Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (JP 2022146457 A) in view of Shand (US 20210405155 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Iida teaches an assist system comprising a first mobile body including a detector to detect objects in a surrounding area of the first mobile body, and a first communicator configured or programmed to transmit object information about an object detected by the detector and detection time information indicating a detection time at which the object is detected (Page 2 Paragraph 6; Page 3, Paragraph 4-6)
A combine harvester, which is an agricultural working machine, will be described below as an example of a working machine that employs an automatic traveling system according to the present invention, based on the drawings. A combine harvester is equipped with a harvesting device for harvesting and threshing grain culms such as wheat and rice as working devices. In this embodiment, when the longitudinal direction of the traveling machine body 1 is defined, it is defined along the traveling direction of the machine body in the working state. The direction indicated by symbol (F) in FIG. 1 is the front side of the fuselage, and the direction indicated by symbol (B) in FIG. 1 is the rear side of the fuselage. When defining the left and right direction of the traveling body 1, the left and right are defined in the state viewed in the traveling direction of the body. "Upper side (upper side)" or "lower side (lower side)" is a positional relationship in the vertical direction (vertical direction) of the traveling body 1, and indicates a relationship in ground height. [Pg 2, P-6]
As shown in FIG. 2, a LIDAR (light sensor) as a distance measurement sensor for measuring at least a part of the periphery of the machine body is installed at a position avoiding the reaping part 2 in the front part of the traveling machine body 1 via a bracket extending forward. Detection and Ranging) 32 are equipped. This LIDAR 32 is a 3D-LIDAR having scanning specifications of 360° in all horizontal directions and 30° in vertical field of view. However, since the area where the traveling body 1 and the reaping unit 2 are detected is masked, the LIDAR 32 practically acquires point cloud data of approximately 180° ahead, as shown in FIG. [Pg 3, P-4]
As shown in FIG. 3, in this embodiment, the combine parked in the parking facility PF (indoor area) such as a barn is controlled by the automatic driving system, starting from the parking position and moving to the gate. It can automatically travel to a farm field through a private road and a public road (such as a farm road) through the entrance/exit GA. In this driving example, a part of the private road and the public road are the first area A1 where the aircraft position (first aircraft position) can be calculated based on the positioning data, and the parking facility PF and its surroundings are based on the positioning data from the positioning satellite. This is the second area A2 in which the aircraft position (second aircraft position) cannot be calculated. Therefore, automatic traveling (first mode) in the first area A1 is performed using the aircraft position calculated based on the positioning data from the positioning satellites. Automatic driving (second mode) in the second area A2 is performed using point cloud data, which is a range-finding signal group from the LIDAR 32, using an aircraft position calculated using a SLAM (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping) algorithm. The second area A2 includes a parking facility PF (indoor area) separated from the first area A1 and having an entrance/exit GA as a gate, and an indoor area adjacent to the first area A1 and the parking facility PF (indoor area). An outdoor area connecting the area and the first area A1 is included. [Pg 3, P-5]
FIG. 4 shows a functional block diagram of the control system of the combine. The control system of this embodiment is composed of a plurality of electronic control units called ECUs, various operating devices, a group of sensors, a group of switches, and a wiring network such as an in-vehicle LAN for data transmission between them. [Pg 3, P-6]
The first control unit 5 is a unit that calculates the aircraft position, and includes a first aircraft position calculator 55 and a second aircraft position calculator 50 . The first body position calculator 55 calculates a body position (first body position) as a reference position of the traveling body 1 based on the positioning data from the satellite positioning module 31 . As the reference position of the traveling body 1, for example, the longitudinal and lateral center positions of the traveling body 1, the front central position of the traveling body 1, and the like are employed. [Pg 3, P-8]
Here, we see Iida teach an assist system comprising a first mobile body (a traveling agricultural vehicle) including a detector which comprises a plurality of sensors, including lidar to detect objects (such as aircrafts in a traveling vicinity) in a surrounding area of the traveling agricultural vehicles (first mobile body). Iida also teaches a first communicator configured or programmed to transmit object information about an object detected by the detector and detection time information indicating a detection time at which the object is detected, i.e. The control system of this embodiment is composed of a plurality of electronic control units called ECUs, various operating devices, a group of sensors, a group of switches, and a wiring network such as an in-vehicle LAN for data transmission between them
Iida further teaches a server including a calculator configured or programmed to calculate, based on the object information and the detection information from the first mobile body (Page 4, Paragraph 3)
In this SLAM algorithm, point cloud data obtained by LIDAR scanning before running is used as reference point cloud data (departure reference map), and point cloud data obtained by LIDAR scanning after running is used as input point cloud data (point cloud map). and In this point cloud data, specific objects such as inner wall surfaces, agricultural tools, and fixtures around the entrance/exit GA are shown as a point cloud. FIG. 5 shows reference point cloud data in an example of automatic driving of a combine parked in a parking facility PF toward an entrance/exit GA. The reference point cloud data is actually a three-dimensional point cloud, but in FIG. 5, for ease of viewing, it is indicated by a thick solid line, and the entrance/exit GA is indicated as an insubstantial blank. The reference point cloud data may be acquired immediately before traveling, or even earlier. The reference point cloud data is stored in the reference map storage section 51 . When stored, the entrance/exit GA or the coordinates (map position) of the central point of the entrance/exit GA or the parking position are linked..[Pg 4, P-3]
Iida fails to specifically teach detection time information, and an after-time outer end position of the object in a time-of-use during which the object information is to be used, by measuring a time from the detection time; and a second communicator configured or programmed to transmit the after-time outer end position to the first mobile body or to a second mobile body.
Shand on the other hand teaches detection time information, and an after-time outer end position of the object in a time-of-use during which the object information is to be used, by measuring a time from the detection time (Paragraphs 2, 3, 36, 37)
Autonomous vehicles or vehicles operating in an autonomous mode may use various sensors to detect their surroundings. For example, light detection and ranging (lidar) devices, radio detection and ranging (radar) devices, and/or cameras may be used to identify objects in environments surrounding autonomous vehicles. Such sensors may be used in object detection and avoidance and/or in navigation, for example.[P-2]
A lidar device can determine distances to environmental features while scanning through a scene to collect data that can be assembled into a “point cloud” indicative of reflective surfaces in the environment. Individual points in the point cloud can be determined, for example, by transmitting a laser pulse and detecting a returning pulse, if any, reflected from an object in the environment, and then determining a distance to the object according to a time delay between the transmission of the pulse and the reception of the reflected pulse. As a result, for example, a three-dimensional map of points indicative of locations of reflective features in the environment can be generated.[P-3]
The light emitters that are selectively deactivated for the purpose of interference detection may be selected for deactivation based on regions of disinterest. In some embodiments, those channel(s) or regions of a generated point cloud that are used for interference detection may be used for interference detection because the results they would receive if actual detections occurred would be less useful than the results that could be received by other channel(s) in the lidar device or other regions of a generated point cloud (i.e., those channels correspond to “regions of disinterest”). For example, if some of the light emitters are firing light signals at portions of a surrounding environment about which less information can be gleaned or less information can be used, those light emitters may be deactivated, at least temporarily, for the purpose of interference detection. Selecting regions of disinterest for the purpose of interference detection may be based on one or more of the following criteria: certain directions relative to an autonomous vehicle equipped with the lidar device may be less interesting than other directions relative to the autonomous vehicle (e.g., regions behind the vehicle may be less interesting than regions in front of the vehicle, regions to the side of the vehicle may be less interesting than regions to the front of the vehicle, or regions above the vehicle may be less interesting than regions below the vehicle); specific locations in the surrounding environment according to two-dimensional or three-dimensional map data (e.g., regions near pedestrian crosswalks or traffic signals may be more interesting than other regions); information from other sensors (e.g., if a corresponding radar device or a camera is able to detect an object in a scene, the region corresponding to the position of the object in the scene relative to the lidar device may be less interesting than other regions in the scene or, similarly, regions of the scene where a field of view of a corresponding radar device or camera are obscured may be more interesting than other regions of the scene); data related to season, date, and/or time of day (e.g., springtime, holiday, or noon); data relating to location and/or event (e.g., highways segments with long straightaways and/or the end of a concert or sporting event); data from other fleet vehicles; data from a remote server; historical data (e.g., a time of day or year with historically common people/animal crossing at a certain location); control data corresponding to a vehicle associated with the lidar device (e.g., if the vehicle is turning left, regions of the scene to the left of the vehicle may be more interesting than regions to the right of the vehicle); terrain (e.g., when the lidar device is traveling up or downhill, regions oriented at high or low altitudinal angles may correspond to regions of disinterest); weather (e.g., in cases of snow, a region of disinterest may be a region directly behind a vehicle associated with the lidar device); etc. Other information may be used in identifying regions of disinterest for use in interference detection, as well.[P-36]
In addition to or instead of identifying regions of disinterest for selective deactivation for interference detection, channels may be deactivated randomly or pseudo-randomly. For example, a list of light emitters within an array of light emitters of the lidar device may be pseudo-randomly selected for deactivation by a computing device (e.g., a controller of the lidar device or a control system of an associated vehicle). The computing device may store the pseudo-randomly generated list for later use in determining interference by using the pseudo-randomly generated list in conjunction with the generated point cloud based on the detections of the light detectors in the lidar device. The pseudo-randomly generated list may include contiguous sets of light emitters within the array of light emitters or, alternatively, may include a patchwork pattern of light emitters. A patchwork pattern may enhance disambiguation when it comes to identifying interference. In other embodiments, rather than a computing device pseudo-randomly generating the list of deactivated light emitters, the list may be generated by a circuit (e.g., using a linear shift register, a feedback shift register, a one way hash function, and/or a cryptographic circuit). In some cases, a computing device (e.g., a controller used to control the autonomous vehicle or lidar device) may seed a pseudo-random generator of the circuit. This seed could be used later to reconstruct the exact pseudo-random sequence used to deactivate the light emitters (e.g., to more readily identify within historical data which channels were being used for interference detection).[P-37]
Here, we see Shand teach an autonomous vehicle equipped with sensors to measure and detect its surroundings during travel, wherein detection time information, and an after-time outer end position of the object in a time-of-use during which the object information is to be used, by measuring a time from the detection time, such that the time of the day, temporal season of the detection of the object respective to the moving vehicle maybe recorded and stored in a server. Thereby, at a different or latter time the recorded historical data may be used in conjunction with the real-time readings of the moving vehicle, such that a (second) communicator configured or programmed to transmit the after-time outer end position to the first mobile body or to a second mobile body. This data may be communicated to avoid the travelling vehicle having false alarms, interference readings and other inaccurate readings.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Shand’s teaching with Iidas teaching in order to enable more accurate and reliable navigation for a vehicle such that the travelling vehicle may avoid having false alarms, interference readings and other inaccurate readings.
Claim(s) 2-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (JP 2022146457 A) in view of Shand (US 20210405155 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tran et al. (US 20200359550 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Iida modified fails to teach the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing an outer end position of the object at the detection time, based on elapsed time information about a time from the detection time to the time-of-use.
Tran on the other hand teaches the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing an outer end position of the object at the detection time, based on elapsed time information about a time from the detection time to the time-of-use (Paragraphs 108-114)
The system automatically the objects as potential “threats” and navigates around obstacles as follows: detecting an object external to the irrigation system using one or more sensors; determining a classification and a state of the detected object; estimating the destination of the object; predicting a likely behavior of the detected object based on prior behavior data and destination; preparing the irrigation system to respond based at least in part on the likely behavior of the detected object; and notifying a user of options based on the likely behavior.[P-108-114]
Here, Tran describes a detected object and thereby based on its detected time and elapsed time to change the object outer end position by predicting the destination of the object as well as its likely behavior.
Therefore, it is obvious during the time of the filing date of this invention to combine Tran’s teaching with Iida modified’s teaching in order to dynamically notify the user of the moving vehicle’s navigation options based on the likely behavior of the said object
In regards to claim 3, Iida modified via Tran teaches the calculator is configured or programmed to consult a preset table indicating a relationship between the detection time, the time-of-use, and the after-time outer end position to calculate the after-time outer end position (Paragraphs 375, 396, 400, Tran)
The dates and methods of application of the field treatments, including insecticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fungicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; pesticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; herbicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fertilizer type, application method, application date, and application rate; and the like; Seeding operations for an identified crop variant, including a date range for planting, a soil type for planting, a soil temperature for planting, a soil texture for planting, row spacing for planting, a number of rows for planting, a location for planting, a planting depth and rate, atmospheric conditions for planting, weather conditions for planting, drainage conditions for planting, seedbed preparation operations, and the like. Information associated with or specific to corn, soybean, rice, and cotton crops; Rice ratooning information; Data calculated based on other agricultural information, including the ratio of soil to air temperature, the ratio of leaf to air temperature, a soil wetness index, cumulative growing degree days, chilling hours, a chlorophyll content, evapotranspiration, a daily light integral, photosynthetically active radiation, a daily minimum temperature, a daily mean temperature, a daily maximum temperature, a normalized difference vegetation index, modified soil-adjusted vegetation index, data calculated using other information in the database, and the like.[P-375]
The pattern recognizer may use the temporal dimension of data to learn representations. The pattern recognizer may include a pattern storage system that exploits hierarchy and analytical abilities using a hierarchical network of nodes. The nodes may operate on the input patterns one at a time. For every input pattern, the node may provide one of three operations: 1. Storing patterns, 2. Learning transition probabilities, and 3. Context specific grouping.[P-396]
In one embodiment, the probability of a transition between two patterns may be used as the similarity between those patterns for the HC algorithm. The similarity metric may be used to cluster medical patterns that are likely to follow one another into the same cluster. The HC algorithm may be configured such that patterns that are unlikely to follow each other fall into different clusters. A cluster of a set of patterns that are likely to follow each other in time may be referred to as a temporal group. The HC algorithm may start with all store patterns and separate clusters and then recursively merge clusters with the greatest similarity. This may be used to obtain a treelike structure (e.g. a dendrogram) with a single cluster (which may contain all patterns) at the top of the tree and the individual patterns at the bottom (e.g. each pattern in its own cluster). The system may achieve the desired clustering for temporal grouping (e.g. somewhere between the bottom and a top of the dendrogram) by defining a suitable criteria. For example, one criterion could be to cut the tree at a level where the size of the largest cluster does not exceed a particular value. The node may have a design perimeter that sets the maximum number of clusters or temporal groups of the node. The desired temporal groups may be achieved by selecting a level of the dendrogram that gives the number of temporal groups closest to and less than the configured maximum number of temporal groups. These temporal groups may be updated as the Markov transition probabilities are updated. These steps may be performed periodically during the learning process. The learning process may be stopped once the temporal groups have sufficiently stabilized.[P-400]
Tran uses predetermined indices and stored temporal data with respect to the current use, and use the various temporal scaled data for the further use of predictive behavior of object position
In regards to claim 4, Iida modified via Tran teaches the server includes an estimator configured or programmed to identify whether the object is a plant and, in a case that the object is a plant, estimate a type and a growth state of the plant; and the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing an outer end position of the object at the detection time based on a current growth state of the plant (Paragraphs 374, 400, Tran)
The learning system can be trained on data captured by local sensor, or from satellite/radar systems. For example, such data can include Past, present, and predicted future crop type or plant variant planted and data describing its growth and development, including color of leaves, stand count, plant height, stalk diameter, root length, root architecture (such as a number of secondary roots, root branching, and a number of root hairs), root mass, immune response, tasseling, plant stage, insect damage, weed pressure, fungal infection damage, nematode damage, sap sucrose, and the like; Past, present, and predicted future microbial community composition and/or microbial treatment in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future plant gene expression in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future microbial or plant hormone or metabolite production in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; One or more planting or harvest dates for an identified crop variant; Interactions with or requirements of field treatments or field characteristics and other farming operations for an identified crop variant, the field treatments including irrigation, tillage, seed treatment, foliar treatment, floral treatment, soil treatment, soil type, soil pH, soil nutrient composition, previously planted crop types and varieties, microbial composition, microbial composition application rate, insecticide application, fungicide application, pesticide application, herbicide application, fertilizer application, and the like[P-374]
In one embodiment, the probability of a transition between two patterns may be used as the similarity between those patterns for the HC algorithm. The similarity metric may be used to cluster medical patterns that are likely to follow one another into the same cluster. The HC algorithm may be configured such that patterns that are unlikely to follow each other fall into different clusters. A cluster of a set of patterns that are likely to follow each other in time may be referred to as a temporal group. The HC algorithm may start with all store patterns and separate clusters and then recursively merge clusters with the greatest similarity. This may be used to obtain a treelike structure (e.g. a dendrogram) with a single cluster (which may contain all patterns) at the top of the tree and the individual patterns at the bottom (e.g. each pattern in its own cluster). The system may achieve the desired clustering for temporal grouping (e.g. somewhere between the bottom and a top of the dendrogram) by defining a suitable criteria. For example, one criterion could be to cut the tree at a level where the size of the largest cluster does not exceed a particular value. The node may have a design perimeter that sets the maximum number of clusters or temporal groups of the node. The desired temporal groups may be achieved by selecting a level of the dendrogram that gives the number of temporal groups closest to and less than the configured maximum number of temporal groups. These temporal groups may be updated as the Markov transition probabilities are updated. These steps may be performed periodically during the learning process. The learning process may be stopped once the temporal groups have sufficiently stabilized.[P-400]
Here, we see Trans teaching use their temporal learning and prediction algorithm to further identify whether the object is a plant and, in a case that the object is a plant, estimate a type and a growth state of the plant; and the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing an outer end position of the object at the detection time based on a current growth state of the plant.
In regards to claim 5, Iida modified via Tran teaches the calculator is configured or programmed to consult a preset table indicating a relationship between the detection time, the time-of-use, and the after-time outer end position to calculate the after-time outer end position. (Paragraphs 375 396, 400, Tran)
The dates and methods of application of the field treatments, including insecticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fungicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; pesticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; herbicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fertilizer type, application method, application date, and application rate; and the like; Seeding operations for an identified crop variant, including a date range for planting, a soil type for planting, a soil temperature for planting, a soil texture for planting, row spacing for planting, a number of rows for planting, a location for planting, a planting depth and rate, atmospheric conditions for planting, weather conditions for planting, drainage conditions for planting, seedbed preparation operations, and the like. Information associated with or specific to corn, soybean, rice, and cotton crops; Rice ratooning information; Data calculated based on other agricultural information, including the ratio of soil to air temperature, the ratio of leaf to air temperature, a soil wetness index, cumulative growing degree days, chilling hours, a chlorophyll content, evapotranspiration, a daily light integral, photosynthetically active radiation, a daily minimum temperature, a daily mean temperature, a daily maximum temperature, a normalized difference vegetation index, modified soil-adjusted vegetation index, data calculated using other information in the database, and the like.[P-375]
The pattern recognizer may use the temporal dimension of data to learn representations. The pattern recognizer may include a pattern storage system that exploits hierarchy and analytical abilities using a hierarchical network of nodes. The nodes may operate on the input patterns one at a time. For every input pattern, the node may provide one of three operations: 1. Storing patterns, 2. Learning transition probabilities, and 3. Context specific grouping.[P-396]
In one embodiment, the probability of a transition between two patterns may be used as the similarity between those patterns for the HC algorithm. The similarity metric may be used to cluster medical patterns that are likely to follow one another into the same cluster. The HC algorithm may be configured such that patterns that are unlikely to follow each other fall into different clusters. A cluster of a set of patterns that are likely to follow each other in time may be referred to as a temporal group. The HC algorithm may start with all store patterns and separate clusters and then recursively merge clusters with the greatest similarity. This may be used to obtain a treelike structure (e.g. a dendrogram) with a single cluster (which may contain all patterns) at the top of the tree and the individual patterns at the bottom (e.g. each pattern in its own cluster). The system may achieve the desired clustering for temporal grouping (e.g. somewhere between the bottom and a top of the dendrogram) by defining a suitable criteria. For example, one criterion could be to cut the tree at a level where the size of the largest cluster does not exceed a particular value. The node may have a design perimeter that sets the maximum number of clusters or temporal groups of the node. The desired temporal groups may be achieved by selecting a level of the dendrogram that gives the number of temporal groups closest to and less than the configured maximum number of temporal groups. These temporal groups may be updated as the Markov transition probabilities are updated. These steps may be performed periodically during the learning process. The learning process may be stopped once the temporal groups have sufficiently stabilized.[P-400]
In this case, Tran uses stored database temporal data with respect to the current use, and use the various temporal scaled data for the further use of predictive behavior of tree(s) position.
In regards to claim 6, Iida modified via Tran teaches the calculator is configured or programmed to consult a preset growth table indicating a relationship between the detection time, the current growth state, and the after-time outer end position to calculate the after-time outer end position (Paragraphs 374, 375, Tran)
The learning system can be trained on data captured by local sensor, or from satellite/radar systems. For example, such data can include Past, present, and predicted future crop type or plant variant planted and data describing its growth and development, including color of leaves, stand count, plant height, stalk diameter, root length, root architecture (such as a number of secondary roots, root branching, and a number of root hairs), root mass, immune response, tasseling, plant stage, insect damage, weed pressure, fungal infection damage, nematode damage, sap sucrose, and the like; Past, present, and predicted future microbial community composition and/or microbial treatment in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future plant gene expression in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future microbial or plant hormone or metabolite production in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; One or more planting or harvest dates for an identified crop variant; Interactions with or requirements of field treatments or field characteristics and other farming operations for an identified crop variant, the field treatments including irrigation, tillage, seed treatment, foliar treatment, floral treatment, soil treatment, soil type, soil pH, soil nutrient composition, previously planted crop types and varieties, microbial composition, microbial composition application rate, insecticide application, fungicide application, pesticide application, herbicide application, fertilizer application, and the like [P-374]
The dates and methods of application of the field treatments, including insecticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fungicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; pesticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; herbicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fertilizer type, application method, application date, and application rate; and the like; Seeding operations for an identified crop variant, including a date range for planting, a soil type for planting, a soil temperature for planting, a soil texture for planting, row spacing for planting, a number of rows for planting, a location for planting, a planting depth and rate, atmospheric conditions for planting, weather conditions for planting, drainage conditions for planting, seedbed preparation operations, and the like. Information associated with or specific to corn, soybean, rice, and cotton crops; Rice ratooning information; Data calculated based on other agricultural information, including the ratio of soil to air temperature, the ratio of leaf to air temperature, a soil wetness index, cumulative growing degree days, chilling hours, a chlorophyll content, evapotranspiration, a daily light integral, photosynthetically active radiation, a daily minimum temperature, a daily mean temperature, a daily maximum temperature, a normalized difference vegetation index, modified soil-adjusted vegetation index, data calculated using other information in the database, and the like.[P-375]
Here, we see Tran using predetermined growth indices and using past present and future predication data to calculate the after-time outer end position.
In regards to claim 7, Iida modified via Tran teaches the estimator is configured or programmed to identify whether the object is a fruit tree; and the calculator is configured or programmed to, in a case that the object is a fruit tree, calculate the after-time outer end position of a tree row that is a line connecting, in a predetermined direction, a plurality of outer end positions of a plurality of the fruit trees arranged at one or more intervals in the predetermined direction (Paragraphs 213, 400, Tran)
The system helps untrained field personnel in collection data using mobile devices. One embodiment allows the camera of the irrigation device to auto detect the type of plant based on leaf and/or fruit images. The system also collects soil data using a probe inserted into the ground that communicates with the irrigation system. In this system, a farm worker walks through the rows of plants with the mobile irrigation system and the mobile irrigation system camera captures views of the products. Image recognition of the plant or fruit is done to estimate the soil condition, the yield, and product quality (size, age/sweetness/ripeness, for example), all of which is placed on the blockchain for authenticity verification. The user can periodically insert the probe to test soil conditions. The user can sign off as the auditor or inspector of the products, and such information is then placed on the blockchain for supply chain audits if needed. Consumers can verify that the products are coming off the right farm by looking up the blockchain.[P-213]
In one embodiment, the probability of a transition between two patterns may be used as the similarity between those patterns for the HC algorithm. The similarity metric may be used to cluster medical patterns that are likely to follow one another into the same cluster. The HC algorithm may be configured such that patterns that are unlikely to follow each other fall into different clusters. A cluster of a set of patterns that are likely to follow each other in time may be referred to as a temporal group. The HC algorithm may start with all store patterns and separate clusters and then recursively merge clusters with the greatest similarity. This may be used to obtain a treelike structure (e.g. a dendrogram) with a single cluster (which may contain all patterns) at the top of the tree and the individual patterns at the bottom (e.g. each pattern in its own cluster). The system may achieve the desired clustering for temporal grouping (e.g. somewhere between the bottom and a top of the dendrogram) by defining a suitable criteria. For example, one criterion could be to cut the tree at a level where the size of the largest cluster does not exceed a particular value. The node may have a design perimeter that sets the maximum number of clusters or temporal groups of the node. The desired temporal groups may be achieved by selecting a level of the dendrogram that gives the number of temporal groups closest to and less than the configured maximum number of temporal groups. These temporal groups may be updated as the Markov transition probabilities are updated. These steps may be performed periodically during the learning process. The learning process may be stopped once the temporal groups have sufficiently stabilized.[P-400]
In regards to claim 8, Iida modified via Tran teaches comprising an estimator configured or programmed to, in a case that the object is a crop, identify a type of the crop; wherein the server includes a plurality of the tables corresponding to respective types of a plurality of the crops, and is configured or programmed to consult one of the plurality of tables that corresponds to the type of the crop to calculate the after-time outer end position(Paragraphs 374, 375, Tran)
The learning system can be trained on data captured by local sensor, or from satellite/radar systems. For example, such data can include Past, present, and predicted future crop type or plant variant planted and data describing its growth and development, including color of leaves, stand count, plant height, stalk diameter, root length, root architecture (such as a number of secondary roots, root branching, and a number of root hairs), root mass, immune response, tasseling, plant stage, insect damage, weed pressure, fungal infection damage, nematode damage, sap sucrose, and the like; Past, present, and predicted future microbial community composition and/or microbial treatment in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future plant gene expression in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future microbial or plant hormone or metabolite production in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; One or more planting or harvest dates for an identified crop variant; Interactions with or requirements of field treatments or field characteristics and other farming operations for an identified crop variant, the field treatments including irrigation, tillage, seed treatment, foliar treatment, floral treatment, soil treatment, soil type, soil pH, soil nutrient composition, previously planted crop types and varieties, microbial composition, microbial composition application rate, insecticide application, fungicide application, pesticide application, herbicide application, fertilizer application, and the like [P-374]
The dates and methods of application of the field treatments, including insecticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fungicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; pesticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; herbicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fertilizer type, application method, application date, and application rate; and the like; Seeding operations for an identified crop variant, including a date range for planting, a soil type for planting, a soil temperature for planting, a soil texture for planting, row spacing for planting, a number of rows for planting, a location for planting, a planting depth and rate, atmospheric conditions for planting, weather conditions for planting, drainage conditions for planting, seedbed preparation operations, and the like. Information associated with or specific to corn, soybean, rice, and cotton crops; Rice ratooning information; Data calculated based on other agricultural information, including the ratio of soil to air temperature, the ratio of leaf to air temperature, a soil wetness index, cumulative growing degree days, chilling hours, a chlorophyll content, evapotranspiration, a daily light integral, photosynthetically active radiation, a daily minimum temperature, a daily mean temperature, a daily maximum temperature, a normalized difference vegetation index, modified soil-adjusted vegetation index, data calculated using other information in the database, and the like.[P-375]
In regards to claim 9, Iida modified via Tran teaches the estimator is configured or programmed to, in a case that the object is a crop, identify a type of the crop; and the server includes a plurality of the growth tables corresponding to respective types of a plurality of the crops, and is configured or programmed to consult one of the plurality of growth tables that corresponds to the type of the crop to calculate the after-time outer end position. (Paragraphs 374, 375, 385, 386 Tran)
The learning system can be trained on data captured by local sensor, or from satellite/radar systems. For example, such data can include Past, present, and predicted future crop type or plant variant planted and data describing its growth and development, including color of leaves, stand count, plant height, stalk diameter, root length, root architecture (such as a number of secondary roots, root branching, and a number of root hairs), root mass, immune response, tasseling, plant stage, insect damage, weed pressure, fungal infection damage, nematode damage, sap sucrose, and the like; Past, present, and predicted future microbial community composition and/or microbial treatment in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future plant gene expression in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future microbial or plant hormone or metabolite production in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; One or more planting or harvest dates for an identified crop variant; Interactions with or requirements of field treatments or field characteristics and other farming operations for an identified crop variant, the field treatments including irrigation, tillage, seed treatment, foliar treatment, floral treatment, soil treatment, soil type, soil pH, soil nutrient composition, previously planted crop types and varieties, microbial composition, microbial composition application rate, insecticide application, fungicide application, pesticide application, herbicide application, fertilizer application, and the like [P-374]
The dates and methods of application of the field treatments, including insecticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fungicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; pesticide type, application method, application date, and application rate; herbicide type, application method, application date, and application rate; fertilizer type, application method, application date, and application rate; and the like; Seeding operations for an identified crop variant, including a date range for planting, a soil type for planting, a soil temperature for planting, a soil texture for planting, row spacing for planting, a number of rows for planting, a location for planting, a planting depth and rate, atmospheric conditions for planting, weather conditions for planting, drainage conditions for planting, seedbed preparation operations, and the like. Information associated with or specific to corn, soybean, rice, and cotton crops; Rice ratooning information; Data calculated based on other agricultural information, including the ratio of soil to air temperature, the ratio of leaf to air temperature, a soil wetness index, cumulative growing degree days, chilling hours, a chlorophyll content, evapotranspiration, a daily light integral, photosynthetically active radiation, a daily minimum temperature, a daily mean temperature, a daily maximum temperature, a normalized difference vegetation index, modified soil-adjusted vegetation index, data calculated using other information in the database, and the like.[P-375]
The engine identifies one or more of: a piece of equipment to use or purchase, a drainage method to implement, a crop insurance policy to purchase, one or more potential crop brokers, one or more potential crop purchasers, one or more harvested crop qualities, and one or more harvested crop purchase prices. The engine can also receive as input a crop content, a crop color, a crop hardness, a measure of wet gluten, a number or percentage of broken grains, a toxin level, a damage level, whether the crop is organic, whether the crop is shade grown, whether the crop is greenhouse grown, whether the crop is fair-wage grown, whether the crop is no-till grown, when the crop is pollution-free grown, when the crop is carbon neutral, and a grading or certification by an organization or agency. The crop content includes one or more of: moisture content, protein content, carbohydrate content, and oil or fat content. The model also learns from rainfall associated with the first portion of land, canopy temperature associated with the first portion of land, soil temperature of the first portion of land, soil moisture of the first portion of land, soil nutrients within the first portion of land, soil type of the first portion of land, topography within the first portion of land, humidity associated with the first portion of land, growing degree days associated with the first portion of land, microbial community associated with the first portion of land, pathogen presence associated with the first portion of land, prior farming operations performed at the first portion of land, prior crops grown at the first portion of land, and other historical field information associated with the first portion of land. The engine can also learn from characteristics of a crop planted such as a plant stage of the crop, a color of the crop, a stand count of the crop, a crop height, a root length of the crop, a root architecture of the crop, an immune response of the crop, flowering of the crop, and tasseling of the crop. The engine can direct the operation of a smart equipment or sensor for execution by the smart equipment or sensor such as a harvesting system, and wherein the selected set of farming operations comprise a harvest route, path, plan, or order.[P-385]
FIG. 6 shows a deep learning machine using deep convolutionary neural networks for detecting genetic based drug-drug interaction. One embodiment uses an AlexNet: 8-layer architecture, while another embodiment uses a VGGNet: 16-layer architecture (each pooling layer and last 2 FC layers are applied as feature vector). One embodiment uses Tensorflow to specify and train the neural networks. A is used to determine how environmental factors influence the crops being irrigated. The learning machine can detect the nature of the relationship between air temperatures, soil moisture, and the daily growth of the plants. This relationship was determined by applying AI to plant test plot data, along with the weather and soil conditions experienced in those test plots. The AI-based system can quantify how air temperature drives plant growth, but also revealed how plant growth slows under dry conditions during warm temperatures. The model can foster the development of more efficient or productive management practices, including irrigation.[P-386]
In regards to claim 10, Iida modified via Tran teaches the second mobile body includes a position detector to detect a position thereof but does not include the detector (Paragraphs 116, 122, Tran)
Next a flock control behavior is detailed. In one embodiment, a plurality of irrigation systems follow a leader irrigation system, who in turn is following a target irrigation system or a target driving plan. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle. “Flocking” is the collective motion of a large number of self-propelled entities and is a collective animal behavior exhibited by many living beings such as birds, fish, bacteria, and insects. It is considered an emergent behavior arising from simple rules that are followed by individuals and does not involve any central coordination. The irrigation system communications would identify vehicles traveling as a flock, and the vehicles perform distributed flocking operation by communication over the wireless network. One embodiment of the irrigation system flocking process has the following structure:[P-116]
Rule 1: Vehicles try to go towards the center of mass of neighboring vehicles. The ‘center of mass’ is simply the average position of all the vehicles. Assume there are N vehicles, called b1, b2, . . . , bN. Also, the position of the irrigation system b is denoted b.position. Then the ‘center of mass’ c of all N vehicles is given by: c=(b1.position+b2.position+ . . . +bN.position)/N However, the ‘center of mass’ is a property of the entire flock of vehicles; it is not something that would be considered by an individual irrigation system. Each irrigation system is moved toward its ‘perceived center’, which is the center of all the other vehicles, not including itself. Thus, for vehicleJ (1<=J<=N), the perceived center pcJ is given by: pcJ=(b1.position+b2.position+ . . . +bJ−1.position+bJ+1.position+ . . . +bN.position)/(N−1) [P-122]
Furthermore, Tran teaches the server includes a route generator configured or programmed to generate a route to be traveled by the second mobile body based on acquired position information of the second mobile body and based on the after-time outer end position calculated by the calculator; and the second communicator is configured or programmed to transmit the route to be traveled by the second mobile body to the second mobile body (Paragraphs 116, Tran)
Next a flock control behavior is detailed. In one embodiment, a plurality of irrigation systems follow a leader irrigation system, who in turn is following a target irrigation system or a target driving plan. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle. “Flocking” is the collective motion of a large number of self-propelled entities and is a collective animal behavior exhibited by many living beings such as birds, fish, bacteria, and insects. It is considered an emergent behavior arising from simple rules that are followed by individuals and does not involve any central coordination. The irrigation system communications would identify vehicles traveling as a flock, and the vehicles perform distributed flocking operation by communication over the wireless network. One embodiment of the irrigation system flocking process has the following structure:[P-116]
In regards to claim 11, Iida modified via Tran teaches the use of geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, such that the said boundaries maybe configured to recognize the different paths of irrigation and furthermore, can identify the different crops along the said path of irrigation based on the ability to delineate the different crops (Paragraph 166, Tran)
Aerial images are used in conjunction with GPS data to provide geo-coordinates using geo-fencing methods to arrive at the boundaries of the farm. Moreover, based on landmarks such as roads/paths that delineate different crops grown within the farm, the application can detect different crops.[P-166]
The said boundaries are set to establish restricted/off-limit areas for navigator irrigation. Furthermore, when taking into account Tran’s teaching of determining from an outer end position of the object outward based on the object information and the detection time information, and use an outer end position of the off- limits area as the after-time outer end position, i.e. detecting an object external to the irrigation system using one or more sensors; determining a classification and a state of the detected object; estimating the destination of the object; predicting a likely behavior of the detected object based on prior behavior data and destination; preparing the irrigation system to respond based at least in part on the likely behavior of the detected object; and notifying a user of options based on the likely behavior[P-108-114]
As well as, the second communicator is configured or programmed to transmit the outer end position of the object to the first mobile body or to the second mobile body, i.e. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle[P-116]
Then one of ordinary skill in the art may obviously configure the geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, to set off limit areas based on after-time outer end position of objects accordingly.
In regards to claim 12, Iida modified via Tran teaches the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing the predetermined dimension of the off-limits area based on elapsed time information about a time from the detection time to the time-of-use (Paragraphs 108-114, 166, Tran)
The system automatically the objects as potential “threats” and navigates around obstacles as follows: detecting an object external to the irrigation system using one or more sensors; determining a classification and a state of the detected object; estimating the destination of the object; predicting a likely behavior of the detected object based on prior behavior data and destination; preparing the irrigation system to respond based at least in part on the likely behavior of the detected object; and notifying a user of options based on the likely behavior.[P-108-114]
Aerial images are used in conjunction with GPS data to provide geo-coordinates using geo-fencing methods to arrive at the boundaries of the farm. Moreover, based on landmarks such as roads/paths that delineate different crops grown within the farm, the application can detect different crops.[P-166]
Here, using Tran’s dynamic method of determining the predicted position and dimensions of a detected object along the traveling path, then adjusting the geo-fencing boundary accordingly to reset the off limit area
In regards to claim 13, Iida teaches the server includes an estimator configured or programmed to identify whether the object is a plant and, in a case that the object is a plant, estimate a type and a growth state of the plant; and the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing the predetermined dimension of the off-limits area based on the detection time and a current growth state of the plant (Paragraphs 166, 374, 400, Tran)
Aerial images are used in conjunction with GPS data to provide geo-coordinates using geo-fencing methods to arrive at the boundaries of the farm. Moreover, based on landmarks such as roads/paths that delineate different crops grown within the farm, the application can detect different crops.[P-166]
The learning system can be trained on data captured by local sensor, or from satellite/radar systems. For example, such data can include Past, present, and predicted future crop type or plant variant planted and data describing its growth and development, including color of leaves, stand count, plant height, stalk diameter, root length, root architecture (such as a number of secondary roots, root branching, and a number of root hairs), root mass, immune response, tasseling, plant stage, insect damage, weed pressure, fungal infection damage, nematode damage, sap sucrose, and the like; Past, present, and predicted future microbial community composition and/or microbial treatment in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future plant gene expression in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; Past, present, and predicted future microbial or plant hormone or metabolite production in or on one or more tissues of an identified crop variant; One or more planting or harvest dates for an identified crop variant; Interactions with or requirements of field treatments or field characteristics and other farming operations for an identified crop variant, the field treatments including irrigation, tillage, seed treatment, foliar treatment, floral treatment, soil treatment, soil type, soil pH, soil nutrient composition, previously planted crop types and varieties, microbial composition, microbial composition application rate, insecticide application, fungicide application, pesticide application, herbicide application, fertilizer application, and the like[P-374]
In one embodiment, the probability of a transition between two patterns may be used as the similarity between those patterns for the HC algorithm. The similarity metric may be used to cluster medical patterns that are likely to follow one another into the same cluster. The HC algorithm may be configured such that patterns that are unlikely to follow each other fall into different clusters. A cluster of a set of patterns that are likely to follow each other in time may be referred to as a temporal group. The HC algorithm may start with all store patterns and separate clusters and then recursively merge clusters with the greatest similarity. This may be used to obtain a treelike structure (e.g. a dendrogram) with a single cluster (which may contain all patterns) at the top of the tree and the individual patterns at the bottom (e.g. each pattern in its own cluster). The system may achieve the desired clustering for temporal grouping (e.g. somewhere between the bottom and a top of the dendrogram) by defining a suitable criteria. For example, one criterion could be to cut the tree at a level where the size of the largest cluster does not exceed a particular value. The node may have a design perimeter that sets the maximum number of clusters or temporal groups of the node. The desired temporal groups may be achieved by selecting a level of the dendrogram that gives the number of temporal groups closest to and less than the configured maximum number of temporal groups. These temporal groups may be updated as the Markov transition probabilities are updated. These steps may be performed periodically during the learning process. The learning process may be stopped once the temporal groups have sufficiently stabilized.[P-400]
Here, we see Trans teaching use their temporal learning and prediction algorithm to further identify whether the object is a plant and, in a case that the object is a plant, estimate a type and a growth state of the plant; and the calculator is configured or programmed to calculate the after-time outer end position by changing an outer end position of the object at the detection time based on a current growth state of the plant. Tran’s dynamic method of determining the predicted position and dimensions of a detected plant/object along the traveling path, then adjusting the geo-fencing boundary accordingly to reset the off limit area
In regards to claim 14, Iida modified via Tran teaches the second mobile body includes a position detector to detect a position thereof but does not include the detector Paragraphs 116, 122, Tran)
Next a flock control behavior is detailed. In one embodiment, a plurality of irrigation systems follow a leader irrigation system, who in turn is following a target irrigation system or a target driving plan. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle. “Flocking” is the collective motion of a large number of self-propelled entities and is a collective animal behavior exhibited by many living beings such as birds, fish, bacteria, and insects. It is considered an emergent behavior arising from simple rules that are followed by individuals and does not involve any central coordination. The irrigation system communications would identify vehicles traveling as a flock, and the vehicles perform distributed flocking operation by communication over the wireless network. One embodiment of the irrigation system flocking process has the following structure:[P-116]
Rule 1: Vehicles try to go towards the center of mass of neighboring vehicles. The ‘center of mass’ is simply the average position of all the vehicles. Assume there are N vehicles, called b1, b2, . . . , bN. Also, the position of the irrigation system b is denoted b.position. Then the ‘center of mass’ c of all N vehicles is given by: c=(b1.position+b2.position+ . . . +bN.position)/N However, the ‘center of mass’ is a property of the entire flock of vehicles; it is not something that would be considered by an individual irrigation system. Each irrigation system is moved toward its ‘perceived center’, which is the center of all the other vehicles, not including itself. Thus, for vehicleJ (1<=J<=N), the perceived center pcJ is given by: pcJ=(b1.position+b2.position+ . . . +bJ−1.position+bJ+1.position+ . . . +bN.position)/(N−1) [P-122]
Furthermore, Tran teaches the server includes a route generator configured or programmed to generate a route to be traveled by the second mobile body based on acquired position information of the second mobile body and based on the after-time outer end position calculated by the calculator; and the second communicator is configured or programmed to transmit the route to be traveled by the second mobile body to the second mobile body (Paragraphs 116, Tran)
Next a flock control behavior is detailed. In one embodiment, a plurality of irrigation systems follow a leader irrigation system, who in turn is following a target irrigation system or a target driving plan. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle. “Flocking” is the collective motion of a large number of self-propelled entities and is a collective animal behavior exhibited by many living beings such as birds, fish, bacteria, and insects. It is considered an emergent behavior arising from simple rules that are followed by individuals and does not involve any central coordination. The irrigation system communications would identify vehicles traveling as a flock, and the vehicles perform distributed flocking operation by communication over the wireless network. One embodiment of the irrigation system flocking process has the following structure:[P-116]
Furthermore, Tran teaches the use of geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, such that the said boundaries maybe configured to recognize the different paths of irrigation and furthermore, can identify the different crops along the said path of irrigation based on the ability to delineate the different crops (Paragraph 166, Tran)
Aerial images are used in conjunction with GPS data to provide geo-coordinates using geo-fencing methods to arrive at the boundaries of the farm. Moreover, based on landmarks such as roads/paths that delineate different crops grown within the farm, the application can detect different crops.[P-166]
The said boundaries are set to establish restricted/off-limit areas for navigator irrigation. Furthermore, when taking into account Tran’s teaching of determining from an outer end position of the object outward based on the object information and the detection time information, and use an outer end position of the off- limits area as the after-time outer end position, i.e. detecting an object external to the irrigation system using one or more sensors; determining a classification and a state of the detected object; estimating the destination of the object; predicting a likely behavior of the detected object based on prior behavior data and destination; preparing the irrigation system to respond based at least in part on the likely behavior of the detected object; and notifying a user of options based on the likely behavior[P-108-114]
As well as, the second communicator is configured or programmed to transmit the outer end position of the object to the first mobile body or to the second mobile body, i.e. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle[P-116]
Then one of ordinary skill in the art may obviously configure the geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, to set off limit areas based on after-time outer end position of objects accordingly.
In regards to claim 15, Ida modified via Tran teaches the use of geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, such that the said boundaries maybe configured to recognize the different paths of irrigation and furthermore, can identify the different crops along the said path of irrigation based on the ability to delineate the different crops (Paragraph 166, Tran)
Aerial images are used in conjunction with GPS data to provide geo-coordinates using geo-fencing methods to arrive at the boundaries of the farm. Moreover, based on landmarks such as roads/paths that delineate different crops grown within the farm, the application can detect different crops.[P-166]
The said boundaries are set to establish fixed restricted/off-limit areas for navigator irrigation. Furthermore, when taking into account Tran’s teaching of determining from an outer end position of the object outward based on the object information and the detection time information, and use an outer end position of the off- limits area as the after-time outer end position, i.e. detecting an object external to the irrigation system using one or more sensors; determining a classification and a state of the detected object; estimating the destination of the object; predicting a likely behavior of the detected object based on prior behavior data and destination; preparing the irrigation system to respond based at least in part on the likely behavior of the detected object; and notifying a user of options based on the likely behavior[P-108-114]
As well as, the second communicator is configured or programmed to transmit the outer end position of the object to the first mobile body or to the second mobile body, i.e. The leader, or the first irrigation system in the group would automatically or manually take evasive actions to avoid an obstacle, and the information is transmitted with irrigation system to irrigation system communication such as DSRC to following vehicles, and the driving path of the entire flock is adjusted according to the obstacle[P-116]
Then one of ordinary skill in the art may obviously configure the geo-fencing methods to set boundaries of the irrigation vehicle(s) of a farm environment, to set off limit areas based on after-time outer end position of objects accordingly.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686