DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges cancelled Claim 3 and amended Claims 4 and 16 in the response filed on 9/21/2026.
Response to Arguments
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 9/21/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4-15, and 21 based upon 35 USC § 103 as set forth in the last Office action.
In the Declaration, the Applicant disagreed with the Examiner that it is obvious that Orimo’s disclosure of magnetic particles having a first layer F11 with a thickness of 0.5 nm to 10 nm and a second layer F12 with a thickness of 1 nm to 30 nm renders the claimed magnetic particles having a second layer with an average thickness of 2 to 10 times greater than an average thickness of a first layer.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that Applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. In that regard, Orimo teaches:
The first oxide layer F11 has a thickness smaller than a thickness of the second oxide layer F12 [0068] (i.e. Orimo recognizes a thickness relationship of its second oxide layer F12 is thicker than a thickness of the first oxide layer F11).
The thickness of the first oxide layer F11 is not limited in any way, and is 0.5 nm to 10 nm, for example [0068]
The first oxide layer F12 comprises Fe oxide [0068]
The thickness of the second oxide layer F12 is 1 nm to 30 nm, or preferably 10 nm to 25 nm [0069]
The second oxide layer F12 comprises Si oxide [0069]
Recognizes that an increase in thickness of the second oxide layer F12 provides improvement, such as resistivity (Figs. 9-10 and [0102])
So while the Examiner acknowledges that Orimo disclose respective ranges for its first layer and second layer, the Examiner deems that a prima facie of obviousness exists in Orimo when considering the cumulative teachings of 1) to 6). Furthermore, when considering only the upper endpoints of the respective preferred ranges, the resulting thickness relationship provides a second oxide layer thickness that is 2.5 times the thickness of the first oxide layer (i.e. 10 nm thick first oxide layer to a 25 nm thick second oxide layer).
Applicant’s arguments regarding unexpected results have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the particular claimed range of thickness difference between the first and second layers of the plurality of first magnetic particles is critical in achieving unexpected results (i.e. A second layer thickness that is 2 to 10 times greater than a thickness of a first layer is critical in achieving unexpected results). However, this argument is not persuasive. The Specification and declaration do not provide any examples and comparative examples to establish the argued criticality.
Applicant stated that when the average thickness T2 of the second layer 112 is greater than 10 times the average thickness T1 of the first layer 112, leads to a significant reduction in the saturated magnetization of the magnetic body. However, Applicant has not provided what the saturated magnetization is when the thickness relationship is between 2 to 10 times, when the thickness is less than 2 times (e.g. 1.5 times), when the thickness is greater than 10 times (e.g. 10.5 times), etc. to establish the criticality of the entire range of 2 to 10 times (including endpoints).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18888719 in view of US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”) and US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”).
The subject matter sought is substantially covered by the subject matter in copending Application No. 18888719.
Copending Application No. 18888719 does not disclose the plurality of first magnetic particles include an Fe-Si-Cr alloy, a plurality of second magnetic particles including a phosphate first layer, a plurality of third magnetic particles having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles, and the thickness relationship between the first and second layers of the plurality of first magnetic particles.
Kim et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first magnetic particles (132) including an Fe-Si-Cr alloy component and a plurality of second magnetic particles (136) including an Fe component and having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles (Figs. 1 and 3, [0029], [0059], and [0061]).
Kim et al. teaches at least one of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132) includes a Fe oxide first layer (132b) formed on a surface of a core (132a) of the plurality of first magnetic particles, and at least some of the plurality of second magnetic particles (136) include a phosphate first layer (136b) formed on a surface of a core (136a) of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Fig. 3, [0059], and [0061]-[0063]).
Kim et al. further teaches the magnetic body includes a plurality of third magnetic particles (134) having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles and include a first layer formed as an insulating film on a surface of the plurality of third magnetic particles (i.e. the insulating binder on the third magnetic particle) (Fig. 3 and [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said features in order to have a high filling rate/density in the magnetic body with desirable insulation between the magnetic particles [0034].
Orimo et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of magnetic particles including an Fe component. At least one of the plurality of the magnetic particles includes a first layer (F11) formed on a surface of a core (P1) of the plurality of magnetic particles and a second layer (F12) formed on a surface of the first layer (F11). The first layer (F11) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes an Fe oxide, and the second layer (F12) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes Si oxide, wherein the second layer (F12) has a Si component concentration of at least 50 wt% and does not include a Sn component (Figs. 1-2, [0068], and [0069]).
Orimo et al. further teaches the thickness of its first layer (F11) of the plurality of magnetic particles has a thickness smaller than the thickness of the second layer (F12). The thickness of the first layer (F11) is not limited in any way, and is 0.5 nm to 10 nm, for example. Orimo et al. teaches the thickness of its second layer (F12) is 1 nm to 30 nm (Figs. 1-2, [0068], and [0069]). As shown in Figs. 9-10, Orimo et al. teaches that the second layer is optimized to achieve desirable magnetic permeability and resistivity of the magnetic particles ([0100]-[0102]). In light of the instant teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average thickness of the second layer be 2 to 10 times greater than an average thickness of the first layer of the first magnetic particles in order to obtain excellent insulation, permeability, and resistivity properties ([0033] and [0100]-[0102]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18888719 in view of US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”) and US Pub. No. 20180061550 (“Lee2”).
The subject matter sought is substantially covered by the subject matter in copending Application No. 18888719.
Copending Application No. 18888719 does not disclose a plurality of second magnetic particles including a phosphate first layer, a plurality of third magnetic particles having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles, and a 3 nm or less thick insulating film on the plurality of third magnetic particles.
Kim et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first magnetic particles (132) including an Fe component and a plurality of second magnetic particles (136) including an Fe component and having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles (Figs. 1 and 3, [0029], [0059], and [0061]).
Kim et al. teaches at least one of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132) includes a Fe oxide first layer (132b) formed on a surface of a core (132a) of the plurality of first magnetic particles, and at least some of the plurality of second magnetic particles (136) include a phosphate first layer (136b) formed on a surface of a core (136a) of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Fig. 3, [0059], and [0061]-[0063]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said features in order to have a high filling rate/density in the magnetic body with desirable insulation between the magnetic particles [0034].
Lee2 teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first (61), second (63), and third (65) magnetic particles, wherein an average particle diameter of the second magnetic particles (63) is smaller than an average particle diameter of the first magnetic particles (61), and an average particle diameter of the third magnetic particles (65) is smaller than an average particle diameter of the second magnetic particles (63). Lee2 further teaches that its third magnetic particles (65) have an average particle diameter of 300 nm or less, and an insulating film (65b) formed on the surfaces of the third magnetic particles. A thickness of the insulating film (65b) may be 1% to 20% of the particle size of the third magnetic particles (Figs. 1-3, [0026] [0046], [0055], [0056], and [0062]). Thus, the insulating film (65b) of Lee2 is within the purview of the claimed thickness of 3 nm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an insulating film having a thickness of 3 nm or less on third magnetic particles to reduce eddy current loss of the magnetic component, a packing factor of the magnetic particles in the magnetic body be increased, and inductance of the magnetic component be secured [0055].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 13-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”).
With regards to Claims 1, 5, 6, and 9, Kim et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first magnetic particles (132) including an Fe component and a plurality of second magnetic particles (136) including an Fe component and having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles (Figs. 1 and 3, [0029], [0059], and [0061]).
Kim et al. teaches at least one of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132) includes a Fe oxide first layer (132b) formed on a surface of a core (132a) of the plurality of first magnetic particles, and at least some of the plurality of second magnetic particles (136) include a phosphate first layer (136b) formed on a surface of a core (136a) of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Fig. 3, [0059], and [0061]-[0063]).
Kim et al. does not teach a Si oxide second layer formed on a surface of the first layer (132b) of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132), wherein the average thickness of the second layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles is 5 nm to 35 nm and is 2 to 10 times greater than an average thickness of the first layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles. Kim et al. also does not teach its second layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles includes 30 to 70 wt% of a Si component and does not include a Sn component.
However, Orimo et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of magnetic particles including an Fe component. At least one of the plurality of the magnetic particles includes a first layer (F11) formed on a surface of a core (P1) of the plurality of magnetic particles and a second layer (F12) formed on a surface of the first layer (F11). The first layer (F11) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes an Fe oxide, and the second layer (F12) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes Si oxide, wherein the second layer (F12) has a Si component concentration of at least 50 wt% and does not include a Sn component (Figs. 1-2, [0068], and [0069]).
Orimo et al. further teaches the thickness of its first layer (F11) of the plurality of magnetic particles has a thickness smaller than the thickness of the second layer (F12). The thickness of the first layer (F11) is not limited in any way, and is 0.5 nm to 10 nm, for example. Orimo et al. teaches the thickness of its second layer (F12) is 1 nm to 30 nm (Figs. 1-2, [0068], and [0069]). As shown in Figs. 9-10, Orimo et al. teaches that the second layer is optimized to achieve desirable magnetic permeability and resistivity of the magnetic particles ([0100]-[0102]). In light of the instant teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second layer with an average thickness of 5 nm to 30 nm and is 2 to 10 times greater than an average thickness of the first layer on Kim et al.’s first layer of the first magnetic particles in order to obtain excellent insulation, permeability, and resistivity properties ([0033] and [0100]-[0102]).
With regards to Claim 2, Kim et al. teaches an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles is 20 μm (Fig. 3, [0064], and [0069]).
With regards to Claim 4, Kim et al. teaches the first layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles includes less than 1 wt% of a Si component [0059].
With regards to Claim 7, Kim et al. teaches an average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles is 1 μm to 5 μm [0065].
With regards to Claim 13, Kim et al. teaches the plurality of first magnetic particles include an Fe-Si-Cr alloy [0059].
With regards to Claim 14, Kim et al. teaches the magnetic body includes an Fe component and further includes a plurality of third magnetic particles (134) having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Fig. 3).
With regards to Claim 15, Kim et al. teaches the average particle diameter of the plurality of third magnetic particles is 300 nm [0069].
With regards to Claim 21, Kim et al. teaches the first layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles includes an Fe-Si-O based material having less 1 wt% of a Si component [0059]. That is, a Si content of 0 wt% is within the scope of the instant limitation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20220254553 (“Nakazawa et al.”).
Kim et al. teaches the first layer of the plurality of second magnetic particles as set forth above.
Kim et al. does not teach an average thickness of the phosphate first layer of the plurality of second magnetic particles is 5 nm to 15 nm.
However, Nakazawa et al. teaches a phosphate layer on a plurality of magnetic particles, wherein a thickness of the phosphate layer is 12.1 nm, for example (Fig. 5, [0039], [0048], [0049], and Table 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of Kim et al.’s phosphate first layer in order to maintain a high insulation between the magnetic particles [0066].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20220157513 (“Lee et al.”).
The prior art of record does not teach the plurality of first magnetic particles further include a third layer formed on a surface of the second layer, wherein the third layer comprises the claimed functional group(s).
However, Lee et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a plurality of first magnetic particles (1201 or relevant thereof) including an Fe component, and at least one of the plurality of the first magnetic particles include a first layer (additional configurational element disclosed in [0030]) formed on a surface of a core (121) of the plurality of first magnetic particles, a second layer (122) formed on a surface of the first layer, and a third layer (123) formed on a surface of the second layer. Lee et al. teaches the third layer includes a compound having at least one functional group selected from the group consisting of an alkyl group, a carbonyl group, and a urethane acrylate (Figs. 1A-3, [0030]-[0037], and [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a third layer, as demonstrated by Lee et al., in order to provide excellent adhesion/coupling to the first magnetic particles [0037].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”), in view of US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20220157513 (“Lee et al.”) as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20220254553 (“Nakazawa et al.”).
The prior art of record does not teach an average thickness of the third layer that includes a compound having at least one functional group selected from the group consisting of an alkyl group, a carbonyl group, and a urethane acrylate.
However, Nakazawa et al. teaches a layer comprising the claimed functional group(s) on a plurality of magnetic particles, wherein a thickness of said layer is 9.7 nm, for example (Fig. 5, [0039], [0048], [0049], and Table 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the third layer as claimed in order to maintain a high insulation between the magnetic particles [0066].
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150002255 (“Kim et al.”), in view of US Pub. No. 20180374619 (“Orimo et al.”), and in view of US Pub. No. 20180061550 (“Lee2”).
With regards to Claims 16-18 and 20, Kim et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first magnetic particles (132) including an Fe component, a plurality of second magnetic particles (136) including an Fe component and having an average particle diameter smaller than an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles, and a plurality of third magnetic particles (134) having an average particle diameter smaller than the average particle diameter of the plurality of second magnetic particles (e.g. 300 nm) (Figs. 1 and 3, [0029], [0059]-[0061], and [0069]).
Kim et al. teaches at least one of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132) includes a Fe oxide first layer (132b) formed on a surface of a core (132a) of the plurality of first magnetic particles, and at least some of the plurality of second magnetic particles (136) include a P oxide first layer (136b) formed on a surface of a core (136a) of the plurality of second magnetic particles (Fig. 3, [0059], [0061]-[0063], and [0066]).
Kim et al. does not teach at least some of the plurality of third magnetic particles include a first layer formed as an insulating film on a surface of a core of the plurality of third magnetic particles, the insulating film having a thickness of 3 nm or less. Kim et al. does not teach a second layer formed on a surface of the first layer (132b) of the plurality of first magnetic particles (132), wherein the second layer includes Si oxide, is substantially free from the Fe oxide, and the average thickness of the second layer of the plurality of first magnetic particles is 5 nm to 35 nm.
Orimo et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of magnetic particles including an Fe component. At least one of the plurality of the magnetic particles includes a first layer (F11) formed on a surface of a core (P1) of the plurality of magnetic particles and a second layer (F12) formed on a surface of the first layer (F11). The first layer (F11) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes an Fe oxide, and the second layer (F12) of the plurality of magnetic particles includes Si oxide and is substantially free from the Fe oxide. Orimo et al. further teaches the thickness of its second layer (F12) is 1 nm to 30 nm (Figs. 1-2, [0068], and [0069]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a second layer, as demonstrated by Orimo et al., on a surface of Kim et al.’s first layer of the first magnetic particles in order to obtain excellent insulation properties [0033].
Lee2 teaches a magnetic component comprising a magnetic body, wherein the magnetic body includes a plurality of first (61), second (63), and third (65) magnetic particles, wherein an average particle diameter of the second magnetic particles (63) is smaller than an average particle diameter of the first magnetic particles (61), and an average particle diameter of the third magnetic particles (65) is smaller than an average particle diameter of the second magnetic particles (63). Lee2 further teaches that its third magnetic particles (65) have an particle size of 300 nm or less, and an insulating film (65b) formed on the surfaces of the third magnetic particles. A thickness of the insulating film (65b) may be 1% to 20% of the particle size of the third magnetic particles (Figs. 1-3, [0026] [0046], [0055], [0056], and [0062]). Thus, the insulating film (65b) of Lee2 is within the purview of the claimed thickness of 3 nm or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an insulating film having a thickness of 3 nm or less on Kim et al.’s third magnetic particles in order to reduce eddy current loss of the magnetic component, a packing factor of the magnetic particles in the magnetic body be increased, and inductance of the magnetic component be secured [0055].
With regards to Claim 19, Kim et al. teaches an average particle diameter of the plurality of first magnetic particles is 20 μm (Fig. 3, [0064], and [0069]).
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785