Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pervan et al. (PG Pub. 2014/0199513).
Regarding claims 1-7, Pervan et al. teach a method to produce a building panel comprising providing a substrate (core 3), applying a thermosetting binder in dry form on the substrate for forming a sub-layer (which is dry melamine powder layer 2c, 2b), wherein the sub-layer comprises at least 95 wt. % of the thermosetting binder (100% is taught) and is free of moisture absorbing fillers [0282]. The sub-layer comprises thermosetting binder and non-absorbing fillers [0275]. Pervan et al. teach the surface layer which includes 2b or 2a should be controlled to have a moisture content or below 8% through drying [0227]. Pervan et al. teach applying a sheet (2b or 2a) on the sub-layer wherein the sheet comprises one or more of a paper, a non-woven, a woven sheet or a fibre sheet wherein the sheet being applied on the sub-layer is unimpregnated [0282-0283 and Figure 12c and 12d]. Pervan et al. teach pressing the substrate, the sub-layer and the sheet together to form a building panel thereby the thermosetting binder of the sub-layer impregnates the sheet wherein the sheet forms a surface of the building panel.
Regarding claims 8-9, the thermosetting binder is a, A-stage and B-stage thermosetting binder [0020].
Regarding claims 13-14, the sheet further comprises pigments and fillers (2a and 2b are taught to comprise pigments and fillers) [0275].
Regarding claim 15, there is a print on the sheet [0279].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pervan et al. (PG Pub. 2014/0199513).
Regarding claim 10, Pervan et al. are silent regarding the claimed sheet being impregnated half the thickness of the sheet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed impregnation of less than half the sheet in order to tailor the properties of the panel and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 11-12, Pervan et al. teaches controlling the moisture content of the surface layer should be accurately controlled in order to facilitate the removal of the non-bonded powder particles and therefore teaches the moisture content as a results effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to tailor the moisture content to facilitate the removal of non-bonded powder particles and arrive at the claimed moisture content. It is also noted that the 8% mentioned is merely a preferred embodiment and Pervan is not limited to preferred embodiments.
Prior Art Not Cited but Relevant
PG Pub. 20150197943 teaches a building panel composite.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789