DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the same mobile device in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 20010029195; “Lin” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an expansion base, comprising: a first housing (101, 102), wherein the first housing comprises a first fixing portion (docking slot cover by the elastic gate 103 where the battery 301 is inserted, par. [0019], [0020], fig. fig. 8) and a placement portion (202); the first fixing portion is configured to detachably assemble at least one expansion device (301), and the placement portion is configured to slantways or vertically place a mobile device (501)( figs 4, 6-8); a first circuit board (701) arranged inside the first housing (fig. 8); and a first connection interface (interface connected at the end of 702 that electrically connects to the contact area 302 of the battery 301), wherein the first connection interface is electrically connected to the first circuit board (“The elastic joint 702 is capable of touching the rechargeable battery 301 closely due to its curve and elasticity, so that the rechargeable battery 301 is well connected with the recharge PCB 701 via the elastic joint 702”, par. [0022]); and the first connection interface is arranged at the first fixing portion (fig. 7-8), and is configured to be coupled with a second connection interface (302) on the at least one expansion device (301) when the at least one expansion device is assembled on the first fixing portion (figs 7-8, par. [0022]), so that the expansion base takes power from the at least one expansion device, supplies power to the at least one expansion device (301) (“When the rechargeable battery is inserted for recharging”, par. [0007]), and/or communicates with the at least one expansion device to transmit data.
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses wherein the at least one expansion device. comprises at least one of a heat dissipation device, a docking station (301 is a rechargeable battery), a storage device, a power bank, a lighting module, and a heat dissipation and lighting module.
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses wherein the first housing comprises a bottom plate (“bottom plate”, annotated fig. 6), a front plate (“ plate”, annotated fig. 6), a rear plate (“rear plate”, annotated fig. 6), a first side plate (“first side plate”, annotated fig. 6), a second side plate (side opposite to the “first plate”, annotated fig. 6), and a top plate (“top plate”, annotated fig. 6); the front plate is connected to the bottom plate (annotated fig. 6); the rear plate is connected to the bottom plate and is opposite to the front plate (annotated fig. 6); the first side plate is connected to the bottom plate, the front plate, and the rear plate (annotated fig. 6); the second side plate is opposite to the first side plate and is connected to the bottom plate, the front plate, and the rear plate (annotated fig. 6); the placement portion (202) is connected to the front plate, the first side plate, and the second side plate (annotated fig. 6); the top plate is connected between the placement portion (202) and the rear plate and is connected to the first side plate and the second side plate (annotated fig. 6); the bottom plate is configured to be placed on an external supporting surface (annotated fig. 6); the first fixing portion (103) is arranged on the top plate (annotated fig. 6); and the first connection interface is arranged on the top plate (annotated fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses an expansion supporting device, comprising the expansion base (fig. 1) and the at least one expansion device (301) according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lloyd (US 6127802; “Lloyd” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lloyd discloses an expansion base, comprising: a first housing (housing of the charger 100, figs 1-3), wherein the first housing comprises a first fixing portion (103) and a placement portion (102); the first fixing portion is configured to detachably assemble at least one expansion device (118) (col. 3: lines 20-56), and the placement portion (102) is configured to slantways or vertically place a mobile device (“The charger 100 has a front face 101, and a front pocket 102 for charging a phone and battery combination. The front pocket 102 contains a mating contact 107 which mates to the phone”, col. 2: lines 39-47); a first circuit board (114) arranged inside the first housing (fig. 3); and a first connection interface (113), wherein the first connection interface is electrically connected to the first circuit board (col. 3: lines 15-22); and the first connection interface is arranged at the first fixing portion (103) (figs. 2-3), and is configured to be coupled with a second connection interface (electrical terminals 117) on the at least one expansion device when the at least one expansion device is assembled on the first fixing portion (col. 3: lines 34-47), so that the expansion base takes power from the at least one expansion device, supplies power to the at least one expansion device (“The charger 100 has a front face 101, and a front pocket 102 for charging a phone and battery combination”, col. 2: lines 40-47), and/or communicates with the at least one expansion device to transmit data.
Regarding claim 2, Lloyd discloses wherein the at least one expansion device. comprises at least one of a heat dissipation device, a docking station, a storage device, a power bank (118 is a rechargeable battery), a lighting module, and a heat dissipation and lighting module.
Regarding claim 11, Llyod discloses an expansion supporting device, comprising the expansion base (100) and the at least one expansion device (118) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Sa (US 20110134601; “Sa” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the expansion base as claimed in claim 1.
Lin does not explicitly disclose the expansion base according to claim 1, further comprising a third connection interface, wherein the third connection interface is electrically connected to the first circuit board; and the third connection interface is configured to be coupled with a fourth connection interface of the at least one expansion device, so that the expansion base supplies power to the at least one expansion device or transmits data to the at least one expansion device through the third connection interface.
Sa teaches an expansion base comprising a third connection interface (connector that is connected second or third battery 2’, fig. 26A), wherein the third connection interface is electrically connected to a circuit board (par. [0046], [0047], [0048], figs 23, 26A); and the third connection interface is configured to be coupled with a fourth connection interface (connector of the second or third battery 2’) of the at least one expansion device (battery 2’), so that the expansion base supplies power to the at least one expansion device or transmits data to the at least one expansion device through the third connection interface (par. [0048], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expansion base of Lin to incorporate a third connection interface, wherein the third connection interface is electrically connected to the first circuit board; and the third connection interface is configured to be coupled with a fourth connection interface of the at least one expansion device, so that the expansion base supplies power to the at least one expansion device or transmits data to the at least one expansion device through the third connection interface as suggested by Sa because such modification allow charging of multiple expansion devices at the same time.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Lee (US 20130170126; “Lee” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the expansion base as claimed in claim 1.
Lin does not explicitly disclose the expansion base according to claim 1, further comprising a first magnetic member, wherein the first magnetic member is arranged at the first fixing portion; and the first magnetic member is configured to magnetically cooperate with a second magnetic member on the at least one expansion device to fix the at least one expansion device to the first fixing portion.
Lee teaches a expansion base comprising a first magnetic member (51); wherein the first magnetic member (51) is arranged at a fixing portion (3) (fig. 38); and the first magnetic member is configured to magnetically cooperate with a second magnetic member (52) on a device (2) to fix the device to the first fixing portion (par. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expansion base of Lin to incorporate a first magnetic member, wherein the first magnetic member is arranged at the first fixing portion; and the first magnetic member is configured to magnetically cooperate with a second magnetic member on the at least one expansion device to fix the at least one expansion device to the first fixing portion as suggested by Lee because such modification helps to magnetically attract and retain the expansion device to the fixing portion of the expansion base.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Sa (US 20100102777; “Sa’777” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses wherein the front plate is connected to the bottom plate at an acute angle (annotated fig. 6 above); the placement portion comprises a rear supporting plate connected to the top plate (annotated fig. 6 above); a bottom bearing plate connected to the rear supporting plate (annotated fig. 4 below).
Lin does not explicitly disclose the rear plate is also connected to the bottom plate at an acute angle; a front supporting plate connected to the bottom bearing plate, and a limiting plate; the rear supporting plate and the bottom bearing plate are connected at an obtuse angle; the limiting plate is connected between the front supporting plate and the front plate; the front supporting plate is connected to the bottom bearing plate at an obtuse angle; and the front supporting plate is connected to the limiting plate at an obtuse angle; and the bottom plate and the bottom bearing plate are parallel to each other.
Sa’777 teaches an expansion base comprising a fixing portion that further comprises a bottom bearing plate (“bottom bearing plate” annotated fig. 1D) connected to the rear supporting plate (“rear bearing plate” annotated fig. 1D), a front supporting plate (“front bearing plate” annotated fig. 1D) connected to the bottom bearing plate (annotated fig. 1D), and a limiting plate (“limiting plate” annotated fig. 1D); the rear supporting plate and the bottom bearing plate are connected at an obtuse angle (annotated fig. 1D); the limiting plate is connected between the front supporting plate and the front plate (annotated fig. 1D); the front supporting plate is connected to the bottom bearing plate at an obtuse angle (annotated fig. 1D) and the front supporting plate is connected to the limiting plate at an obtuse angle (annotated fig. 1D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expansion base of Lin to incorporate a front supporting plate connected to the bottom bearing plate, and a limiting plate; the rear supporting plate and the bottom bearing plate are connected at an obtuse angle; the limiting plate is connected between the front supporting plate and the front plate; the front supporting plate is connected to the bottom bearing plate at an obtuse angle; and the front supporting plate is connected to the limiting plate at an obtuse angle as taught by Sa’777, because such modification provides supports to the expansion device or the mobile device that is docked or plugged onto or into the fixing portion.
However, Lin in view of Sa’777 does not explicitly disclose the rear plate is also connected to the bottom plate at an acute angle; and the bottom plate and the bottom bearing plate are parallel to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the rear plate or rearrange the rear plate with respect to bottom plate and bottom plate, and modify the shape of the bottom bearing plate or rearrange the bottom bearing plate with respect to bottom plate such that the rear plate is also connected to the bottom plate at an acute angle, and the bottom plate and the bottom bearing plate are parallel to each other, since changing the shape of the rear plate and bottom bearing plate or rearranging the rear plate and bottom bearing appears to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Hirosawa (US 20160126757; “Hirosawa” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the expansion base as claimed in claim 8.
Lin does not explicitly disclose the expansion base according to claim 8, further comprising a built-in battery, wherein the built-in battery is arranged inside the first housing and is electrically connected to the first circuit board.
Hirosawa teaches an expansion base comprising a built-in battery (340), wherein the built-in battery is arranged inside a first housing (12) and is electrically connected to a circuit board (342) (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expansion base of Lin to incorporate a built-in battery, wherein the built-in battery is arranged inside the first housing and is electrically connected to the first circuit board as suggested by Hirosawa because with such modification the built-in battery provides power to the mobile device whenever necessary and also the expansion base works as a standalone device to supply power to the mobile device or the expansion base when there is no external power source or AC power source.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Carnevali (US 20170371374 ; “Carnevali” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses an expansion base, comprising: a first housing (101, 102), wherein the first housing comprises a first fixing portion (docking slot cover by the elastic gate 103 where the battery 301 is inserted, par. [0019], [0020], fig. fig. 8) and a placement portion (202); the first fixing portion is configured to detachably assemble at least one expansion device (301), and the placement portion is configured to slantways or vertically place a mobile device (501)( figs 4, 6-8); a first circuit board (701) arranged inside the first housing (fig. 8); and a first connection interface (interface connected at the end of 702 that electrically connects to the contact area 302 of the battery 301), wherein the first connection interface is electrically connected to the first circuit board (“The elastic joint 702 is capable of touching the rechargeable battery 301 closely due to its curve and elasticity, so that the rechargeable battery 301 is well connected with the recharge PCB 701 via the elastic joint 702”, par. [0022]); and the first connection interface is arranged at the first fixing portion (fig. 7-8), and is configured to be coupled with a second connection interface (302) on the at least one expansion device (301) when the at least one expansion device is assembled on the first fixing portion (figs 7-8, par. [0022]), so that the expansion base takes power from the at least one expansion device, supplies power to the at least one expansion device (301) (“When the rechargeable battery is inserted for recharging”, par. [0007]), and/or communicates with the at least one expansion device to transmit data.
Lin does not explicitly disclose an expansion supporting device, comprising a second expansion base, wherein the first expansion base and the second expansion base are arranged side by side to jointly support the same mobile device.
Carnevali teaches an expansion supporting device, comprising a first expansion base (258), a second expansion base (252), wherein the first expansion base and the second expansion base are arranged side by side to jointly support a mobile device (101) (figs 2A-2B, 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expansion base of Lin to incorporate a second expansion base such that wherein the first expansion base and the second expansion base are arranged side by side to jointly support the same mobile device as taught by Carnevali because such modification provides supports to the mobile device when docked and helps in alignment of the mobile device with the contact or connecting interface of the first expansion base.
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Carnevali (relied on Carnevali) discloses wherein the first expansion base (258) and the second expansion base (252) are connected into a whole through a connection structure (252 and 258 are connected via arm 254); and when the first expansion base and the second expansion base are connected into a whole, the placement portion (275) of the first expansion base and the placement portion (256) of the second expansion base are aligned and connected (guide portions 256 and 176 are connected via base 252, arm 254, figs 2A-2B).
Lin in view of Carnevali does not explicitly disclose the connection structure comprising a buckle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute connection structure of Carnevali with a buckle, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Carnevali discloses wherein the second expansion base (252, Carnevali) is the same with the first expansion base (258, Carnevali); the first expansion base is integrally formed with the second expansion base (figs 2A-2B, Carnevali); and the at least one expansion device comprises at least one of a heat dissipation device, a docking station, a storage device, a power bank (301 is a chargeable battery), a lighting module, and a heat dissipation and lighting module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 12, these claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 are objected as being dependent on claim 4.
Claims 13-17 are objected as being dependent on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841