DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, the limitations “at least one of said first and second layers” should be amended to read --- at least one of said first and second substantially transparent layers---.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations” a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements (30)” should be amended to read --- a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for determining a temperature of at least one of LEDs” in claim 19.
Page 6, lines 10-14, page 27, lines 15-20 of the Specification discloses that “means for determining a temperature comprises at least one temperature sensor arranged on at least one side of said carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer” and “there may be one or more temperature sensors 250, which may be thermistors (NTC or PTC), platinum resistance thermometers, or the like.”
Double Patenting
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,328,983. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claim 19 is merely broader versions of patented claim 1. Below is a comparison between present claim 19 and patented claim 1.
Present claim 19
Patented claim 1
A monitoring system for monitoring a space inside and/or outside a motor vehicle comprising: a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements (30) adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in said space, sensor elements being electrically connected to a substantially transparent carrier layer adapted to be first and disposed between second substantially transparent layers to form a substantially transparent laminate structure for use in one or more windows and/or roof panel of said motor vehicle, or
an optoelectronic arrangement for use in a transparent glazing element of a vehicle, for example, the optoelectronic arrangement comprising: a substantially transparent carrier layer, at least one conductor layer comprising conductor paths provided on at least one side of said carrier layer, optoelectronic components comprising at least a plurality of LEDs arranged on the carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer, and means for determining a temperature of at least one of the LEDS, or
the optoelectronic arrangement comprising: at least one substantially transparent carrier layer, at least one conductor layer comprising conductor paths provided on at least one side of said carrier layer, at least one light emitting element arranged on the carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer, and at least one proximity and/or touch sensor arranged on at least one of said carrier layers, the arrangement further being couplable to a control module for controlling an operation of said at least one light emitting element in response to information from said at least one proximity and/or touch sensor.
An optoelectronic arrangement for use in a transparent glazing element of a vehicle,
the optoelectronic arrangement comprising: at least one substantially transparent carrier layer; at least one conductor layer comprising conductor paths provided on at least one side of said at least one substantially transparent carrier layer; at least one light emitting element arranged on the at least one substantially transparent carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer; at least one proximity and/or touch sensor arranged on said at least one substantially transparent carrier layer; at least one optical layer bonded to said at least one substantially transparent carrier layer over the at least one light emitting element for diffusing light from each light emitting element into a light patch of substantially uniform illuminance and of greater diameter than the at least one light emitting element; wherein the arrangement is couplable to a control module for controlling the operation of said at least one light emitting element in response to information from said at least one proximity and/or touch sensor; and wherein said at least one optical layer comprises an array of optical segments on an input surface and an array of optical segments on an output surface, wherein the array of optical segments on the output surface are larger than the array of optical segments on the input surface.
As can be seen above, the main difference between the claims is that the patented claim 1 recite more features in an optoelectronic arrangement. Therefore, present claim 19 is merely a broader version of patented claim 1, and thus is anticipated by patented claim 1. Therefore, present claim 19 is merely a broader version of patented claim 1, and thus is anticipated by patented claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase “for example” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAY (US 2020/0269815) in view of Weber (US 2019/0078934).
Regarding claim 1, Day discloses a monitoring system for monitoring a space inside and/or outside a motor vehicle (Fig. 18; [0253], [0255]-[0260], [0283] e.g., one or more of sensors 173, 175, 177 can be configured as contact/proximity sensor for sensing an object inside a vehicle) comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements adapted to detect objects in a space (Fig. 7; [0191], [0260], [0282], e.g., a plurality of photodiodes 11 adapted to detect proximity of objects),
sensor elements (Fig. 7; [0141]-[0142], [0170], e.g., photodiodes 11) being electrically connected to a substantially transparent carrier layer (Figs 1-2, [0141]-[0149], [0155], e.g., electrically connected to an optically transparent substrate 3) adapted to be disposed between first and second substantially transparent layers ([0171], e.g., between first and second substantially transparent layers 51 and 52) to form a substantially transparent laminate structure for use in one or more windows and/or roof panel of said motor vehicle ([0140], [0275], [0282]-[0283], e.g., use in one or more window of the vehicle).
Day does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of photoelectric sensor elements are adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in the space.
However, Weber discloses an optoelectronic sensor device (Fig. 1; [0046], e.g., device 1) comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in a space (Fig. 4; [0009], [0011], [0046]-[0047], [0058], e.g., a plurality of photodetectors 3 are used to generate three-dimensional mapping of objects 9 in the space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to use the teachings of Weber in the invention of Day for generating a 3D mapping of objects in a space by using a plurality of photoelectric sensors in order to provide a device for monitoring a space inside and/or outside of a vehicle for a presence of an object ([0009], [0020] of Weber).
Regarding claim 3, Day further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said carrier layer is flexible ([0141], e.g., the substrate 3 is flexible).
Regarding claim 4, Day in view of Weber further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensor elements are configured to monitor a space using at least one of triangulation, structured light and time-of- flight (Weber, [0009], [0022], [0054], e.g., infrared-emitting semiconductor lasers and/or infrared-emitting LEDs can be used preferably for time-of-flight, proximity or other methods of three-dimensional detection or presence detection).
Regarding claim 5, Day in view of Weber further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensor elements, when mounted in said laminate structure in a motor vehicle, are arranged to generate a three- dimensional detection zone inside and/or outside said motor vehicle (Day, [0209], [0283]. [0020] of Weber, e.g., generate a three-dimensional detection zone inside and/or outside of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Day further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensor elements are mounted on said carrier layer (see Figs 1-2; [0142], e.g., the photodiode 11 is mounted on the substrate 3).
Regarding claim 8, Day further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein a bonding layer is provided between said carrier layer and at least one of said first and second layers (Fig. 7; [0176], e.g., a bonding layer 54 is provided between the carrier layer 3 and the first pane of glass 51).
Regarding claim 9, Day further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said carrier layer comprises wiring for power supply and signal carrier of said sensors (Fig. 1; [0152]-[0153]).
Regarding claim 11, Day in view of Weber further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensors comprise photoelectric emitter elements and photoelectric detector elements ([0154] and [0260] of Day e.g., each proximity sensor comprises one photoelectric emitter element and one photoelectric detector element. Weber, Fig. 4 and [0067], e.g., a plurality of laser diodes 2 and photodiodes 3).
Regarding claim 12, Day in view of Weber further discloses a monitoring system according to claim 11, wherein each said photoelectric emitter element and said photoelectric detector element comprises at least one lens adapted to provide a directional field of view (Bay, Fig. 1; [0142], e.g., the LED 9 comprises a lens assembly 10 for directing the beam of light in the required direction. Fig. 3 of Weber, e.g., lens 71).
Regarding claim 15, Day in view of Weber further a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensors operate in infrared wavelengths (Day, [0143]. [0009] of Weber).
Regarding claim 16, Day in view of Weber further discloses a transparent laminate structure for use in the windows and/or roof panel of a motor vehicle comprising a monitoring system according to claim 1 (Day, Fig. 18; [0255], [0260], e.g., the windscreen 170 comprises the sensing system. [0020] of Weber).
Regarding claim 17, Day further discloses a vehicle comprising a transparent laminate structure according to claim 16 (see Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 18, Day further discloses a vehicle according to claim 17, wherein said transparent laminate structure is comprises in at least two of a side window, a rear window, a front window and a roof panel of said motor vehicle (Fig. 18; [0275], e.g., a side window and a front window).
Regarding claim 19, Day discloses a monitoring system for monitoring a space inside and/or outside a motor vehicle (Fig. 18; [0253], [0255]-[0260], [0283] e.g., one or more of sensors 173, 175, 177 can be configured as contact/proximity sensor for sensing an object inside a vehicle) comprising:
a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements adapted to detect objects in a space (Fig. 7; [0191], [0260], [0282], e.g., a plurality of photodiodes 11 adapted to detect proximity of objects), sensor elements (Fig. 7; [0141]-[0142], [0170], e.g., photodiodes 11) being electrically connected to a substantially transparent carrier layer (Figs 1-2, [0141]-[0149], [0155], e.g., electrically connected to an optically transparent substrate 3) to form a substantially transparent laminate structure for use in one or more windows and/or roof panel of said motor vehicle ([0140], [0275], [0282]-[0283], e.g., use in one or more window of the vehicle), or
an optoelectronic arrangement for use in a transparent glazing element of a vehicle, for example, the optoelectronic arrangement comprising: a substantially transparent carrier layer, at least one conductor layer comprising conductor paths provided on at least one side of said carrier layer, optoelectronic components comprising at least a plurality of LEDs arranged on the carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer, and means for determining a temperature of at least one of the LEDs, or
the optoelectronic arrangement comprising:
at least one substantially transparent carrier layer, at least one conductor layer comprising conductor paths provided on at least one side of said carrier layer, at least one light emitting element arranged on the carrier layer and electrically coupled to conductor paths on said conductor layer, and at least one proximity and/or touch sensor arranged on at least one of said carrier layers, the arrangement further being couplable to a control module for controlling an operation of said at least one light emitting element in response to information from said at least one proximity and/or touch sensor.
Day does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of photoelectric sensor elements are adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in the space.
However, Weber discloses an optoelectronic sensor device (Fig. 1; [0046], e.g., device 1) comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in a space (Fig. 4; [0009], [0011], [0046]-[0047], [0058], e.g., a plurality of photodetectors 3 are used to generate three-dimensional mapping of objects 9 in the space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to use the teachings of Weber in the invention of Day for generating a 3D mapping of objects in a space by using a plurality of photoelectric sensors in order to provide a device for monitoring a space inside and/or outside of a vehicle for a presence of an object ([0009], [0020] of Weber).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day (US 2020/0269815) in view of Weber (US 2019/0078934), and further in view of Mattes et al. (US 2014/0236454).
Regarding claim 2, Day in view of Weber does not specifically disclose a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensor elements are disposed on said carrier layer in a 2- dimensional arrangement.
However, Mattes discloses a monitoring system comprising a plurality of sensor elements disposed on a carrier layer in a 2-dimensional arrangement (Fig. 4; [0053], claim 25, e.g., photoelectric sensors 14 can be arranged on a circuit board in a 2-dimensional arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Mattes in the invention of Day in view of Weber for disposing sensor elements on a carrier layer in a 2- dimensional arrangement in order to determine a three-dimensional position of an object.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day (US 2020/0269815) in view of Weber (US 2019/0078934), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0041663).
Regarding claim 7, Day in view of Weber does not specifically disclose a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensor elements are embedded in said carrier layer.
However, Chen discloses a device wherein sensor elements are embedded in a carrier layer (Fig. 14; [0058], e.g., light detectors 94B are embedded within a substrate 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Chen in the invention of Day in view of Weber for providing sensor elements formed from light sensors embedded within a carrier layer because as taught by Chen the light sensors can be used to implement a three-dimensional scanning system for detecting three-dimensional scans of people or objects (see [0059] of Chen).
Regarding claim 14, Day in view of Weber does not specifically disclose a monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein said sensors have dimensions no greater than 500µm, and preferably no greater than 200µm.
However, Chen discloses a device wherein sensors have dimensions no greater than 500µm, and preferably no greater than 200µm (Fig. 14; [0043], [0053], [0058], e.g., the lateral size W of light-emitting diodes 30 may be about 1-500 microns, 2-50 microns, 5-30 microns, less than 30 microns, 3-7 microns, more than 2 microns, or other suitable size. Photodetectors 80 have sizes comparable to light-emitting diodes 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Chen in the invention of Day in view of Weber for providing sensor elements having sizes no greater than 200µm so that the overall size of sensor elements is minimized.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day (US 2020/0269815) in view of Weber (US 2019/0078934), and further in view of Costello et al. (US 2017/0160427).
Regarding claim 10, Day in view of Weber does not specifically disclose a monitoring system according to claim 9, wherein said sensors are bonded to carrier layer via said wiring. 17
However, Costello discloses an optical device (Fig. 1; [0020], e.g., device 100) wherein a photosensor is bonded to carrier layer via wiring ([0021], [0023]-[0024], e.g., the photodetector 116 is bonded to a substrate 104 via wiring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Costello in the invention of Day in view of Weber for bonding sensors to a carrier layer via wiring in order to minimize the overall size of a sensing device (see [0023] of Costello).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day (US 2020/0269815) in view of Weber (US 2019/0078934), and further in view of Costello et al. (US 2017/0160427) and Mattes et al. (US 2014/0236454).
Regarding claim 13, Day in view of Weber and Costello does not specifically disclose a monitoring system according to claim 10, wherein said sensors further comprise image processing and control circuitry for controlling at least one photoelectric emitter element and/or photoelectric detector element.
However, Mattes discloses a monitoring system comprising image processing and control circuitry for controlling at least one photoelectric emitter element and/or photoelectric detector element (Fig. 1; [0045], [0050]-[0053], e.g., the evaluation unit 16 controls at least one photoelectric emitter element 12 and/or photoelectric detector element 14 and determined a three-dimensional position of the object by means of a transmission time of the signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teachings of Mattes in the invention of Day in view of Weber and Costello for providing image processing and control circuitry for controlling at least one photoelectric emitter element and/or photoelectric detector element in order to determine a three-dimensional position of the finger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inoue (US 2018/0129353) discloses an input device comprising a plurality of photo sensor elements adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects.
Roth et al. (US 6,437,461) discloses However, Roth discloses a monitoring system for monitoring a space inside a motor vehicle comprising a plurality of photoelectric sensor elements adapted to generate a 3-dimensional mapping of objects in the space.
/HONG ZHOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629