Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama, US PGPUB JP 2004302321 in view of Amundson et al., US PGPUB 20050024353 hereinafter referenced as Amundson.
As to claim 1, Kodama discloses an information processing system comprising: a host system; and
a display unit (e.g., display device of fig 1),
wherein the display unit includes a controller and an electrophoretic display panel (e.g., control device 100 and electrophoretic display 3, fig 8),
the host system is configured to determine a dynamic region, which is a region where display content dynamically fluctuates, in display content to be displayed on the display unit ([0051] when those commands are output to the first display driver 109 and the second display driver 111, the organic EL display 2 is turned off, and as shown in FIG. All the display data included is displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3, and as shown in FIG. 3, the display screen 1 displays all the display data displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3), and
the controller is configured to set a drive mode in which responsiveness is higher for the dynamic region than for a non-dynamic region, as a drive mode for the electrophoretic display panel ([0024] When the electrophoretic panel 3 is turned off from this state, that is, when the drive circuit is switched to the open state, the electric charge is held in the electrode 9, and the charged particles 7 a are moved to the electrode 6 side by the Coulomb force of the electrode holding charge. It is in a state of being adsorbed by That is, the state in which the charged particles 7a are adsorbed is maintained without supplying any energy, and the monochrome display data is continuously displayed on the front side).
Kodama does not specifically disclose the controlling in terms of responsiveness.
However, in the same endeavor, Amundson discloses the controlling in terms of responsiveness ([0208] at step 310 the controller determines whether the time which has elapsed since the image was written at step 306 exceeds some predetermined refresh interval, and if so, the controller proceeds to erase step 314 and then to reset step 304, resets the display as previously described, and proceeds to rewrite the same image to the display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kodama to further include Amundson’s pixel driving method, in order to improve the device performance.
As to claim 5, Kodama discloses a controller configured to specify a dynamic region, which is a region where display content dynamically fluctuates ([0051] when those commands are output to the first display driver 109 and the second display driver 111, the organic EL display 2 is turned off, and as shown in FIG. All the display data included is displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3, and as shown in FIG. 3, the display screen 1 displays all the display data displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3),
in display content to be displayed on an electrophoretic display panel from a host system (electrophoretic display 3, fig 8, wherein the electrophoresis panel 3 is provided with a layer in which microcapsules 8 performing monochrome display corresponding to applied voltage are arranged), and
set a drive mode in which responsiveness is higher for the dynamic region than for a non-dynamic region, as a drive mode for the electrophoretic display panel ([0024] When the electrophoretic panel 3 is turned off from this state, that is, when the drive circuit is switched to the open state, the electric charge is held in the electrode 9, and the charged particles 7 a are moved to the electrode 6 side by the Coulomb force of the electrode holding charge. It is in a state of being adsorbed by That is, the state in which the charged particles 7a are adsorbed is maintained without supplying any energy, and the monochrome display data is continuously displayed on the front side).
Kodama does not specifically disclose the controlling in terms of responsiveness.
However, in the same endeavor, Amundson discloses the controlling in terms of responsiveness ([0208] at step 310 the controller determines whether the time which has elapsed since the image was written at step 306 exceeds some predetermined refresh interval, and if so, the controller proceeds to erase step 314 and then to reset step 304, resets the display as previously described, and proceeds to rewrite the same image to the display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kodama to further include Amundson’s pixel driving method, in order to improve the device performance.
As to claim 6, Kodama discloses a control method for an information processing system including a host system and a display unit, in which the display unit includes a controller and an electrophoretic display panel (e.g., control device 100 and electrophoretic display 3, fig 8),
the control method comprising: a step of, via the host system, determining a dynamic region, which is a region where display content dynamically fluctuates, in display content to be displayed on the display unit ([0051] when those commands are output to the first display driver 109 and the second display driver 111, the organic EL display 2 is turned off, and as shown in FIG. All the display data included is displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3, and as shown in FIG. 3, the display screen 1 displays all the display data displayed in black and white on the electrophoresis panel 3); and
a step of, via the controller, setting a drive mode in which responsiveness is higher for the dynamic region than for a non-dynamic region, as a drive mode for the electrophoretic display panel ([0024] When the electrophoretic panel 3 is turned off from this state, that is, when the drive circuit is switched to the open state, the electric charge is held in the electrode 9, and the charged particles 7 a are moved to the electrode 6 side by the Coulomb force of the electrode holding charge. It is in a state of being adsorbed by That is, the state in which the charged particles 7a are adsorbed is maintained without supplying any energy, and the monochrome display data is continuously displayed on the front side).
Kodama does not specifically disclose the controlling in terms of responsiveness.
However, in the same endeavor, Amundson discloses the controlling in terms of responsiveness ([0208] at step 310 the controller determines whether the time which has elapsed since the image was written at step 306 exceeds some predetermined refresh interval, and if so, the controller proceeds to erase step 314 and then to reset step 304, resets the display as previously described, and proceeds to rewrite the same image to the display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kodama to further include Amundson’s pixel driving method, in order to improve the device performance.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kodama and Amundson discloses the information processing system according to claim 1. The combination further discloses the controller is configured to set a drive mode in which a bit depth is lower for the dynamic region than for the non-dynamic region (Amundson, [0460] this command may also have an additional argument specifying the bit depth to which the defined region is set).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kodama and Amundson discloses the information processing system according to claim 2. The combination further discloses the controller is configured to quantize a gradation value of a pixel included in the dynamic region with 1 bit, and quantize a gradation value of a pixel included in the non-dynamic region with 2 bits or more (Amundson, [0110] It will be apparent that the look-up tables used in some embodiments of the invention may become very large. To take an extreme example, consider a process of the invention for a 256 (2.sup.8) gray level display using an algorithm that takes account of initial, final and two prior states).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kodama and Amundson discloses the information processing system according to claim 3. The combination further discloses the 1-bit gradation value indicates either a first gradation value indicating a first gradation or a second gradation value indicating a second gradation lower than the first gradation, and the controller is configured to disperse a gradation value of each pixel to surrounding pixels in the dynamic region (Amundson, [0325] Drive circuitry stores data indicating whether application of a given impulse will produce a gray level higher or lower than a desired gray level).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kazamaki, US PGPUB 20120092233 discloses a display control apparatus, usability of which is improved such that, when contents are divisionally displayed on a plurality of screens, it is determined whether or not the plurality of contents displayed on the plurality of screens are related to each other to perform display control. The display control apparatus includes: a display unit that can display contents on one screen or a plurality of screens; a designating unit that designates an arbitrary position on the screen of the display unit; a determining unit that, when the contents are displayed on the plurality of screens of the display unit, determines whether or not the contents are related to each other; and a control unit that switches the screen including the position designated by the designating unit based on a determination result obtained by the determining unit.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/21/2026