DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are rejected in the Instant Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US 20130117377) in view of Lee (US 20160005229).
Regarding claims 21, 33. Miller teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to (¶0004 computing devices comprising memory, processing circuitry, and software stored at least in part in the memory and executable by the processing circuitry):
obtain image data representing a real-world scene (¶0049 see environment-sensing system 306 includes one or more sensors 312 for obtaining data from the physical environment around a user. Objects or information detected by the sensors may be provided as input to the user device. In some embodiments, this input may represent user interaction with the virtual world);
receive, from a host device, information defining a location and orientation of virtual content relative to the real-world scene (¶0074 the user's geospatial location (e.g., provided by GPS, attitude/position sensors, etc.) or mobile location relative to the buildings, may comprise data used by the computing network 105 to trigger the transmission of data used to display the virtual character(s);
output a first image for display on a display of the apparatus, the first image depicting the virtual content and a representation of a user of the host device, wherein the virtual content is depicted in the first image based on the information and the heading of the apparatus (¶0074 see As shown in FIG. 10, the user sees the local, physical environment (i.e., a city having multiple buildings) as well as a virtual character 1010 (i.e., virtual object). The position of the virtual character 1010 may be triggered by a 2D visual target (for example, a billboard, postcard or magazine) and/or one or more 3D reference frames such as buildings, cars, people, animals, airplanes, portions of a building, and/or any 3D physical object, virtual object, and/or combinations thereof).
Miller teaches determine a location and a heading of the apparatus (¶0085 see display system (14) may be integrated with a localization system, which may involve the GPS element, optical tracking, compass, accelerometer, and/or other data sources, to assist with position and pose determination; localization information may be utilized to facilitate accurate rendering in the user's view of the pertinent world)
Miller does not explicitly teach heading relative to the real-world scene based, at least in part, on the image data
Lee however in the same field of computer networking teaches heading relative to the real-world scene based, at least in part, on the image data (¶0188-89 the electronic device may record at least one of a variety of context information along with an image photographed at each node. The electronic device may determine an area on which the image photographed by the camera is arranged on a virtual 2D or 3D space through context information. the position information stored along with the image can also be a relative position or path information according to the relationship with another image. For example, the electronic device may identify a relative position relationship (for example, at least one among the arrangement and correlation relationship on the 3D space) between two images, based on the same/similar feature point information of the two images)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of computer networking at the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the location information of Miller and the teachings of Lee for providing relative position information based on real world scenes based in part on the image to combine the teachings such that Miller utilizes the information provided by Lee as part of image and VR processing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the results of the combination are predictable because each element in the combination is merely performing the same function it would perform separately. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because doing so help generating a 2D/3D spatial map based on an image and a communication method, and a device for providing various services based on the generated spatial map (Lee ¶0006)
Regarding claims 22, 34. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the representation of the user of the host device is generated based on an image of the user of the host device (Miller ¶0048 see one or more sensors 310 operable to detect certain features, characteristics, or information related to the individual user wearing the system 300. For example, in some embodiments, the sensors 310 may include a camera or optical detection/scanning circuitry capable of detecting real-time optical characteristics/measurements of the user).
Regarding claims 23, 35. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first image depicting the virtual content is superimposed over one or more views of the real-world scene Miller (¶0068 see a user wearing a 3D head-mounted display looking up in the sky and seeing a virtual plane flying overhead, superimposed on the real world).
Regarding claims 24, 36. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the one or more views of the real-world scene are generated based on the image data (Miller ¶0075 see enable one or more users to perceive one or more virtual objects alone and/or in combination with physical objects and experience customized and personalized versions of the virtual objects. The statue 1110 (or portions thereof) may be rendered by various components of the system including, for example, software/firmware installed on the user device. Using data indicating the location and attitude of the user device, in combination with the registration features of the virtual object (i.e., statue 1110), the virtual object (i.e., statue 1110) forms a relationship with the physical object (i.e., platform 1120)).
Regarding claims 25, 37. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein a heading of the virtual content depicted in the first image is based on the location and the heading of the apparatus (Miller ¶0085 see display system (14) may be integrated with a localization system, which may involve the GPS element, optical tracking, compass, accelerometer, and/or other data sources, to assist with position and pose determination; localization information may be utilized to facilitate accurate rendering in the user's view of the pertinent world (i.e., such information would facilitate the glasses to know where they are with respect to the real world….¶0072 see physical objects (e.g., first user 901 and first object 902) may be scanned and rendered as virtual objects in the virtual world).
Regarding claims 26, 38. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein a heading of the virtual content depicted in the first image is based on the heading of the apparatus and the orientation of the virtual content defined in received information (Miller ¶0075 see The statue 1110 is a virtual object and, therefore, may be stationary, animated, change over time or with respect to the user's viewing position, or even change depending upon which particular user is viewing the statue 1110. For example, if the user is a small child, the statue may be a dog; yet, if the viewer is an adult male, the statue may be a large robot as shown in FIG. 11. These are examples of user dependent and/or state dependent experiences. This will enable one or more users to perceive one or more virtual objects alone and/or in combination with physical objects and experience customized and personalized versions of the virtual objects).
Regarding claims 27, 39. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive an input to manipulate the virtual content (Miller ¶0033 see Once an object is instantiated, the state of the object may be permitted to be altered, controlled or manipulated by one or more users experiencing a digital world…¶0068 see two users located in different geographical locations each interact with the other user and a common virtual world through their respective user devices. In this embodiment, the two users 701 and 702 are throwing a virtual ball 703 (a type of virtual object) back and forth, wherein each user is capable of observing the impact of the other user on the virtual world (e.g., each user observes the virtual ball changing directions, being caught by the other user, etc.). Since the movement and location of the virtual objects (i.e., the virtual ball 703) are tracked by the servers 110 in the computing network 105); and
output a second image depicting the virtual content based on the manipulation (Miller ¶0068 see Since the movement and location of the virtual objects (i.e., the virtual ball 703) are tracked by the servers 110 in the computing network 105, the system 100 may, in some embodiments, communicate to the users 701 and 702 the exact location and timing of the arrival of the ball 703 with respect to each user. For example, if the first user 701 is located in London, the user 701 may throw the ball 703 to the second user 702 located in Los Angeles at a velocity calculated by the system 100); and
transmit information defining the manipulation to the host device (Miller ¶0068 see the system 100 may communicate to the second user 702 (e.g., via email, text message, instant message, etc.) the exact time and location of the ball's arrival. As such, the second user 702 may use his device to see the ball 703 arrive at the specified time and located. One or more users may also use geo-location mapping software (or similar) to track one or more virtual objects as they travel virtually across the globe)
Regarding claims 28, 40. The apparatus of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine an additional location and an additional heading of the apparatus relative to the real-world scene, wherein the additional location and the additional heading are different from the location and the heading of the apparatus (Miller ¶0004 see the computer network is operable to transmit the first portion to a user device for presentation to a second user, such that the second user may experience the first portion from the location of the second user); and
output a second image depicting the virtual content having a heading based on the additional location and the additional heading of apparatus (Miller ¶0004 see The change in virtual world data may be presented to a second user device for presentation to the second user according to the predetermined relationship. The virtual world may be operable to be rendered by at least one of the computer servers or a user device).
Regarding claim 29. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the representation of the user of the host device includes a depiction of the user of the host device as the user appears in the real-world scene (Miller ¶0072 see The first user 901 may be scanned, for example, by a motion capture system or similar device, and rendered in the virtual world (by software/firmware stored in the motion capture system, the gateway component 140).
Regarding claim 30. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the location (of the virtual content) is determined at one or both of the host device or the apparatus (Miller ¶0073 see the first user 901 and first object 902 are located at a first physical location 915, and the second user 922 is located at a different, second physical location 925 separated by some distance from the first location 915. In this embodiment, the virtual objects 931 and 932 may be transposed in realtime (or near real-time) to a location within the virtual world corresponding to the second location 925. Thus, the second user 922 may observe and interact, in the second user's physical, local environment 925, with the rendered physical objects 931 and 932 representing the first user 901 and first object 902, respectively).
Regarding claim 31. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the apparatus is a mobile computing platform (Miller ¶0036 see the data network 130 includes a wireless mobile network connecting the user device (i.e., smart phone 220) to the computer network 105.).
Regarding claim 32. The already combined references teach the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the host device is a headset device configured to present one or both of virtual reality (VR) content and augmented reality (AR) content (Miller ¶0004 see The user device may be operable to provide an interface for enabling interaction between a user and the virtual world a combination of augmented and virtual reality mode)
Conclusion
References are cited not only for their quoted language but for all that they teach.
/ATTA KHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449