DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no necessary burden to sustain the requirement for election of all claims. This is not found persuasive because the examination of invention 2 would require a complete search of the CPC group 2 A61B17/0401 (48,709 hits), wherein the elected group 1, the CPC of group 1 A61B2017/0409 (29,985 hits) would not. The CPC of group 1 contains over 29,985 patent documents that are not classified in any of the search area for nonelected invention 2. This would place a serious search burden if a restriction were not required.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/14/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Housman et al U.S 2021/0290218.
Claim 1: Housman et al disclose an insertion tool for inserting a suture anchor into bone as best seen in figures 4a-b, comprising: a handle 407; an intermediate shaft 405/505 extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end of the intermediate shaft being rotatably coupled to the handle (see paragraph 41) and the distal end of the intermediate shaft being configured to couple to an anchor body 400 of a suture anchor 401, the intermediate shaft 405/505 being rotatable relative to the handle 407 so as to rotate the anchor body relative to the handle; an inner shaft 403 concentrically disposed within the intermediate shaft (see figure, 4a), the inner shaft having a distal end configured to couple to an eyelet (see claim 12) positionable distally of and separate from the anchor body; and an outer shaft 417 concentrically disposed about the intermediate shaft and configured to translate distally relative to the handle so as to advance the anchor body distally towards the eyelet (see paragraphs 12,38).
Claims 2-3: Housman et al disclose wherein the inner shaft 403 is rotationally
fixed relative to the handle 407; wherein the distal end of the intermediate shaft 405/505 has a keyed outer profile complementary to an inner profile of a passage within the anchor body 400, see paragraph 10.
Claim 4: Housman et al disclose wherein rotation of the intermediate shaft 405/505 relative to the handle 407 and distal translation of the outer shaft relative to the handle are both driven by a rotatable knob coupled to the handle (see paragraph 11).
Claim 9: Housman et al disclose a system for inserting a suture anchor 401 into bone, comprising: the insertion too (see fig. 4a, paragraph 37) of claim 1; the anchor body 400; and the eyelet (see claim 12).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palese WO 2019/014557.
Claim 1: Palese disclose an insertion tool 22 for inserting a suture anchor into bone as best seen in figures 1a-b, comprising: a handle 28/32; an intermediate shaft 6 extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end of the intermediate shaft 6 being rotatably coupled to the handle (see paragraph 67) and the distal end of the intermediate shaft being configured to couple to an anchor body 12 of a suture anchor 10, the intermediate shaft 6 being rotatable relative to the handle 28/32 so as to rotate the anchor body relative to the handle (see figures 5,6, paragraph 71); an inner shaft 26 concentrically disposed within the intermediate shaft (see figure, 5), the inner shaft having a distal end configured to couple to an eyelet (16) positionable distally of and separate from the anchor body 12; and an outer shaft 24 concentrically disposed about the intermediate shaft (see fig. 6) and configured to translate distally relative to the handle so as to advance the anchor body distally towards the eyelet (see paragraph 65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Housman et al in view of Baird AU 2012319123.
Claim 8: Housman et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed, but is silent regarding wherein the handle includes at least one cleat along an outer surface of the handle, the cleat being configured to secure a free end of a repair suture extending proximally from the eyelet. However, Baird teaches the handle 40 includes at least one cleat 34 along an outer surface of the handle, the cleat being configured to secure a free end of a repair suture extending proximally from the eyelet 28 (it is noted that the anchoring system further comprises an insertion member which is engageable with the anchor body to deploy the anchor in bone. The insertion member comprises a proximal handle portion and an insertion tube connected to a distal end of the handle portion. A suture pulley rod is extendable from and 15 retractable into a distal end of the insertion tube. A pair of cleat retainers are provided on a distal end of the pulley rod, wherein a gap is disposed between the pair of cleat retainers. A rotatable knob is disposed on the handle portion for retracting and extending the pulley rod relative to the insertion tube. A knob release slide disposed on the handle. 20 In another aspect of the invention, there is disclosed a method for securing soft tissue to bone, which comprises steps of driving an implantable anchor having a body distally into a desired bone site, using an insertion device, to a predetermined initial deployment depth, and applying pressure to suture or tissue disposed between the anchor body and adjacent bone, using a recess disposed on an 25 outer surface of the body and a pinch ramp also disposed on the outer surface of the body, proximal to the suture recess. Additional steps include tensioning free ends of the suture or tissue disposed between the anchor body and adjacent bone to a 4 A-2562PCT desired level, withdrawing a pulley rod proximally into an insertion tube comprising a portion of the insertion device, and driving the implantable anchor a further distance distally into the bone site to finally deploy the anchor. The suture or tissue is pinched between barbs on an outer surface of the implant body and 5 adjacent bone and also between cleats on both sides of the anchor body to lock the suture or tissue in place. Further inventive method steps include withdrawing the pulley rod from the anchor body and releasing the insertion device therefrom; and trimming the free suture ends to complete the procedure. In still another aspect of the invention, there is provided an anchoring 10 system for securing tissue to bone, which comprises an insertion member which is engageable with an anchor body to deploy the anchor body in bone. The insertion member comprises a proximal handle portion, an insertion tube connected to a distal end of the handle portion, and a suture pulley rod extendable from and retractable into a distal end of the insertion tube. A pair of cleat retainers are 15 disposed on a distal end of the pulley rod, wherein a gap is disposed between the pair of cleat retainers. A rotatable knob is provided on the handle portion for retracting and extending the pulley rod relative to the insertion tube, and a knob release slide is disposed on the handle. The invention, together with additional features and advantages thereof, 20 may best be understood by reference to the following description taken in conjunction with the accompanying illustrative drawing. Brief Description of the Drawings 25 Figs. 1-4 are isometric views of an implantable anchor constructed in accordance with the principles of the present invention, illustrating the anchor from four different perspectives). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Housman et al with the handle includes at least one cleat along an outer surface of the handle, the cleat being configured to secure a free end of a repair suture extending proximally from the eyelet as taught by Baird in order to pinch the suture to increase the pullout strength of the suture construct.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7,10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771