DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2009/0177050 A1; pub. Jul. 9, 2009) in view of Gregerson et al. (US 2020/0268332 A1; pub. Aug. 27, 2020) and further in view of Boucher et al. (US 2023/0030367 A1; Feb. 2, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Griffiths et al. disclose: An X-ray CT apparatus (para. [0052]) comprising:
a gantry including a hollow into which a subject is inserted, an X-ray tube configured to emit X-rays to the hollow, and an X-ray detector configured to detect X-rays passed through the hollow (in fig.2 a patient is placed on the bed 204 and moved into the opening of 201 for image acquisition); an injection path through which a medical fluid is injected into the subject (fig.2, 7a, 7b, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12a, 12b, 13 show that the injector can be placed anywhere on the gantry or the patient bed).
Griffiths et al. are silent about: a supporter configured to support the gantry and move the gantry in a vertical direction; and
an injection path through which a medical fluid is injected into the subject from at least one of an upper side and a lower side in the vertical direction of the gantry.
In a similar field of endeavor Gregerson et al. disclose: a supporter configured to support the gantry and move the gantry in a vertical direction (fig.1 items 801, 101, 102) motivated by the benefits for a multiaxial gantry.
In light of the benefits for a multiaxial gantry, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gantry of Griffiths et al. with the teachings of Gregerson et al.
Gregerson et al. are silent about: an injection path through which a medical fluid is injected into the subject from at least one of an upper side and a lower side in the vertical direction of the gantry.
In a similar field of endeavor Boucher et al. disclose: an injection path through which a medical fluid is injected into the subject from multiple directions (para. [0040], [0088] teaches multiple fluidic lines that can be arranged upwardly & downwardly, para. [0054] the fluidic lines are for percutaneous intervention to supply medicine to a patient, para. [0071] teaches each cassette is attached to a flexible support, para. [0087] teaches that cassettes include a fluidic line) motivated by the benefits for scalable injection paths.
In light of the benefits for scalable injection paths, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gantry of Griffiths et al. and Gregerson et al. using the teachings of Boucher et al. to have the fluidic medical paths to be from at least one of an upper side and a lower side in the vertical direction of the gantry.
Regarding claim 2, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: the supporter includes a coupler configured to be coupled with the gantry, and the coupler rotates the gantry in a tilt direction (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see fig.4A-4C of Gregerson et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: processing circuitry configured to control which of a first injection path as an injection path on an upper side in the vertical direction of the gantry and a second injection path as an injection path on a lower side in the vertical direction of the gantry is used for injecting a medical fluid into the subject (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0056]-[0058] of Boucher et al., the para. teach controlling the injection site/line).
Regarding claim 5, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: the processing circuitry
detects air from an inside of at least one of a first tube on a side of an injection apparatus configured to inject the medical fluid into the subject and a second tube on the subject side on the injection path, and
does not inject the medical fluid into the subject when air is detected from the inside of at least one of the first tube and the second tube (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0081] of Griffiths et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: processing circuitry configured to notify which of a first injection path as an injection path on an upper side in the vertical direction of the gantry and a second injection path as an injection path on a lower side in the vertical direction of the gantry is used for injecting the medical fluid into the subject based on a photographing condition for the subject by the X-ray tube and the X-ray detector (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see para. [0081] of Griffiths et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: the supporter supports an injection apparatus configured to inject the medical fluid into the subject (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, fig.2, 7a, 7b, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12a, 12b, 13 of Griffiths show that the injector can be placed anywhere on the gantry or the patient bed).
Regarding claim 8, Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. disclose: a container configured to house one or a plurality of medical fluids;
a first injection path including a first tube connected to the container and a second tube configured to send the medical fluid to a subject; and
a second injection path including a first tube connected to the container and a second tube configured to send the medical fluid to the subject (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2009/0177050 A1; pub. Jul. 9, 2009) in view of Gregerson et al. (US 2020/0268332 A1; pub. Aug. 27, 2020) in view of Boucher et al. (US 2023/0030367 A1; Feb. 2, 2023) and further in view of Nemoto (US 2013/0041257 A1; pub. Feb. 14, 2013).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: the processing circuitry
detects that a first tube on a side of an injection apparatus configured to inject the medical fluid into the subject is connected to a second tube on the subject side on the injection path, and
determines whether the injection path is available based on detection results of the first tube and the second tube.
In a similar field of endeavor Nemoto discloses: the processing circuitry
detects that a first tube on a side of an injection apparatus configured to inject the medical fluid into the subject is connected to a second tube on the subject side on the injection path, and
determines whether the injection path is available based on detection results of the first tube and the second tube (para. [0074], [0110]) motivated by the benefits for increased treatment efficacy and patient safety.
In light of the benefits for increased treatment efficacy and patient safety, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gantry of Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. using the teachings of Nemoto.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2009/0177050 A1; pub. Jul. 9, 2009) in view of Gregerson et al. (US 2020/0268332 A1; pub. Aug. 27, 2020) in view of Boucher et al. (US 2023/0030367 A1; Feb. 2, 2023) and further in view of Naples et al. (US 2024/0017003 A1; pub. Jan. 18, 2024).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: processing circuitry configured to notify about a replacement timing of the first tube.
In a similar field of endeavor Naples et al. disclose: processing circuitry configured to notify about a replacement timing of the first tube (para. [0108]) motivated by the benefits for increased treatment efficacy and patient safety.
In light of the benefits for increased treatment efficacy and patient safety, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gantry of Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. using the teachings of Naples et al.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths et al. (US 2009/0177050 A1; pub. Jul. 9, 2009) in view of Gregerson et al. (US 2020/0268332 A1; pub. Aug. 27, 2020) in view of Boucher et al. (US 2023/0030367 A1; Feb. 2, 2023) and further in view of Prince et al. (US 2023/0302224 A1; pub. Sep. 28, 2023).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references are silent about: the first tube is connected to a coupling member, and the coupling member closes an end of the first tube after use on a side connected to the second tube, and holds an outer side of an end of the first tube to be used on a side connected to the container.
In a similar field of endeavor Prince et al. disclose: the first tube is connected to a coupling member, and the coupling member closes an end of the first tube after use on a side connected to the second tube, and holds an outer side of an end of the first tube to be used on a side connected to the container (fig.2c shows coupling member Y site connecting tubings 11 & 16 containers 20 & fluid source) motivated by the benefits for intelligent delivery of medication (Prince et al. para. [0098]).
In light of the benefits for intelligent delivery of medication as taught by Prince et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gantry of Griffiths et al., Gregerson et al. and Boucher et al. using the teachings of Prince et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884