DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-14 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the valve assembly of claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to for excess shading, making it difficult to differentiate the elements of the device and the specific structures. It is noted that the drawings should be line drawings only. MPEP 1.84 m
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 6 “a plurality of hole” appears to be a typo and should be –a plurality of holes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 9-10 “the root ball” “the walls of an excavated planting hole” lack antecedent basis, and should be amended to --a root ball-- and --walls of an excavated planting hole--.
Claim 5 recites “the length of the hollow pipe varies”. The term “varies” here is indefinite as it is unclear if applicant is attempting to claim that the size of the hollow pipe is somehow variable (thus, a singular pipe is adjustable to be various lengths), or if applicant is stating that the length of the hollow pipe can be of a size ranging from 10 inches to 24 inches. As best understood based on the disclosure, the claim has been interpreted as the length of the pipe ranges from 10 inches to 24 inches.
Claim 8 recites a valve assembly integrated near the threaded end of the hollow pipe to regulate flow rate, however this valve assembly is not demonstrated in the drawings nor described in the specification in such a way that it makes it clear as to what structure the valve assembly has to make it ‘integrated near the threaded end of the hollow pipe’. As best understood, this limitation was interpreted as a general valve assembly to near the threaded end of the hollow pipe for regulating flow rate.
Claim 10 line 1 “the soil surface” lacks antecedent basis and should be –a soil surface--.
Claim 10 line 9 “the desired location” lacks antecedent basis and should be –a desired location--.
Claim 10 lines 13, 16 recite “fertilizer”, however it is unclear if this fertilizer is the same or different form the previously recited ‘water-fertilizer’. As best understood, this fertilizer is meant to indicate the same ‘water-fertilizer’ as previously mentioned, and should be amended to –water-fertilizer--.
Claim 10 line 15 “the desired amount of water” lacks antecedent basis and should be –a desired amount of water--.
Claim 13 “the requirement” lacks antecedent basis and is further indefinite as it is unclear as to what applicant defines as the ‘requirement’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 1601778 A) to Stauffer.
In regards to claim 1, Stauffer anticipates a plant feeding spike device for sub-surface irrigation and fertilization, the device comprising: a hollow pipe (Stauffer; 1), wherein the hollow pipe has a pointed end configured to penetrate soil (Stauffer; pointed end at 2), wherein the hollow pipe has a threaded end opposite to the pointed end (Stauffer; threaded end at 4); a plurality of hole positioned on along the circumference of the hollow pipe (Stauffer; see holes 3 around the circumference of the pipe in FIG 1), the holes configured to deliver water or a water-based fertilizer mixture (Stauffer; “By the use of the device hereinbefore described, plants can be supplied with water, or liquid fertilizer, at a point below the surface of the ground, and, preferably, below the main roots.” Lines 64-68), wherein the holes are placed near the pointed end (Stauffer; see FIGs where holes 3 are near the pointed end at 2), wherein the holes are arranged to direct fluid flow away from the root ball and toward the walls of an excavated planting hole (Stauffer; in a condition in which the pointed end is facing a root ball, the holes are arranged to direct fluid flow away from the root ball and towards a planting hole); and a threaded adapter connected to the threaded end of the hollow pipe (Stauffer; threaded adaptor being the threads which connect with the threaded end at 4 on 5), the threaded adapter configured to connect to a spray gun (Stauffer; spray gun comprised of 8, 7, 12, see FIG 1).
In regards to claim 2, Stauffer anticipates the device of claim 1, wherein the hollow pipe is made of rigid material (Stauffer; 1 being rigid such that it can be inserted into a ground).
In regards to claim 6, Stauffer anticipates the device of claim 1, wherein the holes occupy half of the hollow pipe's circumference (Stauffer; the holes 3 occupying at least half of the circumference as seen in FIG 1).
In regards to claim 7, Stauffer anticipates the device of claim 1, wherein the pointed end of the hollow pipe is conical in shape to facilitate soil penetration (Stauffer; 2 being conical in shape due to the tapered point and tube shape of 1).
In regards to claim 8, Stauffer anticipates the device of claim 1, the device further comprising a valve assembly integrated near the threaded end of the hollow pipe to regulate flow rate (Stauffer; valve assembly comprising 8, 15, 16, 11, 13, 14, 12).
In regards to claim 10, Stuaffer anticipates a method for delivering water or a water-fertilizer mixture to plant roots below the soil surface, the method comprising: using a hollow pipe made of metal or rigid material (Stauffer; tube 1 which is made of a rigid material in order to be inserted into the ground), wherein the hollow pipe comprises a pointed end for penetrating the soil (Stauffer; 2), a threaded end opposite the pointed end (Stauffer; threaded end at 4), and a plurality of holes positioned along the circumference of the hollow pipe (Stauffer; see holes 3 around the circumference of the pipe in FIG 1); attaching the threaded end of the hollow pipe to a conventional tree spraying gun or a spray gun using a threaded adaptor (Stauffer; spray gun comprised of 8, 7, 12, see FIG 1; connected via adapter being the threads which connect with the threaded end at 4 on 5); positioning the pointed end of the hollow pipe at the desired location near the plant roots; activating the spray gun to deliver water or a water-fertilizer mixture through the hollow pipe; allowing the water or fertilizer to flow through the holes near the pointed end, ensuring targeted delivery to the plant roots; and removing the hollow pipe from the soil after the desired amount of water or fertilizer has been delivered (Stauffer; “By the use of the device hereinbefore described, plants can be supplied with water, or liquid fertilizer, at a point below the surface of the ground, and, preferably, below the main roots.” Lines 64-68; “My invention relates to certain improvements in devices for watering plants under the surface of the ground in order to apply moisture at a point near, or under, the roots of the plant.” Lines 1-5; in normal use, the device is used to penetrate soil by a plant near its roots, inject water or fertilizer through pipe 1 and through the holes 3 to delivery fluid to the plant roots, and the device is removed when this process is finished).
In regards to claim 11, Stauffer anticipates the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the method also includes inserting the pointed end of the pipe into the soil to the desired depth, ensuring that the holes are positioned to direct fluid towards the desired area (Stauffer; Lines 6-11 “One object of the invention is to construct the device so that the handle will be in direct alignment with the penetrating tube so that pressure can be applied with such force as to cause the tube to penetrate the ground to the depth required.”).
In regards to claim 12, Stauffer anticipates the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the insertion is performed at a pre- determined angle to further direct fluid flow towards the roots (Stauffer in normal use would require a user to select an angle of insertion to direct fluid flow towards the roots).
In regards to claim 13, Stauffer anticipates the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the depth of the insertion is adjusted as per the requirement (Stauffer; as best understood, in normal use a user adjusts a depth of insertion based on the “depth required”; Lines 6-11 “One object of the invention is to construct the device so that the handle will be in direct alignment with the penetrating tube so that pressure can be applied with such force as to cause the tube to penetrate the ground to the depth required.”).
In regards to claim 14, Stauffer anticipates the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the holes are angled to direct fluid flow outward from the hollow pipe (Stauffer; see FIG 1 where the holes 3 are positioned such that when pressure is applied to fluid flowing through pipe 1 and out of openings 3, fluid will flow outwards from 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 1601778 A) to Stauffer in view of (US 20070274783 A1) to Hibbard.
In regards to claim 3, Stauffer teaches the device of claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the hollow pipe is resistant to corrosion.
Hibbard teaches wherein the hollow pipe is resistant to corrosion (Hibbard; [0026] rigid tube 110 PVC, plastics, metals, fiber glass; PVC, plastics, and fiber glass being resistant to corrosion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stauffer such that the device is made of a material which is resistant to corrosion, such as taught by Hibbard. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent the device from degrading under use when transferring water or water-fertilizers to the ground.
In regards to claim 5, Stauffer teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the length of the hollow pipe varies from 10 inches to 24 inches.
Hibbard teaches wherein the length of the hollow pipe varies from 10 inches to 24 inches (Hibbard; [0026] the length of tube 110 is about 15” to about 60” which overlaps with the range 10-24 inches, and thus teaches lengths within the range of 10-24 inches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stauffer such that the hollow pipe is 10-24 inches in length, such as taught by Hibbard. The motivation for doing so would make the pipe of a size that would be able to reach a depth for injecting water or water based fertilizers beneath different desired plants and plant types.
In regards to claim 9, Stauffer teaches the device of claim 1, but fails to teach the hollow pipe includes measurement markings to indicate the depth of penetration.
Hibbard teaches the hollow pipe includes measurement markings to indicate the depth of penetration (Hibbard; [0031] and FIG 1, 195; the outer surface of the tube having depth markings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stauffer such that the pipe includes measurement markings to indicate depth of penetration, such as taught by Hibbard. The motivation for doing so would be to allow a user to more accurately dispense water or water-fertilizers into the ground at a depth suitable for a particular plant or plant at known stages of root growth.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 1601778 A) to Stauffer in view of (US 20100329786 A1) to Gesser.
In regards to claim 4, Stauffer teaches the device of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the hollow pipe includes an internal coating to prevent clogging by mineral deposits.
Gesser teaches wherein the hollow pipe includes an internal coating to prevent clogging by mineral deposits (Gesser; [0011] [0034] where the tubes are coated with a water-insoluble hydrophilic polymer as a surface coating to prevent clogs by preventing mineral buildup from water from closing up the pores).
Stauffer and Gesser are analogous art from similar fields of endeavor i.e. fluid and nutrient irrigation systems to plants via tubing and small holes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stauffer such that the material of the pipe has a coating to prevent clogging by mineral deposits, such as taught by Gesser. The motivation for doing so would be to prevent mineral buildup from water deposits, by preventing the closing up of the pores of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE 202017005293 U1 teaches a pipe with a pointed end and openings near the pointed end for applying water and fertilizer, the pipe connected to a gun shaped sprayer.
US 20170021486 A1 to Reissmann teaches a pointed tube with openings and a threaded end with an adapter for connecting to a hose spray handle.
US 20130216705 A1 to Sprung teaches a tube with a pointed end for inserting into soil, with openings near the pointed end, a threaded end, and the device explicitly made of non-corrosive materials.
US 20100258043 A1 to Dyson-Coope teaches a pipe with a pointed end having holes, the pipe connected to a sprayer handle.
US 20040255512 A1 to Burgess teaches a pipe with a pointed end connected to a sprayer handle.
US 5802996 A to Baxter teaches a pipe with openings near a conical pointed end, with a threaded end connected to an adapter.
US 5558030 A to Ward teaches a pipe with a conical, pointed end, with openings and a valve.
/KATELYN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647