DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/636138, filed on 1/7/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the light source of Claim 1 lines 4-5, the charging-discharging port of Claim 1 line 7, the connection port of Claim 1 line 8, a first circuit configured to direct power from the rechargeable battery to the light source, the charging-discharging port, and the connection port of Claim 1 lines 10-11, the second circuit configured to direct power from the external power source to the rechargeable battery through the charging-discharging port of Claim 1 lines 12-13, the charging-discharging port and connection port disposed adjacent to each other on the mounting cap of Claim 2 lines 1-2, the sealing cap covering the charging-discharging port and the connection port of Claim 3 lines 1-2, the interference fit of Claim 9 lines 1-2, the light source of Claim 10 lines 1-2, the circuit board of Claim 15 lines 1-2, and the circuit board of Claim 16 liens 1-2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 lines 1-2 recite the limitation “wherein the flashlight is configured for single-handed portable operation by a user”. However, Claim 17 depends from Claim 1, which recites on lines 16-17 “wherein the handheld flashlight is of such compact size and low weight as to be suitable for single-handed portable operation by a user”. Therefore, Claim 1 already requires a configuration of the flashlight for single-handed portable operation by a user, defining such configuration as a compact size and low weight, and Claim 17 does not further define the requirements of the configuration or add to the structure and/or functionality of the flashlight. Therefore, Claim 17 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nook et al. (US 2020/0185935; the examiner notes that the scope of Claims 18-19 include subject matter having a priority date of 4/23/2020, being first included in application 16/857022).
With regards to Claim 18, Nook et al. discloses a handheld flashlight (see paragraphs 315 and 436; the device includes a handle, thereby being substantially capable of being handheld, and includes a flashlight feature, thereby substantially being a flashlight) comprising: a first power supply assembly [332] and a second power supply assembly [332] (see paragraphs 440, 498, and 499); a switch assembly comprising at least one electric control switch configured to selectively connect the power supply assemblies in series or in parallel (see paragraph 453); and a control circuit configured to generate a switching signal to control the electric control switch, such that different output voltage levels are provided at an output terminal of the flashlight (see paragraphs 440 and 453).
With regards to Claim 19, Nook et al. discloses the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 18.
Nook et al. further discloses each of the first and second power supply assemblies [332] comprises a plurality of lithium iron phosphate batteries [335] connected in series (see paragraphs 499 and 500).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) in view of Xinfang (US 2015/0054336).
With regards to Claim 1, Liu ‘741 discloses a handheld flashlight comprising: a hollow cylinder (comprising the substantially hollow cylinder formed by portions [21,21], see paragraph 23 and Figure 3) having a first end (comprising an end nearest lamp head [14], see paragraph 23 and Figure 3) and a second end (comprising an end nearest cover [13], see Figure 10); a rechargeable battery [22] disposed within the hollow cylinder [21,21] (see paragraph 23 and Figures 2 and 3); a lamp head [14] (see paragraph 29) disposed at the first end of the hollow cylinder [21,21] and comprising a light source (see paragraph 29 and Figure 10); a mounting cap [13] disposed at the second end of the hollow cylinder [21,21] (see paragraph 22 and Figures 1 and 2), a charging-discharging port [23] (see paragraph 26 and Figure 3) configured to receive power from an external source to charge the rechargeable battery (see paragraphs 26 and 30); a first circuit [221] (comprising the circuit [221], see paragraph 23 and Figure 3) configured to direct power from the rechargeable battery [22] to the light source (see paragraph 7), the charging-discharging port [23], and a second circuit configured to direct power from the external power source to the rechargeable battery [22] through the charging-discharging port [23] (see paragraph 26); and wherein the handheld flashlight is of such compact size and low weight as to be suitable for single-handed portable operation by a user (see paragraphs 29 and 30; the flashlight is substantially compact and low weight enough to be a portable lighting device for users to utilize the device as a portable lighting device and a window-breaking device, thereby being substantially of such compact size and low weight as to be suitable for single-handed portable operation by a user).
Liu ‘741 dose not explicitly disclose the mounting cap comprises the charging-discharging port. However, Liu ‘741 does disclose the charging-discharging port [23] is aligned with socket hole [214] (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 24 and Figures 2 and 3), the socket hole [214] substantially matches the through hole [12] on the side of the hollow cylinder (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 24 and Figures 1 and 2) and that the mounting cap [13] is substantially mounted on the second end of the hollow cylinder at an end nearest the socket hole [214] and through hole [12] (see Liu ‘741 Figures 1 and 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to form the mounting cap to comprise the charging-discharging port, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting cap to comprise the charging-discharging port. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to access the ports while the cover fixes the rechargeable battery within the hollow cylinder (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 22).
Liu ‘741 does not disclose a connection port configured to deliver power from the rechargeable battery to an external vehicle battery, the first circuit is configured to direct power from the rechargeable battery to the connection port, and the first circuit is further configured to allocate a greater amount of power to the connection port than to the light source.
Xinfang teaches a connection port [46] configured to deliver power from the rechargeable battery to an external vehicle battery (see paragraphs 37 and 38 and Figure 2), and a first circuit (see paragraphs 9, 40, and 45 and Figure 3) configured to direct power from the rechargeable battery [16] to the connection port [46] (see paragraph 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 to include a connection port configured to deliver power from the rechargeable battery to an external vehicle battery and the first circuit is configured to direct power from the rechargeable battery to the connection port, as taught by Xinfang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide multiple functionality to the flashlight (see Xinfang paragraph 56).
Xinfang does not explicitly disclose the first circuit is further configured to allocate a greater amount of power to the connection port than to the light source. However, Xinfang does disclose the power distributed to connection port [46] is elevated to be substantially higher than 13.6V in order to jump start a vehicle (see Xinfang paragraph 35), and that the light source [28] is connected to lighting module [56] including an over-discharge protection circuit [72] to limit power from the battery [16] to be below a threshold to protect the battery module and the light source (see Xinfang paragraph 44). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the handheld flashlight such that power allocated by the first circuit to the connection port is greater than power to the light source in order to protect the battery and light source while providing enough power to jump start a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first circuit of Liu ‘741 and Xinfang to be configured to allocate a greater amount of power to the connection port than to the light source. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the battery and light source while providing enough power to jump start a vehicle (see Xinfang paragraphs 35 and 44).
With regards to Claim 2, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight with charging-discharging port and connection port, as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 dose not explicitly disclose the charging-discharging port is disposed on the mounting cap. However, Liu ‘741 does disclose the charging-discharging port [23] is aligned with socket hole [214] (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 24 and Figures 2 and 3), the socket hole [214] substantially matches the through hole [12] on the side of the hollow cylinder (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 24 and Figures 1 and 2) and that the mounting cap [13] is substantially mounted on the second end of the hollow cylinder at an end nearest the socket hole [214] and through hole [12] (see Liu ‘741 Figures 1 and 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to dispose the charging-discharging port on the mounting cap [13], since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. /n re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the charging-discharging port to be disposed on the mounting cap. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to access the ports while the cover fixes the rechargeable battery within the hollow cylinder (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 22).
Liu ‘741 does not disclose the connection port is disposed on the mounting cap.
Xinfang teaches the connection port [46] is disposed on the mounting cap [18] (see paragraphs 27 and 55 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting cap of Liu ‘741 to include a connection port disposed on the mounting cap as taught by Xinfang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to access the port (see Xinfang paragraph 55).
Liu ‘741 and Xinfang do not explicitly disclose the connection port and the charging- discharging port are disposed adjacent to each other on the mounting cap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to dispose the charging-discharging port on the mounting cap [13], since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. /n re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the charging-discharging port and the connection port to be disposed adjacent to each other on the mounting cap. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to access the ports in a port location while the cover fixes the rechargeable battery within the hollow cylinder (see Liu ‘741 paragraph 22).
With regards to Claim 4, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses a window breaker (comprising the portion projecting from lamp head [14] with wave-like surface, see paragraph 29 and Figure 10) connected to the lamp head [14] (see Figure 10).
With regards to Claim 5, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 4.
Liu ‘741 further discloses the window breaker comprises a punch (see paragraph 29 and Figure 10; the window breaker formed at the distal end of lamp head [14] is substantially a punch) having a raised and wavy edge (see paragraph 29 and Figure 10; the raised and wavy edge of the punch is substantially about the hollow cylinder [21,21]).
With regards to Claim 6, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses the lamp head [14] comprises a lamp base connected to the first end of the hollow cylinder [21,21] (see paragraph 29 and Figure 10).
With regards to Claim 12, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 does not disclose the first circuit is configured to control power distribution such that power delivered to the connection port is increased when the flashlight is connected to a vehicle battery, and reduced when the light source is activated independently.
Xinfang teaches the first circuit (see paragraphs 9, 40, and 45 and Figure 3) is configured to control power distribution when the flashlight is connected to a vehicle battery, and when the light source is activated independently (see paragraphs 39 and 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 to include the first circuit is configured to control power distribution when the flashlight is connected to a vehicle battery, and when the light source is activated independently, as taught by Xinfang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide multiple functionality to the flashlight (see Xinfang paragraph 56).
Xinfang does not explicitly disclose power delivered to the connection port is increased when the flashlight is connected to the vehicle battery, and reduced when the light source is activated independently. However, Xinfang does disclose the power distributed to connection port [46] is elevated to be substantially higher than 13.6V in order to jump start a vehicle (see Xinfang paragraph 35), and that the light source [28] is connected to lighting module [56] including an over-discharge protection circuit [72] to limit power from the battery [16] to be below a threshold to protect the battery module and the light source (see Xinfang paragraph 44). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the handheld flashlight such that power delivered to the connection port is increased when the flashlight is connected to the vehicle battery, and reduced when the light source is activated independently in order to protect the battery and light source while providing enough power to jump start a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first circuit of Liu ‘741 and Xinfang to be configured to control power distribution such that power delivered to the connection port is increased when the flashlight is connected to a vehicle battery, and reduced when the light source is activated independently. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the battery and light source while providing enough power to jump start a vehicle (see Xinfang paragraphs 35 and 44).
With regards to Claim 14, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 does not disclose the connection port is configured to be connected via removable cables to terminals of a vehicle battery.
Xinfang teaches the connection port [46] is configured to be connected via removable cables to terminals of a vehicle battery (see paragraphs 37 and 38 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 to include the connection port is configured to be connected via removable cables to terminals of a vehicle battery, as taught by Xinfang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide multiple functionality to the flashlight (see Xinfang paragraph 56).
With regards to Claim 15, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 does not disclose the first circuit is implemented on a circuit board that controls power output and power distribution.
Xinfang teaches the first circuit is implemented on a circuit board [14] that controls power output and power distribution (see paragraphs 40 and 45).
With regards to Claim 16, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses the second circuit controls charging of the rechargeable battery [2] and powers the light source (see paragraph 26)
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the second circuit is implemented on a circuit board.
Xinfang teaches the second circuit is implemented on a circuit board (see paragraphs 36 and 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second circuit of Liu et al. to be implemented on a circuit board as taught by Xinfang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a substrate for the circuit elements.
With regards to Claim 17, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses the flashlight is configured for single-handed portable operation by a user (see paragraphs 29 and 30; the flashlight is substantially compact and low weight enough to be a portable lighting device for users to utilize the device as a portable lighting device and a window-breaking device, thereby being substantially of such compact size and low weight as to be suitable for single-handed portable operation by a user).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of Popper et al. (US 2013/0063077).
With regards to Claim 3, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Liu ‘741 does not disclose a sealing cap configured to removably cover the charging-discharging port and the connection port.
Popper et al. teaches a sealing cap configured to removably cover the port (see paragraphs 26, 58, and 102 and Figure 7; the examiner notes that the sealing cap of Popper et al. would perform the intended function of removably covering the ports, as a sealing cap for removably covering a port is taught by Popper et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 et al. to include a sealing cap configured to removably cover the ports as taught by Popper et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent moisture or dust from entering the ports while allowing safe use of the ports even in rain, fog, or snow without risk of malfunction and damage to the device (see Popper et al. paragraph 26).
Popper et al. does not explicitly disclose removably covering the charging-discharging port and the connection port. However, Popper et al. does teach covering ports to prevent the intrusion of moisture, dust, and such (see Popper et al. paragraphs 26 and 58). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the sealing cap of Liu ‘741 and Popper et al. to seal multiple plugs including a charging-discharging port and a connection port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 et al. to include a sealing cap for removably covering the charging-discharging port and the connection port. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent moisture or dust from entering the ports while allowing safe use of the ports even in rain, fog, or snow without risk of malfunction and damage to the device (see Popper et al. paragraph 26).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of MacLeod (US 4,325,107).
With regards to Claim 7, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 6.
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose a light-collecting cup and an acrylic translucent lens disposed in sequence from the lamp base.
MacLeod teaches a light-collecting cup [20] and an acrylic translucent lens [16] (see column 2 lines 41-45 and Figure 5) positioned in sequence from the lamp base (comprising at least portions [14,16,20,24,25,28], see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flashlight of Liu ‘741 to include a light-collecting cup and an acrylic translucent lens positioned in sequence from the lamp base, as taught by MacLeod. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reflect light from the light source in a desired direction out of the lamp head.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of Liu (US 2009/0257223; hereafter Liu ‘223).
With regards to Claim 8, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses the hollow cylinder [21,21] includes two pieces of half cylindrical bases [21] (see paragraph 23 and Figure 3).
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the half cylindrical bases are plastic.
Liu ‘223 teaches the hollow cylinder includes two pieces of half cylindrical plastic baes [31,31] (see paragraphs 5 and 14 and Figure 2; the batteries [32] are stored in the hollow portion formed by base pieces [31] and [31], which are plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the half cylindrical bases of Liu ‘741 to be plastic as taught by Liu ‘223. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shape the hollow cylinder by molding.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of Maglica et al. (US 2015/0103517) and Schuloff (US 6,273,586).
With regards to Claim 9, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 further discloses a case [1] outside the hollow cylinder [21,21] (see paragraph 22 and Figure 2).
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the case is a metallic case.
Maglica et al. teaches a metallic case [124] (see paragraph 61 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Liu ‘741 to include a metallic case as taught by Maglica et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to include part of a conductive path of the battery (see Maglica et al. paragraph 61).
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the case having an interference fit outside the hollow cylinder.
Schuloff teaches a case [16] having an interference fit outside the hollow cylinder [24] (see column 3 lines 45-51 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Liu ‘741 to have an interference fit outside the hollow cylinder as taught by Schuloff. One would have been motivated to do so in order to minimize movement of the battery within the case (see Schuloff column 3 lines 49-51).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of Liu (US 2009/0009991; hereafter Liu ‘991).
With regards to Claim 10, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the light source includes an LED light for illumination, a signal light for SOS function, and a flashing light for quick flashing function.
Liu ‘991 teaches the light source includes an LED light (see paragraph 12) for illumination (see paragraph 24; the light source may be kept on to shine in a particular manner with certain brightness, thereby substantially performing an illumination function), a signal light for SOS function (see paragraph 25; the light source may be caused to flash at a frequency of about 1 to 2 Hz substantially performing an SOS signal function), and a flashing light for quick flashing function (see paragraph 25; the light source may be caused to flash at a frequency of about 8Hz, thereby substantially performing a quick flashing function as compared to the signal light for SOS function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Liu ‘741 to include an LED light for illumination, a signal light for SOS function, and a flashing light for quick flashing function, as taught by Liu ‘991. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to change the mode of light emission from the flashlight (see Liu ‘991 paragraph 25).
With regards to Claim 11, Liu ‘741, Xinfang, and Liu ‘991 disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Liu ‘741 does not disclose a button operably connected to the first circuit for controlling one or more light modes, including turning off the light source, an illumination function, the SOS function, or the quick flashing function.
Liu ‘991 teaches a button [41] (see paragraph 22) operably connected to the first circuit for controlling one or more light source functions including turning off the light source, an illumination function, the SOS function, or the quick flashing function (see paragraphs 24 and 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hollow cylinder of Liu ‘741 to include a button operably connected to the management circuit for controlling one or more light source functions including turning off the light source, an illumination function, the SOS function, or the quick flashing function, as taught by Liu ‘991. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to change the mode of light emission from the flashlight (see Liu ‘991 paragraph 25).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2011/0068741; hereafter Liu ‘741) as modified by Xinfang (US 2015/0054336), further in view of Parsons (US 2015/0003050).
With regards to Claim 13, Liu ‘741 and Xinfang disclose the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Liu ‘741 does not explicitly disclose the lamp head and the mounting cap are removably attached to the hollow cylinder.
Parsons et al. teaches the lamp head [18] and the mounting cap [16] are removably attached to the hollow cylinder [12] (see paragraphs 22 and 23 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handheld flashlight of Liu’741 such that the lamp head and the mounting cap are removably attached to the hollow cylinder as taught by Parsons et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for insertion/removal of batteries from the hollow cylinder (see Parsons et al. paragraph 17) and to provide a waterproof seal between the hollow cylinder and light source (see Parsons et al. paragraph 22).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nook et al. (US 2020/0185935; the examiner notes that the scope of Claims 18-20 include subject matter having a priority date of 4/23/2020, being first included in application 16/857022).
With regards to Claim 20, Nook et al. discloses the handheld flashlight as discussed above with regards to Claim 18.
Nook et al. does not explicitly disclose the switch assembly comprises a first electric control switch, a second electric control switch, and a third electric control switch configured to selectively connect the power supply assemblies in different configurations. However, Nook et al. does disclose the switch assembly allows the power supply assemblies to be selectively connected in series or in parallel (see Nook et al. paragraph 453). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to utilize a first, second, and third electric control switch configured to selectively connect the power supply assemblies in different configurations in order to connect the power supply assemblies in series or in parallel configurations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch assembly of Nook et al. to comprise a first electric control switch, a second electric control switch, and a third electric control switch configured to selectively connect the power supply assemblies in different configurations. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow a user to selectively connect the power supply assemblies in series or in parallel (see Nook et al. paragraph 453).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the reference Miller (US 2019/0288531), which discloses a handheld flashlight capable of jump starting a vehicle or charging a portable device and a rechargeable battery capable of being recharged by an external power source, and circuitry for providing different voltages for charging a portable device or jump starting a vehicle.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875