Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/15/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because Inventor name has not been listed next to each US patent, US patent application, or Foreign patent. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawthorn, US7713154 in view of Simkins, US5516132.
Regarding independent claim 14, Hawthorn discloses a motor (Abstract, line 3); a drive shaft (Column 3, lines 44-47); an automatic transmission mechanism configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces (“continuously variable transmission” Abstract, line 1), the automatic transmission comprising: a rotor plate (102, Fig. 3) comprising opposing first and second surfaces (has first surface facing one end of spring 104, and opposing second surface facing the other end of spring 104, Fig. 3; see annotated Fig. 3 below) and a central axis (116, Fig. 3); a main structure (100, Fig. 3) comprising at least one plate (100, Fig. 3) comprising opposing first and second surfaces (first surface facing one spring end 104, opposing second surface facing opposite spring end 104, Fig. 3; see annotated Fig. 3 below) and a central axis (116, Fig. 3), wherein the rotor plate (102, Fig. 3) and the main structure (100, Fig. 3) are coaxial (116, Fig. 3) and configured to counter-rotate relative to each other (Figure 2 shows counter rotation of rotor and main structure where springs 104 compress); and a plurality of compression springs (104, Fig. 2, 3), wherein each compression spring comprises a coil having a first end and a second end (compression springs 104 have coils, and a first end and second end limited by 190, 188, Fig. 3), wherein the first end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the rotor plate (See annotated Figure 3 below) at one of a plurality of connection points (188, Fig. 3) and the second end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the main structure (See annotated Figure 3 below) at one of a plurality of connection points (190, Fig. 3), wherein each coil compresses in length as force is applied in a substantially axial direction normal to each end of the spring (“spring 104 is mounted between slot 188 on spindle 100 and slot 190 on spindle 102 so that springs 104 progressively resist any rotation of the spindle 102 relative to spindle 100 as power is applied” Column 3, lines 3-6; Figure 2 shows compression of springs in a substantially axial direction in slots 188, 190); wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the rotor plate about its central axis (Figure 2 shows rotor plate subjected to torque when compression springs 104 are compressed at 188 due to drive forces about axis 116); wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the main structure is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the main structure about its central axis (slots 190 are acted on by spring 104 which applies a torque to axis 116, Fig. 3); wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to transfer drive force (“capable of continually transmitting power while allowing shifting of a ratio of said continuously variable transmission” Column 4, lines 29-31), wherein increasing drive force causes the rotor plate to counter-rotate relative to the main structure in a direction moving the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate and the plurality of connection points of the main structure closer together thereby compressing the plurality of compression springs (“spring 104 is mounted between slot 188 on spindle 100 and slot 190 on spindle 102 so that springs 104 progressively resist any rotation of the spindle 102 relative to spindle 100 as power is applied” Column 3, lines 3-6; as drive forces increase, the springs in the pulley on the right will compress as shown on the left, Fig. 2); and wherein the plurality of compression springs provide an increasing resistance to counter-rotation of the rotor plate relative to the main structure by compressing further as drive forces increase (“spring 104 is mounted between slot 188 on spindle 100 and slot 190 on spindle 102 so that springs 104 progressively resist any rotation of the spindle 102 relative to spindle 100 as power is applied” Column 3, lines 3-6; as drive forces increase, the springs in the pulley on the right will compress as shown on the left, Fig. 2), and wherein decreasing drive force allows the plurality of compression springs to decompress and counter-rotate the rotor plate in an opposite direction relative to the main structure (when drive forces decrease, the springs 104 will return to the position shown on the right of Figure 2, decompression will occur and the rotor plate will counter-rotate in an opposite direction, Figure 2); and wherein the drive shaft is configured to receive power from the motor, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to receive power from the drive shaft (Column 3, lines 44-47).
Annotated Figure 3 of Hawthorn
Hawthorn does not disclose a bicycle comprising: a front wheel; a rear wheel; and the motor is an electric motor.
However, Simkins teaches a bicycle (Column 3, lines 19-24) comprising: a front wheel (Column 3, lines 19-24; Column 4, lines 6-18); a rear wheel (Column 3, lines 19-24; Column 4, lines 6-18); and an electric motor (Column 1, lines 11-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hawthorn and Simkins to have a bicycle with an electric motor and an automatic transmission in order to have a mechanical transmission which is adaptable to both manual and automatic operation (Simkins, Column 2, lines 6-9). One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make a bicycle easier for the user to pedal and ride.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Hawthorn, US7713154, and Fullerton, US4373926, close prior arts teach a majority of the limitations of claim 15, however neither teaches the linkage structure as claimed combined with the other limitations of the base claim. The prior art alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest, or render obvious the linkage structure as claimed, and it would not have been obvious to add additional links to the structure of Hawthorn and Fullerton as such a modification would add complexity and cost to the manufacturing and assembly of the automatic transmission.
Regarding claim 16, Hawthorn, US7713154, and Fullerton, US4373926, close prior arts teach a majority of the limitations of claim 16, however neither teaches the linkage structure as claimed combined with the other limitations of the base claim. The prior art alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest, or render obvious the linkage structure as claimed, and it would not have been obvious to add additional links to the structure of Hawthorn and Fullerton as such a modification would add complexity and cost to the manufacturing and assembly of the automatic transmission.
Regarding claim 17, Hawthorn, US7713154, and Fullerton, US4373926, close prior arts teach a majority of the limitations of claim 17, however neither teaches the linkage structure as claimed combined with the other limitations of the base claim. The prior art alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest, or render obvious the linkage structure as claimed, and it would not have been obvious to add additional links to the structure of Hawthorn and Fullerton as such a modification would add complexity and cost to the manufacturing and assembly of the automatic transmission.
Regarding claim 18, Hawthorn, US7713154, and Fullerton, US4373926, close prior arts teach a majority of the limitations of claim 18, however neither teaches the linkage structure as claimed combined with the other limitations of the base claim. The prior art alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest, or render obvious the linkage structure as claimed, and it would not have been obvious to add additional links to the structure of Hawthorn and Fullerton as such a modification would add complexity and cost to the manufacturing and assembly of the automatic transmission.
Claims 1-13, and 19-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, Venturi, Foreign Patent Document, WO2018178898 discloses a majority of the limitations of claim 1, however Venturi fails to disclose the compression springs in the configuration as claimed. Hawthorn, US 7713154 discloses compression springs, but not the gear teeth as claimed. It would not have been obvious to combine the teachings of Venturi and Hawthorn as the resulting device would be inoperable.
Claims 2-13 are allowable because they depend from claim 1 and are further limiting.
Regarding independent claim 19, Hawthorn, US7713154, a close prior art discloses a majority of the limitations of claim 19, however Hawthorn fails to disclose the linkage as claimed. The prior art alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest, or render obvious the linkage structure as claimed, and it would not have been obvious to add linkage to the structure of Hawthorn as such a modification would add complexity and cost to the manufacturing and assembly of the structure.
Claim 20 is allowable because it depends from claim 19 and is further limiting.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 in view of Pross, Foreign Patent Document, DE102022000739.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses an automatic transmission mechanism for a bicycle comprising: a rotor plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces, a central axis; a main structure comprising at least one plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis, wherein the rotor plate and the main structure are coaxial and configured to counter-rotate relative to each other; a plurality of arms in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the arms comprising: a proximal end; a plurality of compression springs, wherein each compression spring comprises a coil having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the rotor plate at one of a plurality of connection points and the second end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the main structure at one of a plurality of connection points, wherein each coil compresses in length as force is applied in a substantially axial direction normal to each end of the spring; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the rotor plate about its central axis; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the main structure is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the main structure about its central axis; wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to transfer drive force, wherein increasing drive force causes the rotor plate to counter-rotate relative to the main structure in a direction moving the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate and the plurality of connection points of the main structure closer together thereby compressing the plurality of compression springs; and wherein the plurality of compression springs provide an increasing resistance force to counter- rotation of the rotor plate relative to the main structure by compressing further as drive forces increase, and wherein decreasing drive force allows the plurality of compression springs to decompress and counter-rotate the rotor plate in an opposite direction relative to the main structure (“An automatic transmission mechanism for a bicycle comprising: a rotor plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis; a main structure comprising at least one plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis, wherein the rotor plate and the main structure are coaxial and configured to counter-rotate relative to each other; a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm rotatably connected to the main structure at a proximal end;…a plurality of compression springs, wherein each compression spring comprises a coil having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the rotor plate at one of a plurality of connection points and the second end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the main structure at one of a plurality of connection points, wherein each coil compresses in length as force is applied in a substantially axial direction normal to each end of the spring; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the rotor plate about its central axis; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the main structure is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the main structure about its central axis; wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to transfer drive force, wherein increasing drive force causes the rotor plate to counter-rotate relative to the main structure in a direction moving the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate and the plurality of connection points of the main structure closer together thereby compressing the plurality of compression springs; and wherein the plurality of compression springs provide an increasing resistance force to counter-rotation of the rotor plate relative to the main structure by compressing further as drive forces increase, and wherein decreasing drive force allows the plurality of compression springs to decompress and counter-rotate the rotor plate in an opposite direction relative to the main structure”; Claim 1).
However, U.S. Patent No. 12325492 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of gear teeth positioned concentrically about the central axis; a rotatable connection with the main structure at the proximal end; a plurality of gear teeth positioned concentrically about the arm's connection with the main structure and configured to engage with the gear teeth of the rotor plate.
Pross teaches a plurality of gear teeth positioned concentrically about the central axis (11, Fig. 1, 3); a rotatable connection with the main structure at the proximal end (6 is rotatable, Fig. 1); a plurality of gear teeth positioned concentrically about the arm's connection with the main structure (gear teeth 7 positioned concentrically about 6, Fig. 1) and configured to engage with the gear teeth of the rotor plate (teeth 7 engage with teeth 11, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic transmission of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 to have the rotor plate and proximal ends of the arms with gear teeth which engage each other as taught by Pross, to simplify the connection between the rotor and the main plate. One would have been motivated to make such a modification because “during the adjustment, the continuously variable transmission does not need to be brought to a standstill or relieved of load, and no speed jumps occur” (Paragraph [0032]; Pross).
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain, wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction, wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is attached to a distal end of one of the plurality of arms, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of sprockets (“a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain, wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction, wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of sprockets”; Claim 2).
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive chain, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric expansion and wherein the pattern of sprockets is configured to diametrically compress as the drive forces are increased (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive chain, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric expansion and wherein the pattern of sprockets is configured to diametrically compress as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 3).
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 123254592 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive chain and a rear wheel hub, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric contraction and wherein the pattern of sprockets is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive chain and a rear wheel hub, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric contraction and wherein the pattern of sprockets is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 4).
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the rear mechanism further comprises one or more fluid displacement dampers configured to slow a decreasing of a diameter of the pattern of sprockets when the drive forces are reduced (“wherein the rear mechanism further comprises one or more fluid displacement dampers configured to slow a decreasing of a diameter of the pattern of sprockets when the drive forces are reduced”; Claim 5).
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism further comprises an auxiliary drive chain tensioner configured to apply pressure to an upper span of the drive chain, wherein the applied pressure increases a path length of the upper span of the drive chain as drive forces decrease, and wherein the path length decreases as increasing drive forces overcome the pressure applied by the auxiliary drive chain tensioner (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism further comprises an auxiliary drive chain tensioner configured to apply pressure to an upper span of the drive chain, wherein the applied pressure increases a path length of the upper span of the drive chain as drive forces decrease, and wherein the path length decreases as increasing drive forces overcome the pressure applied by the auxiliary drive chain tensioner”; Claim 6).
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt, wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction, wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is attached to a distal end of one of the plurality of arms, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of pulleys (“a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt, wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction, wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of pulleys”; Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8 of the instant application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive belt, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric expansion and wherein the pattern of pulleys is configured to diametrically compress as the drive forces are increased (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive belt, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric expansion and wherein the pattern of pulleys is configured to diametrically compress as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 8).
Regarding claim 9 of the instant application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive belt and a rear wheel hub, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric contraction and wherein the pattern of pulleys is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive belt and a rear wheel hub, wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric contraction and wherein the pattern of pulleys is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 9).
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the rear mechanism further comprises one or more fluid displacement dampers configured to slow a decreasing of a diameter of the pattern of pulleys when the drive forces are reduced (“wherein the rear mechanism further comprises one or more fluid displacement dampers configured to slow a decreasing of a diameter of the pattern of pulleys when the drive forces are reduced”; Claim 10).
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the automatic transmission mechanism further comprises an auxiliary drive belt tensioner configured to apply pressure to an upper span of the drive belt, wherein the applied pressure increases a path length of the upper span of the drive belt as drive forces decrease, and wherein the path length decreases as increasing drive forces overcome the pressure applied by the auxiliary drive belt tensioner (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism further comprises an auxiliary drive belt tensioner configured to apply pressure to an upper span of the drive belt, wherein the applied pressure increases a path length of the upper span of the drive belt as drive forces decrease, and wherein the path length decreases as increasing drive forces overcome the pressure applied by the auxiliary drive belt tensioner”; Claim 11).
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses wherein the main structure is configured to receive input force from a shaft driven by manual or motorized power (“wherein the main structure is configured to receive input force from a shaft driven by manual or motorized power”; Claim 12).
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses a plurality of stops to limit each arm from rotating beyond an allowed range of rotation relative to the main structure (“a plurality of stops to limit each arm from rotating beyond an allowed range of rotation relative to the main structure”; Claim 13).
Claims 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claims 1, 3-4, 7-9 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 discloses a bicycle (“a bicycle”; Claims 2 and 7) comprising: a front wheel (“front mechanism”, Claims 3 and 8) ; a rear wheel (“rear mechanism”, Claims 4 and 9); a motor (“motorized power”, Claim 12); a drive shaft (“shaft driven by manual or motorized power”; Claim 12); and an automatic transmission mechanism configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces, the automatic transmission mechanism comprising: a rotor plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis; a main structure comprising at least one plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis, wherein the rotor plate and the main structure are coaxial and configured to counter-rotate relative to each other (“An automatic transmission mechanism for a bicycle comprising: a rotor plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis; a main structure comprising at least one plate comprising opposing first and second surfaces and a central axis, wherein the rotor plate and the main structure are coaxial and configured to counter-rotate relative to each other”; Claim 1); and a plurality of compression springs, wherein each compression spring comprises a coil having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the rotor plate at one of a plurality of connection points and the second end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the main structure at one of a plurality of connection points, wherein each coil compresses in length as force is applied in a substantially axial direction normal to each end of the spring; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the rotor plate about its central axis; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the main structure is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the main structure about its central axis; wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to transfer drive force, wherein increasing drive force causes the rotor plate to counter-rotate relative to the main structure in a direction moving the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate and the plurality of connection points of the main structure closer together thereby compressing the plurality of compression springs; and wherein the plurality of compression springs provide an increasing resistance force to counter-rotation of the rotor plate relative to the main structure by compressing further as drive forces increase, and wherein decreasing drive force allows the plurality of compression springs to decompress and counter-rotate the rotor plate in an opposite direction relative to the main structure (“a plurality of compression springs, wherein each compression spring comprises a coil having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the rotor plate at one of a plurality of connection points and the second end of each coil is connected to the first surface of the main structure at one of a plurality of connection points, wherein each coil compresses in length as force is applied in a substantially axial direction normal to each end of the spring; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the rotor plate about its central axis; wherein each of the plurality of connection points of the main structure is further oriented such that compression of the springs imparts a torque on the main structure about its central axis; wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to transfer drive force, wherein increasing drive force causes the rotor plate to counter-rotate relative to the main structure in a direction moving the plurality of connection points of the rotor plate and the plurality of connection points of the main structure closer together thereby compressing the plurality of compression springs; and wherein the plurality of compression springs provide an increasing resistance force to counter-rotation of the rotor plate relative to the main structure by compressing further as drive forces increase, and wherein decreasing drive force allows the plurality of compression springs to decompress and counter-rotate the rotor plate in an opposite direction relative to the main structure”; Claim 1); wherein the drive shaft is configured to receive power from the motor, and wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to receive power from the drive shaft (“wherein the main structure is configured to receive input force from a shaft driven by manual or motorized power”; Claim 12).
However, U.S. Patent No. 12325492 does not explicitly disclose the motor is an electric motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bicycle of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 to make the motor an electric motor, as it is one of a finite number of solutions (electric, hydraulic, pneumatic, engine) that would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to make the bike easier for the user to pedal and ride.
Regarding claim 15 of the instant application, claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 disclose wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer drive forces between the drive shaft and a drive chain (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive chain”; Claim 3), the front mechanism comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to engage with the drive chain (“a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”; Claim 2), wherein the plurality of sprockets is arranged in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern proximal to a common plane and substantially equidistant from a centroid of the radial pattern (“a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern”, Claim 1; “a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”, Claim 2), wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling the bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction (“wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction”; Claim 2); and a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end of the arm is rotatably connected to the main structure; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm (“ plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm rotatably connected to the main structure at a proximal end; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm”; Claim 1); wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is connected to the distal end of one of the plurality of arms (“wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages”; Claim 2); wherein the drive chain partially encompasses a periphery of the radial pattern of sprockets (“comprising a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”; Claim 2); wherein the plurality of compression springs biases the radial pattern of sprockets toward diametric expansion (“wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric expansion”; Claim 3); and wherein the front mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametrically contracting the pattern of sprockets as drive forces increase or diametrically expanding the pattern of sprockets as drive forces decrease (“configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of sprockets”; Claim 2).
Regarding claim 16 of the instant application, claims 1, 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 disclose wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer drive forces between the drive shaft and a drive belt (“the automatic transmission mechanism is a front mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between a crank assembly and the drive belt”; Claim 8), the front mechanism comprising: a plurality of pulleys configured to engage with the drive belt, wherein the plurality of pulleys is arranged in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern proximal to a common plane and substantially equidistant from a centroid of the radial pattern (“comprising a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt”; Claim 7), wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling the bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction (“wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction”; Claim 7); and a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end of the arm is rotatably connected to the main structure; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm (“a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm rotatably connected to the main structure at a proximal end; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm”; Claim 1); wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is connected to the distal end of one of the plurality of arms (“wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages”; Claim 7) wherein the drive belt partially encompasses a periphery of the radial pattern of pulleys (“a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt”; Claim 7); wherein the plurality of compression springs biases the radial pattern of pulleys toward diametric expansion (“wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric expansion”; Claim 8); and wherein the front mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametrically contracting the pattern of pulleys as drive forces increase or diametrically expanding the pattern of pulleys as drive forces decrease (“the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of pulleys”; Claim 7).
Regarding claim 17 of the instant application, claims 1, 2, and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 disclose wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer drive forces between a drive chain and a rear wheel hub (“a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive chain and a rear wheel hub”; Claim 4), the rear mechanism comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to engage with the drive chain (“a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”; Claim 2), wherein the plurality of sprockets is arranged in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern proximal to a common plane and substantially equidistant from a centroid of the radial pattern (“a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”; Claim 2), wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling the bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction (“wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction”; Claim 2); and a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end of the arm is rotatably connected to the main structure; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm (“a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm rotatably connected to the main structure at a proximal end; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm”; Claim 1); wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is connected to the distal end of one of the plurality of arms (“wherein each of the plurality of sprockets is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages”; Claim 2); wherein the drive chain partially encompasses a periphery of the radial pattern of sprockets (“a plurality of sprockets in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive chain”; Claim 2); wherein the plurality of compression springs biases the radial pattern of sprockets toward diametric contraction (“wherein the spring force biases the pattern of sprockets toward diametric contraction”; Claim 4); and wherein the rear mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametrically expanding the pattern of sprockets as drive forces increase (“wherein the pattern of sprockets is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 4) or diametrically contracting the pattern of sprockets as drive forces decrease (“the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of sprockets”; Claim 2).
Regarding claim 18 of the instant application, claims 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492 disclose wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer drive forces between a drive belt and a rear wheel hub (“wherein the automatic transmission mechanism is a rear mechanism configured to transfer the drive forces between the drive belt and a rear wheel hub”; Claim 9), the rear mechanism comprising: a plurality of pulleys configured to engage with the drive belt, wherein the plurality of pulleys is arranged in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern proximal to a common plane and substantially equidistant from a centroid of the radial pattern (“comprising a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt”; Claim 7), wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling the bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction (“wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is restricted from rotating in a direction which enables a transfer of drive forces in propelling a bicycle forward but is able to rotate in the other direction”; Claim 7); and a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the proximal end of the arm is rotatably connected to the main structure, and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm (“a plurality of linkages in a substantially evenly spaced radial pattern, each of the linkages comprising: an arm rotatably connected to the main structure at a proximal end; and a link having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is rotatably connected to the rotor plate and the second end is rotatably connected to the arm”; Claim 1), wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is connected to the distal end of one of the plurality of arms (“wherein each of the plurality of pulleys is attached to a distal end of the arm of one of the plurality of linkages”; Claim 7); wherein the drive belt partially encompasses a periphery of the radial pattern of pulleys (“ further comprising a plurality of pulleys in a radial pattern configured to engage with a drive belt”; Claim 7); wherein the plurality of compression springs biases the radial pattern of pulleys toward diametric contraction (“wherein the spring force biases the pattern of pulleys toward diametric contraction”; Claim 9); and wherein the rear mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametrically expanding the pattern of pulleys as drive forces increase (“wherein the pattern of pulleys is configured to diametrically expand as the drive forces are increased”; Claim 9) or diametrically contracting the pattern of pulleys as drive forces decrease (“the automatic transmission mechanism is configured to automatically adjust a torque ratio in response to changing drive forces by one of either diametric expansion or diametric contraction of the pattern of pulleys”; Claim 7).
Claims 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12325492. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor rewording, and the patented claims are narrower than the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654