DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/15/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee Seong-Won et al (KR 2017/0027652) in view of Dae Seung Kim et al (KR 2015/0064012).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9-11, Lee Seong-Won et al discloses and teaches an ultrasound signal generation method for cavitation bubble control including transmission of a signal towards a target at a frequency which can expand a cavitation bubble in a target area, and a second condition of the signal which is capable of stopping the expansion of a cavitation bubble (See Fig 9, 10, 0075, 0076, 0078). The transmission rates (and comparatively, ratios) are based on the properties of the pulses and irradiation times for trigger/heating pulses (See Fig 9, 0078 and setting conditions) and the driving control prevents the cavitation of targets while also providing treatments of others ((0076-0078) elements 315, 81). Lee Seong-Won et al fails to disclose a transmission ratio determination unit to solve for transmission ratios between the first and second frequency ultrasonic signal and to output that second frequency on either a cyclical or continuous pattern (based on target and desired outcome, see database (0076 0078, element 80)).
Attention is hereby directed to the teachings of Seung Kim et al which, in the same area of endeavor, expressly teaches the treatment with multiple transducers for treatment (0015-0018)) and control of multiple frequencies on both a cyclical and continuous patten (Abs, 0022-0023). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given example II of Seung Kim for transmission ratio dependent switching of pulse patterns, to have utilized the teachings of Seong-Wong with those threshold signal intensities to set frequencies to expand or stop the cavitation bubbles thereof (0066 0076, Seong-Wong; 0022-0023, Seung Kim).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 12-13, Attention is again directed as above to Seung Kim et al which discloses the setting of frequency ratio either simultaneously or alternately as well as the intensity, transmission ratio, and irradiation time (see 0047-0052, with summing of signals to yield between 0-100%) for the same reasons outlined above with respect to claims 1-3 and 9-11.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 14-16, Seong-Won et al discloses and teaches the treatment with the first frequency and conditions to generate and control expansion of the cavitation bubble in the region of interest (0076) and whereby the second frequency stops such expansion to control/prevent the treatment outside the region so targeted/desired (0076, elements 120, 100, 140). Furthermore, Seong-Won et al disclose and teach the interrogation and generation of an ultrasound image with received echoes as well as the inclusion of monitoring conditions of the patient (including lesions, element 315, attached to 314, detecting 90 (tissue including lesion/focus)). While Seong-Won et al disclose the monitoring of “tissues”, lesions are not specifically cited.
Attention is hereby briefly directed to the background of Seung Kim et al which expressly denotes cancer, tumors, and lesions as being the targeted tissues for treatment and monitoring. Seung Kim additionally discloses the imaging and monitoring of the targeted region for treatment (Claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilized the designation of cancer and lesions as the target of HIFU treatment and imaging monitoring as denoted by Seung Kim with the system for combination tissue monitoring and imaging of Seong-Won et al for HIFU wave control and feedback during treatment (Seung Kim, 0001-0005, abstract, claim 1).
Conclusion
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798