DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2024/0103342 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an optical system, comprising: a first optical module, configured to carry a first optical element (Applicant’s published paragraph [0027] explains the first optical element is a bladed aperture; Tsai, e.g. Abstract: teaches a blade aperture); and a circuit assembly, configured to electrically connect the first optical module to an external circuit (Applicant’s published paragraphs [0026] and [0051] and Fig. 2 explains the circuit assembly is connected to an external circuit that controls drive signals for a lens; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 12 and ¶¶ 0089–0094: teaches a variable aperture structure having a flexible circuit board that terminates at both the input terminal of the variable aperture and the output terminal connected to the driving circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai and Kim (US 2021/0364732 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tsai and Kim teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuit assembly comprises: an input terminal; an output terminal, wherein the input terminal and the output terminal are movable relative to each other; and a flexible portion, wherein the input terminal is movably connected to the output terminal via the flexible portion; wherein the input terminal is at least partially fixedly connected to the first optical module (Tsai, Figs. 8 and 12 and ¶¶ 0089–0094: teaches a variable aperture structure having a flexible circuit board that terminates at both the input terminal of the variable aperture and the output terminal connected to the driving circuit; Kim, Figs. 21 and 44A and ¶¶ 0546 and 0929: teaches circuit board 2180 and terminals 2018 disposed on an outer surface of the housing).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Tsai, with those of Kim, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice smartphone camera assemblies would be led to their relevant teachings, because both Tsai and Kim recognize that flexible circuit boards are desirable for attaching to driving mechanisms where the lens and aperture are subject to movement due to focus and optical image stabilization (OIS), and because combining Tsai’s flexible circuit board and variable aperture with Kim’s flexible circuit board disposed on the outer surface of a housing represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Tsai and Kim used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tsai and Kim teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a second optical module, wherein: the first optical module is disposed on the second optical module (Applicant’s published paragraphs [0026]–[0028] explain the first optical module/element is an aperture and the second optical module/element is a lens; Tsai, Fig. 2: teaches the variable aperture is disposed on the lens assembly); the first optical module comprises a driving assembly, and the driving assembly is configured to drive the first optical element to move (Tsai, ¶ 0005: teaches a driving part for driving the movable blades of the aperture); and the second optical module is configured to drive the first optical module to move (This is interpreted as saying the aperture (first module) moves with the OIS lens movement (second module); Tsai, Fig. 2: teaches the variable aperture is disposed on the lens assembly).
Claims 4–8, 11, and 15–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Kim, and Kim (US 2024/0085760 A1) (herein “Kim ‘760”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the second optical module comprises: a second accommodating space for accommodating a second optical element (Kim ‘760, ¶ 0023: teaches a lens driving module accommodated in the inner space of a housing combined with an aperture module); and a protective frame having a first side wall, wherein the first side wall is at least partially located between the second accommodating space and the circuit assembly (Kim ‘760, ¶ 0059: teaches the lens driving module accommodated in a housing 101 covered with a protective cover 103; Kim ’760, ¶ 0077: teaches the cover plate protects the module components).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Tsai and Kim, with those of Kim ‘760, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice smartphone camera assemblies would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Tsai’s and Kim’s imaging element housings with Kim ’760’s housing elements represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 4, wherein the protective frame further comprises a second side wall, wherein: the second side wall is at least partially located between the second accommodating space and the circuit assembly; and the first side wall and the second side wall are not parallel to each other (Kim ‘760, ¶ 0059: teaches the lens driving module accommodated in a housing covered with a protective cover 103 wherein the cover plate has non-parallel side walls formed adjacent to one another).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 4, wherein: the first optical module has a first accommodating space for accommodating the first optical element; and the first optical module is at least partially located within the second accommodating space (Kim ‘760, ¶ 0069: teaches that the aperture module is accommodated in the same housing 101 as the lens module).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 4, wherein: the circuit assembly is electrically connected to the driving assembly; and the circuit assembly is not disposed within the second accommodating space (Kim ‘760, Fig. 2 and ¶ 0062: teaches a circuit board 105 on the outside of the housing 101; Kim ‘760, ¶ 0067 and Fig. 2: teaches a PCB 175 connected outside the housing 101; see also Kim’s teachings applied to original claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the second optical module further comprises a fixed frame, wherein: the fixed frame comprises a groove; the circuit assembly further comprises an external terminal, which is disposed within the groove; the output terminal is electrically connected to the external circuit via the external terminal; and a height of the fixed frame is greater than a height of the protective frame (Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second optical module further comprises a housing, and the housing includes: a first housing space, accommodating the protective frame; a second housing space, accommodating a portion of the circuit assembly; and a third housing space, accommodating the fixed frame, wherein the first housing space is in communication with the second housing space and the third housing space (Examiner interprets these elements as the nesting housing structure found in most of these camera module units in this art; compare Applicant’s Fig. 3 to Kim ‘760’s Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the groove comprises a first groove space and a second groove space, the first groove space is in communication with the second groove space, the external terminal is accommodated within the first groove space and is not accommodated within the second groove space (Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 15, wherein when viewed in the direction parallel to the normal direction of the second side wall, the first groove space and the external terminal at least partially overlap, the second groove space and the external terminal at least partially overlap, and an overlapping area between the external terminal and the first groove space is greater than an overlapping area between the external terminal and the second groove space (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 8, wherein the fixed frame comprises a main frame, a top frame, and a side frame, the main frame corresponds to the second side wall, the groove is formed on the main frame, and the main frame connects the top frame and the side frame (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 17, wherein when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first side wall, the main frame and the side frame do not overlap the protective frame, and the top frame at least partially overlaps the protective frame (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 17, wherein when viewed in a direction parallel to the first and second side walls, the main frame and the top frame do not overlap the protective frame, and the side frame at least partially overlaps the protective frame (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760 teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the output terminal of the circuit assembly is disposed on the top frame, and the side frame does not contact the circuit assembly (Kim, Fig. 21: illustrates the external terminals for connecting to the external circuit disposed within a groove; Tsai, Figs. 8 and 9: teaches the cover height lower than the protruding lens and aperture housing).
Claims 9, 10, 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee (US 2020/0089020 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 8, wherein: a length of the fixed frame is greater than a length of the protective frame (Lee, e.g. Fig. 17: teaches a fixed frame length greater than the length of a protective frame); and the first side wall is partially covered with a light-shielding material (Lee, ¶ 0400: teaches a SOMA light-shielding material used to shield light).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Tsai, Kim, and Kim ‘760, with those of Lee because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice smartphone camera assemblies would be led to their relevant teachings and because combining Tsai’s, Kim’s, and Kim ’760’s housing elements with a light-shielding material such as SOMA represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 8, wherein: the second side wall is attached to the fixed frame; and when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first side wall, the fixed frame and the flexible portion do not overlap (Examiner notes it does not matter if the flexible portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Lee, ¶ 0050: teaches a light shielding portion may overlap perpendicular to an optical axis).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 11, wherein when viewed in a direction parallel to the first side wall, the first housing space and the second housing space do not overlap (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Lee, ¶ 0050: teaches a light shielding portion may overlap perpendicular to an optical axis).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 11, wherein when viewed in a direction parallel to the second side wall, the first housing space and the third housing space do not overlap (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Lee, ¶ 0050: teaches a light shielding portion may overlap perpendicular to an optical axis).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tsai, Kim, Kim ‘760, and Lee teaches or suggests the optical system as claimed in claim 11, wherein when viewed in a direction parallel to a normal direction of the second side wall, the first housing space and the third housing space at least partially do not overlap, and the second housing space and the third housing space at least partially do not overlap (Examiner notes it does not functionally matter if a certain portion is visible or not as it has no function and is simply aesthetic; Lee, ¶ 0050: teaches a light shielding portion may overlap perpendicular to an optical axis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JerryRigEverything, “Its a bit smaller than we expected…-Xiaomi 12s Ultra Camera Sensor Teardown,” accessed at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmH8v8rY1vY on 09/24/2026 (July 28, 2022). This video shows the lenses, OIS, coils, and flexible PCB assemblies of a cellphone camera.
Weng (US 2020/0225442 A1) is Applicant’s own work and describes protective housings (e.g. ¶ 0304) and SOMA light-shielding material (¶ 0345).
Huang (US 2021/0003813 A1) is Applicant’s own work and describes certain aspects of this claimed invention (e.g. see claim 7).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481