Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 recites “in order to prevent a backflow from the nozzle line or a closed nozzle line”. This phrasing seems to repeat a redundant idea as the nozzle line would assumedly already be closed when utilizing a non-return device or non-return valve or non-return flap. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “compressed-air supply” in claim 1, “control apparatus” in claim 4, “non-return device” in claim 8, “silencer apparatus” in claims 9 and 14, “interface apparatus” and “signal connection” in claim 10, “fastening element” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “a particular flow connection” while claim 2 recites “the flow connection” and claim 3 recites “the flow connections”. These recitations are not consistent and Examiner cannot be certain of their degree of similarity due to their inherent differences. Examiner requests clarification on the matter and, for purposes of this examination, will assume they are one and the same and singular. Claim 12 also recites that “the nozzle apparatus and/or the silencer apparatus are connected to one another in series” which, were the operator “or” chosen, renders the limitation ambiguous because only one element is connected to one another and there would not be another entity in the alternative format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Milhau (US 9,334,128).
Claim 1: Millhau discloses a compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device for insertion into a housing of an area suction gripper (Figs. 1-2, note col. 1, lines 5-8, Examiner noting the devices shown are capable for insertion or arrangement “in the immediate proximity of gripper members proper as constituted by suction cups or suction boxes”), the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device comprising a plurality of nozzle lines (note plurality of modules, 33, and that each module will have its own nozzle, 7) each having at least one ejector nozzle (2) for generating a vacuum from compressed air, at least one compressed-air connection (4/14) for connection to a compressed-air supply (col. 3, lines 43-46), and a valve device (5) which is designed to individually open and/or close a particular flow connection between the nozzle lines and the at least one compressed-air connection (Fig. 1).
Claim 10: Millhau further discloses that the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device has an interface apparatus designed as a front cover (note 1a/1b), wherein the compressed-air connection and/or at least one signal connection are arranged on the interface apparatus (see Fig. 1) .
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blatt (US 5,277,468).
Claim 1: Blatt discloses a compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device for insertion into a housing of an area suction gripper (Figs. 1 and 7, note col. 6, lines 20-24), the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device comprising a plurality of nozzle lines (Fig. 2, note plurality of lines 18a, 18b, etc.) each having at least one ejector nozzle (34a, 34b, etc..) for generating a vacuum from compressed air, at least one compressed-air connection (Fig. 7, note connections between 25 and 22a/22b) for connection to a compressed-air supply (25), and a valve device (5 or 22a/b) which is designed to individually open and/or close a particular flow connection between the nozzle lines and the at least one compressed-air connection (Fig. 1).
Claim 2: Blatt further discloses that the valve device (22a/b) is designed and configured to block and open a first nozzle line (Fig. 7, note one of lines around 38a or 38b) with a first closing element (Fig. 7, Examiner noting that the valve device 22a/b will inherently possess a valve closing element), and to block and open a second nozzle line (e.g. another of the lines around 38a) and a third nozzle line (note one of the lines around 36b) together with a second closing element.
Claim 3: Blatt further discloses the valve device for opening and blocking the flow connection has at least one control piston (Examiner noting that the solenoid operated valve 22 will possess a solenoid structure which will necessarily possess a coil/piston structure that moves linearly) which is arranged in a control piston apparatus (solenoid), and which is designed and arranged to block the flow of at least one of the nozzle lines and to interrupt or at least weaken the flow connection to the ejector nozzle of the nozzle line (Fig. 7, Examiner noting that the solenoid operated valve will be used to block/interrupt flow to the nozzles).
Claim 4: Blatt further discloses that the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device for opening and blocking the flow connections has a control apparatus which is designed and configured to actuate the valve device (19) pneumatically and/or electrically (see col. 3, lines 49-51).
Claim 5: Blatt further discloses a control valve apparatus (Fig. 7, note control valve apparatus inclusive of 22a/60a and/or additional control valve apparatus components such as 22b/58b) is provided which is designed and configured to adjust the control piston, and has at least one electrically and/or pneumatically actuatable control valve (Fig. 7).
Claim 6: Blatt further discloses that the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device has a suction channel (Fig. 7, note suction channel upstream of 76a/b) which in terms of flow connects a channel suction opening (Fig. 7, note opening which will be at the junction of the suction channel and ejector near 76a/b) to at least one of the nozzle lines.
Claim 7: Blatt further discloses that the suction channel and the nozzle lines are arranged in a nozzle apparatus (note nozzle housing structure for suction channel and nozzle lines in Figs. 2 and 4-5).
Claim 8: Blatt further discloses that at least one non-return device (Fig. 7, note 76a/b) or a non-return valve or a non-return flap, is arranged in the suction channel in order to prevent a backflow from the nozzle line or a closed nozzle line through the channel suction opening.
Claim 9: Blatt further discloses that the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device has a silencer apparatus (90a/90b), wherein the nozzle lines open into the silencer apparatus (Fig. 7).
Claim 13: Blatt further discloses a housing (Fig. 7, note housing 10 delineated by dotted line) into which the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device is at least partially inserted, wherein the housing has a plurality of suction openings (note suction openings that connect with 14a/14b) in one suction side (Fig. 7).
Claim 14: Blatt further discloses that the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device has a silencer apparatus (90a/b), the nozzle lines open into the silencer apparatus (Fig. 7), and the silencer apparatus (90a/b) is arranged completely in an interior space of the housing (Fig. 7, note 90a/b within dotted lines of 10) .
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gieskes (US 7,267,382).
Claim 1: Gieskes discloses a compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device for insertion into a housing of an area suction gripper (Figs. 1-8, note col. 1, lines 13-16, Examiner noting the devices shown are capable for insertion or arrangement for “one or more pick and place mechanisms mounted in a pick and place machine”), the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device comprising a plurality of nozzle lines (Fig. 4, note nozzle lines downstream of 12) each having at least one ejector nozzle (12) for generating a vacuum from compressed air, at least one compressed-air connection (e.g., note connection at 16) for connection to a compressed-air supply (10), and a valve device (18) which is designed to individually open and/or close a particular flow connection between the nozzle lines and the at least one compressed-air connection (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blatt (US 5,277,468) in view of Blatt (US 4,828,306).
Claim 11: Blatt discloses the previous limitations. Blatt further discloses a suction channel (Fig. 7, note suction channel upstream of 76a/b) which in terms of flow connects a channel suction opening to at least one of the nozzle lines (Fig. 7, note opening which will be at the junction of the suction channel and ejector near 76a/b), the suction channel and the nozzle lines are arranged in a nozzle apparatus (Figs. 2 and 4-5, note apparatus/housing apparatus for nozzles), the compressed-air-driven vacuum generation device has a silencer apparatus (Fig. 7, note 90a/b), the nozzle lines open into the silencer apparatus, the nozzle apparatus (Figs. 2 and 4-5), and/or the silencer apparatus are each designed as a module with its own module housing. Blatt ‘468 is not explicit about each the nozzle apparatus and silencer apparatus each having at least one fastening element or a plug-in connector for mutually fastening the two apparatuses to one another. However, Blatt ‘306 (see Fig. 2) teaches a nozzle apparatus (16) and a silencer apparatus (40) each having a plug-in connector (Fig. 2, note interlocking receptacle/protrusion between these entities) for mutually fastening the two apparatuses to one another. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a silencer as taught by Blatt ‘306 into the apparatus of Blatt ‘468 as a silencer is well known to reduce noise/vibrations.
Claim 12: Blatt ‘468 and Blatt ‘306 teach the previous limitations. Blatt ‘306 further teaches that the nozzle apparatus and/or the silencer apparatus are connected to one another in series (see Blatt ‘306, Fig. 2.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746