DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 4, claim 3 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 5, claim 4 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 6, claim 5 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 6.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 7, claim 6 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 16, claim 13 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 16.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 17, claim 14 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 17.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,606. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 18, claim 15 of ‘606 teaches all the limitations of instant claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Washisu (US 2006/0226341 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Washisu discloses
A method of controlling an image pickup apparatus that includes an image sensor, the method comprising:
a first determination step of determining whether an optical filter is in a state where the optical filter located at a first position at which the optical filter is inserted into an imaging range of the image sensor or a state where the optical filter doesn't locate at the first position ([0116]; If it is determined whether or not to retract the splitter 103, it has inherently been determined whether the optical filter is retracted or not. In addition, at step #1010 the user selects whether to retract or not retract the splitter 103. If a user selects whether to retract or not that user has also determined that the splitter is retracted or not.);
a second determination step of determining whether or not an in- focus state can be obtained by moving a focus lens while the optical filter is located at the first position (#1005; fig. 28; [0113]; It is determined that the focus is inadequate at step #1005. This occurs based on light passing through the splitter to the image sensor (see [0112]) in step #1003).; and
an exposure control step of performing exposure control in a case where the second determination step determines that the in-focus state cannot be obtained ([0113]; If the in-focus state cannot be obtained, a message indicating that the camera cannot focus is displayed and processing proceeds to step #1006. Exposure is carried out at steps #1009 and #1014 after step #1006.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washisu in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 18, Washisu discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), however, Washisu fails to explicitly disclose that the processing steps of fig. 28 are stored as a program in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this.
Washisu teaches a process for controlling a camera but is silent on how the process is implemented. Implementing a control process for a camera as a program stored in a non-transitory medium is well-known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to substitute the undisclosed means for implementing the process of Washisu with storing the process as a program on a non-transitory medium to achieve the predictable result of improving flexibility in manufacturing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose performing exposure control in a case where the control unit determines, based on defocus map information and optical filter information, that the in-focus state is obtained where the optical filter is not located at the first position but the in-focus state is not obtained in a state where the optical filter is located at the first position.
Regarding claims 9-15, they depend from claim 8 and therefore contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claims 3 and 8).
Conclusion
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 8/8/2026