DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in French Republic on 05/17/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2405068 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 1, “a household appliance according to claim 1” is read as “the household appliance according to claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “an angle approximately between 300 and 400, and advantageously around 350 with the longitudinal gripping direction”. It is unclear the limitation “advantageously around 350 with the longitudinal gripping direction” is required by the claim or not. For the purpose of applying art, the limitation “advantageously around 350 with the longitudinal gripping direction” is not required by the claim.
Claim 10 recites “a lead” in line 3. It is unclear “a lead” in claim 10 is the same or different from “a lead” in claim 1. For the purpose of applying art, “a lead” in claim 10 is interpreted as the lead in claim 1.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229) (hereinafter US’229).
Regarding claim 1, US’229 teaches a household appliance comprising:
an iron (fig. 7, an iron 3), and
a base (fig. 7, a support device 8 coupled to the base 1) coupled to the iron by a lead (fig. 1, lead 2),
wherein the iron comprises:
a head (fig. 2, a body of the iron 3),
a soleplate (fig. 2, a soleplate 30) fitted and attached to the head, and
a handle (fig. 2, a handle 31) extending from the head, the handle being offset relative to the soleplate,
wherein the head and the handle form a concave supporting portion (fig. 5) and the base forms a convex docking portion (figs. 5-7, a portion 82 of the device 8) configured to accommodate the supporting portion of the iron, the docking portion of the base having an interlocking shape with the supporting portion of the iron (fig. 7), and
wherein when the supporting portion of the iron is positioned on the docking portion of the base, at least a portion of the soleplate projects out over the base (fig. 7, para. [0055], the surface 80 forms an angle of 150 with respect to the vertical plane; while in para. [0057], the soleplate 30 is oriented perpendicularly to the vertical plane of the ironing board 5 while being engaged on the support device 8; then there is a portion of the soleplate projects out over the base).
Regarding claim 2, US’229 teaches the docking portion of the base forms a convex top and the supporting portion of the iron forms a concave hollow having an interlocking shape with the convex top of the docking portion of the base (figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 3, US’229 teaches wherein when viewed from a side, the docking portion of the base has a substantially triangular shape forming the convex top, and wherein the convex top has a cross-section that is substantially in an inverted U shape (annotated fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 6, US’229 teaches a magnet configured to maintain the iron in position on the base when the supporting portion of the iron is seated on the docking portion of the base, the magnet housed in either the handle or the base (para. [0066], the magnet of the support device secures the position of the support device on the base 1, which further secures the iron on the base 1).
Regarding claim 7, US’229 teaches the docking portion of the base comprises a head recess (fig. 4, recess 80) configured to accommodate the head of the iron, and a handle recess (fig. 4, recess 82A) configured to accommodate the handle of the iron, the handle recess having a U-shaped cross section (fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Longshaw (US 2020/0199808).
Regarding claim 4, US’229 teaches a tank (fig. 2, reservoir 10) included in the base.
US’229 does not teach the tank having a capacity approximately between 300 and 500 ml.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Longshaw teaches the tank having a capacity approximately between 300 and 500 ml (para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the tank of US’229 with a capacity approximately between 300 and 500 ml as suggested by Longshaw for the benefit of providing enough steam for ironing garments.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229) and Longshaw (US 2020/0199808), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of D’Oliviera Dias (US 2019/0376227)(hereinafter US’227).
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure US’229-Longshaw does not teach a tank fill opening defined in the tank near the convex top of the base.
However, in the same field of endeavor, US’227 teaches a tank fill opening (fig. 6, a cavity 103 with an orifice 102) defined in the tank near the convex top of the base.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure US’229-Longshaw with a tank fill opening defined in the tank near the convex top of the base as taught by US’227 so that the user can access to the opening for refilling the reservoir.
Claims 8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2016/0122937).
Regarding claim 8, US’229 teaches the handle extends at least partially along a longitudinal gripping direction and the soleplate extends at least partially along an ironing direction forming an acute angle (fig. 5).
US’229 does not teach the angle approximately between 300 and 400.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches the angle approximately between 300 and 400 (para. [0043], [0075]and annotated fig. 1 below, the angle between the soleplate and the handle is equal to the angle of 30 degrees between the rest position and the operation position of the iron).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine US’229 with the angle approximately between 300 and 400 as suggested by Lee for the benefit of providing a comfortable gripping effect in using the device.
Regarding claim 11, US’229 does not teach the base has a length that is shorter than or equal to a length of the iron.
However, Lee teaches the base has a length that is shorter than or equal to a length of the iron (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine US’229 with the teaching that the base has a length that is shorter than or equal to a length of the iron as suggested by Lee for the benefit of providing aesthetically pleasing features to the ironing device.
Regarding claim 12, the modified structure US’229-Lee does not teach the angle formed between the longitudinal gripping direction and the ironing direction is 350.
However, Lee teaches the angle formed between the longitudinal gripping direction and the ironing direction is 350 (para. [0043], [0075]and annotated fig. 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure US’229-Lee with the angle is 350 as suggested by Lee for the benefit of providing a comfortable gripping effect in using the device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP3294946 (hereinafter EP’946.
Regarding claim 9, US’229 teaches the head of the iron comprises a stand and the handle comprises a beveled free end (annotated fig. 5 below).
US’229 does not clearly teach the iron is configured to be set down on the beveled free end of the handle and the stand of the head.
However, in the same field of endeavor, EP’946 teaches the rear surface 12A of the handle 12 allows the handle to rest substantially flat on the plane H, which improves the stability of the iron in the position by providing a stable support on the ironing board (machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine US’229 with the teaching that the iron is configured to be set down on the beveled free end of the handle and the stand of the head as suggested by EP’946 for the benefit of providing stability for the iron to rest on the ironing board.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Oliviera Dias (US2019/0376229), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fung (US 2015/0252518).
Regarding claim 10, US’229 does not teach a side tab fitted and attached to a side of the base so as to accommodate a power cord on the base or a lead connecting the iron to the base in a space between the side tab and a side wall of the base.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fung teaches a side tab fitted and attached to a side of the base so as to accommodate a power cord on the base or a lead connecting the iron to the base in a space between the side tab and a side wall of the base (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine US’229 with a side tab as taught by Fung for the benefit of attaching the power cord to the side wall of the device (Fung, fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732