DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kameyama et al (pub # 20140340326).
Consider claim 1. Kameyama et al teaches A pen, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0028, touch pen 1). comprising:
a vibration device including a vibrator; (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0031, he drive unit 2 is hardware for vibrating the touch pen 1).
and a processing unit that suppresses movement of the vibrator during a pen non-use period during which no pen input is being performed. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0035, When the touch pen 1 is judged not to be in a drawing mode (step S101: No), when a pen tip is judged not to be in contact with a screen (step S102: No), and when a pen tip is judged not to be moving (step S103: No), the calculation unit 4 judges whether or not a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is in an ON state (step S107). When a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is judged to be in an ON state (step S107: Yes), the calculation unit 4 changes a vibration flag to OFF, and the processing returns to step S101 while moving to step S108 (step S111). Thereafter, the calculation unit 4 generates a stop signal (step S108), and transmits a vibration OFF signal to the drive unit 2 for terminating action of the drive unit 2 (step S109)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameyama et al (pub # 20140340326) in view of Endo et al (pub # 20160209979).
Consider claim 2. Kameyama et al further teaches The pen according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to:
supply a first electrical signal to the vibration device to vibrate the vibration device while a user is writing with the pen, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0034, When the calculation unit 4 judged that a pen tip is in contact with a screen (step S102: Yes), and the touch pen 1 is moving near a screen (step S103: Yes), the calculation unit 4 judges whether or not a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is OFF (step S104). The vibration flag is a setting information for determining whether or not to vibrate the touch pen 1. When a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is judged to be OFF (step S104: Yes), a vibration flag is changed to an ON state, and the processing returns to step S101 again while moving to step S105 (step S110). Thereafter, the calculation unit 4 generates a signal of a predetermined vibration pattern (step S105), and transmits the vibration pattern signal to the drive unit 2 for activation (step S106)).
and suppress the movement of the vibrator during the pen non-use period, by supplying during the pen non-use period a second electrical signal to the vibration device, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0035, When the touch pen 1 is judged not to be in a drawing mode (step S101: No), when a pen tip is judged not to be in contact with a screen (step S102: No), and when a pen tip is judged not to be moving (step S103: No), the calculation unit 4 judges whether or not a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is in an ON state (step S107). When a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is judged to be in an ON state (step S107: Yes), the calculation unit 4 changes a vibration flag to OFF, and the processing returns to step S101 while moving to step S108 (step S111). Thereafter, the calculation unit 4 generates a stop signal (step S108), and transmits a vibration OFF signal to the drive unit 2 for terminating action of the drive unit 2 (step S109)).
Kameyama et al does not specifically disclose the second electrical signal oscillating with an amplitude smaller than that of the first electrical signal. However Endo et al in at leas paragraph 0237 discloses a method of reducing the vibration of a vibrating element by reducing amplitude of the drive signal. Endo et al specifically discloses “The smaller the amplitude of the drive signal becomes, the smaller the intensity of the natural vibration becomes”. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second signal of Kameyama et al to have a smaller amplitude than the first signal as disclosed by Endo et al in order to provide an efficient method of suppressing the movement of the vibrator.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameyama et al (pub # 20140340326) in view of Endo et al (pub # 20160209979) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Abe et al (pub # 20130201127).
Consider claim 3. Kameyama et al in view of Endo et al does not specifically disclose The pen according to claim 2, wherein the vibration device includes a coil, and the processing unit supplies the second electrical signal to the vibration device by supplying the second electrical signal to both ends of the coil. However Abe et al in at least paragraph 0090 and Fig. 10 discloses a vibration generator 80 comprising a coil 41 wherein a first driving signal having a frequency of 160 HZ or a second driving signal having a frequency of 480 HZ is applied to the coil by transistor 104. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coil of Abe et al with the pen of Kameyama et al in order to provide and input device that can effectively apply two types of vibration to an operation surface (Abe et al paragraph 0011).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameyama et al (pub # 20140340326) in view of Marshall et al (pub # 20200012358).
Consider claim 6. Kameyama et al further teaches The pen according to claim 1, comprising: wherein the processing unit suppresses the movement of the vibrator when a current time is within the pen non-use period and a finger is being detected by the capacitive sensor. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0035, When the touch pen 1 is judged not to be in a drawing mode (step S101: No), when a pen tip is judged not to be in contact with a screen (step S102: No), and when a pen tip is judged not to be moving (step S103: No), the calculation unit 4 judges whether or not a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is in an ON state (step S107). When a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is judged to be in an ON state (step S107: Yes), the calculation unit 4 changes a vibration flag to OFF, and the processing returns to step S101 while moving to step S108 (step S111). Thereafter, the calculation unit 4 generates a stop signal (step S108), and transmits a vibration OFF signal to the drive unit 2 for terminating action of the drive unit 2 (step S109)).
Kameyama et al does not specifically disclose a capacitive sensor arranged on a surface of the pen. However Marshall et al in at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 0036 discloses stylus 100 comprising a touch sensor 200 that can be a capacitive touch sensor that extends along a length of the stylus 100. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the capacitive sensor of Marshall et al with the pen of Kameyama et al in order to effectively distinguish between tactile inputs from a user and disregard sustained tactile inputs that are provided while the user simply holds the stylus at the user's natural grip location (Marshall et al abstract).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameyama et al (pub # 20140340326) in view of Sakamoto et al (pub # 20200371607).
Consider claim 7. Kameyama et al further teaches The pen according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to: enter a and suppress the movement of the vibrator when the processing unit has entered the startup mode and a current time is within the pen non-use period. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0035, When the touch pen 1 is judged not to be in a drawing mode (step S101: No), when a pen tip is judged not to be in contact with a screen (step S102: No), and when a pen tip is judged not to be moving (step S103: No), the calculation unit 4 judges whether or not a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is in an ON state (step S107). When a vibration flag of the touch pen 1 is judged to be in an ON state (step S107: Yes), the calculation unit 4 changes a vibration flag to OFF, and the processing returns to step S101 while moving to step S108 (step S111). Thereafter, the calculation unit 4 generates a stop signal (step S108), and transmits a vibration OFF signal to the drive unit 2 for terminating action of the drive unit 2 (step S109)).
Kameyama et al does not specifically disclose startup mode in response to a predetermined startup operation, and to enter a sleep mode when a state in which no pen input is performed continues for a predetermined time period or more after entering the startup mode. However Sakamoto et al in at least paragraph 0049 discloses a method of setting a pen A to a sleep mode if the user A does not use the pen for a certain period of time. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Sakamoto et al with the system and method of Kameyama et al in order to conserve energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 4. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious The pen according to claim 1, comprising: an oscillator circuit; and a switch element inserted between the vibration device and the oscillator circuit, wherein the vibration device includes a coil, and the processing unit turns on the switch element during the pen non-use period to allow an electrical signal to flow through the coil to thereby suppress the movement of the vibrator during the pen non-use period.
Claim 5 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 4.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624