DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 lines 3-4 recite “and/or” which renders the claim language indefinite as it is unclear whether the claimed features are required or not. For the purpose of this examination “and/or” is being viewed as “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chi et al (US Pub No. 2024/0137720).
Regarding claim 1, Chi teaches an acoustic camera system (1) (Fig 1, device 102), having a microphone unit (3) (Fig 1, first microphone 104a) and a mobile device (2), in particular a tablet or smartphone (Fig 1, device 102 is a mobile phone), wherein the mobile device comprises a camera (22) (Fig 1, camera 106 rear), a data interface (41) (Fig 17, connection 1705) and a display (25) (Fig 1, display 106 front), wherein the microphone unit (3) comprises a data interface (42) which is coupled or can be coupled to the data interface (41) of the mobile device (2) via a connection (4) (Fig 17, connection between input device 1745 and connection 1705), wherein the microphone unit (3) comprises a microphone array (32) with a plurality of microphones (32a) (Fig 1, mic 104a-e) and an evaluation unit (31) which receives data from the microphones (32a) (Fig 4A, multi-mic input 410a sent to pre-processing engine 420).
Regarding claim 2, Chi teaches the acoustic camera system (1) according to claim 1, wherein the evaluation unit (31) comprises an FPGA or ASIC (¶ [0216], application specific integrated circuits (ASIC) and filed programmable logic arrays (FPGA)).
Regarding claim 3, Chi teaches the acoustic camera system (1) according to claim 1, wherein the microphone unit (3) is supplied with voltage via the voltage supply (20), in particular in the form of a battery of the mobile device (2) via the connection (4) (Fig 1, device 102 is a mobile device having its own internal power which supplies voltage to all connected units including microphones 104a-e and camera 106).
Regarding claim 4, Chi teaches the acoustic camera system (1) according to claim 1, wherein the microphone unit (3) is connected or connectable to the mobile device (2) via a mechanical coupling (Fig 1, microphones 104a-e mechanically coupled to device 102).
Regarding claim 5, Chi teaches the acoustic camera system (1) according to claim 1, wherein software (21) is installed on the mobile device, which software is configured to receive data from the evaluation unit (31) or to transmit it to the evaluation unit (31), and/or to display information concerning the data generated by the evaluation unit (31) and/or an image or video generated by the camera (22) on the display (25) (¶ [0097], occlusion warning generated by UI/audio framework displayed on a display of the multi-microphone device).
Regarding claim 6, Chi teaches the acoustic camera system (1) according to claim 1, wherein the display unit is designed as a touchscreen (¶ [0202], touch-sensitive screen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Laaksonen et al (US Pub No. 2020/0382864) teaches audio data arrangement using a mobile device.
Laitinen et al (US Pub No. 2023/0362537) teaches parametric spatial audio rendering with near-field effect.
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692