Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, 13-15, 17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lebner [WO 2021/257083 A1. Text references will be to the equivalent US document 2023/0248363, cited on Applicant’s IDS].
Lebner discloses:
Claim 1. An assembly [Fig. 4a], comprising: a medical device comprising first and second components [“anchoring members” 10, 16, plus elements 11, 12,14,17,18,20, together; Pars. 0066-0067], wherein the first and second components are movable with respect to each other, and placeable with respect to opposing edges of a wound or incision [Pars. 0066-0067]; and
an applicator card [“common release liner” 34, Fig. 4a] removably coupled to the medical device [Fig. 4a, Pars. 0161-0162], wherein the removable coupling maintains positioning of the first component of the medical device with respect to the second component of the medical device [Fig. 4a and Par. 0160 describe common release liner 34 being adhered to both the first and second components 10 and 16. Furthermore, the release liner is described as desirably being a “semi-rigid material” (Par. 0119) such as “cardboard” stock (Par. 0118). Because it is adhered to both components as shown and is not elastic, it serves the function of maintaining positioning of the first component with respect to the second component].
Res. claim 5, 6, and 9, Lebner discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the applicator card has indicia thereon [Par. 0118]. Regarding the indicia indicating two ways of applying the device: there is no functional relationship between the claimed indicia and the applicator card. The claimed printed matter is a set of instructions for use of the device, but does not have a functional relationship to the device. Thus, the printed matter (indicia) does not have patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05: “[W]here the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals.” In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864.
Re. claim 7-8, only the “indicator for aligning the medical device with respect to the wound or incision” comprises printed matter with a functional relationship to the device. The QR code, etc. do not possess a functional relationship to the device. Since the limitations are recited in the alterative, the QR code, a uniform resource locator, natural language text, and one or more images represent variations without further patentable weight and thus taught by Lebner above.
Claim 10. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the applicator card comprises one or more foldable edge portions [38a/b, shown as folded at right angles to the main surface of 34].
Claim 11. The assembly of claim 10, wherein the one or more foldable edge portions is coupled to a main portion of the applicator card [“tabs are … produced from separate stock and attached to the first and second release liners associated with the first or second adhesive-backed anchoring members,” Par. 0010]. Regarding the tabs being removable: they may be removed by, among other methods, cutting (the card is made of cardboard as set forth with respect to claim 1), thus they are removable. (Furthermore, even if the stock were not such that the tabs were removable, making them such would have been an obvious modification of the above structure. See MPEP 2144.04.V.C.]
Claim 13. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the applicator card is removably coupled to the medical device using an adhesive [Par. 0160].
Claim 14. The assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second components of the medical device comprises:
an adhesive-backed [Par. 0136. Note that references to other embodiments refer to common elements which are not labeled in the cited embodiment] anchoring member [10 and 16] for adhering to skin of a patient, the adhesive-backed anchoring member comprising a wound edge [11 and 17] for positioning proximate to the wound or incision;
one or more elongated connectors [12 and 18] extending from the wound edge of the adhesive-backed anchoring member; and
one or more pulling elements [14 and 20] joined to the one or more elongated connectors and adapted for translation of the adhesive-backed anchoring member toward the wound or incision [Par. 0009].
Claim 15. The assembly of claim 14, wherein the applicator card is removably [Pars. 0161-0162] coupled to one or more of the adhesive-backed anchoring members, the one or more elongated connectors, and the one or more pulling elements of the first and second components of the medical device [Fig. 4B].
Claim 17. A method for closing a wound or incision, comprising:
providing the assembly of claim 1 [as set forth with respect to claim 1 above] ;
applying the medical device to skin of a patient proximate the wound or incision [“the exposed adhesive is utilized to fix the position of wound edge 11 along one side of the sound or incision,” Par. 0161];
after applying the medical device, removing the applicator card from the medical device [“The remaining portion of common release liner 34 is then removed,” Par. 0162]; and after removing the applicator card, closing the wound or incision using the medical device [“Once first adhered portion 36b of common release liner 34 is removed from second adhesive-backed anchoring member 16, the exposed adhesive is utilized to fix the position of wound edge 17 along the second side of the wound or incision. Second release liner 24b is then removed as described in connection with other instances above enabling the entire adhesive backed surface of first adhesive-backed anchoring member 16 to be attached to the skin. Once first adhesive-backed anchoring member 10 and second adhesive-backed anchoring member 16 are applied, the two component device is then adjusted and secured according to conventional techniques.,” Par. 0162].
Claim 21. A method for preparing an assembly, comprising:
providing the medical device and the applicator card of claim 1 [as set forth above]; and
removably coupling the applicator card to the medical device [Pars. 0161-0162. Because the applicator card is removably coupled to the medical device, this step has inherently been performed], wherein the removable coupling maintains positioning of the first component of the medical device with respect to the second component of the medical device [as set forth with respect to claim 1 above].
Claim(s) 1, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiser [US 7981136 B2].
Weiser discloses:
Claim 1. An assembly [Fig. 8], comprising: a medical device comprising first and second components [100], wherein the first and second components are movable with respect to each other, and placeable with respect to opposing edges of a wound or incision [when the two components are not attached to element 131b they are movable with respect to each other]; and
an applicator card [131b] removably coupled to the medical device [Fig. 8, Col. 6 lines 43-49], wherein the removable coupling maintains positioning of the first component of the medical device with respect to the second component of the medical device [The applicator card 131b is shown and described as being a single sheet of stock material adhered to both components, Col. 6 lines 43-49. Because it is adhered to both components as shown and is not described as elastic, it serves the function of maintaining positioning of the first component with respect to the second component].
Claim 14. The assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second components of the medical device comprises:
an adhesive-backed [103, Fig. 2] anchoring member [101, Fig. 1] for adhering to skin of a patient, the adhesive-backed anchoring member comprising a wound edge [Annotated Fig. 1] for positioning proximate to the wound or incision;
one or more elongated connectors [105] extending from the wound edge of the adhesive-backed anchoring member [Fig. 1]; and
one or more pulling elements [110] joined to the one or more elongated connectors and adapted for translation of the adhesive-backed anchoring member toward the wound or incision [Col. 4 lines 12-16].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebner in view of Eaves et al. [US 2021/0298741 A1, hereinafter “Eaves”].
Re. claim 2, Lebner discloses the assembly of claim 1, but fails to teach the aperture or transparent region. However, Eaves teaches, in an assembly comprising a medical device [12, Fig. 62], and an applicator card [78] comprising an aperture or transparent region at a central portion of the applicator card [“central portion of the cover sheets 78…may be transparent…to define a “window,” Par. 0236]; and a size of the aperture or transparent region is configured for assessing whether opposing edges of the wound or incision will have a desired position with respect to the first and second components of the medical device [““window” for facilitating…viewability of the…wound 50,” Par. 0236]. Regarding “while the removable coupling maintains the positioning of the first component with respect to the second component,” this relates to the intended use of the window and is not given further patentable weight, but is taught in Lebner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Lebner by adding a transparent window to the uppermost layer, here the applicator card, as taught by Eaves, in order to allow a user to view the wound [Eaves Par. 0236].
Re. claims 3 and 4, there are no functional relationships between the claimed indicia and the applicator card. The claimed printed matter are sets of instructions for use of the device, but does not have a functional relationship. Thus, the printed matter (indicia) does not have patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05: “[W]here the printed matter and product do not depend upon each other, no functional relationship exists. For example, in a kit containing a set of chemicals and a printed set of instructions for using the chemicals, the instructions are not related to that particular set of chemicals.” In re Ngai, 367 F.3d at 1339, 70 USPQ2d at 1864.
Re. claim 20, Lebner discloses providing the assembly of claim 1 [as set forth with respect to claim 1 above];
And further discloses, based on edges of the wound or incision, to be positioned between the first and second components of the medical device [Par.s 0094-0095],
removing the applicator card from the medical device [“The remaining portion of common release liner 34 is then removed,” Par. 0162]; ;
after removing the applicator card, applying the medical device to skin of a patient proximate the wound or incision; and after applying the medical device, closing the wound or incision using the medical device [“Once first adhered portion 36b of common release liner 34 is removed from second adhesive-backed anchoring member 16, the exposed adhesive is utilized to fix the position of wound edge 17 along the second side of the wound or incision. Second release liner 24b is then removed as described in connection with other instances above enabling the entire adhesive backed surface of first adhesive-backed anchoring member 16 to be attached to the skin. Once first adhesive-backed anchoring member 10 and second adhesive-backed anchoring member 16 are applied, the two component device is then adjusted and secured according to conventional techniques.,” Par. 0162].
Lebner fails to disclose an aperture or transparent region and thus fails to teach using said aperture to guide placement.
Eaves teaches an applicator card [78] comprising an aperture or transparent region at a central portion of the applicator card [“central portion of the cover sheets 78…may be transparent…to define a “window,” Par. 0236]; and a size of the aperture or transparent region is configured for assessing whether opposing edges of the wound or incision will have a desired position with respect to the first and second components of the medical device [““window” for facilitating…viewability of the…wound 50,” Par. 0236]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Lebner by adding a transparent window to the uppermost layer, here the applicator card, as taught by Eaves, in order to allow a user to view the wound [Eaves Par. 0236].
Given the above method of application and the existence of a window, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Lebner by, after adding the aperture/transparent region, the step of, based on edges of the wound or incision, to be positioned between the first and second components of the medical device, not being visible through an aperture or transparent region of the applicator card, removing the applicator card from the medical device; and after removing the applicator card, applying the medical device to skin of a patient proximate the wound or incision; because this ensures that the device has been placed over the intended site of the wound. One of ordinary skill, placing a wound closure device having a window to view the wound, would reasonably be expected to remove and replace the closure device if said wound is not present in the window and/or the two anchoring members are not properly located on either side of the wound.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebner.
Re. claim 12, Lebner discloses the assembly of claim 11, wherein the one or more foldable edge portions is removably coupled to the main portion of the applicator card, but fails to teach said coupling using an adhesive. However, elasewhere, Lebner teaches coupling components of the medical device using an adhesive [Pars. 0097-0098]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Lebner by using an adhesive for the coupling as taught by because this amounts to a simple substitution of one coupling structure known in the art for another.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiser in view of Lebner.
Re. Claim 16. Weiser discloses The assembly of claim 14, wherein: the medical device comprises a release liner [130a/b, Fig. 8] removably attached to the adhesive backing of the adhesive-backed anchoring member of the first and second components of the medical device; and when the release liner is removed, the applicator card is the only component of the assembly maintaining the positioning of the first component with respect to the second component [Fig. 8].
Weiser fails to teach the release liner being a single release liner removably attached to both the first and second components of the medical device. However, Lebner teaches a single release liner removably attached to both the first and second components of the medical device [Fig. 4C, element 34]. Replacing the two release liners 130a/b with a single release liner would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because this configuration amounts to a simple substitution of one type of release liner known in the art for another with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIN MCGRATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771