DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-15 and 19-20 in the reply filed on October 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-18 are withdrawn. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed September 16, 2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rossbach et al., (US 20260089103, hereinafter referred to as “Rossbach”).
Regarding claim 19, Rossbach teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (figure 6: memory 612), individually or in combination, having instructions; and
one or more processors (figure 6: processors 604), individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
detect latency associated with a packet queued at the apparatus ([0023] Current L4S technology relies on a modified form of an explicit congestion notification (ECN) in which a congestion indication is provided in an IP header to indicate queue buildup in intermediate routers or radio links. Upon reception of a congestion indication, congestion signals may be propagated back to a sender. The signals may be sent via a transmission control protocol (TCP) ECN-echo that triggers scalable congestion control algorithms. A TCP congestion window reduced (CWR) bit may be sent back to acknowledge to the receiver that the congestion-indication echoing was received. Similar signaling may be supported on other layer 4 (L4) protocols such as QUIC.); and
set a bit associated with the packet to indicate the detected latency, wherein the bit is set at a data layer of the apparatus ([0024] When congestion is detected, the application server or the application may adjust the application bit rate to meet capacity of the established communication link. As a result, L4S may deliver a seamless user experience even with variable traffic load and radio conditions.).
Regarding claim 20, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the bit is set at one or more of: an application processor, an interconnect between the application processor and a modem, or the modem ([0038] From a radio interface perspective, it may be advantageous to determine whether or not congestion exists at radio layers or other points within an LTE/5G system. In some embodiments, congestion at an air interface may be indicated using one CE bit that is communicated to upper sublayers and translated into respective representation at an IP layer. However, to allow supportive use cases in which full end-to-end ECN/L4S consistency is desired, some embodiments may provide the CE indication with more than one bit (for example, two bits). ECN, L4S, and CE may be used interchangeably throughout this description.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossbach et al., (US 20260089103, hereinafter referred to as “Rossbach”) in view of Wittberg et al. (US 10736174, hereinafter referred to as “Wittberg”).
Regarding claim 1, Rossbach teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions (figure 6: memory 612); and
one or more processors, individually or in combination (figure 6: processors 604), configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
detect latency associated with a packet queued at the apparatus ([0023] Current L4S technology relies on a modified form of an explicit congestion notification (ECN) in which a congestion indication is provided in an IP header to indicate queue buildup in intermediate routers or radio links. Upon reception of a congestion indication, congestion signals may be propagated back to a sender. The signals may be sent via a transmission control protocol (TCP) ECN-echo that triggers scalable congestion control algorithms. A TCP congestion window reduced (CWR) bit may be sent back to acknowledge to the receiver that the congestion-indication echoing was received. Similar signaling may be supported on other layer 4 (L4) protocols such as QUIC.).
However, Rossbach does not explicitly teach modify a reordering timer associated with the packet after latency associated with the packet is detected. In an analogous art, Wittberg teaches modify a reordering timer associated with the packet after latency associated with the packet is detected (col. 19, lines 28 – 38: a method for Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) reordering. The network node is operating in a wireless communications network 600. The network node buffers in order one or more first data units received out of order by a PDCP layer, wherein the one or more first data units are received from a lower layer during a first time period, and wherein the lower layer is a layer below the PDCP layer. When the first time period has expired, the network node forwards the one or more buffered first data units in order to an upper layer and starts a second time period. Further, the network node forwards, to the upper layer and in any order, one or more second data units received from the lower layer during the second time period.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Rossbach’s wireless packet-processing apparatus to use Wittberg’s adaptive PDCP reordering-timer technique in order to adapt packet-reordering behavior to observed packet latency, therefore reducing unnecessary buffering and waiting.
Regarding claim 3, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: set a bit associated with the packet to indicate the detected latency, wherein the bit is set at a data layer of the apparatus ([0025] Changing the ECN bits in an IP header as a queue starts to grow to signal congestion may be referred to as marking. ECN/L4S use two least significant bits of a traffic class field in an IP version 4 (IPv4) or IP version 6 (IPv6) header to encode four different codepoints. In traditional ECN implementations, a congestion mark is equivalent to a packet drop. In L4S, the congestion mark serves as an indication instead of dropping the packet.).
Regarding claim 7, Rossbach teaches the prior art of record does not teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain a first plurality of packets, wherein the first plurality of packets comprises fewer packets than expected by the apparatus; obtain an indication that the first plurality of packets will comprise fewer packets than expected by the apparatus; and obtain a second plurality of packets comprising the packet, wherein the latency is detected based on at least one of: (i) the first plurality of packets comprising fewer packets than expected by the apparatus, or (ii) the indication that the first plurality of packets will comprise fewer packets than expected by the apparatus ([0053] A suboption of the second option, e.g., option 2a, may be L3/L4 related parameter driven or based on typical traffic characteristics. For example, the receiver may monitor an actual receive (Rx) data rate as a function of round-trip time (RTT) (in relation to the Tx data rate). The actual Rx data rate may then be compared with an expected Rx data rate of the traffic flow. If there is a deviation from what is expected that is greater than a predetermined threshold, then the receiver may declare a congestion condition.).
Regarding claim 9, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: generate meta-data associated with the packet, wherein the meta-data is configured to indicate setting a bit associated with the packet to indicate the detected latency ([0025] Changing the ECN bits in an IP header as a queue starts to grow to signal congestion may be referred to as marking. ECN/L4S use two least significant bits of a traffic class field in an IP version 4 (IPv4) or IP version 6 (IPv6) header to encode four different codepoints. In traditional ECN implementations, a congestion mark is equivalent to a packet drop. In L4S, the congestion mark serves as an indication instead of dropping the packet.).
Regarding claim 10, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the packet is a PDCP layer packet, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: extract an IP packet from the PDCP layer packet ([0035] 5G NR and LTE support ECN at the IP layer where a base station and UE may insert ECN codepoints as specified in clause 5 of IETF request for comments (RFC) 3168, “The Addition of Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) to IP,” September 2001. In particular, a UE and a base station may set a CE codepoint ‘11’ in a PDCP service data unit (SDU) (in the IP packet). However, this means that ECN marking can only happen at the tail of the queue. Given that a UE's L2 buffer can be very large and grant-scheduling delays may exist, an ECN/L4S marking at an end of the queue may come with the disadvantage of additional delay for the ECN codepoint reaching its destination.).
Regarding claim 11, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein packet comprises a bit associated with an explicit congestion notification (ECN) field of the packet, and wherein the latency associated with the packet is detected based on the bit ([0025] Changing the ECN bits in an IP header as a queue starts to grow to signal congestion may be referred to as marking. ECN/L4S use two least significant bits of a traffic class field in an IP version 4 (IPv4) or IP version 6 (IPv6) header to encode four different codepoints. In traditional ECN implementations, a congestion mark is equivalent to a packet drop. In L4S, the congestion mark serves as an indication instead of dropping the packet.).
Regarding claim 12, Rossbach does not teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reordering timer comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer. Wittberg teaches wherein the reordering timer comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer (abstract - a method for Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) reordering). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Rossbach does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reordering timer is modified at a bearer level, an application flow level, or a quality of service (QOS) flow level.
Wittberg teaches wherein the reordering timer is modified at a bearer level, an application flow level, or a quality of service (QOS) flow level (col. 3, lines 42-60: The PDCP entity may be some piece of software running a separate instance of a full PDCP protocol between a network node, such as an eNB or a gNB, and a network node, such as UE, for a specific, so called, radio bearer. There are different bearers in LTE, signalling radio bearers aka SRB and data radio bearers aka DRB. There is one entity for each such bearer, thus also a timer for each such bearer. 3. If more PDCP PDUs, e.g. some of the one or more missing PDCP PDUs, are received out-of-sequence before t-Reordering expire, they are buffered and not immediately forwarded to an upper layer.). the motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Rossbach does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reordering timer is modified based on the detected latency associated with the packet and a type of traffic associated with the packet.
Wittberg teaches wherein the reordering timer is modified based on the detected latency associated with the packet and a type of traffic associated with the packet (col. 19, lines 28 – 38: a method for Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) reordering. The network node is operating in a wireless communications network 600. The network node buffers in order one or more first data units received out of order by a PDCP layer, wherein the one or more first data units are received from a lower layer during a first time period, and wherein the lower layer is a layer below the PDCP layer. When the first time period has expired, the network node forwards the one or more buffered first data units in order to an upper layer and starts a second time period. Further, the network node forwards, to the upper layer and in any order, one or more second data units received from the lower layer during the second time period.). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the type of traffic comprises low latency, low loss, and scalable throughput (LAS) type traffic and non-LAS type traffic ([0026] L4S allows relatively fine granular congestion control depending on the application (for example, with active queue management (AQM) and scalable TCP). L4S allows for improved queue utilization and better use of network resources. If applied to the radio, it may allow for better spectrum utilization. Routers or nodes using AQM may signal congestion indication upon detecting high delay or high buffer status.).
However, Rossbach does not teach wherein the reordering timer is modified based on the type of traffic associated with the packet being LAS type traffic. Wittberg teaches wherein the reordering timer is modified based on the type of traffic associated with the packet being LAS type traffic (col. 6, lines 9-20 - Lower layers PDUs received by the PDCP that are older than the second time period, will be discarded because they will arrive outside the receiving window. It is important to discard these late PDUs because the receiver must keep track of when the sequence number space is wrapping to zero, e.g. a Hyper Frame Number (HFN) is incremented, to avoid the sender and the receiver to be out-of-sync with regards to the HFN number. By the terms receiver and sender when used herein is meant either the case when the UE is the sender and the gNB/eNB is the receiver (uplink traffic), or the case when the UE is the receiver and the gNB/eNB is the sender (downlink traffic)). The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rossbach et al., (US 20260089103, hereinafter referred to as “Rossbach”) in view of Wittberg et al. (US 10736174, hereinafter referred to as “Wittberg”), in further view of Mitra et al., (US 20230102614, hereinafter referred to as “Mitra”).
Regarding claim 2, neither Rossbach nor Wittberg teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: refrain, for a duration of time, from coalescing the packet based on the detected latency.
Mitra teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: refrain, for a duration of time, from coalescing the packet based on the detected latency ([0006] In some cases, the modem may always group the plurality of data packets associated with the one or more connections. For example, for each connection, the modem may always group corresponding data packets for transmission to the processor. However, in some cases, grouping data packets may actually deteriorate an operation of the modem or the processor (for example, grouping data packets may result in under-used buffers or dropped data packets). Some data packets may be better suited to not be grouped together, but the modem may be unable to differentiate which data packets should be grouped together versus which data packets should not be grouped together.).
Before the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply selective packet-grouping control of Mitra to Rossbach’s wireless congestion-detection system because when Rossbach detects excessive packet-buffer residency, disabling packet coalescing for a limited period could reduce additional processing or buffering delay. Therefore the combination would apply known packet-handling controls to a detected latency condition to improve latency-sensitive packet delivery.
Regarding claim 8, Rossbach teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the latency associated with the packet is detected based on a duration of time that the packet is queued satisfying a threshold condition ([0066] In a fifth suboption of the second option, e.g., option 2E, the PDCP transmitter may declare a congestion condition upon expiration of the PDCP discard timer. In some embodiments, if the PDCP discard timer expires for one SDU, the congestion condition may be declared. In other embodiments, the congestion condition may be declared if the PDCP discard timer expires for a predetermined threshold number of SDUs over a period of time. The predetermined threshold number or period of time may be configured by the network.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of does not teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain a plurality of packets including the packet, wherein the plurality of packets forms multiple consecutive I-frames, wherein the latency associated with the packet is detected based on the obtained plurality of packets forming multiple consecutive I-frames.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain, at a first time, N packets including the packet, wherein N is less than a number of packets expected at the first time, wherein the latency associated with the packet is detected based on N being less than the number of packets expected at the first time, wherein an integrity metric associated with the N packets indicates that N is an acceptable number of packets.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain a plurality of packets including the packet, wherein the plurality of packets are obtained via a multi-modal flow associated with another multi-modal flow, and wherein the latency associated with the packet is detected based on a delay of one or more packets associated with the other multi-modal flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
P et al., WO 2026098768 - A method for in-order delivery in a transmitting device comprises including into each packet of a sequence of packets, a priority indicator indicating whether respective packets are prioritized packets a missing of which in the in-order delivery is not allowed to be skipped. In case that a packet is a prioritized packet, a priority indicator included in the prioritized packet further indicates a sequence of prioritized packets comprising the prioritized packet.
KANAMARLAPUDI et al., US 20240292264 - when a modem of a user equipment (UE) receives a burst of reset (RST) packets from an application processor, the modem may send only one RST packet and prune the remaining RST packets in the RST packet burst, or may send only one RST packet in a time period in cases where the RST packet burst is associated with a closed TCP connection and/or a TCP connection for which an RST packet has already been sent to a network node.
Chen et al., US 20240064217 – delay and reordering timer are adjusted according to playout delay range.
KANAMARLAPUDI et al., US 20220272570 - A configuration to adjust expiration of a PDCP reorder timer based on scheduler variations in dual connectivity.
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458