DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: Figs. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 2C, 3A, 3B, 3C, 8A, 8B, 9A, 9B, 13, 14, and 18C: A protective garment comprising a body and a pair of sleeves in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Subspecies A1: Fig. 4: A protective garment comprising a body and a pair of sleeves wherein a cuff portion 42 has an extension portion 41 configured to extend beyond a first line of a wearer’s knuckles; the extension portion 41 has a thumb hole 43 which may allow a thumb to be positioned through extension portion 41 and a circumferential plate pocket 41a for receipt of a plate therein in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 are identified in the reply as reading on the elected species and subspecies.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/2025
In addition, although claims 1-16 are identified as reading on the elected species and subspecies in the reply, it is noted that claim 4 is withdrawn by the Examiner from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/29/2025. It is noted claim 4 recites the thumb sheath of nonelected subspecies A2 (Fig. 5).
Claims 1-20 are presented.
Claims 4 and 17-20 are withdrawn.
The present office action treats claims 1-3 and 5-16 on the merits.
The present office action is a non-final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494] in view of [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917].
Regarding claim 1:
Stanzione discloses:
a plate (the “plate” of Fig. 15 (para 38); no specific numeral provided therefor; elements thereof identified hereinbelow) appropriate for a garment (to be “included on or within apparel...to be worn by the individual” (para 36)), the plate having a plurality of layers (Fig. 15; para 38) and a sensor (“sensors”; para 38; Fig. 15) disposed between at least two of the plurality of layers (Fig. 15; para 38), the sensor being a pressure sensor (sensor is configured to sense pressure provided by “impact forces” (para 5) and is for “monitoring and measuring impact forces” (claim 1) such that it is a pressure sensor as claimed; it is noted that the present disclosure states that a pressure sensor is capable of being activated by impact; see e.g. “pressure sensor 530...activated...by...impact”; para [0081] of the present disclosure as filed) configured to detect a threshold pressure (the “impact force” beyond which “an alert notification should be provided as a result of the impact forces imparted and sensed”; para 34) and generate a corresponding signal (para 36) for the purpose of providing “an alert notification...as a result of the impact forces imparted and sensed” (para 34) when the threshold pressure has been reached (“the sensed impact force data...compare such forces to a stored database of similar forces to determine whether an alert notification should be provided as a result of the impact forces imparted and sensed”; para 34).
Stanzione does not expressly disclose A protective garment, comprising: a body; a pair of sleeves extending from the body, each sleeve having a cuff portion, a forearm portion, and an elbow portion; the plate connected to at least one of the cuff portion, the forearm portion, and the elbow portion, the plate having a plurality of layers and a sensor disposed between at least two of the plurality of layers, the sensor being a pressure sensor configured to detect a threshold pressure and generate a corresponding signal.
Stanzione does teach “a...preferred embodiment of the inventive devices for protecting individuals from force impacts” is “a laminated torso (for chest or back protection) plate...custom fit for the specific individual to be protected. The plate is customized to include the number of layers needed for the activity to be experiences, and/or the forces to be protected against. By way of one example, as described in FIG. 15, the plate may include three layers of textiles with epoxy I resin binding agents, along with the electronic sensors, and multiple layers of outer textile shells. The devices...can be custom fit for chest, back, torso mid-section[] or arm or leg uses” (para 38; emphasis provided by Examiner) and further teaches “Embodiments include systems having force and accelerometer sensors placed on or within...apparel worn by the individual” (para 33; emphasis provided by Examiner) and further teaches the sensor is configured to be “included on or within apparel...to be worn by the individual” (para 36; emphasis provided by Examiner). As embodied in Figs. 14, 18-21, and 23, a garment (i.e. “body wrap” “according” to “an embodiment of the present invention” paras 22, 26-29, and 31) is taught wherein said garment is configured to wrap around a body of the wearer as shown in Fig. 23.
Stanzione thus teaches a garment capable of wrapping around a body of a wearer (paras 22, 26-29, and 31; Figs. 14, 18-21, and 23) and further teaches adapting for “arm...uses” (para 38). However, Stanzione is silent as to any garment with sleeves wherein the plate is connected to at least one of the cuff portion, the forearm portion, and the elbow portion as claimed.
However, Gillen teaches (Fig. 3) a garment 12 (i.e. “one-piece garment 12”; para 44) appropriate “for protecting against impact...when worn” (para 44) and “to provide...protection from injuries resulting from falling and/or colliding with another person...or matter” (para 3), comprising: a body (see annotated Fig. 3 – a below); a pair of sleeves (see annotated Fig. 3 – a below) extending from the body, each sleeve having a cuff portion (see annotated Fig. 3 – a below), a forearm portion (see annotated Fig. 3 – a below), and an elbow portion (see annotated Fig. 3 – a below); and an impact protective padding 67 connected to the elbow portion (“middle arm/elbow...area[]”; para 44; and as in annotated Fig. 3 – a below) and an impact protective padding 68 connected to the forearm portion (“lower arm area[]” para 44; and as in annotated Fig. 3 – a below) wherein the garment is “to provide added protection from injuries resulting from falling and/or colliding with another person...or matter” (para 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the plate of Stanzione such that it is connected a forearm portion and/or an elbow portion of a protective garment, comprising: a body; a pair of sleeves extending from the body, each sleeve having a cuff portion, a forearm portion, and an elbow portion in order to protect a wearer’s elbow area and/or forearm area, as suggested by Gillen (paras 3 and 44). In adopting the modification, one would arrive at A protective garment, comprising: a body; a pair of sleeves extending from the body, each sleeve having a cuff portion, a forearm portion, and an elbow portion; the plate connected to at least one of the cuff portion, the forearm portion, and the elbow portion, the plate having a plurality of layers and a sensor disposed between at least two of the plurality of layers, the sensor being a pressure sensor configured to detect a threshold pressure and generate a corresponding signal.
Stanzione does not expressly disclose the garment comprises an output device in communication with the sensor and being configured to receive the signal and at least one of sound an alarm, call emergency services, activate a strobe light, and transmit a GPS coordinate when the threshold pressure has been reached.
Rather, Stanzione is configured to provide an “alert notification” (para 34) wherein said alert notification is provided to a remote observer (i.e. “send an alert notification to at least one remote recipient”; para 7).
However, Gennario teaches providing an output device (“output device[]”; para 34) on a garment (i.e. “placed on the player’s equipment” and/or on said player’s “uniform”; para 34) in communication with a pressure sensor (the “pressure sensors” wherein a “level of impact” is “set as a threshold”; para 34) and configured to receive a signal and sound an alarm (“activate a speaker...audible sound”; para 34) when a threshold pressure has been reached (para 34). Gennario further teaches “These devices are designed so that the player receives immediate feedback when a sensor detects contact. The player can receive feedback in the form of an audible sound if a speaker is used as the (output) feedback device”; para 34)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that it is provided with an output device in communication with the sensor and being configured to receive the signal and sound an alarm when the threshold pressure has been reached in order to alert the wearer of the garment when the threshold pressure has been reached, as taught by Gennario (para 34).
Regarding claim 6:
Stanzione in view of Gillen and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanzione further discloses wherein the plate has an outer layer (“Outer Shell 1 – textile”; Fig. 15), an inner layer (“Inner Layer 1 – textile”; Fig. 15), and an intermediate layer (“Inner Layer 2 – textile”; Fig. 15) disposed between the outer and inner layers (Fig. 15), the sensor being disposed between the outer layer and the intermediate layer (as in Fig. 15).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Viemeister, EP-0507607-A1].
Regarding claim 2:
Stanzione in view of Gillen and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanzione does not expressly disclose wherein the cuff portion includes an extension portion having a thumb hole extending therethrough.
However, Viemiester teaches (Fig. 6) a cuff portion (the combined 24 and 48) includes an extension portion 24 having a thumb hole 40 extending therethrough. Viemiester further teaches the thumb hole “allows the passage therethrough of the garment wearer's thumb while restraining further passage of the hand through the cuff. Accordingly, when the donner passes his hand through the sleeve and out throught the cuff, the cuff will allow the four digits, most of the palm and the thumb to emerge therethrough but will then have the hand restrained from any further portion passing therethrough ensuring that the cuff remains...in place about the wearer's wrist” (col. 8 lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the cuff portion includes an extension portion having a thumb hole extending therethrough in order to ensure the cuff remains in place about a wearer’s wrist, as taught by Viemiester (col. 8 lines 25-34).
Regarding claim 3:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, and Viemiester teach The protective garment of claim 2, as set forth above.
As applied to claim 2 above, the modified Stanzione does not meet the limitation wherein the extension portion is retractable within the respective sleeve.
However and in further view of Viemiester:
Viemiester teaches the extension portion is retractable within a respective sleeve: “sleeves of the garment are also inverted and are drawn down, within the folded garment, toward the bottom of the folded garment with the sleeve openings being accessible to the donner through the open bottom of the folded garment...the donner may insert his hands into the sleeve openings...With the assistance of a...person who need grip only the inside surface of the garment, the inverted portions may be drawn down about the body of the donner while his arms and neck re-invert the sleeve...portions all without touching the outside surfaces of the garment” (col. 3 line 48 – col. 4 line 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the extension portion is retractable within the respective sleeve in order to permit another person to help a wearer don the garment without soiling the outside surfaces of the garment, as suggested by Viemiester (col. 3 line 48 – col. 4 line 7).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Purvis, US 7,571,493, provided on Applicant’s IDS of 09/11/2025].
Regarding claim 5:
Stanzione in view of Gillen and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanzione does not expressly disclose wherein the plate is cylindrical and is releasably connectable to one of forearm portion and cuff portion.
However and in further view of Gillen:
Gillen teaches a protective padding is releasably connectable to a forearm portion: “Each sleeve may incorporate protective padding to provide protection to...the lower arm area that may...be removable”; para 14.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the plate is releasably connectable to the forearm portion in order to yield the predicable result of a garment whose plate can be removed for the purpose of cleaning the garment separately from the plate and/or for the purpose of removing the plate for inspection, maintenance, repair, and/or replacement.
Purvis teaches a protective plate (“insert[]...16”; col. 8 line 56) wherein said protective plate is cylindrical: “rigid armor inserts may comprise a "universal", cylindrically symmetric shape that can be used interchangeably for either the right or left arm”; col. 8 lines 58-60.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the plate is cylindrical in order to permit its use on either the right or the left arm, as suggested by Purvis (col. 6 lines 58-60).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of [Dierickx, US 4,993,076].
Regarding claim 7:
Stanzione in view of Gillen and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 6, as set forth above.
Stanzione does not expressly disclose wherein the outer layer is made from a first material and the inner layer is made from a second material, the first material being harder than the second material.
Dierickx teaches a protective garment wherein an outer layer is made from a first material and the inner layer is made from a second material, the first material being harder than the second material (“outer...layer 40, is a higher density material with greater shock absorbency properties than inner...layer 42...The harder outer layer 40 takes the...blow...The inner layer 42, which is softer, is worn against the wearer's body and provides more comfort to the wearer since the inner layer is not as rough and flexes better with the wearer's body than would the outer layer”; col. 6 lines 6-17.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the outer layer is made from a first material and the inner layer is made from a second material, the first material being harder than the second material in order to permit the inner layer to provide comfort to the wearer, as taught by Dierickx (col. 6 lines 6-17).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] and [Dierickx, US 4,993,076] as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of [Longinotti, US 2019/0132948].
Regarding claim 8:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, and Dierickx teach The protective garment of claim 7, as set forth above.
Stanizone does not expressly disclose wherein the output device is embedded within any one of the body and one of the pair of sleeves.
However, Longinotti teaches an output device embedded within a body (“speaker 10 may be embedded in, printed on, or attached to the apparel in any area, including but are not limited to a collar section of the intelligent wear”; para 267).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the output device is embedded within the body in order to yield the predictable result of a garment whose output device is capable of being listened to by the wearer proximate his ears.
Regarding claim 9:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, Dierickx, and Longinotti teach The protective garment of claim 8, as set forth above.
The modified Stanzione further meets the limitation wherein the output device has a speaker that sounds an alarm when the threshold pressure has been reached (refer to above treatment of claim 1 where Stanzione is modified such that its output device is configured to sound an alarm when the threshold pressure has been reached such that the modified Stanzione meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 10:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, Dierickx, and Longinotti teach The protective garment of claim 9, as set forth above.
As applied to claim 8, the modified Stanzione does not meet the limitation wherein the sensor and the output device are coupled via a wire.
However and in further view of Longinotti:
Longinotti teaches “An element may be connected with another element or other item by a wire” (para 358).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that the sensor and the output device are coupled via a wire in order to yield the predicable result of rendering the garment capable of transmitting information from the sensor to the output device via the wore.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Longinotti, US 2019/0132948].
Regarding claim 11:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanizone does not expressly disclose wherein the output device is one of a smart phone, a tablet, and a personal computer.
However, Longinotti teaches “a garment” wherein “An output may be any sort and...may be...connected with the garment and configured to provide an audio signal to a user's ears, on a smart phone, on a separate speaker, etc.” (para 26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that its output device is a smart phone in order to utilize a smart phone speaker to provide the sound of the alarm, as suggested by Longinotti (para 26).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Feigenbaum, US 1,414,119].
Regarding claim 12:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanizone does not expressly disclose further comprising a collar extending from the body, the collar having a plate pocket therein and a collar plate disposed within the plate pocket.
However, Feigenbaum teaches a garment wherein a collar 4, 5 (i.e. the combined 4 and 5) extends from a body, the collar having a plate pocket 10, 11 (i.e. the combined 10 and 11) therein and a collar plate 6 disposed within the plate pocket (p. 1 lines 69-74).
In addition, Feigenbaum further teaches wherein the collar has a first configuration (Fig 1) in which the collar lays flat on the body, and a second configuration (Fig. 2) in which the collar is raised from the body, the collar plate being configured to remain disposed within the collar when the collar transitions between the first and second configurations (p. 1 lines 76-79; Figs. 1 and 2).
Feigenbaum further teaches the collar is “ornamental”, provides “comfort”, and is “desirable” and is not readily crumpled which would result in an “undesirable appearance” (p. 1 lines 45-52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that it is provided with a collar extending from the body, the collar having a plate pocket therein and a collar plate disposed within the plate pocket wherein the collar has a first configuration in which the collar lays flat on the body, and a second configuration in which the collar is raised from the body, the collar plate being configured to remain disposed within the collar when the collar transitions between the first and second configurations in order to provide ornamentation and/or comfort and in such a way as to avoid crumpling, as taught by Feigenbaum (p. 1 lines 45-52).
Regarding claim 13:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, and Feigenbaum teach The protective garment of claim 12, as set forth above.
The modified Stanzione further meets the limitation wherein the collar has a first configuration in which the collar lays flat on the body, and a second configuration in which the collar is raised from the body, the collar plate being configured to remain disposed within the collar when the collar transitions between the first and second configurations (refer to above treatment of claim 12 where the limitation is addressed).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Battle-Smith, US 5,584,074].
Regarding claim 14:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanizone does not expressly disclose further comprising a collar extending from the body, the collar having a sheathable tool pocket and a sheathable tool disposed within the sheathable pocket.
However, Battle-Smith teaches a garment (Abstract) comprising a collar 20, 26 (i.e. the combined 20 and 26) extending from a body 12, the collar having a sheathable tool pocket 26 (loop 26 is capable of receiving an “object having an arm” (col. 3 line 13) such that it is a sheathable tool pocket in that it is capable of receiving a sheathable tool having an arm therein) and a sheathable tool (“pair of glasses”; col. 3 line 13; wherein said pair of glasses is a tool and is further capable of being sheathed by an undisclosed sheath) disposed within the sheathable pocket (“inserting an arm of the glasses[] through the loop 26”; col. 3 lines 13-16).
Battle-Smith further teaches “it is...desired by wearers of...garments that the garments have the capability of holding certain objects near to the wearer for ready access” (col. 1 lines 22-27).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that it is further comprising a collar extending from the body, the collar having a sheathable tool pocket and a sheathable tool disposed within the sheathable pocket in order to hold the sheathable tool near the wearer for ready access, as suggested by Battle-Smith (col. 1 lines 22-27).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983], [Gennario, US 2015/0157917], and [Battle-Smith, US 5,584,074] as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of [Markham, US 2010/0122435].
Regarding claim 15:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, Gennario, and Battle-Smith teach The protective garment of claim 14, as set forth above.
Stanizone does not expressly disclose wherein the sheathable tool is a flail.
However, Markham teaches a sheathable tool (“leash comprising of a strap with an eye-ring attached to the proximal end”; Abstract; wherein said leash comprising said strap and said eye ring is a sheathable tool in that it is a tool and is further capable of being sheathed by an undisclosed sheath) wherein the sheathable tool is a flail (said leash comprising said strap and said eye ring is a flail in that it has an elongate portion extending from a first to a second end and a loop connected to the first end; it is noted that the present disclosure states a flail “may have a first end 61, a second end 62, an elongate portion 63 extending from first end 61 to second end 62, and a loop 64 connected to first end 61” (para [0048] as filed); in addition, the term “flail” means “Something likened to a flail (in sense...A.2), on account of...being long and thin” in reference to sense A.2 definition “A type of whip...”; Oxford English Dictionary, “flail (n.), senses 4 and 2,” December 2025, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/1576752367) such that the sheathable tool of Markham is a flail consistent with the ordinary and customary meaning of the term in that the sheathable tool of Markham is long and thin and likened to a whip.
Markham teaches the sheathable tool comprises a “clip” which “would...be attached to ones collar” (para 2).
Markham further teaches the sheathable tool is appropriate for holding “a cell phone[] hands free device...so the device will not become lost if it falls out of you[r] ear” (Abstract) whereby the “eye-ring...at the proximal end...[is] fitting neatly, snugly and securely over the earpiece/ear set of the hands free cell phone” (para 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that its sheathable tool is a flail in order to permit attachment of an earpiece of a hands-free mobile device such that said earpiece will not be lost if it falls out of one’s ear, as taught by Markham (para 2).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Stanzione, US 2015/0059494], [Gillen, US 2004/0199983] and [Gennario, US 2015/0157917] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Howland, US 2017/0115098].
Regarding claim 16:
Stanzione in view of Gillen, and Gennario teach The protective garment of claim 1, as set forth above.
Stanzione does not expressly disclose wherein each of the sleeves comprises a slash-resistant material.
Howland teaches a “slash-protecting panel” (Abstract) which “can be integrated into various garments, such as aprons, sleeves, smocks, jackets, and shirts” (para 21) which is configured “for protection against slash threats” (para 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Stanzione such that each of the sleeves comprises a slash-resistant material in order to protect the wearer against slash threats, as taught by Howland (para 2). One of ordinary skill would be motivated to adopt the modification insofar as Stanizone is directed to protection in “sports activities...military operations[] or law enforcement duties” (para 3) wherein a wearer could encounter a slashing threat posed by, for example, a hockey skate whilst engaging in sport and/or a sharp object whilst engaged in a military operation or law enforcement duty.
Conclusion
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732