Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/17/2026 and 5/16/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (US20220376238).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, 11, and 12, Hirose discloses a conductive slurry for a secondary battery electrode, the slurry comprising: a conductive material (carbon nanotube), a cellulose-based compound (carboxymethyl cellulose) and an organic acid salt (sodium polyacrylate), see para 0151.
Regarding claim 6, Hirose discloses a content of the conductive material is less than 2.7% by weight based on a total weight of the conductive slurry (para 0151 when silicon and graphite are considered negative electrode materials).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Hirose discloses a secondary electrode comprising an electrode material, which is a silicon compound, a conductive slurry for a secondary battery electrode, the slurry comprising: a conductive material; a cellulose-based compound (carboxymethyl cellulose) and an organic acid salt (sodium polyacrylate), see para 0151.
Regarding claim 15, Hirose discloses a secondary battery comprising the secondary battery electrode of claim 13 (para 0162).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US20220376238) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20180198129).
Hirose discloses a conductive slurry for a secondary battery electrode as described above. Hirose discloses a weight ratio between the carbon nanotube and the dispersant is 1:1 to 1:2 (para 0151) but does not specifically disclose the carbon nanotube is single-walled or multi-walled carbon nanotube and the carbon nanotube has a maximum intensity of D band with respect to a maximum intensity of G band (Id/Ig) of from 0.01 to 2 as claimed. Kim discloses the carbon nanotube, which includes single-walled or multi-walled carbon nanotube, has a maximum intensity of D band with respect to a maximum intensity of G band (Id/Ig) of from 0.01 to 2 (para 0042 and 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use the carbon nanotube taught by Kim as the carbon nanotube in the conductive slurry of Hirose, thereby obtaining the conductive slurry having excellent conductivity.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US20220376238) in view of Wei (Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 166 (14) A33217-A3221 (2010), cited in the IDS filed by applicant on 5/17/2026).
Hirose discloses a conductive slurry for a secondary battery electrode as described above. Hirose discloses the cellulose-based compound (carboxymethyl cellulose) and the organic acid salt (sodium polyacrylate) are used as binder (para 0094) but does not disclose a weight ratio between the cellulose-based compound (carboxymethyl cellulose) and the organic acid salt (sodium polyacrylate) is 1:0.15 to 1:0.5. Wei discloses using small amount of sodium polyacrylate as the binder can improve the capacity retention of Si-based electrodes (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to determine an optimum weight ratio between carboxymethyl cellulose) and sodium polyacrylate, such that it may fall in a range of 1:0.15 to 1:0.5, thereby improving the capacity retention of Si-based electrodes, resulting in improved cycling performance of the Li-ion batteries, in the absence of new or unexpected results that are fully commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter and for which objective evidence is offered across the entire ranges, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US20220376238) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US20230187644).
Hirose discloses a conductive slurry for a secondary battery electrode as described above. Hirose does not disclose the cellulose-based compound (carboxymethyl cellulose or CMC) has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 400,000 g/mol or less as claimed. Morita discloses when setting the weight average molecular weight of the CMC is 150,000 or less, the intermolecular forces of the CMC, and the CNT, and the intermolecular forces of the CMC and water are well balanced, and the CMC can be satisfactorily dispersed and maintained in a state (para 0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use the CMC, which has an appropriate weight average molecular weight 150,000 or less, the adsorbability to the CNT is enhanced, and the stability of a dispersion element is further enhanced as suggested by Morita (para 0067).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
7/25/2026