Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are encompassed by U.S. Patent No. 12,330,351.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sole" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “between 0.01 and 0.10”, and the claim also recites “in particular between 0.01 and 0.07” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WARDLAW et al. (2014/0223673).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 15, and 20, WARDLAW et al. discloses a method
for manufacturing a cushioning element, the method comprising:
a) providing a mold (620) comprising a mold insert (640-Fig.6);
b) providing particles of an expanded material (610) to the mold insert (Fig.6);
c) fusing surfaces of the particles using an electromagnetic field in the mold insert [0096];
d) wherein the mold insert locally adjusts a field strength of the electromagnetic field inside a molding cavity of the mold, based at least in part on a geometry of the sole,
e) wherein the local adjustment of the field strength inside the molding cavity is at least partially caused by a local variation in dielectric properties of the mold insert,
f) wherein the local adjustment of the field strength inside the molding cavity is at least partially caused by a local variation in the permittivity of the mold insert, and
g) wherein the local variation in permittivity of the mold insert is at least partially caused by a local variation in density of the material of the mold insert (steps d) through g) are inherent; [0096] discloses the current flow may be selectively switched on and off independently from one another in individual parts (230) of the wall of the mold (220), so that different areas of the cushioning element may be influenced with a single mold 220).
Regarding claims 10-11, WARDLAW et al. discloses the particles of an expanded material comprises expanded thermoplastic polyurethane [0057].
Regarding claim 12-13, WARDLAW et al. discloses the functional element (mold insert) comprises a cushioning element and was manufactured by coating randomly arranged particles of an expanded material with a liquid matrix material [0042].
Regarding claim 14, WARDLAW et al. discloses the functional element is porous or perforated [0049].
Conclusion
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742