DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the application No. 19/210194 filed on 5/16/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirani-Mehr et al. US 11,686,588 (“Shirani-Mehr”).
As to claims 1, 11, and 20, Shirani-Mehr discloses a system and method at a computing device for a vehicle, the method comprising:
sending, to an insight server, a first message, the first message comprising a location of the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 502; related text: receive location data for a first location and a second location);
receiving, from the insight server, a safety report message, the safety report message including information related to road elements within a region around the location of the vehicle, each road element of the road elements being associated to a safety score above a first threshold (see at least Fig 5, elements 506, 508; related text: generate a safety score for each candidate route based on safety scores for each segment); and
performing an action based on the safety report message (see at least Fig 5, element 510; related text: provide a recommendation for a travel route comprising a best candidate route).
As to claims 2 and 12, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the first message further comprises at least one of a route for the vehicle, a speed of the vehicle, or a direction of travel of the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 502; related text: receive location data for a first location and a second location).
As to claims 3 and 13, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the first threshold is configured by the computing device (see at least col 13, lines 10-25: to check whether there is a segment with the safety score of f.sub.i less than a minimum safety threshold. In one example, candidate routes that contain a segment that is below a minimum safety threshold are disqualified).
As to claims 4 and 14, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the region comprises areas within a threshold distance of the location of the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 502; related text: receive location data for a first location and a second location).
As to claims 5 and 15, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the threshold distance is a function of at least one of a speed of the vehicle and a direction of travel of the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 502; related text: receive location data for a first location and a second location).
As to claims 8 and 18a, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the safety report message indicates dangerous locations within the region (see at least Fig 5, elements 506, 508; related text: generate a safety score for each candidate route based on safety scores for each segment).
As to claims 9 and 18b, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the safety report message indicates a safe route for the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 510; related text: provide a recommendation for a travel route comprising a best candidate route).
As to claims 10 and 19, Shirani-Mehr discloses wherein the action is selected from the group consisting of providing an alert to a driver of the vehicle, proposing a safe route to the driver of the vehicle, and taking control of the vehicle (see at least Fig 5, element 510; related text: provide a recommendation for a travel route comprising a best candidate route).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668