Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/25 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montgomery (US 3,955,729 A).
Regarding claim 1, Montgomery discloses a cargo pack for attachment to a cargo rack on a bicycle (neither the cargo rack nor the bicycle currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for attachment to”), the pack comprising an outer casing (12) of a flexible material (see “lightweight nylon fabric” in col. 2 line 59) provided with an opening (48) for loading the pack, the outer casing having oppositely disposed side walls (16,18) and an attachment wall (right side wall in Figure 3) extending between the side walls and intended to lie adjacent the cargo rack (cargo rack still not claimed in combination), the outer casing being provided with elongate stiffening elements (28,30) disposed on the internal surface of the attachment wall (see Figures 1 and 3), the cargo pack also comprising front and rear mounting structures (58,60) which are disposed on the external surface of the attachment wall (see Figures 1 and 2), each stiffening element being secured to each of the front and rear mounting structures by fasteners (36/38) extending through the material of the attachment wall (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Montgomery discloses a bicycle (see “bicycle” through Abstract and Specification) provided with a cargo rack (40) on which is mounted a cargo pack in accordance with claim 1 (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Montgomery discloses a kit of parts for assembly as a cargo pack in accordance with claim 1, comprising: the outer casing (12); at least two of the elongate stiffening elements (28,30); the front and rear mounting structures (58,60); and the fasteners (36/38) for securing the front and rear mounting structures to the stiffening elements.
6. Claims 1, 3, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hine, Jr. (US 4,262,829 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hine discloses a cargo pack for attachment to a cargo rack on a bicycle (neither the cargo rack nor the bicycle currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for attachment to”), the pack comprising an outer casing (10) of a flexible material (see “pliable fabric” in col. 2 line 32) provided with an opening (under cover 17) for loading the pack, the outer casing having oppositely disposed side walls (13) and an attachment wall (15) extending between the side walls and intended to lie adjacent the cargo rack (cargo rack still not claimed in combination), the outer casing being provided with elongate stiffening elements (46,48) disposed on the internal surface of the attachment wall (see Figure 3), the cargo pack also comprising front and rear mounting structures (27 and 29/30/32) which are disposed on the external surface of the attachment wall (see Figure 3), each stiffening element being secured to each of the front and rear mounting structures by fasteners (51,53) extending through the material of the attachment wall (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Hine discloses a cargo pack as claimed in claim 1, in which the pack is elongate, the stiffening elements extending generally in the lengthwise direction of the pack (see Figures).
Regarding claim 13, Hine discloses a cargo pack as claimed in claim 1, in which the outer casing comprises an elongate container extending in the direction (bottom to top) from the front mounting structure (29/30/32) to the rear mounting structure (27), the container having a closable opening (under 17) at its end away from the front mounting structure (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Hine discloses a bicycle (see Figure 1) provided with a cargo rack (42) on which is mounted a cargo pack in accordance with claim 1 (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hine discloses a kit of parts for assembly as a cargo pack in accordance with claim 1, comprising: the outer casing (10); at least two of the elongate stiffening elements (46,48); the front and rear mounting structures (27 and 29/30/32); and the fasteners (51,53) for securing the front and rear mounting structures to the stiffening elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hine, Jr. (US 4,262,829 A) in view of Birkestrand (US 6,244,399 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Hine discloses a cargo pack as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose in which the stiffening elements are accommodated in respective elongate pockets extending along the attachment wall. Hine does not appear to disclose any such stiffening element pockets. Birkestrand teaches that it was already known to provide stiffening elements (42) within pockets (58) when in use. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the stiffening members of Hine within pockets like those of Birkestrand, the motivation being to keep the stiffening members in place during assembly before the fasteners are installed, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood through their own available knowledge and reasoning.
9. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hine, Jr. (US 4,262,829 A) in view of Birkestrand (US 6,244,399 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Hine discloses a cargo pack as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose in which the stiffening elements (46,48) are inclined to each other. Hine discloses the stiffening members “preferably positioned in parallel relationship” (see col. 3 line 7) but discloses no criticality to such design. This language even suggests that other relationships might be possible, including non-parallel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the stiffening members of Hine in a non-parallel or nearly parallel relationship, converging from either right to left, or left to right, as mere design choice where Hine himself seems to at least consider such relationship while still choosing parallel.
Regarding claim 5, Hine as modified above would include a cargo pack as claimed in claim 4, in which the stiffening elements converge in the direction towards the front mounting structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 6-12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 10/21/26