Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an image generation unit” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito (US 20200139543 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches an optical tactile sensor (manipulator 1) (Abstract) comprising: a contact part (pressure receiving portion 4) having a contact surface that comes in to contact with an object ([0070]), the contact part being deformed in response to a contact state of the object with respect to the contact surface ([0078]); a marker (M) disposed on the contact part, and configured to be displaced in response to deformation of the contact part ([0070]); and an imaging unit (detection portion 6) configured to capture an image of the marker from an opposite side that is a side opposite to a side where the object comes into contact ([0070], fig. 3), wherein the contact part allows light in a first wavelength range to pass (transmit) therethrough, and blocks light in a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range ([0258]-[0260], fig. 26), the marker reflects light that is incident on the marker from the opposite side ([0261]), and the imaging unit receives the light reflected by the marker and the light in the first wavelength range, and generates an image ([0261]).
Regarding claim 2, Saito teaches the optical tactile sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first wavelength range includes at least a portion of a wavelength range of infrared light or ultraviolet light, and the second wavelength range includes at least a portion of a wavelength range of visible light ([0109], [0259]).
Regarding claim 3, Saito teaches the optical tactile sensor according to claim 1, comprising an irradiation unit configured to irradiate the contact part with illumination light including the light of the first wavelength range from the opposite side ([0108]).
Regarding claim 6, Saito teaches a robot hand including the optical tactile sensor according to claim1 ([0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Saito teaches a robot arm including the optical tactile sensor according to claim 1 ([0276]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 20200139543 A1) in view of Hoshino (JP2009145085 A).
Regarding claim 4, Saito teaches the optical tactile sensor according to claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising an image generation unit configured to generate an image in which influence of a part of light is reduced or removed, based on image information generated by the imaging unit.
However, Hoshino, which relates to tactile sensor and is thus from the same field of endeavor as Saito, teaches comprising an image generation unit configured to generate an image in which influence of a part of light is reduced or removed (noise removal), based on image information generated by the imaging unit ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito by incorporating an image generation unit configured to generate an image in which influence of a part of light is reduced or removed, based on image information generated by the imaging unit for accurate detection.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 20200139543 A1) in view of Nagata (JP,2000-288973,A)
Regarding claim 5, Saito teaches the optical tactile sensor according to claim 1, wherein the contact part has a film shape (elastic layer) ([0070]) but fails to disclose the marker includes a plurality of projections that project from a back surface, of the contact part, opposite to the contact surface.
However, Nagata which relates to tactile sensor and is thus from the same field of endeavor as Saito, teaches wherein the contact part has a film shape (skin), and the marker includes a plurality of projections (plurality of small pins) that project from a back surface, of the contact part, opposite to the contact surface ([0006]-[0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito by incorporating wherein the contact part has a film shape, and the marker includes a plurality of projections that project from a back surface, of the contact part, opposite to the contact surface for increased marker sensitivity for better detection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adelson (US20130033595A1) teaches wherein the contact part allows light in a first wavelength range to pass therethrough, and blocks light in a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range, the marker reflects light that is incident on the marker from the opposite side, and the imaging unit receives the light reflected by the marker and the light in the first wavelength range ([0068])
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877