DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 23, 2025 and January 9, 2026 is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For the purposes of the prior art rejections below:
the term “air cooling part” has been interpreted to be fans.
the term “first plate body” has been interpreted to be a thermal enclosure.
the term “first temperature sensor” has been interpreted to be a temperature sensor.
the term “second temperature sensor” has been interpreted to be a temperature sensor.
the term “temperature and humidity sensor” has been interpreted to be an onboard sensor.
the term “heating part” has been interpreted to be a pair of fans.
the term “battery cooling system” has been interpreted to be internal cooling pipelines with a heat exchanger.
the term “motor cooling system” has been interpreted to be internal cooling pipelines with a heat exchanger.
the term “first liquid cooling loop” has been interpreted to be a battery pack cooling system.
the term “second liquid cooling loop” has been interpreted to be an electric drive module cooling system.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Richards (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190098799).
Regarding claim 1, Richards teaches: A heat dissipation apparatus, comprising: a housing, comprising a first plate body; (Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) includes a cover (12) [housing], a cold plate (14) [first plate body]")
a housing, comprising a first plate body; (Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are positioned to draw air (52) [cooling air] into and through the thermal enclosure (10) [cooling air flow]")
and an intelligent module located proximate to the first plate body and disposed in the housing, (Paragraph [0041]: "Electronic modules (50) [intelligent module] are mounted directly to the cold plate (14) within the cavity (20) of the thermal enclosure (10) [proximate to first plate body and disposed in housing].")
wherein the air cooling part and the intelligent module are disposed on the same side of the first plate body; (Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of cooling structures on same side of first plate body]" ; Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are sized and arranged in fluid communication with the thermal enclosure (10) to provide sufficient air flow through the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain an optimal temperature range for the HPEMs (50) housed therein [...] In the example, the inlet side (58) of each of the fans (18) is mounted to the inlet manifold (16) and the outlet side (60) is mounted directly to at least one of the plurality of inlets (22) [detailed arrangement of air cooling fans - optimized to be on same side of first plate body].")
the first plate body, compromising a first cavity is located in a plurality of liquid cooling loops, (Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [plurality of liquid cooling loops within cavity of first plate body].")
at least one of the air cooling part or the first plate body is configured to dissipate heat from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0045]: "…the heat gradient of the air (52) is substantially opposite the heat gradient of the liquid coolant in the cold plate (14) [first plate body], thereby allowing the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain a substantially even temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) housed therein [configured to dissipate heat from intelligent module].").
Regarding claim 6, Richards teaches: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first heat conducting part is disposed on a side of the first plate body that faces the intelligent module, wherein the intelligent module is connected to the first heat conducting part (Paragraph [0034]: "Each of the cover (12) and the cold plate are made of a high thermal conductivity material [heat conducting part]" ; Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of conductivity structures which faces first plate body]").
Regarding claim 7, Richards teaches: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the air cooling part comprises a heating part, configured to heat an airflow generated by the air cooling part (Paragraph [0047]: "…the fans (18) are arranged in pairs so that each individual fan (18) operates at approximately 50% capacity under optimal circumstances. Thus, if one fan (18) of a pair is operating sub-optimally, the other fan (18) of the pair balances out the deficit by increasing operational speed, thereby maintaining optimal air (52) flow through the thermal enclosure (10) [air cooling part enables heating balance in order to optimize airflow].").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For the purposes of the prior art rejections below:
the term “air cooling part” has been interpreted to be fans.
the term “first plate body” has been interpreted to be a thermal enclosure.
the term “first temperature sensor” has been interpreted to be a temperature sensor.
the term “second temperature sensor” has been interpreted to be a temperature sensor.
the term “temperature and humidity sensor” has been interpreted to be an onboard sensor.
the term “heating part” has been interpreted to be a pair of fans.
the term “battery cooling system” has been interpreted to be internal cooling pipelines with a heat exchanger.
the term “motor cooling system” has been interpreted to be internal cooling pipelines with a heat exchanger.
the term “first liquid cooling loop” has been interpreted to be a battery pack cooling system.
the term “second liquid cooling loop” has been interpreted to be an electric drive module cooling system.
Claims 2-4, 8-12, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190098799) in view of Xia (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 9680190).
Regarding claim 2, Richards does not teach the heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of liquid cooling loops comprise a first liquid cooling loop and a second liquid cooling loop; the first plate body is connected to the first liquid cooling loop through a first pipe assembly; and the first plate body is connected to the second liquid cooling loop through a second pipe assembly.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent multi-loop vehicle cooling), Xia teaches: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of liquid cooling loops comprise a first liquid cooling loop and a second liquid cooling loop; (Col. 6, lines 61-63: "In the foregoing loops, an electric drive module cooling system and the battery pack cooling system are independent of each other, and there is no heat transfer between the two [first and second cooling loop].")
the first plate body is connected to the first liquid cooling loop through a first pipe assembly; (Col. 5, lines 35-36: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first pipe assembly - first liquid cooling loop].")
and the first plate body is connected to the second liquid cooling loop through a second pipe assembly (Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to include the teaching of Xia based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operation of an intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle (Xia Col. 1, line 63 to Col. 2, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 3, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 2, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first pipe assembly comprises a first pipe and a first control valve; (Xia Col. 5, lines 35-38: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first pipe assembly]. Next, the coolant flows into an inlet A of a first three-way valve (4), then flows out from an outlet B [first control valve]")
the second pipe assembly comprises a second pipe; (Xia Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].")
and the first control valve or the second pipe assembly comprises the second pipe and a second control valve (Xia Col. 6, lines 45-53: "Referring to FIG. 6, a second electric pump (15), a third three-way valve (13) [second control valve], the electric drive module radiator (11), a second electric fan (12), and an internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) form an electric drive module cooling system loop. When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].").
Regarding claim 4, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 3, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: a first temperature sensor disposed on the first liquid cooling loop, and configured to measure a temperature of the first liquid cooling loop; (Xia Col. 5, lines 16-18: "The cooling system is provided with temperature sensors (23) [first temperature sensor] inside the battery pack [first liquid cooling loop to measure temperature]")
and a second temperature sensor disposed on the second liquid cooling loop, and configured to measure a temperature of the second liquid cooling loop (Xia Col. 5, lines 16-18: "The cooling system is provided with temperature sensors (23) [second temperature sensor] inside the battery pack and the electric drive module [second liquid cooling loop to measure temperature]").
Regarding claim 8, Richards teaches: A vehicle, comprising: and a heat dissipation apparatus, comprising: (Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) [heat dissipation apparatus]")
a housing, comprising a first plate body; (Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) includes a cover (12) [housing]")
an air cooling part; (Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are positioned to draw air (52) [cooling air] into and through the thermal enclosure (10) [cooling air flow]")
and an intelligent module proximate to the first plate body and disposed in the housing, (Paragraph [0041]: "Electronic modules (50) [intelligent module] are mounted directly to the cold plate (14) within the cavity (20) of the thermal enclosure (10) [proximate to first plate body and disposed in housing].")
wherein the air cooling part and the intelligent module are disposed on a same side of the first plate body; (Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of cooling structures on same side of first plate body]" ; Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are sized and arranged in fluid communication with the thermal enclosure (10) to provide sufficient air flow through the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain an optimal temperature range for the HPEMs (50) housed therein [...] In the example, the inlet side (58) of each of the fans (18) is mounted to the inlet manifold (16) and the outlet side (60) is mounted directly to at least one of the plurality of inlets (22) [detailed arrangement of air cooling fans - optimized to be on same side of first plate body].")
the first plate body, comprising a first cavity, is located in a plurality of liquid cooling loops, (Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [plurality of liquid cooling loops within cavity of first plate body].")
and at least one of the air cooling part or the first plate body is configured to dissipate heat from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0045]: "…the heat gradient of the air (52) is substantially opposite the heat gradient of the liquid coolant in the cold plate (14) [first plate body], thereby allowing the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain a substantially even temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) housed therein [configured to dissipate heat from intelligent module].").
Richards does not teach a battery; a battery cooling system configured to dissipate heat from the battery; a motor; a motor cooling system configured to dissipate heat from the motor; a central control system that controls the battery cooling system and the motor cooling; wherein the plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent multi-loop vehicle cooling), Xia teaches: a battery; (Col. 4, line 60: "…a battery pack (9) [a battery]")
a battery cooling system configured to dissipate heat from the battery; (Col. 4, lines 63-65: "and a heat exchanger (8) [cooling system], where the battery pack (9) [battery] […] are provided with internal cooling pipelines [battery cooling system]")
a motor; (Col. 3, line 65: "The electric drive module includes a motor [motor]")
a motor cooling system configured to dissipate heat from the motor; (Col. 4, lines 63-65: "and a heat exchanger (8) [cooling system], where the […] the electric drive module (14) [motor] are provided with internal cooling pipelines [motor cooling system]")
a central control system that controls the battery cooling system and the motor cooling; (Col. 4, line 59: "intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle cooling system [central controls system which controls battery and motor cooling]")
wherein the plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system (Col. 4, lines 63-67: "and a heat exchanger (8), where the battery pack (9) [battery] and the electric drive module (14) [motor cooling system] are provided with internal cooling pipelines, the internal cooling pipelines are connected to pipelines in the system [plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to battery cooling system and motor cooling system]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to include the teaching of Xia based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operation of an intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle (Xia Col. 1, line 63 to Col. 2, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 9, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of liquid cooling loops comprise a first liquid cooling loop and a second liquid cooling loop; (Xia Col. 6, lines 61-63: "In the foregoing loops, an electric drive module cooling system and the battery pack cooling system are independent of each other, and there is no heat transfer between the two [first and second cooling loop].")
the first liquid cooling loop is configured to be connected to the battery cooling system; (Xia Col. 5, lines 35-36: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first liquid cooling loop - battery cooling system].")
and the second liquid cooling loop is configured to be connected to the motor cooling system (Xia Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - motor cooling system].").
Regarding claim 10, Richards teaches: A heat dissipation control method comprising: controlling a first plate body of a heat dissipation apparatus (Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [first plate body heat dissipation apparatus].")
controlling the first plate body (Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [first plate body heat dissipation apparatus].").
and controlling an air cooling part of the heat dissipation apparatus to be in a working state to dissipate heat from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0045]: "…the heat gradient of the air (52) is substantially opposite the heat gradient of the liquid coolant in the cold plate (14) [first plate body], thereby allowing the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain a substantially even temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) housed therein [configured to dissipate heat from intelligent module].").
Richards does not teach obtaining a temperature of a first liquid cooling loop and a temperature of a second liquid cooling loop in a plurality of liquid cooling loops; determining whether the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop meets a connection condition; when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, to be connected to the first liquid cooling loop to dissipate heat from an intelligent module; when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop does not meet the connection condition, determining whether the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, and when the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, to be connected to the second liquid cooling loop, to dissipate heat from the intelligent module; or when the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop does not meet the connection condition: skipping connecting the first plate body to the first liquid cooling loop or the second liquid cooling loop.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent multi-loop vehicle cooling), Xia teaches: obtaining a temperature of a first liquid cooling loop and a temperature of a second liquid cooling loop in a plurality of liquid cooling loops; (Col. 5, lines 16-18: "The cooling system is provided with temperature sensors (23) [first temperature sensor] inside the battery pack [first liquid cooling loop to measure temperature] and the electric drive module [second liquid cooling loop to measure temperature]")
determining whether the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop meets a connection condition; (Col. 5, lines 19-21: "The temperature sensors are connected to the vehicle controller (22) and output a collected temperature to the vehicle controller (22). The vehicle controller (22) performs a decision according to a temperature signal [determination of whether temperature of first liquid cooling loop meets connection condition]")
when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, to be connected to the first liquid cooling loop to dissipate heat from an intelligent module; (Col. 5, lines 28-34: "Referring to FIG. 2, when a temperature of the battery pack falls within a proper range (which is neither excessively hot nor excessively cold), but a temperature difference between battery cells is large and exceeds a proper range (for example, the temperature difference between the battery cells being less than 5° C. is the proper range), temperature balancing needs to be performed on the battery pack [first liquid cooling loop meets connection condition]." ; Col. 5, lines 35-36: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first pipe assembly - first liquid cooling loop].")
when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop does not meet the connection condition, determining whether the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, (Col. 7, lines 27-38: "When the electric drive module has very little heat emission and does not need liquid cooling, [...] In this case, the coolant inside the electric drive module cooling system does not flow through the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) anymore, but flows into the battery pack cooling system, so that a series loop between the battery pack cooling system and electric drive module cooling system is formed [comparison between first and second loops in order to determine temperature connection condition].")
and when the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, to be connected to the second liquid cooling loop, to dissipate heat from the intelligent module; (Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled [temperature of second cooling loop meets connection condition], the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].")
or when the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop does not meet the connection condition: (Col. 6, lines 64-67: "In some cases, for example, when a heat dissipation requirement of the electric drive module is not high, the temperature of the coolant inside the electric drive module cooling system is not high [condition - temperature of second liquid cooling loop does not meet connection condition].")
skipping connecting the first plate body to the first liquid cooling loop or the second liquid cooling loop; (Col. 7, lines 4-6: "so as to implement shunting of the coolant, and form a parallel loop between the battery pack cooling system and the electric drive module cooling system [skips connecting exclusively to one loop or another].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to include the teaching of Xia based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operation of an intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle (Xia Col. 1, line 63 to Col. 2, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 11, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 10, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 10, wherein: before the first plate body is controlled to be connected to the first liquid cooling loop or the second liquid cooling loop, the air cooling part is controlled to be turned on; (Xia Col. 7, lines 8-11: "The parallel loop has two different modes: a parallel loop I (referring to FIG. 7, a second pass-through valve (10) is opened [valve is controlled to be open], the coolant does not flow through the battery radiator (2), and the first electric fan (3) is idle) [special circumstances - cooling loop is not activated through battery radiator]")
and when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition and the first plate body is connected to the first liquid cooling loop, or when the temperature of the first liquid cooling loop does not meet the connection condition, the temperature of the second liquid cooling loop meets the connection condition, (Xia Col. 5, lines 42-45: "Finally, the coolant flows back to the first electric pump (1) to form a battery pack temperature balancing loop. The temperature balancing loop may effectively reduce the temperature difference between the battery cells of the battery pack [temperature of first liquid cooling loop meets connection with battery pack body].")
and the first plate body is connected to the second liquid cooling loop, (Xia Col. 5, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop].")
the working state of the air cooling part does not change or the air cooling part is controlled to be turned off (Xia Col. 5, lines 22-27: "The vehicle controller (22) performs a decision according to a temperature signal, controls on and off of the electric pumps (1) and (15), electric fans (3) and (12), the passthrough valves (5) and (10), and the three-way valves (4), (6), and (13), and effectively adjusts heat exchange of the system in time [turning air cooling part to be turned off].").
Regarding claim 12, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 10, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 10, wherein the controlling the air cooling part of the heat dissipation apparatus to be in the working state comprises: when the air cooling part is in the working state, skipping changing the working state of the air cooling part; or when the air cooling part is in an off state, controlling the air cooling part to be turned on (Xia Col. 5, lines 22-27: "The vehicle controller (22) performs a decision according to a temperature signal, controls on and off of the electric pumps (1) and (15), electric fans (3) and (12), the passthrough valves (5) and (10), and the three-way valves (4), (6), and (13), and effectively adjusts heat exchange of the system in time [turning air cooling part to be turned on].").
Regarding claim 17, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the first plate body is connected to the first liquid cooling loop through a first pipe assembly; (Xia Col. 5, lines 35-36: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first pipe assembly - first liquid cooling loop].")
the first pipe assembly comprises a first pipe and a first control valve; (Xia Col. 5, lines 35-38: "Coolant is driven by a first electric pump (1) and flows through an internal cooling pipeline of the battery pack (9) [first pipe assembly - first liquid cooling loop]. Next, the coolant flows into an inlet A of a first three-way valve (4), then flows out from an outlet B [first control valve]")
the first plate body is connected to the second liquid cooling loop through a second pipe assembly; (Xia Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].")
the second pipe assembly comprises a second pipe; (Xia Col. 6, lines 49-53: "When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].")
and at least one of the first control valve or the second pipe assembly comprises the second pipe and a second control valve (Xia Col. 6, lines 45-53: "Referring to FIG. 6, a second electric pump (15), a third three-way valve (13) [second control valve], the electric drive module radiator (11), a second electric fan (12), and an internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) form an electric drive module cooling system loop. When an electric drive module component (particularly high power component such as a drive motor or a motor controller) needs to be cooled, the coolant is driven by the second electric pump (15), and flows to the internal cooling pipeline of the electric drive module (14) [second liquid cooling loop - 2nd pipe assembly].").
Regarding claim 18, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 17, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle according to claim 17, further comprising: a first temperature sensor disposed on the first liquid cooling loop, and configured to measure a temperature of the first liquid cooling loop; (Xia Col. 5, lines 16-18: "The cooling system is provided with temperature sensors (23) [first temperature sensor] inside the battery pack [first liquid cooling loop to measure temperature]")
and a second temperature sensor disposed on the second liquid cooling loop, and configured to measure a temperature of the second liquid cooling loop (Xia Col. 5, lines 16-18: "The cooling system is provided with temperature sensors (23) [second temperature sensor] inside the battery pack and the electric drive module [second liquid cooling loop to measure temperature]").
Regarding claim 20, Richards and Xia remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: The vehicle according to claim 8, further comprising: a first heat conducting part disposed on a side of the first plate body that faces the intelligent module, wherein the intelligent module is connected to the first heat conducting part (Richards Paragraph [0034]:"Each of the cover (12) and the cold plate are made of a high thermal conductivity material [heat conducting part]" ; Richards Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of conductivity structures which faces first plate body]").
Claims 5, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190098799) and Xia (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 9680190) in view of Allison (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130252043).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Richards and Xia does not teach the heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising: a temperature and humidity sensor coupled to the intelligent module and, configured to measure a temperature and a humidity of an environment in which the intelligent module is located, wherein a measurement result of the temperature and humidity sensor is used to determine a dew point temperature of the environment in which the intelligent module is located; a measurement result of the first temperature sensor, a measurement result of the second temperature sensor, and the dew point temperature are used to determine a liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body; the intelligent module is void of condensation when the liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body dissipates heat from the intelligent module.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle battery humidity control), Allison teaches: The heat dissipation apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising: a temperature and humidity sensor coupled to the intelligent module and, (Paragraph [0024]: "...battery control module (BCM) (308) [coupled to intelligent module'. […] Further, in some examples the BCM may have onboard sensors for determining humidity, temperature [temperature and humidity sensor], and/or pressure in the battery enclosure.")
configured to measure a temperature and a humidity of an environment in which the intelligent module is located, (Paragraph [0024]: "...battery control module (BCM) (308) [coupled to intelligent module'. […] Further, in some examples the BCM may have onboard sensors for determining humidity, temperature [temperature and humidity sensor], and/or pressure in the battery enclosure [measure temperature and humidity of environment of intelligent module].")
wherein a measurement result of the temperature and humidity sensor is used to determine a dew point temperature of the environment in which the intelligent module is located; (Paragraph [0035]: "BCM [intelligent module] may turn fan (716) on and off depending on temperature conditions within the battery enclosure [environment inside battery enclosure] and based on the dew point temperature [dew point temperature] within battery enclosure (700).")
a measurement result of the first temperature sensor, a measurement result of the second temperature sensor, and the dew point temperature are used to determine a liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body; (Paragraph [0052]: "Therefore, once the dew point temperature is established, it can be used to index a table that outputs a current amount as a function of dew point temperature and ambient temperature in the battery enclosure. In this way, an open loop estimate of a desired current to be supplied to the Peltier humidity control device can be made [determination of liquid cooling loop connected to first plate body as a function of temperature and dew point measurements].")
the intelligent module is void of condensation when the liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body dissipates heat from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0056]: "said Peltier device contained in a battery enclosure; and discharging condensate collected by said Peltier device from said battery enclosure. The method includes wherein said Peltier device is supplied current in response to a humidity sensor located in said enclosure. [...] The method further comprises cooling said Peltier device with coolant [intelligent module removes condensation as a function of liquid cooling loop dissipating heat].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Richards and Xia to include the teaching of Allison based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the control of humidity within a battery enclosure (Allison Paragraphs [0004] – [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Richards and Xia does not teach the heat dissipation control method according to claim 10, wherein the connection condition comprises: temperature of a liquid cooling loop is higher than or equal to a sum of a dew point temperature of an environment in which the intelligent module is located and a preset temperature, wherein a value of the preset temperature is greater than or equal to zero.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle battery humidity control), Allison teaches: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 10, wherein the connection condition comprises: temperature of a liquid cooling loop is higher than or equal to a sum of a dew point temperature of an environment in which the intelligent module is located and a preset temperature, wherein a value of the preset temperature is greater than or equal to zero (Paragraph [0035]: "If battery enclosure temperature is higher than the dew point temperature, the Peltier device cooling fan (716) may be activated to increase dehumidification by lowering the temperature of surface (728) [temperature of cooling loop is higher than dew point temperature and preset temperature; cooling is activated]." ; Step (1106), Paragraph [0050]: "At (1106), routine (1100) judges whether or not current is available to operate the Peltier humidity control device. In one example, the BCM includes instructions for supplying current to the Peltier humidity device when the state of battery charge is greater than a threshold amount [methodology for measurement].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Richards and Xia to include the teaching of Allison based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the control of humidity within a battery enclosure (Allison Paragraphs [0004] – [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Richards, Xia, and Allison remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a temperature and a humidity of the environment in which the intelligent module is located; (Allison Paragraph [0024]: "...battery control module (BCM) (308) [coupled to intelligent module'. […] Further, in some examples the BCM may have onboard sensors for determining humidity, temperature [temperature and humidity sensor], and/or pressure in the battery enclosure [measure temperature and humidity of environment of intelligent module].")
and determining the dew point temperature based on the temperature and the humidity (Allison Paragraph [0035]: "BCM [intelligent module] may turn fan (716) on and off depending on temperature conditions within the battery enclosure [environment inside battery enclosure] and based on the dew point temperature [dew point temperature] within battery enclosure (700).").
Regarding claim 15, Richards, Xia, and Allison remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, teach: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation apparatus comprises a housing; (Richards Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) includes a cover (12) [housing]")
the housing comprises the first plate body; (Richards Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) includes a cover (12) [housing], a cold plate (14) [first plate body]")
the first plate body comprises a first cavity; (Richards Paragraph [0035]: "The cover (12) and the cold plate (14) [first plate body] define and enclose a cavity (20) [first cavity].")
the first plate body is located in the plurality of liquid cooling loops; (Richards Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [plurality of liquid cooling loops within cavity of first plate body].")
the intelligent module resides proximate to the first plate body and is disposed in the housing; (Richards Paragraph [0041]: "Electronic modules (50) [intelligent module] are mounted directly to the cold plate (14) within the cavity (20) of the thermal enclosure (10) [proximate to first plate body and disposed in housing].")
the air cooling part and the intelligent module are disposed on a same side of the first plate body (Richards Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of cooling structures on same side of first plate body]" ; Richards Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are sized and arranged in fluid communication with the thermal enclosure (10) to provide sufficient air flow through the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain an optimal temperature range for the HPEMs (50) housed therein [...] In the example, the inlet side (58) of each of the fans (18) is mounted to the inlet manifold (16) and the outlet side (60) is mounted directly to at least one of the plurality of inlets (22) [detailed arrangement of air cooling fans - optimized to be on same side of first plate body].")
and at least one of the air cooling part or the first plate body is configured to dissipate heat from the intelligent module (Richards Paragraph [0045]: "…the heat gradient of the air (52) is substantially opposite the heat gradient of the liquid coolant in the cold plate (14) [first plate body], thereby allowing the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain a substantially even temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) housed therein [configured to dissipate heat from intelligent module].").
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Richards, Xia, and Allison remain as applied to claim 13, and in a further embodiment, Richards teaches: The heat dissipation control method according to claim 13, the heat dissipation apparatus, (Paragraph [0034]: "thermal enclosures (10) for housing [heat dissipation apparatus]")
the first plate body of the heat dissipation apparatus is located in the plurality of liquid cooling loops; (Paragraph [0035]: "The cavity (20) is in fluid communication with the inlet manifold (16) via a plurality of inlets (22), and the cavity (20) is also in fluid communication with ambient surroundings of the enclosure (10) by way of a plurality of outlets (24) [plurality of liquid cooling loops within cavity of first plate body].")
the housing comprises the first plate body; (Paragraph [0034]: "In one aspect, the thermal enclosure (10) includes a cover (12) [housing], a cold plate (14) [first plate body]")
the first plate body comprises a first cavity; (Paragraph [0035]: "The cover (12) and the cold plate (14) [first plate body] define and enclose a cavity (20) [first cavity].")
the intelligent module resides proximate to the first plate body is disposed in the housing, (Paragraph [0041]: "Electronic modules (50) [intelligent module] are mounted directly to the cold plate (14) within the cavity (20) of the thermal enclosure (10) [proximate to first plate body and disposed in housing].")
the air cooling part and the intelligent module are disposed on a same side of the first plate body; (Paragraph [0045]: "By orienting the thermal inlet (46) of the cold plate (14) [first plate body] so that it is adjacent the plurality of outlets (24) and by placing the thermal outlet (48) adjacent the plurality of inlets (22) a substantially similar temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) [intelligent module] within the thermal enclosure (10) may be achieved [similar arrangement of cooling structures on same side of first plate body]" ; Paragraph [0046]: "The fans (18) [air cooling part] are sized and arranged in fluid communication with the thermal enclosure (10) to provide sufficient air flow through the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain an optimal temperature range for the HPEMs (50) housed therein [...] In the example, the inlet side (58) of each of the fans (18) is mounted to the inlet manifold (16) and the outlet side (60) is mounted directly to at least one of the plurality of inlets (22) [detailed arrangement of air cooling fans - optimized to be on same side of first plate body].")
at least one of the air cooling part or the first plate body is configured to dissipate heat for-from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0045]: "…the heat gradient of the air (52) is substantially opposite the heat gradient of the liquid coolant in the cold plate (14) [first plate body], thereby allowing the thermal enclosure (10) to maintain a substantially even temperature for each of the HPEMs (50) housed therein [configured to dissipate heat from intelligent module].").
Richards does not teach wherein a vehicle comprises a central control system, a battery cooling system, and a motor colling system; the battery cooling system is configured to dissipate heat from a battery of the vehicle; the motor cooling system is configured to dissipate heat from a motor of the vehicle; the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system are controlled by the central control system; the plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system.
In a similar field of endeavor (intelligent multi-loop vehicle cooling), Xia teaches: wherein a vehicle comprises a central control system, a battery cooling system, and a motor colling system; (Col. 4, line 59: "intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle cooling system [central controls system which controls battery and motor cooling]" ; Col. 4, lines 63-65: "and a heat exchanger (8) [cooling system], where the battery pack (9) [battery] and the electric drive module (14) [motor] are provided with internal cooling pipelines")
the battery cooling system is configured to dissipate heat from a battery of the vehicle; (Col. 4, lines 63-65: "and a heat exchanger (8) [cooling system], where the battery pack (9) [battery] are provided with internal cooling pipelines [battery cooling system]")
the motor cooling system is configured to dissipate heat from a motor of the vehicle; (Col. 4, lines 63-65: "and a heat exchanger (8) [cooling system], where the electric drive module (14) [motor] are provided with internal cooling pipelines [motor cooling system]")
the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system are controlled by the central control system; (Col. 4, line 59: "intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle cooling system [central controls system which controls battery and motor cooling]")
the plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to the battery cooling system and the motor cooling system (Col. 4, lines 63-67: "and a heat exchanger (8), where the battery pack (9) [battery] and the electric drive module (14) [motor cooling system] are provided with internal cooling pipelines, the internal cooling pipelines are connected to pipelines in the system [plurality of liquid cooling loops are connected to battery cooling system and motor cooling system]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to include the teaching of Xia based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operation of an intelligent multiple-loop electric vehicle (Xia Col. 1, line 63 to Col. 2, lines 1-17).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Richards and Xia does not teach the vehicle according to claim 18, further comprising: a temperature and humidity sensor coupled to the intelligent module and configured to measure a temperature and a humidity of an environment in which the intelligent module is located, a measurement result of the temperature and humidity sensor is used to determine a dew point temperature of the environment in which the intelligent module is located; a measurement result of the first temperature sensor, a measurement result of the second temperature sensor, and the dew point temperature are used to determine a liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body; and the intelligent module is void of condensation when the liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body dissipates the heat from the intelligent module.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle battery humidity control), Allison teaches: The vehicle according to claim 18, further comprising: a temperature and humidity sensor coupled to the intelligent module (Paragraph [0024]: "...battery control module (BCM) (308) [coupled to intelligent module'. […] Further, in some examples the BCM may have onboard sensors for determining humidity, temperature [temperature and humidity sensor], and/or pressure in the battery enclosure.")
and configured to measure a temperature and a humidity of an environment in which the intelligent module is located, (Paragraph [0024]: "...battery control module (BCM) (308) [coupled to intelligent module'. […] Further, in some examples the BCM may have onboard sensors for determining humidity, temperature [temperature and humidity sensor], and/or pressure in the battery enclosure [measure temperature and humidity of environment of intelligent module].")
a measurement result of the temperature and humidity sensor is used to determine a dew point temperature of the environment in which the intelligent module is located; (Paragraph [0035]: "BCM [intelligent module] may turn fan (716) on and off depending on temperature conditions within the battery enclosure [environment inside battery enclosure] and based on the dew point temperature [dew point temperature] within battery enclosure (700).")
a measurement result of the first temperature sensor, a measurement result of the second temperature sensor, and the dew point temperature are used to determine a liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body; (Paragraph [0052]: "Therefore, once the dew point temperature is established, it can be used to index a table that outputs a current amount as a function of dew point temperature and ambient temperature in the battery enclosure. In this way, an open loop estimate of a desired current to be supplied to the Peltier humidity control device can be made [determination of liquid cooling loop connected to first plate body as a function of temperature and dew point measurements].")
and the intelligent module is void of condensation when the liquid cooling loop connected to the first plate body dissipates the heat from the intelligent module (Paragraph [0056]: "said Peltier device contained in a battery enclosure; and discharging condensate collected by said Peltier device from said battery enclosure. The method includes wherein said Peltier device is supplied current in response to a humidity sensor located in said enclosure. [...] The method further comprises cooling said Peltier device with coolant [intelligent module removes condensation as a function of liquid cooling loop dissipating heat].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Richards and Xia to include the teaching of Allison based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the control of humidity within a battery enclosure (Allison Paragraphs [0004] – [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Timmons, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9689624) teaches a battery module, a heat exchanger in communication with a battery cell, and a methodology in which a heat pipe system can be created from a heat exchange member.
Fedyna (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210050578) teaches an energy storage module for a vehicle drive system for supplying energy to an electric motor in a vehicle using individual energy storage cells combined into a battery in which the energy storage cells are electrically conductively connected to a plurality of connection boards.
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663