Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 18 the phrase “sufficiently rigid to transfer a force…the midfoot region” is vague and indefinite because it is not clear what rigidity would be sufficient and therefore it is not clear what structural limitations applicant intends to encompass with such language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10-12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavaliere (2023/0404211).
Cavaliere shows A sole structure (see specifically figures 8A, 8B, and 10B) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a unitary, one-piece sole component (see paragraphs [0037] and [0090]), wherein the unitary, one-piece sole component includes a sole plate (800) and a heel support (814, see figures 10B);
wherein the sole plate (800) includes a heel region, an inner side facing a foot-receiving
side of the sole structure, and an outer side opposite from the inner side (see figures 8A and B);
wherein the heel support (814) includes an inner side contiguous with the inner side of
the sole plate and an outer side contiguous with the outer side of the sole plate, and the
heel support extends around a rear of the heel region and away from the sole plate (see figures 8A and B); and
wherein the outer side of the heel support has a convex profile from a medial side
to a lateral side of the sole plate (see figures 1-5B, 6B, 8A, and 8B).
In reference to claim 2, see figures 1-5B, 6B, 8A, and 8B.
In reference to claims 4-7, see medial sidewall (812M) and lateral sidewall (812L).
In reference to claim 10, see figure 8A.
In reference to claim 11, see figure 2F.
In reference to claims 12 and 18, see hole at 840B in figures 10A and 10B.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (2004/0103561).
Campbell shows A sole structure (see specifically figure 4a) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a unitary, one-piece sole component (see figure 4a) wherein the unitary, one-piece sole component includes a sole plate (see marked up figure below) and a heel support (see marked up figure below);
wherein the sole plate includes a heel region, an inner side facing a foot-receiving
side of the sole structure, and an outer side opposite from the inner side (see figure below);
wherein the heel support includes an inner side contiguous with the inner side of
the sole plate and an outer side contiguous with the outer side of the sole plate, and the
heel support extends around a rear of the heel region and away from the sole plate (see figure below); and
wherein the outer side of the heel support has a convex profile from a medial side
to a lateral side of the sole plate (see paragraph [0074] and figures).
In reference to claim 2, see paragraph [0074] and figures.
In reference to claims 4-7, see medial sidewall and lateral sidewall (shown in figure 4b).
In reference to claims 8 and 9, see figure 4a.
In reference to claim 11, see figures 3 and 4b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalier or Campbell in view of Bodner (2011/0119959).
Cavalier or Campbell shows a sole structure substantially as claimed except for the exact material. Bodner teaches the use of carbon fiber composite materials (see paragraph [0040]) for a stabilizing sole structure. It would have been obvious to use carbon fiber composite materials as taught by Bodner for the sole structure of Cavalier or Campbell to provide sufficient stability and strength.
Claim(s) 12-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalier or Campbell in view of Toraya (8745901).
Cavalier or Campbell as discussed above shows a sole structure substantially as claimed except for the exact hole and receptacle. Toraya teaches providing a hole (60) in a heel support and teaches providing a receptacle (45) which is tapered/ramped (see rounded edges at numbers 100 and 102 in figure 5) with a flange and ring (see figure 5) as claimed. It would have been obvious to provide a hole and receptacle as taught by Toraya in the sole structure of either Cavalier or Campbell to assist putting on the shoe.
In reference to claims 19 and 20, Cavaliere shows A sole structure (see specifically figures 8A, 8B, and 10B) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a unitary, one-piece sole component (see paragraphs [0037] and [0090]) or Campbell shows A sole structure (see specifically figure 4a) for an article of footwear, the sole structure comprising:
a unitary, one-piece sole component (see figure 4a) substantially as claimed except for a through hole and receptacle. Toraya teaches providing a hole (60) in a heel support and teaches providing a receptacle (45) which is tapered (see rounded edges at numbers 100 and 102 in figure 5) as claimed. It would have been obvious to provide a hole and receptacle as taught by Toraya in the sole structure of either Cavalier or Campbell to assist putting on the shoe.
The prior art cited and not relied upon by the Examiner for the above rejections are considered to be pertinent in that the references cited are considered to be the nearest prior art to the subject matter defined in the claims as required by MPEP707.05.
In order to avoid potential delays, Technology Center 3700 is encouraging FAXing of responses to Office Actions directly into the Center at (571)273-8300 (FORMAL FAXES ONLY). Please identify Examiner Marie Bays of Art Unit 3732 at the top of your cover sheet.
Any inquiry concerning the MERITS of this examination from the examiner should be directed to Marie Bays whose telephone number is (571) 272-4559. The examiner can normally be reached from Mon-Thurs 6-4. Alternatively if the Examiner cannot be reached, please contact the Examiners SPE Alissa Tompkins at 571-272-3425.
/MARIE D BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732