DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a driver that drives” in claim 1, line 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirukawa et al. (12,027,689) in view of Park et al. (2024/0243244). Hirukawa discloses an electrode sheet manufacturing device (Fig. 3) for manufacturing an electrode sheet (10) having an active material layer (2) in a coated width portion of the sheet and a non-formed portion (3(1); Fig. 5B) of the electrode sheet which is an uncoated metal foil portion (col. 6, lines 13-15). Hirukawa discloses a support roll (20B; bottom roll, Fig. 5A) contacting a first surface (bottom surface, Fig. 5A) of the electrode sheet (10) and a pressing roll having a rubber layer (col. 6, lines 34-36, top roll 20A; Fig. 5) facing a second surface (top surface, Fig. 5A) of the electrode sheet (10) for pressing only the non-formed portions (3(1)) with a pressing force (col. 3, lines 59-62, vertical arrows; Fig. 3) as the electrode sheet is moved in a conveyance path (left to right, col. 6, lines 11-12; Fig. 5A). The non-formed portion (3(1)) is sandwiched between the support roll (20B) and the pressing roll (20A) and the active material layer (2) is not pressed (Fig. 5C) during the pressing of non-formed portion. The pressing force is adjusted based on the material (col. 6, lines 65-67 and col. 7, lines 1-9) and Hirukawa discloses a gradual increase of compression force (col. 9, lines 19-21). Hirukawa does not disclose a controller controlling a driver for moving the pressing roll to press the non-formed portion.
Park et al. (2024/0243244) teaches a controller (120; [0051]) that is configured to control a speed of conveyance of an electrode sheet (50) conveyed along a conveyance path between powder injection (10) and an winding roller (110) and a pressing force of pressing rolls (40a,40b) wherein a pressing force [0066] is adjusted to be increased or decreased by the controller (120). The controller (120) controls a speed of conveyance of the electrode sheet (50) by controlling a rotational drive (70; [0040]) and the controller (120) controls the pressing force by control of a driver (80; [0043],[0044]) which is configured to press the roller (40a,40b; Fig. 4) against the electrode sheet. The controller (120) receives data (memory; [0056], lines 1-2) and collects data (memory; [0060], lines 9-11), calculates ([0056], lines 8-9) and performs feedback control ([0057], lines 5-7) to increase or decrease the pressing force ([0060], lines 3-6). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the electrode sheet manufacturing device of Hirukawa to include a roll pressing controller as taught by Park to control the pressing force of the rubber pressing roll and a conveying speed of the electrode sheet so that the electrode sheet is stretched without breaking.
Regarding claims 2-4, Hirukawa discloses a gradual increase of compression force (col. 9, lines 19-21) and discloses a conveying speed of (10 m/min; Table 1) and Park teaches that a roll rotational servo motor (70) is controlled by the controller (120) to increase or decrease electrode sheet speed and that a pressing force is controlled, it is an obvious modification as taught by Park to increase or decrease pressing force and adjust acceleration during a start of rolling and to adjust speed at any time after a start of rolling to control speed with the controller of Park to affect a stretching of the electrode sheet as it is being rolled and pressed to suppress a breakage of the electrode sheet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725