DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,967. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent requires providing HBP; detecting a response to the pacing; and using first and second COI to classify the response as a particular type of capture, wherein the COIs can include QRS COIs, activation times, etc. (see claims 2 and 3 of the patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims are drawn to a system (Claims 1-10) and a method (claims 11-20)
Step 2A, Prong 1
The claims recite the steps of analyzing a first segment of a response to identify an evoked response characteristic of interest; analyze a second segment to identify a QRS COI; determine an activation time based on an applied pacing pulse and the QRS COI; distinguishing between first and second capture classes using the ER COI or activation time; an utilizing another ER COI or activation time to distinguish between first and second capture types within a first or second capture class. These steps, given their broadest reasonable interpretation can involve a clinician looking at a set of data (such as an ECG readout); measuring a time interval between a pacing pulse and QRS interval; and mentally determining capture types from the information on the ECG. These steps are mental process abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The claims do not include any additional elements that amount to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 1 and 11 include the additional elements of a pulse generator; a processor for receiving sensed data and controlling the initial application of stimulation; and a memory. The pulse generator and the initial application of a stimulus amounts to insignificant, extra-solution activity as it simply sets up the environment in which the data is analyzed and the decisions/determinations are made, see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(c). The processor and memory amount to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea and the sensed data that is received amounts to the insignificant, extra-solution activity of data gathering. Insignificant, extra-solution activity and generic computer implementation do not amount to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include any additional elements that amount, alone or in combination, to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 1 and 11 include the additional elements of a pulse generator; a processor for receiving sensed data and controlling the initial application of stimulation; and a memory. The pulse generator and the initial application of a stimulus amounts to insignificant, extra-solution activity as it simply sets up the environment in which the data is analyzed and the decisions/determinations are made, see MPEP §2106.04(d)(2)(c). The processor and memory amount to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea and the sensed data that is received amounts to the insignificant, extra-solution activity of data gathering. Insignificant, extra-solution activity and generic computer implementation do not amount, alone or in combination, to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 only further define the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 20 state “…with QRS correction” and “…without QRS correction”. However, the claims never require a step of correcting a QRS complex and it is unclear what Applicant means by these phrases. Does the system provide some correction to obtained QRS values? Does some other system “correct” values and then transmit to the device? Of what nature is this correction and what is being corrected? The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brisben et al. (2019/0275329).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 7, 11, 13 and 17, Brisben discloses a system 100 comprising a HIS electrode ( either of 112a, b, see Fig. 1) configured to be located proximate to a HIS bundle (par. [0049]); a pulse generator coupled to the HIS electrode and configure to deliver HIS bundle pacing (part of HIS bundle pacing system 118, described functionally in par. [0051] as an electrostimulation circuit); a right atrial electrode configured to be located in a right atrium (not shown but described functionally as an option in par. [0053, 0117]); sensing circuitry coupled to the RA electrode and configured to define an RA sensing channel (par. [0053, 0117]; and a processor with memory (implicitly disclosed via the programmable function of the device and the execution of said programmed instructions, see par. [0051] and the mention of a control circuit) configured to collect far field cardiac signals from the RA sensing channel. Brisben discloses obtaining multiple Far Field component characteristics of interest, such as FF-QRS, FF-R wave, HV intervals (intervals between an applied pacing pulse and a QRS wave, see par. [0086]) , etc. (par. [0086-0087]) and identifying capture types from an analysis of these components. For instance a FF-QRS width (a first FF COI) can be used to distinguish between selective capture and capture of the para-Hisian myocardium (par. [0087]). These capture types fall within a class of capture types that can be identified from FF-QRS. A second FF COI could be FF-R wave width which can be used to distinguish between S-capture and para-Hisian myocardium capture (par. [0087]). These would belong to a capture class identifiable from an FF-R wave. Other types of capture can also be determined, such as NS-capture and LOC (par. [0089]).
In regard to Claims 2 and 12, the Examiner notes the applied pacing pulse used for determining the HV interval (which can be the first segment COI) occurs earlier in time than a QRS waveform, which is the second segment COI (see par. [0086-0087]).
With regards to Claims 4, 5, 14 and 15, Brisben discloses utilizing FF-R waves as a first FFC COI to distinguish between types of capture such as selective, nonselective, myocardial only and LOC (par. [0087, 0100-0101]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Brisben discloses utilizing a timing interval from HBP to a detected FF-QRS to determine S-Capture, NS-Capture, para-Hisian myocardial capture, see par. [0086-0087] as well as LOC and intrinsic capture (par. [0089, 0091, 0109]).
In regards to Claims 9 and 19, Brisbane discloses the area under the curve of the QRS or R wave can be sued to classify a capture type. The area under the curve is a measure of total energy (par. [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisben et al. (2019/0275329) in view of Ghosh et al. (2014/0371833). Brisben discloses using an activation time between a pacing pulse and a QRS wave but fails to disclose identifying a maximum slope of the QRS wave. However utilizing a maximum slope of a QRS wave for activation time determination was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, see Ghosh, par. [0073]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Brisbane reference to include utilizing a maximum slope of the QRS waveform for activation time determination, as taught and suggested by Ghosh, for the purpose of accurately determining activation times according to known techniques for doing so.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prillinger et al. (2019/0022378), HBP and capture classification
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796