DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/656,179 filed on June 5th, 2024).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “NO” and “YES” [Figures 7A, 7B, 8, and 9].
Claim Interpretation – Functional Analysis
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the processor configured to …” in claim 9.
The Examiner notes one of ordinary skill in the art would afford the claimed “process” status as connoting sufficient structure and thus not invoke Functional Analysis.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "another transform block" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the claimed “another transform block” has no relationship to the “transform block” claimed and thus the claim has Indefinite metes and bounds. Additionally, the claims are Indefinite as no determination to a second threshold value is made to have a response to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishna, et al (US PG PUB 2022/0030274 A1 referred to as “Krishna” throughout), and further in view of Peringassery Krishnan, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0247561 A1 referred to as “Peri” throughout) and Nalci, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0040151 A1 referred to as “Nalci” throughout).
Regarding claim 1, see claim 9 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 2, see claim 10 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 3, see claim 11 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 4, see claim 12 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 5, see claim 13 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 14 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 7, see claim 15 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 8, see claim 16 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 9 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 2 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 3 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 4 which the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 9, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
a processor, the processor configured to execute instructions to [Krishna Figures 1, 2, and 7 (see at least reference characters 741, 742, 743, and 744) as well as Paragraphs 52, 67, 75 (processor based implements of the codec), and 183 – 187 (processors and obvious variants to execute software instructions)]:
identify a long transform type to apply to a long side of a transform block and a short transform type to apply to a short side of the transform block [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 (using the maximum between the block dimensions for the block size to select transform types and the minimum of the length and width of the block is an obvious variants of the “short” feature claimed also horizontal and vertical direction transforms are considered), 116 – 131 (possible sets for vertical and horizontal transforms to use and considerations based on block size), 144 – 154 (block size threshold to select set of transform types)], wherein to identify the long transform type and the short transform type comprises to:
determine that the long side is equal to a first threshold value [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 with short / long side determinations) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2 suggesting a N = 32 threshold) as well as Paragraphs 78 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and suggested threshold / points for transforms needed and ratios of blocks to suggest long / short size (non-square blocks))]; and
in response to determining that the long side is equal to the first threshold value, code the long transform type, the long transform type being one of a discrete cosine transform or an identity transform [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 as equal to a 32 x 32 block or a long side of 32 with short / long side determinations) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2) as well as Paragraphs 77 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and sizes of transforms (as thresholds)) or Nalci Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included) and Tables 2 and 3 (see vertical / horizontal mode for transform sets) in which for a 32x32 block (or larger) the DCT and IDTX transforms are available ) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 9 (2D transforms have short / long transform applications based on dimension rendering obvious the claim transforms to one of ordinary skill in the art)]; and
apply the long transform and the short transform type [Krishna Figures 3 – 5 (subfigures included and see at least reference characters 351 and 203 where in view of Nalci Figure 1 (see “transform” block) as well as Paragraphs 5 – 9 would render obvious applying the derived transforms) as well as Paragraphs 82 – 92 (transforms to perform by the coder and the inverse in a decoder)].
The motivation to combine Peri with Krishna is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of signaling transform sets [Peri Paragraph 2] in order to improve video coding efficiency by selectively signaling transform information [Krishna Paragraphs 5 – 7 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Nalci with Peri and Krishna is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of encoding / decoding video data [Nalci Paragraph 2] in order to improve coding efficiency [Nalci Paragraphs 5 – 7 and 30 – 31 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 10, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
in response to determining that the short side is equal to the first threshold value, code the short transform type, the short transform type being one of the discrete cosine transform or the identity transform [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included where the DCT and IDTX transforms are applied in the vertical / horizontal directions) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 as equal to a 32 x 32 block or a long side of 32 with short / long side determinations) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2) as well as Paragraphs 77 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and sizes of transforms (as thresholds)) or Nalci Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included) and Tables 2 and 3 (see vertical / horizontal mode for transform sets – Combine with Krishna’s obvious variants on block size determinations) in which for a 32x32 block (or larger) the DCT and IDTX transforms are available ) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 9 (2D transforms have short / long transform applications based on dimension rendering obvious the claim transforms to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 11, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
in response to determining that the short side is less than the first threshold value, code the short transform type for the transform block, the short transform type being one of the discrete cosine transform, an asymmetric discrete sine transform, a flipped asymmetric discrete sine transform, or the identity transform [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included where the DCT and IDTX transforms are applied in the vertical / horizontal directions) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 with short / long side determinations where transform sets may include flipped DST transforms and where the shorter side in a rectangular / non-square block contains a flipped DST transform or asymmetric transform (Paragraph 129)) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2) as well as Paragraphs 77 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and sizes of transforms (as thresholds)), 108 and 129 (flipped DST or asymmetric DST transforms available in transform dets) or Nalci Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included) and Tables 2 and 3 (see vertical / horizontal mode for transform sets – Combine with Krishna’s obvious variants on block size determinations) in which for a 32x32 block (or larger) the DCT and IDTX transforms are available ) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 9 (2D transforms have short / long transform applications based on dimension rendering obvious the claim transforms to one of ordinary skill in the art and includes flipped transforms)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 12, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
select a probability model for coding the long transform type, wherein the probability model is selected based on whether a prediction block associated with the transform block is predicted using an inter prediction mode or an intra prediction mode [Krishan Figure 4 (see at least reference character 432 and 445) as well as Paragraphs 70 – 77 (entropy coding) to be modified by Peri Figures 2 – 3 and 6 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 214) as well as Paragraphs 39 – 40 and 107 (entropy encoding) and 95 – 102 (contexts / probability model (Paragraph 98 renders as obvious variants) based on the prediction mode to code the transform sets (Peri Paragraphs 87 – 91) selected in Tables 2 – 5)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 13, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
encode the long transform type into a compressed bitstream [Krishan Figure 4 (see at least reference character 432 and 445) as well as Paragraphs 70 – 77 (entropy coding) to be modified by Peri Figures 2 – 3 and 6 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 214) as well as Paragraphs 39 – 40 and 105 – 107 (entropy encoding information to a bitstream) and 95 – 102 (contexts / probability model (Paragraph 98 renders as obvious variants) based on the transform sets (Peri Paragraphs 87 – 91 and 114 at least) selected in Tables 2 – 5)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 14, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
decode the long transform type from a compressed bitstream [Krishan Figure 3 (see at least reference characters 210, 312, 310, 320 and 321) as well as Paragraphs 52 – 55 and 70 – 73 (entropy decoding the bitstream / channel / video data) with encoded data in Paragraphs 74 – 77 to be modified by Peri Figures 2 – 3 and 6 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 218 and 254) as well as Paragraphs 33 – 34 and 45 – 49 (entropy decoding the bitstream) and 95 – 107 (contexts / probability model (Paragraph 98 renders as obvious variants) based on the transform sets (Peri Paragraphs 87 – 91 and 114 at least) selected in Tables 2 – 5)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 15, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
wherein the long side is set as a maximum of a width and a height of the transform block, and the short side is set as a minimum of the width and the height of the transform block [Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 (using the maximum between the block dimensions for the block size to select transform types and the minimum of the length and width of the block is an obvious variants of the “short” feature claimed also horizontal and vertical direction transforms are considered), 116 – 131 (possible sets for vertical and horizontal transforms to use and considerations based on block size and the longer and shorter side of the blocks (such as in at least Paragraphs 125 – 129))].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Regarding claim 16, Krishna teaches a variety of block size considerations for using to select transform sets. Peri teaches a variety of subsets based on block size and entropy coding considerations based on the prediction mode used (e.g. intra or inter). Nalci teaches additional considerations based on block size which substitutions taught by Krishna may be used in the assignments of transform subsets used.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or apply the teachings of Krishna to the tables and transform set selection as taught by Peri and include the entropy coding considerations and to make modifications to Nalci’s transform sets. The combination teaches
in response to determining that a long side of the another transform block is equal to a second threshold value [The Examiner notes the limitation appears to be an obvious duplication of claim 1 and thus obvious in view of MPEP2144.04 IV B (Duplication of Parts) and additionally Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 with short / long side determinations for any block) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2 suggesting a N = 32 threshold) as well as Paragraphs 78 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and suggested threshold / points for transforms needed and ratios of blocks to suggest long / short size (non-square blocks))], set a long transform type for the another transform block to the discrete cosine transform [The Examiner notes the limitation appears to be an obvious duplication of claim 1 and thus obvious in view of MPEP2144.04 IV B (Duplication of Parts) and additionally Krishna Figures 5 – 6 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 103 – 107 and 116 – 129 (suggested a threshold of N = 32 as equal to a 32 x 32 block or a long side of 32 with short / long side determinations for any block and repeated on a per block basis) and 144 – 154 (threshold / block size comparison) where the block size can be in combination with the tables of Peri Tables 2 and 3 (see DCT and identity transform available at 32 x 32 block size in Table 2 at least and available for selection in which the selection of the DCT transform would be an obvious selection of a finite number of elements (KSR Rationale (E))) as well as Paragraphs 77 – 81 and 86 – 91 (horizontal and vertical transforms available and sizes of transforms (as thresholds)) or Nalci Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included) and Tables 2 and 3 (see vertical / horizontal mode for transform sets) in which for a 32x32 block (or larger) the DCT and IDTX transforms are available in which the selection of the DCT transform would be an obvious selection of a finite number of elements (KSR Rationale (E)) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 9 (2D transforms have short / long transform applications based on dimension rendering obvious the claim transforms to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 9 for the motivation to combine Krishna, Peri, and Nalci.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chao, et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0021852 A1 referred to as “Chao” throughout) in which in Paragraphs 104 – 107 the longer side DCT and identity transform sets for selection are taught. Ray et al. (US PG PUB 2023/0328244 A1 referred to as “Ray” throughout) teaches in Paragraphs 123 – 125 the use of flipped DSTs and asymmetric DSTs for use in transform sets based on block sizes. Nalci, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0323442 A1 referred to as “Nalci 42” throughout) teaches similar features as Nalci.
Reference which may raise ODP Considerations based on amendments made: Zhao, et al. (US Patent #12,641,290 B2 referred to as “Zhao” throughout).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487