DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
B.) Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by over Bengt Sorberg (US 5744085 A, hereinafter Sorberg)Regarding claim 1,
An expansion toolhead for an expansion tool, comprising:
a cap operably coupleable to the expansion tool;
a plurality of jaws forming a 360 degree jaw section operably coupled to the cap,
each of the plurality of jaws including an expansion tool interface portion forming a conical recess enabling a cone-shaped wedge of the expansion tool to move the jaw section between an unexpanded position and an expanded position, and
a cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) tubing interface portion having a distal end,
a proximal end and
a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing.
Sorberg teaches the following:
(Col. 2, lines 29 – 39) teaches that (Figs. 1 – 3) illustrate the significant part of a tool which can be used conveniently to expand a pipe-end 1 in conjunction with establishing a pipe connection. The tool includes a casing 2 in which a piston 3 or the like having a pointed front end of polygonal cross-section can be moved reciprocatingly by means of a drive arrangement described below. The front of the casing 2 has a screw-on cover 5 which includes a through-penetrating central opening and a circular groove 6 in which radial parts 7 of jaws 8 are received in a manner which will permit the jaws 8 to move radially but not axially relative to the ring groove 6. Where the screw-on cover 5 provides for and acts as applicant’s cap operably coupleable to the expansion tool
(Col. 2, lines 29 – 39) The front of the casing 2 has a screw-on cover 5 which includes a through-penetrating central opening and a circular groove 6 in which radial parts 7 of jaws 8 are received in a manner which will permit the jaws 8 to move radially but not axially relative to the ring groove 6. Where the jaws 8 in particular the radial parts 7 provide for and act as applicant’s a plurality of jaws forming a 360 degree jaw section operably coupled to the cap.
(Col. 1, lines 14 – 18) teaches that one example in this regard is found in pipes that are manufactured from cross-linked polyolefins, and particularly pipes that are manufactured from cross-linked polyethylene, such as so-called PEX-pipes, which possess an active memory capacity at temperatures as low as room temperature. (Col. 2, lines 50 – 54) teaches that the jaws 8 have outer jaw surfaces 12 which when seen in cross-section at right angles to the axis 11 are at least generally arcuate in shape and lie adjacent one another when the jaws 8 are in their mutually retracted state or position. Where the jaws 8 comprising outer jaw surfaces 12 provide for and act as applicant’s plurality of jaws including an expansion tool interface portion forming a conical recess enabling a cone-shaped wedge of the expansion tool to move the jaw section between an unexpanded position and an expanded position.
As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 2) the jaws 8 comprising outer jaw surfaces 12 have a cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) tubing interface portion having a distal end.
As illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 2) the jaws 8 comprising outer jaw surfaces 12 have a cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) tubing interface portion having a proximal end.
As illustrated in (Fig. 1), and provided within the jaws 8 comprising outer jaw surfaces 12 are shown to have a stepped surface that provides for and acts as applicant’s a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundequist et al. (US 20130140739 A1, hereinafter Lundequist) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20170131903 A, hereinafter Choi)Regarding claim 1,
An expansion toolhead for an expansion tool, comprising:
a cap operably coupleable to the expansion tool;
a plurality of jaws forming a 360 degree jaw section operably coupled to the cap,
each of the plurality of jaws including an expansion tool interface portion forming a conical recess enabling a cone-shaped wedge of the expansion tool to move the jaw section between an unexpanded position and an expanded position, and
a cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) tubing interface portion having a distal end,
a proximal end and
a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing.
Lundequist teaches the following:
([0023]) teaches the cover 7 includes a through-penetrating central opening and a circular groove 8, in which radial parts 9 of segments or jaws 10 are received in a manner which will permit the jaws 10 to move radially but not axially relative to the ring groove 8. Where the cover 7 provides for and acts as applicant’s a cap operably coupleable to the expansion tool.
([0023]) teaches that jaws 10 are received in a manner which will permit the jaws 10 to move radially but not axially relative to the ring groove 8. Where the jaws 10 provides for and acts as applicant’s a plurality of jaws forming a 360-degree jaw section operably coupled to the cap.
& d.) & e.) (Abstract) teaches A pipe end is expanded by an expander tool (1) comprising a plurality of jaws (10), which are radially movable in relation to a center axis between a retracted position and expanded position. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) the jaws 10 are found to provide for a including an expansion tool interface portion forming a conical recess enabling a cone-shaped wedge of the expansion tool to move the jaw section between an unexpanded position and an expanded position and a cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) tubing interface portion having a distal end, a proximal end.
([0026]) teaches the jaws 10 are moved apart and then returned to the retracted position and the tool is then moved further into the now slightly expanded pipe end. The procedure is repeated until the pipe end is in abutment with a step 12 of the jaw 10. The steps 12 in the jaws 10 thus form a stop edge for the pipe. A pipe connecting piece can be inserted into the widened pipe end after removing the jaws 10 therefrom and the pipe end is crimped around said connecting piece.
Regarding Claim 1,. Lundequist is silent on a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing. In analogous art for a portable pipe expanding device, (Abstract), Choi suggests details regarding a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing, and in this regard, Choi teaches the following:
([0044]) teaches that an expansion surface (303) is formed on the outer surface in a multi-stage structure to expand the pipe (P), so that it contracts or expands by spreading out or narrowing with respect to the central axis. ([0048]) adds that The above-mentioned extension member (300) forms an extension surface portion (303) formed with at least two or more multi-stage structures. ([0049]) notes that the above-mentioned extended surface portion (303) is formed with different diameters. As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 5), the expansion surface (303) is provided with a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing pipe end that is expanded by an expander tool (1) comprising a plurality of jaws (10), which are radially movable in relation to a center axis between a retracted position and expanded position, of Lundequist. By modifying the expansion surface to comprise a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing, as taught by Choi. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement comprise a plurality of lands positioned therebetween configured to form a corresponding plurality of substantially uniform diameter portions of the jaw section sequentially increasing in diameter between the distal end and the proximal end for the expansion of multiple different standard sized diameters of PEX tubing as it allows for having an single expansion tool that may provide for expanding pipes to different diameters without changing the expansion tool head, ([0049]). Highlighting, that the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
et al. ( ) – teaches in the (Abstract)
et al. ( ) – teaches in the (Abstract)
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743