DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitate by applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casari et al. WO 2018/228801 Al (cited in the IDS) (hereinafter, Casari), in view of Goings et al. US 6101881 (hereinafter, Goings).
5. Regarding claim 1, Casari discloses a fitting sound detection device (Abstract, Fig. 1), comprising:
a microphone ([0023]: audio transducer 118);
a fitting member provided on an end of a wire harness, the fitting member being configured to fit another fitting member ([0001], [0010]: when making connections between components, whether those components are electrical, mechanical, or hydraulic, it is often important to ensure that the connection is complete or otherwise correctly made…For example, in the situation of the electrical connection between a harness connector and a fuel injector of a vehicle, the connection includes an elastomeric snap retainer…[Further], [0018]-[0019], Fig. 1: coupling detection system 100 includes a first connector 102, a second connector 104, and a coupling detection device 106. The first connector 102 includes a first coupling end 108 and the second connector 104 includes a second coupling end 110. The first coupling end 108 and the second coupling end 110 are configured to be connectable to each other); wherein Examiner interprets the first connector 102 includes a first coupling end is equivalent to a fitting member, and the second connector 104 includes a second coupling end is interpreted as equivalent to another fitting member, or vice versa; and
a sensor configured to detect the wire harness in which the fitting member is held ([0018]-[0019], Fig. 1: coupling detection system 100 includes a first connector 102, a second connector 104, and a coupling detection device 106. The first connector 102 includes a first coupling end 108 and the second connector 104 includes a second coupling end 110. The first coupling end 108 and the second coupling end 110 are configured to be connectable to each other…The configuration of the first coupling end 108 and the second coupling end 110 to connect to each other may be, for example, via an interface fit with a locking device, a threaded fastening, a ratcheting fastening, a hasp closure, a magnetic closure, or a tumbler lock or another locking mechanism…[0022]: The position sensor 117 is a sensor or sensors positioned to sense the location of one or both of the first connector 102 and the second connector 104. The electronic processor 112 receives signals from the position sensor 117, and determines from those signals the location of one or both of the first connector 102 and the second connector 104); and
one or more processors (Fig. 1, item 112) configured to control execution of a determination process to determine whether or not sound collected by the microphone includes a fitting sound generated when the fitting member and the other fitting member are fitted on a basis of sound data based on the sound collected by the microphone, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the determination process while the sensor detects the wire harness ([0019], [0025]-[0026]: FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a method 200 of verifying a connection between the first connector 102 and the second connector 104 of the coupling detection system 100. In the example illustrated, the method 200 begins when the first connector 102 is moved towards the second connector 104 to form a coupling of the first connector 102 to the second connector 104 (block 202)… the coupling detection device 106 calculates a time interval to formation of the coupling between the first connector 102 and the second connector 104 and begins recording an audio signal using the audio transducer 118…. At block 208, the recording of the audio signal continues for the duration of the calculated time interval. During the time interval, the first connector 102 is coupled to the second connector 104. The sound of the formation of the coupling is recorded within the audio signal. When the time interval ends, at block 210 the coupling detection device 106 stops recording audio). Casari discloses the one or more processors are further configured to execute the determination process while the sensor detects the wire harness as disclose above. Casari does not disclose one or more processors are further configured to not execute the determination process while the sensor does not detect the wire harness. However, one or more processors are further configured to not execute the determination process while the sensor does not detect the wire harness would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Casari as explained above.
Casari does not disclose:
a holding member configured to hold a fitting member, and the fitting member is held by the holding member.
However, Goings discloses:
a holding member configured to hold a fitting member, and the fitting member is held by the holding member (column 1, lines 39-43, column 2, lines 12-19: Fig. 1 shows a system 20 for testing the quality of the terminals 22 inserted into a connector 24. Connector 24 and terminals 22 may be of the type typically associated with a wire harness. As shown, a jig 25 holds the connector as the terminals 22 are inserted into the connector 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari to use a holding member configured to hold a fitting member, and the fitting member is held by the holding member as taught by Goings. The motivation for doing so would have been for holding the connector when determining the quality of terminals are being inserted properly (Goings, Abstract, column 2, lines 12-19).
6. Regarding claim 2, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to not execute the determination process by not collecting sound with the microphone while the sensor does not detect the wire harness.
However, Casari discloses:
“FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a method 200 of verifying a connection between the first connector 102 and the second connector 104 of the coupling detection system 100. In the example illustrated, the method 200 begins when the first connector 102 is moved towards the second connector 104 to form a coupling of the first connector 102 to the second connector 104 (block 202)… the coupling detection device 106 calculates a time interval to formation of the coupling between the first connector 102 and the second connector 104 and begins recording an audio signal using the audio transducer 118…. At block 208, the recording of the audio signal continues for the duration of the calculated time interval. During the time interval, the first connector 102 is coupled to the second connector 104. The sound of the formation of the coupling is recorded within the audio signal. When the time interval ends, at block 210 the coupling detection device 106 stops recording audio” (See ([0019], [0025]-[0026], FIG. 2). Further, Goings discloses testing the quality of the terminals 22 inserted into a connector 24. Connector 24 and terminals 22 may be of the type typically associated with a wire harness. As shown, a jig 25 holds the connector as the terminals 22 are inserted into the connector 24. A microphone 26 is positioned adjacent to the jig such that it can capture the sound wave as each terminal 22 is inserted in the connector 24 (See, column 2, lines 12-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to not execute the determination process by not collecting sound with the microphone while the sensor does not detect the wire harness based on the teaching of Casari in view of Goings as disclosed above. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to detect and verify a connection between the fitting member and another fitting member (Casari and Goings, Abstract).
7. Regarding claim 3, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Casari discloses wherein the [coupling device] is attachable to and detachable from a housing including the microphone, the sensor and the one or more processors ([0020], [0023] and FIG. 1: in the example shown, the coupling detection device 106 includes an electronic processor 112, a memory 114, a velocity sensor 116, a position sensor 11 7, and an audio transducer 118…the coupling device 106 is mounted on or embedded in an article of clothing, for example, a glove, a shirt sleeve, or another suitable article of clothing worn by an operator performing the coupling of the first connector 102 to the second connector 104…, the coupling device 106 may be integrated into a wearable device, for example a bracelet or a smart watch. The audio transducer 118 or the coupling device 106 may also be mounted on or connected to a robotic end effector performing the coupling of the first connector 102 and the second connector 104. For example, the coupling device 106 may be mounted to an exterior surface of the robotic end effector so as not to hinder its operation). Further, Goings discloses a holding member is attachable to and detachable (column 2, lines 12-19, Fig. 1: testing the quality of the terminals 22 inserted into a connector 24. Connector 24 and terminals 22 may be of the type typically associated with a wire harness. As shown, a jig 25 holds the connector as the terminals 22 are inserted into the connector 24).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose wherein the holding member is attachable to and detachable from a housing. However, the holding member is attachable to and detachable from a housing would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Casari in view of Goings as disclosed above.
8. Regarding claim 4, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 3, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses wherein the sensor is configured to detect the wire harness by emitting light through a hole ([0022] and Fig. 1).
However, Goings discloses:
a hole provided in the holding member (column 1, lines 39-43, column 2, lines 12-19: FIG. 1 shows a system 20 for testing the quality of the terminals 22 inserted into a connector 24. Connector 24 and terminals 22 may be of the type typically associated with a wire harness. As shown, a jig 25 holds the connector as the terminals 22 are inserted into the connector 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari to use a hole provided in the holding member as taught by Goings. The motivation for doing so would have been for holding the connector when determining the quality of terminals are being inserted properly (Goings, Abstract, column 2, lines 12-19).
9. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casari, in view of Goings, in further view of Maalouf US 2017/0102423 (cited in the IDS) (hereinafter, Maalouf).
10. Regarding claim 5, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses when there is too much noise interference affecting the collection of the signal and/or the identification of the characteristic peaks, then a notification to take action is generated to gather a normal, unobstructed signal…and the signals outside the desired characteristic peaks are removed, creating a final filtered spectrogram ([0026]-[0031]).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
a pre-processor configured to store noise information indicating background noise, and output the sound data indicating sound obtained by subtracting the background noise from the sound collected by the microphone based on the sound collected by the microphone and the noise information.
However, Maalouf discloses:
a pre-processor configured to store noise information indicating background noise, and output the sound data indicating sound obtained by subtracting the background noise from the sound collected by the microphone based on the sound collected by the microphone and the noise information ([0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use a pre-processor configured to store noise information indicating background noise, and output the sound data indicating sound obtained by subtracting the background noise from the sound collected by the microphone based on the sound collected by the microphone and the noise information as taught by Maalouf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to filter background noise (Maalouf, [0030]).
11. Regarding claim 6, Casari in view of Goings in view of Maalouf disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 5, as disclosed above.
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when the determination process is not being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed.
However, Maalouf discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when the determination process is not being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed ([0016], [0028], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when the determination process is not being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed as taught by Maalouf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to preserve processing power (Maalouf, [0028]).
12. Regarding claim 7, Casari in view of Goings in view of Maalouf disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 5, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses when there is too much noise interference affecting the collection of the signal and/or the identification of the characteristic peaks, then a notification to take action is generated to gather a normal, unobstructed signal…and the signals outside the desired characteristic peaks are removed, creating a final filtered spectrogram ([0026]-[0031]).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to start a measurement process for measuring the background noise based on the sound collected by the microphone and generate or update the noise information in response to the sensor no longer detecting the wire harness.
However, Maalouf discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to start a measurement process for measuring the background noise based on the sound collected by the microphone and generate or update the noise information in response to the sensor no longer detecting the wire harness ([0030], [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the one or more processors are further configured to start a measurement process for measuring the background noise based on the sound collected by the microphone and generate or update the noise information in response to the sensor no longer detecting the wire harness as taught by Maalouf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to filter background noise (Maalouf, [0030]).
13. Regarding claim 8, Casari in view of Goings in view of Maalouf disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 7, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses wherein the one or more processors is further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor ([0023]-[0025], Figs. 1-2).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors is further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that the power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when neither the determination process nor the measurement process is being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed.
However, Maalouf discloses:
wherein the one or more processors is further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that the power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when neither the determination process nor the measurement process is being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed ([0016], [0028], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the one or more processors is further configured to control an operation state of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor so that the power consumption of at least one of the microphone and the pre-processor when neither the determination process nor the measurement process is being performed is less than the power consumption when the determination process is being performed as taught by Maalouf. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to preserve processing power (Maalouf, [0028]).
14. Claims 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casari, in view of Goings, in further view of Tasaka et al. US 20230361511 (cited in the IDS) (hereinafter, Tasaka).
15. Regarding claim 9, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine whether or not the sound indicated by the sound data from a start of the determination process to an end of the determination process includes the fitting sound ([0019], [0025]-[0026], Fig. 2).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, using a learning model, whether or not the sound indicated by the sound data from a start of the determination process to an end of the determination process includes the fitting sound.
However, Tasaka discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, using a learning model, whether or not the sound indicated by the sound data from a start of the determination process to an end of the determination process includes the fitting sound (Abstract, [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, using a learning model, whether or not the sound indicated by the sound data from a start of the determination process to an end of the determination process includes the fitting sound as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine fitting process accurately (Tasaka, [0139]).
16. Regarding claim 10, Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 9, as disclosed above.
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
a communication unit configured to communicate with a server storing one or more learning models to obtain the learning model.
However, Tasaka discloses:
a communication unit configured to communicate with a server storing one or more learning models to obtain the learning model ([0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use a communication unit configured to communicate with a server storing one or more learning models to obtain the learning model as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine fitting process accurately (Tasaka, [0139]).
17. Regarding claim 11, Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 9, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses a location where the fitting sound detection device is used ([0023]).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the learning model is associated with a location where the fitting sound detection device is used.
However, Tasaka discloses:
wherein the learning model is associated with a location where the fitting sound detection device is used ([0122], Figs. 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the learning model is associated with a location where the fitting sound detection device is used as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine fitting process accurately (Tasaka, [0139]).
18. Regarding claim 12, Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 9, as disclosed above.
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
wherein the learning model is associated with a type of the fitting member.
However, Tasaka discloses:
wherein the learning model is associated with a type of the fitting member (Abstract, [0081], [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use wherein the learning model is associated with a type of the fitting member as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine fitting process accurately (Tasaka, [0139]).
19. Regarding claim 14, Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 9, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses wirelessly notify a determination result ([0016], [0028]).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
a communication unit configured to wirelessly notify a predetermined device of an error when a determination result that the sound collected by the microphone does not include the fitting sound is obtained in the determination process.
However, Tasaka discloses:
a communication unit configured to wirelessly notify a predetermined device of an error when a determination result that the sound collected by the microphone does not include the fitting sound is obtained in the determination process ([0107], [0109], [0122], Figs. 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use a communication unit configured to wirelessly notify a predetermined device of an error when a determination result that the sound collected by the microphone does not include the fitting sound is obtained in the determination process as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to notify fitting result efficiently (Tasaka, [0107]).
20. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casari, in view of Goings, in view of Tasaka, in further view of Ponce et al. WO 2023053012 A1 (hereinafter, Ponce).
21. Regarding claim 13, Casari in view of Goings disclose the fitting sound detection device according to claim 1, as disclosed above.
Casari further discloses the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a first mode ([0016], [0020], [0028], Fig. 2).
Casari in view of Goings does not disclose:
a communication unit configured to transmit the sound data to a network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a first mode, and not transmit the sound data to the network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a second mode.
However, Tasaka discloses:
a communication unit configured to transmit the sound data to a network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a first mode ([0107], [0109], [0122], Figs. 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings to use a communication unit configured to transmit the sound data to a network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a first mode as taught by Tasaka. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to notify fitting result efficiently (Tasaka, [0107]).
Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka does not disclose:
not transmit the sound data to the network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a second mode.
However, Ponce discloses:
“ Like any supervised learning method, the RHA model first needs to be trained to be used. Hence this methodology has two modes of operation. In “training” mode (D1), a dataset consisting of at least 17,500 audio segments is constructed
by running stages (A) and (B). Subsequently, the features are extracted from each segment by executing stage (C) and finally the RHA model is trained using a training algorithm that calculates the values of the molecular parameters (4) and the molecular centers (5). This training algorithm is programmed in the processing unit of the embedded system. In the “prediction” mode (D2), an audio fragment is collected with stage (A), the signal is preprocessed to obtain audio segments with stage (B), the features of each segment are extracted with stage (C) and finally these features are fed into the RHA model through input (1) which, by processing the information using the molecular parameters (4) and molecular centers (5) previously adjusted with the “training” mode (D1), the audio segments are classified to determine as output (7) whether the sound corresponds to a click or not from the coupling of the electrical harnesses” (see, [0015], [0041], [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Casari in view of Goings in view of Tasaka to use not transmit the sound data to the network while the sensor detects the wire harness when operating in a second mode as taught by Ponce. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to identify fitting detection using different operating modes (Ponce, [0050]).
Conclusion
22. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857