DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takani et al. (U.S. 2009/0049659).
As for Claim 1, Takani discloses a slider for a concealed slide fastener, comprising:
a lower blade (5);
a pair of left and right rails (8) erected alongside edges of the lower blade in a left-right
direction;
left and right flanges (9) extending in a direction in which the left and right flanges approach each other from upper ends of the pair of left and right rails;
a guide column (6) erected on the lower blade; and
an attachment column (7) provided above the guide column, wherein a front end portion of each of the flanges (front end of 9) is located forward with respect to a front end portion of each of the rails (18), and a start point of a flange inner-front curved portion is located behind the front end portion of each of the rails (see Annotated Fig.).
Re: Claim 4. The slider for the concealed slide fastener according to claim 1, wherein a radius of curvature of the flange inner-front curved portion is larger than a radius of curvature of a flange outer front curved portion (see Annotated Fig.).
Re: Claim 5. The slider for the concealed slide fastener according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the lower blade on a frontward opening side is a substantially elliptical shape elongated in a sliding direction of the slider (see Figs. 1-2 disclosing the lower blade 5 being substantially elliptical in shape), a major axis of the substantially elliptical shape is oriented in a front-rear direction of the slider (see Fig. 2), and a minor axis thereof is oriented in the left-right direction of the slider (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takani et al. (U.S. 2009/0049659).
Takani discloses the slider 11 having an entire width and flange inner-front curved portion having a width (see Annotated Fig.) but fails to explicitly recite wherein regarding dimensions W1 and W0 defined below, the ratio of W1/W0 is in a range of 25% to 35%,
W0: half the length of the entire width of the slider in the left-right direction,
W1: the width of the flange inner-front curved portion in the left-right direction.
Takani discloses a radius of curvature of the flange inner-front curved portion (see Annotated Fig.), but fails to explicitly recite wherein a radius of curvature of the flange inner-front curved portion is in a range of 1.2 mm to 2.0 mm.
Takani discloses a length of the lower blade (see Fig. 2, lower blade 5), but fails to explicitly recite wherein a length D1 in a front-rear direction of the lower blade existing forward with respect to the front end portion of each of the rails is larger than 30% of a length DO in the front-rear direction of the entire slider.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the limitations disclosed in claims 2, 3, and 6 by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Keyaki et al. (U.S. 2004/0055119) discloses an analogous slider pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
/DAVID M UPCHURCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677