DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,334,872. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant seeks broader scope of previously patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa, US Pub. No. 2017/0263185, in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), US Pub. No. 2006/0290619.
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa teaches a gamma voltage generation circuit ([0044-0046, figs. 3-4 which teach the gradation voltage generating circuit 60) comprising: a resistor string (fig. 4, resistors 63) a first operational amplifier circuit connected to an uppermost end of the resistor string and configured to output a first voltage corresponding to a highest voltage of the resistor string ([0046-0049, fig. 4 which teaches a plurality of “offset cancelling amplifier 64”, each one being connected between each resistor 63. The resistors 63 are connected in series and form thus de facto a resistor string. The first “offset-canceling amplifier 64”, of said plurality of “offset-canceling amplifier 64” constitutes a “first operational amplifier circuit”), a second operational amplifier circuit connected to a lowest end of the resistor string and configured to output a second voltage corresponding to a lowest voltage of the resistor string ([0046-0049 and fig. 4 which teaches a plurality of “offset-canceling amplifier 64”, each one being connected between each resistor 63. The resistors 63 are connected in series and form thus de facto a resistor string. The last “offset-canceling amplifier 64” of the plurality of “offset-canceling amplifier 64” constitutes “a second operational amplifier circuit.”) and a third operational amplifier circuit connected to a node of the resistor string configured to divide the first voltage and the second voltage to output a third voltage ([0046-0049, fig. 4, teaches a plurality of “offset-canceling amplifier 64”, each one being connected between each resistor 63. The resistors 63 are connected in series and form thus de factor a resistor string. Any one of the “offset-canceling amplifier 64” between the first and last of the “offset-canceling amplifier 64” constitutes a “third operational amplifier circuit”), wherein the third operational amplifier circuit includes a first offset elimination circuit configured to eliminate an offset voltage through charging and discharging of a capacitor ([0049, 0059-0060, figs. 4, 6B which teaches that the “offset-canceling amplifier 64” comprises an offset elimination circuit formed of the switches SW1-SW4 and capacitor 66. The offset voltage is charged across the capacitor 66.), and the first operational amplifier circuit and the second operational amplifier circuit are configured to eliminate an offset voltage ([0049, 0059-0060, fig. 4, 6B which teaches that each of the “offset-canceling amplifier 64” – including the first and last ones comprise an offset elimination circuit formed of the switches SW1-SW4 and capacitor 66).
Nakagawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the first operational amplifier circuit and the second operational amplifier circuit are configured to eliminate an offset voltage in a manner different from that of the third operational amplifier circuit by at least one of an Auto-Zeroing and a chopping method.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a gamma voltage generation circuit wherein the operational amplifier circuits are configured to eliminate an offset voltage by using the chopper method (see [0061-0063], figs. 4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakagawa to include the feature of Lee. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device that applies the most efficient offset compensation technique.
Regarding claim 2, Nakagawa teaches wherein the first offset elimination circuit performs a sampling operation in a first time interval to charge an offset voltage of a first sub-operational amplifier circuit to a first capacitor and performs an offset elimination operation in a second time interval to eliminate the offset voltage of the first sub- operational amplifier circuit based on a voltage stored in the first capacitor ([0059-0060], figs. 6A-6B, teaches the operation of the “offset-canceling amplifier 64”).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Nakagawa teaches wherein the first offset elimination circuit includes: a first sub-operational amplifier; a first switch electrically connected to a first input terminal of the first sub-operational amplifier a first capacitor electrically connected to a second input terminal of the first sub- operational amplifier and storing an offset voltage of the first sub-operational amplifier; a second switch electrically connected to the second input terminal and an output terminal of the first sub-operational amplifier and forming a common node with the first capacitor; a third switch electrically connected to the first switch and the first capacitor and forming a common node with the first switch and the first capacitor; and a fourth switch electrically connected to the output terminal of the first sub-operational amplifier ([0049,0060], fig. 4 teaches the offset canceling amplifier 64 comprising four switches SW1-SW4 and capacitor 66 having the claimed electrical connectivity and which are controlled such as to operate the offset cancelling amplifier according to a sampling period and offset compensation period.
Regarding claims 5-7, Examiner takes official notice that it would have been well known and obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alternate operational amplifier circuit in place of the offset-cancelling amplifier in Nakagawa. It is common knowledge that a variation of the auto-zero method involves using two auto-zero amplifiers mounted in parallel wherein the operation between each amplifier is alternated. The prior art reference to Nakahira et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0098032) is cited as illustration of the common general knowledge (see [0006-0009], fig. 46).
Regarding claims 8-10, Lee teaches wherein the amplifier 500 comprises chopping switches 520 and 530 which are operated so as to periodically exchange the inputs of the amplifier and alternatively connect the output to the amplifier to the inverted and non-inverted input. Implementation of the chopping method to compensate offset in the first and second operational amplifier circuits of Nakagawa would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art according to design needs and specifications.
Regarding claim 11, it is a data driving circuit of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 12, it has similar limitations to those of claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 13, it has similar limitations to those of claim 10 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 14, it has similar limitations to those of claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 15, it has similar limitations to those of claim 8 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 18, it has similar limitations to those of claim 5 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 19, it has similar limitations to those of claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 20, it has similar limitations to those of claim 9 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (hereinafter “Lim”), US Pub. No. 2022/0328012.
Regarding claim 16, Nakagawa and Lee fail to explicitly teach wherein, in the first operational amplifier circuit, an input terminal is connected to a first multiplexer supplied with a voltage, and an output signal supplied from an output terminal is not divided, and in the second operational amplifier circuit, an input terminal is connected to a second multiplexer supplied with a voltage, and an output signal supplied from an output terminal is not divided.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches a gamma block wherein amplifier circuits are connected to multiplexers (see fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Nakagawa and Lee to include the feature of Lim. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption when generating gamma voltages (Lim, [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ahmad et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0236648) teaches a gamma voltage generation circuit including a first, second, and third operational amplifier.
Oh et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0119029) teaches a gamma voltage generation circuit including a plurality of voltage dividing circuits using series-connected resistors and a plurality of multiplexers.
/KENNETH B LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625