DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/16/2025. These drawings are accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (US 2010/0168562).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 16, Zhao et al discloses and teaches a medical instrument including a first region with first marker, region absent markers, and a second region with a marker, all disposed in a longitudinal direction wherein the first marker includes a first set of pattern rows including symbols along the longitudinal direction which differ from one-another in at least an arrangement of symbols in adjacent rows (0103, 0108, 0110, 0159), and the second marker includes a second plurality of pattern rows with rows including symbols along the longitudinal direction, which differ from one-another in at least an arrangement of symbols in adjacent rows (0129-0137, 0156-0164 for discerning features). At least part of the surface of the regions is a curved surface, the arrangements of the marker rows include differences in arrangement/symbol content for identification, and rows can include symbol(s) which are not included in other rows (0156-0157, Fig 29a-h, 30a-d). Finally, the stereo imaging of the markers is disclosed (0083-0085, Fig 3, 0138).
Regarding claims 6-11, Zhao et al discloses and teaches the customization of the symbols along different rows or columns of elements/symbols (110, 159, Fig 14a-17b, 29a-30d; including a reversal of the order in figure 16a), wherein the types of symbols are the same color and same type in multiple rows (14a-17b), as well as using the same number of symbols in different rows (14a-17b). Additionally, the use of patterns with four symbols (dot, circle, (also includes in other iterations line, blank space, as well as line and circle in 22d))) which have at least two types of symbols with different shapes and four configurations thereof (Fig 22d).
Regarding claims 12-15, Zhao et al discloses and teaches an intermediate region with information which is not including symbols/markers (Fig 12a-17b), can include directional information (0107-0109, Fig 13a-c), and can be scaled precisely or at multiple scales/gradients (0157-0159). Finally, the center points can be aligned on a planar surface (0103, 0034-0037, 0130, 0134, 0140-0141) and the system can be utilized to mark the center of the increments/gradient (0103).
Regarding claims 17-19, Zhao et al discloses and teaches a medical instrument including a first region with first marker, region absent markers, and a second region with a marker, all disposed in a longitudinal direction wherein the first marker includes a first set of pattern rows including symbols along the longitudinal direction which differ from one-another in at least an arrangement of symbols in adjacent rows (0103-0110, 0159, Fig 12a-17b), and the second marker includes a second plurality of pattern rows with rows including symbols along the longitudinal direction, which differ from one-another in at least an arrangement of symbols in adjacent rows (0129-0137, 0156-0164 for discerning features). The disclosure includes the stereo imaging of the markers (0083-0085, Fig 3, 0138), including extraction of position and orientation data from the markers (0019, 0032, Fig 18-19, Claims 1-7 33). The disclosure of Zhao et al includes the specification of relationships between markers/marker elements based on the shape of the medical instrument in the image data and the position/orientation based on the extracted image of the marker elements. Finally, the detection of patterns by a trained model is disclosed (0033, 0076, 0112, 0124-0125) which includes detection of relationships between markers/marker elements as well as the shape/pose of the instrument (as indicated by the pose thereof).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes references to Zhao (‘568) and Stopp (‘622) cited herein which include optical tracking elements for surgical tracking, position and orientation data acquisition during a surgical procedure, as well as tracker marker patterning for identification of pose/registration of data regarding a surgical instrument.
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798