two are reconsidered here. The evidence below concerns established physical acquisition and the generic imaging environment. Its discussion of reconstruction provides context; conventional reconstruction alone is not treated as dispositive of the claim, and the applicant’s particular model is not asserted to be conventional.
Weng et al. (U.S. 2008/0089570 A1, published April 17, 2008), paragraph [0004], describes EPI gradient-echo acquisition and Fourier reconstruction of k-space data in its discussion of prior art. Paragraph [0006] identifies phase correction and other existing artifact-correction approaches; paragraph [0007] describes reference echoes supplying a correction applied to collected image data. These passages characterize established acquisition, correction-data collection, and reconstruction practices, rather than merely presenting a similar new invention.
Feiweier (U.S. 2007/0055137 A1, published March 8, 2007), paragraph [0004], states that MR imaging had been successfully used for more than fifteen years and describes RF excitation and reception coils. Paragraph [0005] describes digitized k-space storage and Fourier reconstruction. Paragraph [0013] identifies two prevalent EPI phase-correction strategies. This background supports widespread use of the recited generic acquisition and image-generation functions before the claimed effective filing date.
The additional physical operations supply acquired values to the model-based evaluation. In their ordered interaction with the exception, they do not specify a different acquisition procedure or a structural arrangement implementing the calculation; they provide the measurements on which it operates. The structural-motion and eddy-current relationship limits the physical phenomenon evaluated but does not itself recite another implementation step. The selected model and numerical evaluation cannot supply the inventive concept merely because they may be novel. This conclusion does not infer a conventional combination from conventional parts. It rests on the established measurement operations and their claimed data-supply role in the complete arrangement. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(d) and 2106.07(a), subsection III.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination with the exception, do not amount to significantly more. Claim 1 is not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent Claims
Each dependent claim is evaluated separately below. Claims 7 and 8 incorporate claim 6 as well as claim 1. The remaining dependent claims incorporate claim 1 directly. The analyses consider each added limitation at Prong One, Prong Two, and Step 2B.
Claim 2 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the theoretical model comprises a mechanical model that describes mechanical oscillatory characteristics of the magnetic field generation unit with which the magnetic resonance imaging is performed.” The mechanical model narrows the subject of the representation and evaluation to the imaging unit’s oscillatory characteristics. Under Prong One, those characteristics can be represented and evaluated in the paper-based embodiment described for claim 1. Under Prong Two, this feature does not specify an operative correction rule or a change to the acquisition apparatus. Under Step 2B, it elaborates the recited abstract model; the additional physical acquisition retains the role and established implementation addressed for claim 1. The complete claim does not supply significantly more. Claim 2 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 3 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the determination of the corrected magnetic resonance raw data comprises a phase correction.” Under Prong One, correcting numerical phase values encompasses paper-based subtraction or adjustment of a phase error. Under Prong Two, naming phase correction does not specify the rule by which the modeled field is converted into the correction applied to a sample. Under Step 2B, Weng, paragraph [0006], expressly identifies phase correction among prior-art practices, and paragraph [0007] describes its application to acquired data. The feature narrows the calculated quantity but does not add a particular implementation supplying significantly more. Claim 3 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 4 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the eddy currents comprise fast-decaying eddy currents having a time constant between 0.1 and 10 ms.” The time-constant range identifies the physical currents represented in the model. Under Prong One, it limits the parameters and subject of the evaluation; the range itself is not characterized as a mental act. Under Prong Two, it does not prescribe how the currents are measured, controlled, or converted into a particular raw-data correction. Under Step 2B, the range is considered with the entire model and acquisition arrangement, but adds no operative implementation beyond evaluating that selected physical response. No unsupported finding that this particular range was conventional is made. The additional measurement steps remain those addressed for claim 1. Claim 4 does not supply significantly more and is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 5 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the theoretical model of the oscillating structure comprises an attenuated harmonic oscillator.” Under Prong One, an attenuated harmonic oscillator specifies a mathematical oscillation relationship characterized by frequency and attenuation, as explained in specification paragraph [0031]. Selecting and evaluating that relationship can also be performed on paper for finite sample values. Under Prong Two, the named model restricts the calculation but does not specify a particular conversion of the computed response into the acquired-data correction. Under Step 2B, the mathematical relationship is part of the exception; no separate inventive implementation is added to the physical acquisition addressed for claim 1. Claim 5 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 6 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the echo-planar sequence comprises a reference measurement for a phase change.” The physical reference measurement is an additional element, not a mental act. Under Prong One, the parent’s evaluation remains the exception. Under Prong Two, the measurement gathers phase information for the evaluation without specifying a different acquisition mechanism or correction rule. Under Step 2B, Feiweier, paragraph [0013], identifies reference-based correction strategies as prevalent, and paragraph [0016] describes the pre-image phase-correction scan. Acquiring reference information alongside the imaging data supplies inputs to the same evaluation and does not add significantly more in the claimed arrangement. Claim 6 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 7 incorporates the complete limitations and analyses of claims 1 and 6 and adds “the reference measurement for the phase change comprises a complete reference recording of k-space.” Consistent with specification paragraph [0033], the complete reference recording includes the full reference readout without phase encoding. Under Prong One, the parent’s evaluation remains the exception. Under Prong Two, acquiring the complete reference increases the data supplied without specifying the missing correction implementation. Under Step 2B, Feiweier, paragraph [0014], describes the full reference readout as a prevalent strategy identified in paragraph [0013]; paragraph [0051] specifies the k-matrix line count for that method. Thus, the added acquisition is an established reference-data collection practice in the claimed use, and the complete combination does not add significantly more. Claim 7 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 8 incorporates the complete limitations and analyses of claims 1 and 6 and adds “the reference measurement for the phase change takes place in steady state.” Steady state is the settled mechanical response described in specification paragraph [0034]. Under Prong One, this physical acquisition condition is additional to the parent’s abstract evaluation. Under Prong Two, it selects the state in which reference data are gathered without specifying how the model is fitted or its field is applied to a sample. Under Step 2B, specification paragraph [0007] expressly describes conventional reference recordings made in the steady or identical mechanical state of the gradient system. That admission supports the established acquisition condition; it does not establish conventionality of the applicant’s complete model. Combined with the parent limitations, the condition improves the input’s relevance but adds no particular implementation beyond the selected data gathering and evaluation. Claim 8 does not supply significantly more and is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 9 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the echo-planar sequence comprises an initial reference measurement for identifying drift effects.” Under Prong One, identifying drift from reference values encompasses comparing an initial value with a baseline; the physical measurement itself is additional. Under Prong Two, the claim states the measurement’s purpose but no particular drift-identification or acquisition-control procedure. Under Step 2B, Feiweier, paragraphs [0016] and [0017], describes pre-image reference scans as an existing approach used to respond to changes during an acquisition series. The claimed initial collection and drift evaluation add information gathering and numerical evaluation to the parent’s arrangement. No distinct implementation supplying significantly more is recited. Claim 9 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 10 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the echo-planar sequence comprises a reference measurement for a phase change, a temporal echo-to-echo interval is determined based on the reference measurement, and the theoretical model is determined based on the temporal echo-to-echo interval.” Under Prong One, determining an interval from reference echo times and using that value to determine the model encompasses paper-based subtraction and selection or parameterization of a model. The reference-to-interval-to-model dependency is expressly considered. Under Prong Two, the dependency specifies the calculation input but no particular method for estimating the interval or translating it into the model response and sample correction. Under Step 2B, the additional physical phase-reference acquisition is the established practice described by Feiweier, paragraphs [0016] and [0017]. The interval-to-model calculation is treated as part of the exception, without asserting that this particular calculation was conventional. As an ordered combination, the claim supplies a measured parameter to the same broadly claimed evaluation and does not add significantly more. Claim 10 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Claim 11 incorporates claim 1 and adds “the echo-planar sequence comprises a reference measurement for a phase change, which includes a scan of at least three reference lines.” Under Prong One, the physical scan is additional to the parent’s evaluation. Under Prong Two, the line-count requirement defines the reference data gathered without specifying the computational correction procedure. Under Step 2B, Feiweier, paragraph [0017], describes the typical three-half-wave reference acquisition. Specification paragraph [0008] also identifies conventional internal correction using three reference lines. The required minimum encompasses that established acquisition. Combined with the model-based evaluation of claim 1, this collection supplies additional input data and does not add significantly more. Claim 11 is rejected on the same statutory ground.
Accordingly, claims 1–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Each dependent claim retains the recited exception and does not add a practical application or significantly more for the individual reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feiweier (U.S. 2007/0055137 A1, published March 8, 2007) in view of Kimmlingen (U.S. 2006/0076954 A1, published April 13, 2006).
Regarding claim 1, Feiweier discloses in Fig. 2 below, a method for performing magnetic resonance imaging of an examination region using an echo-planar sequence (see [0020], EPI acquisition and Nyquist-ghost correction), comprising: generating a theoretical model (see [0071], a calculated driven, damped harmonic-oscillator response); based on the echo-planar sequence (see [0064], correction curves determined from the readout pulse shape, amplitude, duration, and frequency); applying the echo-planar sequence (see [0065], diagnostic EPI measurement); receiving magnetic resonance signals from the examination region, wherein magnetic resonance raw data is generated based on the magnetic resonance signals (see [0056], acquired complex MR signals form the phase-coded data set); determining corrected magnetic resonance raw data based on the generated magnetic resonance raw data (see [0066], correction of the acquired data set); and reconstructing magnetic resonance image data based on the corrected magnetic resonance raw data (see [0066], Fourier reconstruction of the corrected data set).
Feiweier does not expressly disclose which represents an oscillating structure of a magnetic field generation unit; wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents which produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region are induced in the oscillating structure;; determining the gradient-type interference magnetic field based on the theoretical model;; or and based on the determined gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region;.
Kimmlingen discloses which represents an oscillating structure of a magnetic field generation unit (see [0045], a mass, spring, and damper model of the basic-field magnet and oscillating cold shield); wherein as a result of an oscillation of the oscillating structure, eddy currents (see [0043], relative motion of the conductive cold shield in the basic field generates eddy currents); which produce a gradient-type interference magnetic field in the examination region (see [0050], the current distribution produces a gradient-like disturbance in the imaging area); are induced in the oscillating structure (see [0020], the currents are induced on the deflected cold shield itself); and determining the gradient-type interference magnetic field based on the theoretical model (see [0050], calculation of the disturbance from the current path and density as a function of vibration frequency and amplitude).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Feiweier’s EPI correction by incorporating Kimmlingen’s structural motion-and-current model and using its calculated gradient disturbance to determine the phase or echo-position correction for the acquired raw data, as doing so would provide a correction based on the modeled motion-induced interference field because Kimmlingen discloses in paragraph [0050] that the current path and density permit calculation of a gradient-like disturbance in the imaging area as a function of vibration frequency and amplitude, thus supplying the predicted encoding error used to correct Feiweier’s raw data before Fourier reconstruction. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Feiweier’s oscillator-based correction accepts simulated or analytically determined echo errors, and the structural field model can be evaluated for the EPI readout drive to supply those errors.
As to claim 2, incorporating the analysis of claim 1, Feiweier discloses a driven, damped harmonic-oscillator approximation of the resonant MRI system (see [0071]).
Feiweier does not expressly disclose the theoretical model comprises a mechanical model that describes mechanical oscillatory characteristics of the magnetic field generation unit with which the magnetic resonance imaging is performed.
Kimmlingen discloses the theoretical model comprises a mechanical model that describes mechanical oscillatory characteristics of the magnetic field generation unit with which the magnetic resonance imaging is performed (see [0045], the basic-field magnet is modeled using masses, springs, dampers, and sinusoidal cold-shield motion).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to implement Feiweier’s structural-response calculation using Kimmlingen’s mechanical model, as doing so would provide motion estimates reflecting the imaging hardware’s oscillatory characteristics because Kimmlingen discloses in paragraph [0033] that component masses and structural spring and damping constants are used to calculate movement in the basic magnetic field, thus supplying the motion input for the induced-current and gradient-field calculation in the claim 1 combination. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the calculated motion is the input required by that field model.
As to claim 3, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses the determination of the corrected magnetic resonance raw data comprises a phase correction (see [0058], multiplication of the acquired signals by a complex phase-correction factor).
As to claim 4, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses wherein the eddy currents comprise fast-decaying eddy currents having a time constant between 0.1 and 10 ins (see [0053]).
As to claim 5, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses the theoretical model of the oscillating structure comprises an attenuated harmonic oscillator (see [0071], the resonant MRI system is approximated by a driven, damped harmonic oscillator).
As to claim 6, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses the echo-planar sequence comprises a reference measurement for a phase change (see [0034], an initial phase correction in the EPI measurement precedes the progression-curve correction).
As to claim 7, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 6, wherein Feiweier further discloses the reference measurement for the phase change comprises a complete reference recording of k-space (see [0051], method A acquires the complete k-matrix line-count of reference echoes).
As to claim 8, Feiweier discloses phase correction using reference data having the same asymmetries as the subsequent imaging data (see [0012]).
Feiweier does not expressly disclose the reference measurement for the phase change takes place in steady state.
Kimmlingen discloses a mechanical model that calculates component motion using masses and structural spring and damping constants (see [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to acquire Feiweier’s phase reference after sufficient readout-gradient conditioning cycles selected using Kimmlingen’s mechanical model, as doing so would provide a reference representative of the settled imaging response because Kimmlingen discloses in paragraph [0033] that component motion is calculated using structural spring and damping constants, from which decay of the transient under the periodic EPI drive can be predicted, thus permitting selection of settling cycles that reduce the reference-to-image phase mismatch. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the same structure is subjected to the same periodic drive during conditioning, reference acquisition, and imaging.
As to claim 9, incorporating the analysis of claim 1, Feiweier discloses the echo-planar sequence comprises an initial reference measurement (see [0017], a pre-image phase and echo-position reference responds to changes during a longer acquisition series).
Feiweier does not expressly disclose for identifying drift effects.
Kimmlingen discloses drift effects (see calibration of the known mechanical model to adapt it to the existing situation, see [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to compare Feiweier’s initial-reference estimates with the existing correction baseline and calibrate the model as taught by Kimmlingen, as doing so would identify drift affecting the model-based correction because Kimmlingen discloses in paragraph [0042] that the mechanical model can be calibrated and adapted to the existing situation, thus using a detected change in phase or echo position to maintain a representative correction during an extended EPI acquisition series. One skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the reference measures the phase and echo position affected by the modeled field, and the model permits calibration to the changed response.
As to claim 11, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses the echo-planar sequence comprises a reference measurement for a phase change, which includes a scan of at least three reference lines (see [0017], three successive readout half-waves acquire reference echoes for phase and echo-position evaluation).
As to claim 13, Feiweier & Kimmlingen disclose the analysis of claim 1, wherein Feiweier further discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (see [0065], wherein EPI measurements that is stored in the computer of the MRT system and can be immediately internally accessed for a diagnostic measurement in order to be able, also see claim 19).
Examiner’s Note
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth above. However, no rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest determining a temporal echo-to-echo interval based on the reference measurement for a phase change and determining the theoretical model based on that interval, in combination with all limitations of claim 1. This favorable prior-art finding does not overcome the outstanding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 and does not establish that claim 10 is allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 9,301,706 B2 to Takai et al. disclose a magnetic resonance imaging system uses a first RF coil for acquiring a magnetic resonance signal from a subject, and a device for estimating a cardiac phase of the subject based on the magnetic resonance signal acquired by the first RF coil. The first RF coil, for example, can be an RF coil exclusive to cardiac phase estimation. The magnetic resonance imaging system also uses a second RF coil for acquiring a magnetic resonance signal based on the estimated cardiac phase, and a device for reconstructing a magnetic resonance image of the subject based on the magnetic resonance signal acquired by the second RF coil. Thus, MRA can be performed by estimating a cardiac phase.
U.S. 2012/0245453 A1 to Tryggestad et al. disclose a method of dynamic imaging and resolving respiratory motion includes acquiring volume data for a volume over a plurality of respiratory cycles, acquiring respiratory data representative of respiration over the plurality of respiratory cycles, dividing each respiratory cycle of the plurality of respiratory cycles into a set of respiratory intervals based on the respiratory data, and displaying a respective composite three-dimensional image of the volume for each respiratory interval based on the volume data acquired during the respiratory interval from each respiratory cycle of the plurality of respiratory cycles.
U.S. 5,810,727 to Groen discloses a magnetic resonance method for imaging a part of a body which is arranged in a steady magnetic field, magnetic resonance signals are measured utilizing an initial read gradient and an alternating read gradient. The method can be used, for example for phase contrast angiography and for flow velocity measurements in a body of a patient. In order to counteract artifacts in the image due to inhomogeneities of the steady magnetic field, the time elapsing between an excitation RF pulse exciting spins in the part of the body and the initial read gradient is varied in successive pulse sequences. However, this causes artifacts in the fluid flow images due to the phase error which itself is caused by the spins flowing in the direction of the gradient field. In order to counteract these artifacts, the first-order moment of the initial read gradient and a first order lobe of the alternating read gradient is kept substantially constant in each pulse sequence.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858