Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, an independent claim, recites, “the navigation information transmission device according to claim 9, wherein the navigation information reception device receives the navigation information message transmitted by the navigation information transmission device” This portion of the claim should be a separate claim as it refers to claim 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The following title is suggested as the previous title is redundant and verbose and should be shortened. A suggestion for the title is
“Navigation Information Transmission and Reception”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-14,16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blauwkamp, Daniel & Nguyen, Thuy & Xie, Geoffrey. (2018). Toward a Deep Learning Approach to Behavior-based AIS Traffic Anomaly Detection. – hereinafter Blauwkamp in view of Pucher (US 2008/0114710)
As per claim 1, Blauwkamp discloses A navigation information reception device, comprising: a receiver configured to receive a navigation information message; and processing circuitry configured to: (1. Introduction: In the same way that aircraft broad cast about themselves to air traffic controllers, an AIS station uses dedicated very high frequency (VHF) AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. Ships equipped with an AIS-enabled display can see the positions and navigational details of other ships that are within VHF line-of-sight (LOS),)
determine whether the received navigation information message is a format message or a non-format message; (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, Libais possessed definitions for several binary sub-types of message types 6 and 8, but initially, it opted to drop any binary message for which it did not find a fully specified field definition We desired to retain the data payloads for all binary message types for further analysis to see if fingerprinting might be possible. To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
analyze content of the navigation information message based on the stored format information in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the non-format message (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
and where the format information is stored; (1. Introduction: In the same way that aircraft broad cast about themselves to air traffic controllers, an AIS station uses dedicated very high frequency (VHF) AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. 2.1 NMEA encoding of AIS messages; As illustrated in Fig 1, the receiver in this case has added two tag blocks to the AIS sentence and an auxiliary “$SAVSI” sentence for annotating the VHF signal information (VSI) [15], to the same link layer frame. A tag block is bracketed by a pair of “\” characters. The primary purpose of the first tag is to identify sentence grouping (i.e., the g: tag field), add a line number (i.e., the n: tag), insert a timestamp (i.e., the c: tag field), and provide additional source identification (i.e., the s: tag field))
Blauwkamp fails to disclose store format information included in the navigation information message in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the format message.
Pucher discloses store format information included in the navigation information message in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the format message; and ([0012]; storing said received changes as a new version of the respective data structure, representing the changed status and transition process of said individual components, items or virtual objects, analyzing similarities of said binary patterns stored in said computer memory or disk memory related to a particular action performed, searching for a match in said binary patterns of said data structures, and if at least one repeating binary pattern of said data structures is identified, at least one possible action related to the matched binary pattern is proposed to an operator or performed automatically)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the teachings of Blauwkamp to be modified so that the format of the received binary AIS message is stored. This would have been advantageous because to execute the trained knowledge on different instances of the same description concept patterns while identifying analogies or similarities of DCPs in the pattern storage. ([0010])
As per claim 2, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 1. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the format information is a local data format agreed upon for exchanging information within a specific region. (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement; In such messages, the bit structure beyond position 87 is dependent on the value held in the preceding Designated Area Code (DAC) and Functional ID (FID) fields)
As per claim 3, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 1. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the processing circuitry stores new format information in a case where the stored format information differs from the new format information included in the newly received navigation information message. (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement; To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output)
As per claim 4, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 2. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the processing circuitry stores new format information in a case where the stored format information differs from the new format information included in the newly received. (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement; To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output)
As per claim 8, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 1. Blauwkamp discloses further comprising: a display configured to display the non-format message analyzed by the processing circuitry. (1. Introduction: Ships equipped with an AIS-enabled display can see the positions and navigational details of other ships that are within VHF line-of-sight (LOS))
As per claim 9, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 1. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the navigation information message is a binary message of an AIS message. (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, Libais possessed definitions for several binary sub-types of message types 6 and 8, but initially, it opted to drop any binary message for which it did not find a fully specified field definition We desired to retain the data payloads for all binary message types for further analysis to see if fingerprinting might be possible. To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
As per claim 10-11, please see the discussion under claim 9 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 12, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 6. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the processing circuitry determines based on a message identifier included in the binary message. (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, Libais possessed definitions for several binary sub-types of message types 6 and 8, but initially, it opted to drop any binary message for which it did not find a fully specified field definition We desired to retain the data payloads for all binary message types for further analysis to see if fingerprinting might be possible. To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
As per claim 13, please see the discussion under claim 12 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 14, Blauwkamp discloses a navigation information transmission device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to:
create a navigation information message comprising a format message including the format information, (1. Introduction: In the same way that aircraft broad cast about themselves to air traffic controllers, an AIS station uses dedicated very high frequency (VHF) AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. 2.1 NMEA encoding of AIS messages; As illustrated in Fig 1, the receiver in this case has added two tag blocks to the AIS sentence and an auxiliary “$SAVSI” sentence for annotating the VHF signal information (VSI) [15], to the same link layer frame. A tag block is bracketed by a pair of “\” characters. The primary purpose of the first tag is to identify sentence grouping (i.e., the g: tag field), add a line number (i.e., the n: tag), insert a timestamp (i.e., the c: tag field), and provide additional source identification (i.e., the s: tag field))
and a navigation information message comprising a non-format message recorded based on the format information; and (.(5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement; It is, however, possible to use an arbitrary undefined DAC/FID combo and utilize the open portion of an ASM payload to encode and send arbitrary data directly to individual AIS transceivers, or to broadcast the data to all stations in the local AIS network.)
a transmitter configured to transmit respectively the navigation information message comprising the format message and (1. Introduction: In the same way that aircraft broad cast about themselves to air traffic controllers, an AIS station uses dedicated very high frequency (VHF) AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. 2.1 NMEA encoding of AIS messages; As illustrated in Fig 1, the receiver in this case has added two tag blocks to the AIS sentence and an auxiliary “$SAVSI” sentence for annotating the VHF signal information (VSI) [15], to the same link layer frame. A tag block is bracketed by a pair of “\” characters. The primary purpose of the first tag is to identify sentence grouping (i.e., the g: tag field), add a line number (i.e., the n: tag), insert a timestamp (i.e., the c: tag field), and provide additional source identification (i.e., the s: tag field))
the navigation information message comprising the non- format message.(5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement; It is, however, possible to use an arbitrary undefined DAC/FID combo and utilize the open portion of an ASM payload to encode and send arbitrary data directly to individual AIS transceivers, or to broadcast the data to all stations in the local AIS network.)
Blauwkamp fails to disclose store format information included in a format message.
Pucher discloses store format information included in a format message. ([0012]; storing said received changes as a new version of the respective data structure, representing the changed status and transition process of said individual components, items or virtual objects, analyzing similarities of said binary patterns stored in said computer memory or disk memory related to a particular action performed, searching for a match in said binary patterns of said data structures, and if at least one repeating binary pattern of said data structures is identified, at least one possible action related to the matched binary pattern is proposed to an operator or performed automatically)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the teachings of Blauwkamp to be modified so that the format of the received binary AIS message is stored. This would have been advantageous because to execute the trained knowledge on different instances of the same description concept patterns while identifying analogies or similarities of DCPs in the pattern storage. ([0010])
As per claim 16, Blauwkamp discloses a navigation information transmission and reception system, comprising:
a navigation information reception device, comprising: a receiver configured to receive a navigation information message; processing circuitry configured to: determine whether the received navigation information message is a format message or a non-format message; (; (5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, Libais possessed definitions for several binary sub-types of message types 6 and 8, but initially, it opted to drop any binary message for which it did not find a fully specified field definition. We desired to retain the data payloads for all binary message types for further analysis to see if fingerprinting might be possible. To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
analyze content of the navigation information message based on the stored format information in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the non-format message ( 5.1 Parsing tool selection and enhancement, To this end, our AIS log parser decoded up to and including the DAC and FID fields for any message not handled by libais, and retained the ASM payload as hexadecimal bytes in the decoded Python dictionary output.)
and where the format information is stored; (1. Introduction: In the same way that aircraft broad cast about themselves to air traffic controllers, an AIS station uses dedicated very high frequency (VHF) AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. 2.1 NMEA encoding of AIS messages; As illustrated in Fig 1, the receiver in this case has added two tag blocks to the AIS sentence and an auxiliary “$SAVSI” sentence for annotating the VHF signal information (VSI) [15], to the same link layer frame. A tag block is bracketed by a pair of “\” characters. The primary purpose of the first tag is to identify sentence grouping (i.e., the g: tag field), add a line number (i.e., the n: tag), insert a timestamp (i.e., the c: tag field), and provide additional source identification (i.e., the s: tag field))
and the navigation information transmission device according to claim 9, wherein the navigation information reception device receives the navigation information message transmitted by the navigation information transmission device. (1. Introduction: AIS transceiver(s) to transmit information about itself, including position, type, speed, heading, cargo, and destination, and at the same time, receives feeds from other stations. Ships equipped with an AIS-enabled display can see the positions and navigational details of other ships that are within VHF line-of-sight (LOS), usually somewhere between 10 and 30 nautical miles, depending on the transmitter power, antenna height and weather)
Blauwkamp fails to disclose store format information included in the navigation information message in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the format message.
Pucher discloses store format information included in the navigation information message in a case where the received navigation information message is determined to be the format message; and ([0012]; storing said received changes as a new version of the respective data structure, representing the changed status and transition process of said individual components, items or virtual objects, analyzing similarities of said binary patterns stored in said computer memory or disk memory related to a particular action performed, searching for a match in said binary patterns of said data structures, and if at least one repeating binary pattern of said data structures is identified, at least one possible action related to the matched binary pattern is proposed to an operator or performed automatically)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the teachings of Blauwkamp to be modified so that the format of the received binary AIS message is stored. This would have been advantageous because to execute the trained knowledge on different instances of the same description concept patterns while identifying analogies or similarities of DCPs in the pattern storage. ([0010])
As per claim 19, please see the discussion under claim 1 as similar logic applies.
As per claim 20, please see the discussion under claim 14 as similar logic applies.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blauwkamp / Pucher (US 2008/0114710) further in view of Lee et al. – hereinafter Lee (US 2019/0253130)
As per claim 5, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information reception device according to claim 1. The combined teachings of Blauwkamp / Pucher fail to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit a transmission request message for the corresponding format message in a case where the format information corresponding to the received non-fo rmat message is not stored.
Lee discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transmit a transmission request message for the corresponding format message in a case where the format information corresponding to the received non-format message is not stored. [0021] The first transmitter 202 (AtoN transmitter) can be enabled to broadcast a custom payload AIS Type 8 message 901. The AtoN is a radio transponder. It can therefore be enabled to broadcast the custom payload AIS Type 8 message 901 when it receives a broadcast binary message (BBM) via serial port. If the first transmitter 202 is an AtoN type, it needs to be connected to a GPS-type antenna for a few minutes before the start of any transmission to ensure proper operation; [0024]; Since this message has a binary payload composed by using 6-bit ASCII and custom bit mapping, it will not be readable or meaningful in its raw form. Thus, corresponding decoding software must be used to extract the useful fields of this payload.)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date of the invention for the combined teachings of Blauwkamp / Pucher to be modified so that the transmit a request message for the format message when the receive non-format message is not stored. This would have been advantageous to identify the messages without developing a specific detect ship algorithms, which will reduce the cost of satellite images. (Lee, [0005])
As per claims 6-7, please see the discussion under claim 5 as similar logic applies.
Claims 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blauwkamp / Pucher (US 2008/0114710) further in view of Short et al. - hereinafter Short (US,9,786,183)
As per claim 15, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information transmission device according to claim 9. The combined teaching of Blauwkamp / Pucher fail to disclose wherein the transmitter periodically transmits the navigation information message comprising the format message.
Short discloses wherein the transmitter periodically transmits the navigation information message comprising the format message. (Col 13 lines 19-30;The Burst Sequence Flag is a field (in the example embodiments, a 1-bit field) that may be used to identify the current “burst sequence” or window for the current message. In the example e-Navigation message transmission protocol, messages are generated once per burst sequence, and then fixed for all subsequent retransmissions, every two minutes, within a burst sequence. This enhances the opportunity for a receiver to successfully receive at least one message within the burst sequence, for example, in a noisy environment)
It would have been obvious before the earliest effective filing date for the combined teachings of Blauwkamp / Pucher to be modified so that the transmitter periodically transmitter transmit the navigation information message with the format message. This would have been advantageous to enhance berth to berth navigation and related services for safety and security at sea and protection of the marine environment.” (Short, Col 1 lines 20-25)
As per claim 17, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information transmission and reception system according to claim 11. Blauwkamp discloses wherein the navigation information reception device is to be installed on a ship. (Col 4 lines 22-33; Since 2004, the IMO has required AIS transponders to be aboard all vessels that exceed 300 gross tons or passenger vessels of any size. Class A AIS transceivers are designed for these large ships.)
As per claim 18, Blauwkamp / Pucher disclose the navigation information transmission and reception system according to claim 11. Short discloses wherein the navigation information transmission device is to be installed on a land- based base station or a ship. (Col 4 lines 22-33; Since 2004, the IMO has required AIS transponders to be aboard all vessels that exceed 300 gross tons or passenger vessels of any size. Class A AIS transceivers are designed for these large ships.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from theexaminer should be directed to Chirag R Patel whose telephone number is (571)272-7966. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00AM to 6:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, theexaminer's supervisor, Glenton Burgess, can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceedingis assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Chirag R Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454