Claim Objections
Claims 5-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 appears to be in independent format, but refers to claim 2. The applicant should include all the appropriate limitations into the claims without referring to any previous claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barron et al. in U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0196858 in view of Hodges in U.S. Patent No. Application No. 2019/0147397 A1.
Barron et al. discloses an asset (gemstone 120) that is held by a holder (122) positioned by a stack of motorized linear translation stages (124A,124B,124C; see paragraph 54) that are considered to be a positioning system and using the laser to create voxels (148; see paragraph 66) that are considered to be “gentle” since femtosecond laser pulses (see paragraph 50) are being used to create marks that are invisible to a 10X optical instrument (see paragraph 68), and an optical reading device (element 28A, 28B, or 28C) and a CCD (see element 166).
Barron et al. discloses operation software (see paragraph 49) and recognition software (see paragraphs 74-76) but Barron et al. does not disclose a blockchain.
Hodges teaches using a tracking system for precious gemstones (see paragraph 29) and further teaches using a blockchain repository that make it practically impossible to falsify or delete entries for better traceability (see paragraphs 116 and 117).
It would have been obvious to adapt Barron et al. in view of Hodges to provide this to make it practically impossible to falsify or delete entries for better traceability.
Regarding claim 3, Barron et al. disclose using a laser pulse energy from 20 nJ to 90 nJ (see paragraph 17), wherein Barron et al. teach marking diamonds, that is both a stone and an asset.
Regarding claim 4, Barron et al as modified by Hodges fail to disclose applying dream catcher mode for reading the nanotag. However, dream catcher mode is commonly used for enhancing shopping experience by combining product tracking with a serene environment. It could be done by adjusting the scanning speed or frequency to ensure smooth experience or to present the scanned data in an aesthetically pleasing way. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and upon filing of a terminal disclaimer.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applicant teaches a system and a method thereof for tracing a newly mined stone through a stream of commerce which includes at least a nanotag, a nanotag reader, a blockchain database for storing information related to the stone and associated with the nanotag, wherein a tagging unit coupled to a laser configured to create the nanotag using gentle modification without intentionally using an impurity within the stone, formed from voxels that are imperceptible when viewed at a magnification of 10× but visible to high magnification optical viewing methods; wherein the tagging unit is configured to uploaded information associated with the nanotag, through a communication connection, onto the blockchain; and wherein the information is encrypted upon uploading to the blockchain. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claims were not shown by the prior art of record.
.Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,370,622 (herein after ‘622 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention is a broader recitation of the ‘622 Patent. For instance in claim 1 of the current application and in the ‘622 Patent, the applicant claim:
Application No. 19/209,550
Patent No. 12,370,622
A system for tracing a newly mined stone (rough) through a stream of commerce comprising: at least a nanotag; a nanotag reader; a processor; a database for storing information related to the stone and associated with the nanotag; and, at least one blockchain for storing at least one entry associated with the stone.
A tagging system, comprising: a tagging unit coupled to a laser configured to create a two-dimensional or three-dimensional, non-opaque identification etching using gentle modification without intentionally using an impurity with a pulse energy between 10 nJ and 300 nJ within a transparent or translucent stone, a transparent or translucent precious stone, a gem, a crystal, a transparent material, or a translucent material, formed from voxels that are imperceptible when viewed at a magnification of 10× but visible to high magnification optical viewing methods; wherein the tagging unit is configured to uploaded information associated with the identification etching, through a communication connection, onto a distributed ledger; and wherein the information is encrypted upon uploading to the distributed ledger, and an optical reading device consisting of a more than 10× magnification, asset holder, positioning system, electronic imaging sensor and software interfaced to the distributed ledger.
Thus, in respect to above discussions, it would have been obvious to an artisan at the time the invention was made to use the teaching of claims 1-19 of the ‘622 Patent as a general teaching for tracing newly mined stones or assets, to perform the same function as claimed in the present invention. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of the ‘622 Patent and differ only in terminology. The extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to claimed invention of ‘622 Patent [species], In re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a co-pending application.
The obviousness-type double patenting rejection is a judicially established doctrine based upon public policy and is primarily intended to prevent prolongation of the patent term by prohibiting claims in a second patent not patentably distinct from the claims in a first paten. IN re Vogel, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 C.F.R. & 1.321(b) would overcome an actual or provisional rejection on this ground provided the conflicting application or patent is shown to be commonly owned with this application. See 37 C>FR> &1.78(d).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thomas et al. in U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0342987 discloses using a blockchain that tracks ownership of commodities (see paragraph 68) and that the commodity may be artwork, comic books or precious stones (see paragraph 74). Kikuawa et al. in U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0030795 discloses a numerical aperture of .85 (see paragraph 51).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876