DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 5/15/2025.
Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claims 1-5, 9-20 are rejected.
Claims 6, 7, 8 are objected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by U.S. Publication 2025/0028799 to Kurian et al. (hereinafter known as "Kurian”) and U.S. Publication 2025/0356057 to Pundak et al. (hereinafter known as "Pundak”).
As per claim 1 Kurian teaches, a method for performing a biometric based authentication through an Artificial Intelligence (AI) agent, comprising:
receiving, by an authentication module, a request from a user device to interact with an AI agent, wherein the request comprises a biometric input associated with a user handling the user device (Kurian Fig 3 para 78-80 teaches Biometric scanner in element 304 and Biometric scanner 310 includes an Artificial Intelligence (“AI”) model and more sensors 308);
blending, by the authentication module, the input with a distinct digital signature associated with the AI agent to create a biometric characteristic (Kurian Fig 3 para 79-80 teaches Biometric scanner 310 captures biometric identifiers along with biometric authentication reference model 314 using a biometric authentication application);
comparing, by the authentication module, the biometric characteristic with a pre-stored biometric characteristic (Kurian Fig 3 para 79-80 teaches Biometric scanner 310 compares captured biometrics of user 304 to the stored biometrics included in biometric authentication reference model 314);
determining, by the authentication module, that the biometric characteristic matches with the pre-stored biometric characteristic (Kurian Fig 3 para 79-80 teaches Biometric scanner 310 the comparison in real-time by comparing one captured biometric identifier with a corresponding stored biometric identifier); and
providing, by the authentication module, an access of the AI agent to the user based upon the determination (Kurian Fig 3 para 86-88 teaches Biometric authentication reference model 314 with first biometric authentication reference model and reference model 808 is second biometric authentication reference model and Biometric scanner 310 includes an Artificial Intelligence (“AI”) model).
Kurian teaches yet Pundak enhances further by teaching – device and content authentication (Pundak – Abstract and Fig 3-5, para 56-60 teaches the facial recognition 308 with compared biometrics data and/or other facial recognition data maintained by the user device 302A along with machine learning model trained to perform object detection performs the facial recognition 308 and ROI extraction based on the raw frames 344 as an input).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Kurian of authentication module, the input with a distinct digital signature associated with the AI agent to create a biometric characteristic with Pundak’s teaching of device and content authentication (Pundak abstract). The motivation for doing so would be to determine malicious actors to disseminate false information or otherwise manipulate users with generated content enhance secure access to multiple networks by user (Pundak para 1-2).
As per claim 2 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, the method according to claim 1, wherein the biometric input comprises a heartbeat, a voice, a fingerprint, and an iris image associated with the user (Kurian para 11 teaches biometric identifiers such as face recognition model corresponding to the key landmarks of the user's face such as iris or facial features).
As per claim 9 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, method according to claim 1, wherein the biometric characteristic further comprises a temporal element reflecting changes in a knowledge associated with the AI agent based on the one or more preferences inferred by the AI agent over a period of time, wherein the temporal element comprises changes in the one or more preferences inferred from a purchase behavior of the user over time (Kurian para 53-54 teaches predetermined threshold number of comparison points along with verification of the identity of the user over predetermined amount of time).
As per claim 10 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the authentication module, a callback from the AI agent for the user device; and
alerting, by the authentication module, the user device about the callback, wherein the user handling the user devices provides the biometric input to the authentication module for gaining an access to the AI agent (Kurian Fig 3 para 86-88 teaches Biometric authentication reference model 314 with first biometric authentication reference model and reference model 808 is second biometric authentication reference model and Biometric scanner 310 includes an Artificial Intelligence (“AI”) model).
As per claim 11 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, method according to claim 1, wherein the pre-stored biometric characteristic is stored in a memory (Kurian para 78 and para 61-62 teaches Biometric scanner 310 is in node 306 (includes memory) and where Biometric scanner 310 is executed by the processor).
As per claim 12 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the authentication module, that the biometric characteristic is not matching with the pre-stored biometric characteristic; and denying, by the authentication module, the access of the AI agent to the user device (Kurian para 79-80 teaches - Capturing biometrics identifiers of user 304 with Biometric scanner 310 then compares the captured biometrics to the stored biometrics included in biometric authentication reference model 314 and determines if the user is approved or denied access based on authentication).
As per claim 13 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, method according to claim 1, wherein the distinct digital signature associated with the AI agent is stored in a memory (Kurian para 78-79 and 61-62 teaches Computer 101 with processor 103 including include RAM 105, ROM 107, input/output circuit 109 and a non-transitory or non-volatile memory 115).
Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected in accordance with claim 1.
Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected in accordance with claim 10.
Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected in accordance with claim 11.
Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected in accordance with claim 12.
As per claim 18 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, system according to claim 14, wherein the user device is one of a mobile device, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a tablet computer, a phablet computer, a wearable computing device, a virtual reality/augmented reality (VR/AR) device, a laptop, a desktop, and a server (Kurian para 6 and 41 teaches where user device can be desktop computer, laptop, smartphone, tablet, mainframe computer, mobile device or any other suitable user device).
As per claim 19 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, system according to claim 14, wherein the system is one of a central server, a cloud server, a remote server, an electronic device, and a portable device (Kurian para 65 teaches client-server configuration or any device as described in claim 18).
Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected in accordance with claim 1.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by U.S. Publication 2021/0112488 to Meredith et al. (hereinafter known as "Meredith”) and U.S. Publication 2023/0007050 to Henry et al. (hereinafter known as "Henry”) and further in view of U.S. Publication 2020/0067906 to Florez et al. (hereinafter known as "Florez”).
As per claim 3 combination of Kurian – Pundak teaches, the method according to claim 1, further comprising: inferring, by the AI agent, one or more user preferences associated with one or more products, one or more services, and one or more categories based on an interaction of the user with the AI agent,
Combination of Kurian – Pundak does not teach however Florez teaches,
historical purchase data associated with the user, and a user behavior learned by the AI agent, wherein the one or more user preferences is transmitted to the authentication module (Florez para 19, 34 and 52 teaches user behavior information 218 includes information about gestures performed by the user 108, voice commands provided by the user 108, recent purchases, search queries, Internet browsing history, information requests, multimedia requests (e.g. movie or music requests) and other actions performed by a user 108); and
processing, by the authentication module, the biometric characteristic based on the one or more user preferences, wherein the one or more preferences comprises one or more sports affiliations, one or more brand affinities, one or more entertainment choices, and one or more lifestyle interests (Florez para 56 teaches user 108 with their user device 104 to authenticate themselves and to request private information such as account information such as account balances, personal information, medical information, or any other type of information within the stored user private information 220. Examiner interprets above categories of information as lifestyle interests of claimed limitation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Kurian-Pundak of biometric authentication with distinct digital signature associated with the AI agent with Florez’s teaching of historical purchase data associated with the user, and a user behavior learned by the AI agent (Florez Fig 1 2 and para 52). The motivation for doing so would be to enhance sensitive or confidential information which requires a high level of security and data access control (Florez para 1-2).
As per claim 4 combination of Kurian – Pundak – Florez teaches, the method according to claim 3, wherein the interaction comprises one or more of historical data or explicit user inputs provided to the AI agent by the user (Florez para 52 teaches AI device 110 sends behavior information 218 for a user 108 based on the user's 108 interactions with the AI device 110 where the behavior information 218 includes recent purchases, search queries, Internet browsing history, information requests, multimedia requests (e.g. movie or music requests) and other types of information).
As per claim 5 combination of Kurian – Pundak – Florez teaches, the method according to claim 3, wherein the user behavior comprises the one or more preferences, interests of the user, behavioral patterns of the user predicted by the AI agent (Florez para 52 teaches the behavior information 218 includes user gestures performed by the user 108, voice commands provided by the user 108, recent purchases, search queries, Internet browsing history, information requests, multimedia requests (e.g. movie or music requests)).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kurian et al US Publication 20250028799
Pundak et al US Publication 20250356057
Florez et al US Publication 20200067906
McNamara et al US Publication 20250259007
Tannenbaum et al US Patent 12650885
Motgi et al US Patent 12524560
LInedmann et al US Patent 12041039
Conclusion
/VIRAL S LAKHIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431