DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot as the amendment requires new ground of rejection that does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0057491 by Yoshimi in view of US 2019/0084444 by Ge et al. (Ge hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimi discloses an electric vehicle drive system [see at least Figures 1-3, (5)], comprising: at least one of a generator rectifier circuit [see at least Figure 3, (22); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”] and a motor drive circuit [see at least Figure 3, (14); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”], and a power module [see at least Figure 3, (12)], comprising a bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, (C2)] and a first bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, (Q1) and (Q2)], a bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, between (Q1) and (Q2) where (L1) is connected] is configured to connect to a power battery [see at least Figure 3, first bridge arm midpoint to (10)], and two ends of the first bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)]; the generator rectifier circuit comprises three second bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (22)], two ends of each second bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to the two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)], and bridge arm midpoints of all the second bridge arms [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (22)] are separately configured to connect to a generator [see at least Figure 3, second bridge arms midpoint to (MG1)]; and the motor drive circuit comprises three third bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (14)], two ends of each third bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to the two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)], and bridge arm midpoints of all the third bridge arms [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (14)] are separately configured to connect to a drive motor [see at least Figure 3, third bridge arms midpoint to (MG2)].
Yoshimi fails to disclose wherein the power battery is configured to connect to a parallel connection point of three power windings in the generator or a parallel connection point of three power windings in the drive motor. However, Ge discloses a hybrid vehicle drivetrain system [see at least Abstract] which connects a traction battery [see at least Figure 5, (502)] through a parallel connection point to three power windings in a generator [see at least Figure 5, (508)] and three power windings in a motor [see at least Figure 5, (504)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Yoshimi to include the connection to the parallel connection point of the generator and motor, as disclosed by Ge, in order to generator and inverter connected to the motor can participate in power conversion. Thus, offering the benefit of not needing separate components thereby reducing weight and extending the range of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 1.
Yoshimi discloses wherein a running mode of the electric vehicle drive system comprises a brake regenerative mode [see at least paragraph 0034, “During regenerative braking”], a pure electric drive mode [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself], and a hybrid drive mode [see at least paragraph 0031, “during normal running or sudden acceleration of the vehicle, the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2 as a motor”], wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the brake regenerative mode, the motor drive circuit runs in a rectifier mode [see at least paragraph 0062, “during regenerative braking of hybrid vehicle 5, inverter 14 converts the AC voltage generated by motor generator MG2 into a DC voltage”] and charges the power battery [see at least paragraph 0059, “for charging battery 10”] by outputting a direct current via the power module [see at least paragraph 0059, “During regeneration of motor generators MG1 and 2, the DC voltage supplied from inverter 14 and/or inverter 22 through capacitor C2 is lowered for charging battery 10”]; when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the pure electric drive mode [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself], the motor drive circuit receives power supplied by the power battery via the power module [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”], and runs in an inverter mode to output a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0052, “Inverters 14 and 22 each are formed of a commonly-used three-phase inverter and convert DC voltage VH…output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”]; or when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode to supply power to the motor drive circuit [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor MG2”; paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”], and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode to output a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor MG2”; paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”].
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 2.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the brake regenerative mode or the pure electric drive mode [see at least paragraph 0033, “or uses only the driving force from motor generator MG2 to cause the vehicle to run”; paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are turned off [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself and therefore (22) would be off; paragraph 0066, “issues a gate shut-off command for motor generator MG1…such that each of switching elements Q3-Q8 constituting inverter 22 stops the switching operation (all are tuned off)”], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 2.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the hybrid drive mode [see at least paragraph 0031, “during normal running or sudden acceleration of the vehicle, the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2 as a motor”; paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; both the battery and the output of MG1 can power MG2], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 10, Yoshimi discloses a controller [see at least Figure 3, (33) and (35)] for an electric vehicle drive system [see at least Figures 1-3, (5)], wherein the electric vehicle drive system comprises at least one of a generator rectifier circuit [see at least Figure 3, (22); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”] and a motor drive circuit [see at least Figure 3, (14); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”], and a power module [see at least Figure 3, (12)], the power module comprises a bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, (C2)] and a first bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, (Q1) and (Q2)], the generator rectifier circuit comprises three second bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (22)], the motor drive circuit comprises three third bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (14)], a bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, between (Q1) and (Q2)] is configured to connect to a power battery [see at least Figure 3, first bridge arm midpoint to (10)], two bridge arm ends of the first bridge arm are respectively configured to connect two bridge arm ends of each second bridge arm or two bridge arm ends of each third bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, all are connected to (PL) and (GL)], bridge arm midpoints of all the second bridge arms are separately configured to connect to a generator [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (22) connected to (MG1)], and bridge arm midpoints of all the third bridge arms are separately configured to connect to a drive motor [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (14) connected to (MG2)]; and the controller is configured to: control an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], so that the two ends of the first bridge arm output direct currents to two ends of the three third bridge arms [see at least Figure 3, out to (PL) and out to (GL)]; and control an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that the bridge arm midpoints of the three third bridge arms output three-phase alternating currents [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches]; or control an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], so that the two ends of the first bridge arm output direct currents to two ends of the three third bridge arms [see at least Figure 3, out to (PL) and out to (GL)]; and control an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that two ends of the three second bridge arms output direct currents [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches]; or control upper switching transistors and lower switching transistors in the three second bridge arms to be turned off [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself and therefore (22) would be off; paragraph 0066, “issues a gate shut-off command for motor generator MG1…such that each of switching elements Q3-Q8 constituting inverter 22 stops the switching operation (all are tuned off)”].
Yoshimi fails to disclose wherein the power battery is configured to connect to a parallel connection point of three power windings in the generator or a parallel connection point of three power windings in the drive motor. However, Ge discloses a hybrid vehicle drivetrain system [see at least Abstract] which connects a traction battery [see at least Figure 5, (502)] through a parallel connection point to three power windings in a generator [see at least Figure 5, (508)] and three power windings in a motor [see at least Figure 5, (504)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Yoshimi to include the connection to the parallel connection point of the generator and motor, as disclosed by Ge, in order to generator and inverter connected to the motor can participate in power conversion. Thus, offering the benefit of not needing separate components thereby reducing weight and extending the range of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the controller according to claim 10.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that the two ends of the three second bridge arms output direct currents [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches]; and control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], so that the bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm transmits a direct current to charge the power battery [see at least paragraph 0051, “serves to convert DC voltage VH between positive electrode line PL and negative electrode line GL into a charge voltage Vb for battery 10”]; or control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that the two ends of the three third bridge arms output direct currents [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches]; and control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], so that the bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm transmits a direct current to charge the power battery [see at least paragraph 0051, “serves to convert DC voltage VH between positive electrode line PL and negative electrode line GL into a charge voltage Vb for battery 10”].
Regarding claim 12, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the controller according to claim 10.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm to be turned off [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself and therefore (22) would be off; paragraph 0066, “issues a gate shut-off command for motor generator MG1…such that each of switching elements Q3-Q8 constituting inverter 22 stops the switching operation (all are tuned off)”], and control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches] and the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that the two ends of the three third bridge arms output direct currents [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches] to charge the power battery via a turned-on switching transistor [see at least paragraph 0055, “switching elements Q1 and Q2, for example, formed of IGBT”] in the first bridge arm and the bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 14, Yoshimi discloses an electric vehicle [see at least Figure 1, (5)], comprising a generator [see at least Figure 3, (MG1)], a drive motor [see at least Figure 3, (MG2)], and a drive system [see at least Figure 3, (20)] comprising at least one of a generator rectifier circuit [see at least Figure 3, (22); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”] and a motor drive circuit [see at least Figure 3, (14); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”], and a power module [see at least Figure 3, (12)], the power module comprises a bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, (C2)] and a first bridge arm [see at least Figure 3, (Q1) and (Q2)], a bridge arm midpoint of the first bridge arm is configured to connect to a power battery [see at least Figure 3, between (Q1) and (Q2) to (10)], and two ends of the first bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)]; the generator rectifier circuit comprises three second bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (22)], two ends of each second bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to the two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)], and bridge arm midpoints of all the second bridge arms are separately configured to connect to a generator [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (22) to (MG1)]; and the motor drive circuit comprises three third bridge arms connected in parallel [see at least Figure 3, (Q3) to (Q4), (Q5) to (Q6) and (Q7) to (Q8) within (14)], two ends of each third bridge arm are respectively configured to connect to the two ends of the bus capacitor [see at least Figure 3, to (PL) and to (GL)], and bridge arm midpoints of all the third bridge arms are separately configured to connect to a drive motor [see at least Figure 3, (15), (16) and (17) within (14) to (MG2)].
Yoshimi fails to disclose wherein the power battery is configured to connect to a parallel connection point of three power windings in the generator or a parallel connection point of three power windings in the drive motor. However, Ge discloses a hybrid vehicle drivetrain system [see at least Abstract] which connects a traction battery [see at least Figure 5, (502)] through a parallel connection point to three power windings in a generator [see at least Figure 5, (508)] and three power windings in a motor [see at least Figure 5, (504)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Yoshimi to include the connection to the parallel connection point of the generator and motor, as disclosed by Ge, in order to generator and inverter connected to the motor can participate in power conversion. Thus, offering the benefit of not needing separate components thereby reducing weight and extending the range of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 14.
Yoshimi discloses wherein a running mode of the electric vehicle drive system comprises: a brake regenerative mode [see at least paragraph 0034, “During regenerative braking”], a pure electric drive mode [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself], and a hybrid drive mode [see at least paragraph 0031, “during normal running or sudden acceleration of the vehicle, the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2 as a motor”], when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the brake regenerative mode, the motor drive circuit runs in a rectifier mode and charges the power battery by outputting a direct current via the power module [see at least paragraph 0062, “during regenerative braking of hybrid vehicle 5, inverter 14 converts the AC voltage generated by motor generator MG2 into a DC voltage”; paragraph 0059, “for charging battery 10”]; when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the pure electric drive mode, the motor drive circuit receives power supplied by the power battery via the power module, and runs in an inverter mode to output a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0052, “Inverters 14 and 22 each are formed of a commonly-used three-phase inverter and convert DC voltage VH…output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”]; or when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode to supply power to the motor drive circuit, and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode to output a three-phase current to the drive motor circuit [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor MG2”; paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1” paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor MG2”; paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”]
Regarding claim 16, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 15.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the brake regenerative mode or the pure electric drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are turned off [see at least paragraph 0033, “the motor generator MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; the battery can power MG2 by itself and therefore (22) would be off; paragraph 0066, “issues a gate shut-off command for motor generator MG1…such that each of switching elements Q3-Q8 constituting inverter 22 stops the switching operation (all are tuned off)”], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 17, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 15.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the hybrid drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Claims 5-7, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0057491 by Yoshimi in view of US 2019/0084444 by Ge et al. (Ge hereinafter) in further view of US 2014/0288756 by Tanaka et al. (Tanaka hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 2.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the hybrid drive mode comprises: a first hybrid drive mode [see at least paragraph 0031, “when the SOC of battery 10 is low”], a second hybrid drive mode [see at least “normal running”], and wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the first hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode, supplies power to the motor drive circuit, and charges the power battery via the power module [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor MG1 is converted by PCU 20 from AC power into direct-current (DC) power. Then, the converted DC power is stored in battery 10”], and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079]; when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the second hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode and supplies power to the motor drive circuit [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2”], the power battery supplies power to the motor drive circuit via the power module [see at least paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; both the battery and generator can be used together], and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079].
Yoshimi in view of Ge fails to teach a third hybrid drive mode, when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the third hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode and supplies power to the motor drive circuit, and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor. However, Tanaka discloses a similar vehicle drive system [see at least Figure 3] in which a battery [see at least Figure 3, (700)] can be fully disconnected from the drive system [see at least Figure 3, (710); paragraphs 0047 and 0066].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the drive system of Yoshimi in view of Ge to include the battery disconnect feature from a similar drive system, as disclosed by Tanaka, in order to be able to disconnect the battery from the drive system in the event that an abnormality occurs within the battery [see paragraph 0066 of Tanaka]. Thus, allowing the drive system to remain operational and providing protection from the components of the drive system.
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimi in view of Ge in further view of Tanaka teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 5.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the first hybrid drive mode or the second hybrid drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimi in view of Ge in further view of Tanaka teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 5.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the third hybrid drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Tanaka discloses an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off [see at least paragraph 0047; this is an equivalent of turning off the first bridge switches].
Regarding claim 13, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the controller according to claim 10.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: and control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm to be alternately turned on, so that the two ends of the three second bridge arms output direct currents [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches]; and control the upper switching transistors and the lower switching transistors in the three third bridge arms to be alternately turned on, so that the bridge arm midpoints of the three third bridge arms output three-phase alternating currents [see at least Figure 3, (14); paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 output the converted AC voltages to motor generators MG2 and MG1”].
Yoshimi in view of Ge fails to teach control the upper switching transistor and the lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm to be turned off. However, Tanaka discloses a similar vehicle drive system [see at least Figure 3] in which a battery [see at least Figure 3, (700)] can be fully disconnected from the drive system [see at least Figure 3, (710); paragraphs 0047 and 0066].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the drive system of Yoshimi in view of Ge to include the battery disconnect feature from a similar drive system, as disclosed by Tanaka, in order to be able to disconnect the battery from the drive system in the event that an abnormality occurs within the battery [see paragraph 0066 of Tanaka]. Thus, allowing the drive system to remain operational and providing protection from the components of the drive system.
Regarding claim 18, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 15.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the hybrid drive mode comprises a first hybrid drive mode [see at least paragraph 0031, “when the SOC of battery 10 is low”], a second hybrid drive mode [see at least “normal running”], wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the first hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode, supplies power to the motor drive circuit [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2”], and charges the power battery via the power module [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor MG1 is converted by PCU 20 from AC power into direct-current (DC) power. Then, the converted DC power is stored in battery 10”], and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079]; when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the second hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode and supplies power to the motor drive circuit [see at least paragraph 0031, “the electric power generated by motor generator MG1 turns into motive power for driving motor generator MG2”], the power battery supplies power to the motor drive circuit via the power module [see at least paragraph 0033, “MG2 is driven by at least one of the electric power stored in battery 10 and the electric power generated by motor generator MG1”; both the battery and generator can be used together], and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079].
Yoshimi in view of Ge fails to teach and a third hybrid drive mode, when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the third hybrid drive mode, the generator rectifier circuit runs in a rectifier mode and supplies power to the motor drive circuit, and the motor drive circuit runs in an inverter mode and outputs a three-phase current to the drive motor. However, Tanaka discloses a similar vehicle drive system [see at least Figure 3] in which a battery [see at least Figure 3, (700)] can be fully disconnected from the drive system [see at least Figure 3, (710); paragraphs 0047 and 0066].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the drive system of Yoshimi in view of Ge to include the battery disconnect feature from a similar drive system, as disclosed by Tanaka, in order to be able to disconnect the battery from the drive system in the event that an abnormality occurs within the battery [see paragraph 0066 of Tanaka]. Thus, allowing the drive system to remain operational and providing protection from the components of the drive system.
Regarding claim 19, Yoshimi in view of Ge in further view of Tanaka teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 18.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the first hybrid drive mode or the second hybrid drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off or alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0051, “Converter 12 converts a DC voltage Vb from battery 10 and outputs a DC voltage VH between a positive electrode line PL and a negative electrode line GL”; paragraph 0067, “generates a signal PWMC for performing switching control of switching elements Q1 and Q2 in converter 12”; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Regarding claim 20, Yoshimi in view of Ge in view of Tanaka teaches the electric vehicle according to claim 18.
Yoshimi discloses wherein when the electric vehicle drive system runs in the third hybrid drive mode, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0052, “inverters 14 and 22 convert the AC voltages generated by motor generators MG2 and MG1 into DC voltages VH”; paragraph 0065; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches], and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each third bridge arm are alternately turned on [see at least paragraph 0061, “Based on a signal PWMI2 from MG-ECU 35, inverter converts DC voltage VH from capacitor C2 into an AC voltage for driving motor generator MG2”; paragraph 0079; the switches are controlled through Pulse Width Modulation which alternately turns on the switches].
Tanaka discloses an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off [see at least paragraph 0047; this is an equivalent of turning off the first bridge switches].
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0057491 by Yoshimi in view of US 2019/0084444 by Ge et al. (Ge hereinafter) in further view of US 8,540,601 by Wang et al. (Wang hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimi in view of Ge teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 1.
Yoshimi discloses wherein the electric vehicle drive system further comprises: an engine [see at least Figure 2, (ENG)].
Yoshimi in view of Ge fails to teach and when the engine drives the electric vehicle, the power module, the motor drive circuit, and the generator rectifier circuit respectively run in a standby mode. However, Wang discloses a hybrid drive system [see at least Figure 11] that can be driven by and engine [see at least Figure 11, (1)] in which two motor/generators [see at least Figure 11, (2) and (3)] remain idle [see at least column 7, lines 42-48; as both motor/generators are idle, a power module would also be idle].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the drive system of Yoshimi in view of Ge to include the purely engine operating mode that keeps the motors/generators idle, as disclosed by Wang, for several reasons such as allowing the engine to operate more efficiently during certain driving (no added strain from powering the generator), preservation of the battery charge as it is not being used or as a failsafe mode if there is a failure in the drive system. Thus, adding options that would increase efficiency, save battery life or allow a driver to continue to operate the vehicle during a failure in the drive system.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshimi in view of Ge in further view of Tanaka teaches the electric vehicle drive system according to claim 8.
Yoshimi discloses shut-off commands for these components which turn the switches off [see at least paragraphs 0064, 0066 and 0078] and Tanaka discloses placing the drive system in an idle mode [see at least column 7, lines 42-48].
Therefore, Yoshimi in view of Ge in further view of Tanaka teaches wherein when the engine drives the electric vehicle, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in the first bridge arm are turned off, an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each second bridge arm are turned off, and an upper switching transistor and a lower switching transistor in each of the third bridge arms is turned off as having the switches on or alternatively on would cause the drive system to no longer be idle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836