DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “to obtain a resin composite structure including the release film and the resin layer” (ln 9-10) and “hot pressing the resin composite structure, the fiber layer and the resin composite structure from top to bottom” (ln 12-13 emphasis added). It is unclear whether “and the resin composite structure” is intended as the same resin composite structure or a second resin composite structure.
Claims 2-6 are rejected as depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US20200376715A1) in view of Chen (TWM465662U).
In reference to claim 1:
Sasaki discloses an impregnation method for a fiber prepreg (“method for producing an FRP precursor, abstract, para 0003), comprising:
providing an impregnation device (Fig. 1) including a film layer separator (Fig. 1 numeral 4), a hot pressing processor (Fig. 1 numeral 6);
providing a resin film (protection-film-attached resin film 50, para 0033, Fig. 1), wherein the resin film comprises a release film (para 0033 disclosing a protection film 52 that is laminated to “both surfaces of resin film 54”), a resin layer located on the release film (resin film 54, para 0033), and a film layer located on the resin layer (protection film 52, para 0033);
separating the film layer and the resin layer of the resin film using the film layer separator of the impregnation device to obtain a resin composite structure including the release film and the resin layer (Fig. 1);
providing a fiber layer (Fig. 2 numeral 40); and
hot pressing the resin composite structure, the fiber layer and the resin composite structure from top to bottom using the hot pressing processor of the impregnation device at a temperature higher than 90° C to obtain the fiber prepreg, wherein the resin layer of the fiber prepreg is in direct contact with the fiber layer (paras 0042, 0054, Fig. 1).
Sasaki does not disclose the hot pressing processor is disposed beneath the film layer separator in a vertical direction, and a thermal barrier disposed between the film layer separator and the hot pressing processor in the vertical direction. However, this would have been obvious in view of Chen. Chen teaches a device for laminating sheet material (pg 1 “Technical-Field”). Chen further teaches utilizing a thermal barrier comprising an insulating material to prevent heat from the hot-roller group from reaching the material feed rollers and prematurely heat the feedstock (pg 2 paragraph 3 and last paragraph continuing on pg 3) wherein a vertical projection onto a horizontal plane of the thermal barrier is coincident and larger than a projection of the hot pressing processor (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Sasaki with the thermal barrier of Chen in order to obtain an apparatus which prevents premature heating of the feedstock.
In reference to claim 2:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Sasaki further discloses wherein during using the hot pressing processor of the impregnation device, the film layer separator of the impregnation device is used simultaneously to separate the film layer and the resin layer of the resin film (Fig. 1 showing resin film 54 as a continuous sheet such that as resin film 54 is pulled through the heating and press-adhering device 6 the film layer separator 4 is also used).
In reference to claim 3:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose when a tack of the resin layer is in a range of from 500 grams to 2,000 grams, a separation angle of the film layer and the resin layer in the film layer separator is adjusted to be in a range of from 18° to 45°. However, the use of the term “when” renders the limitation conditional on the tack being in the range of 500g to 2000g. As such, the claim does not explicitly require the rack and angle combination listed as the claim necessarily includes scenarios where the tack is outside of the range listed.
In reference to claim 4:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose when a tack of the resin layer is lower than 500 grams, a separation angle of the film layer and the resin layer in the film layer separator is adjusted to be lower than 18°. However, the use of the term “when” renders the limitation conditional on the tack being lower than 500g. As such, the claim does not explicitly require the rack and angle combination listed as the claim necessarily includes scenarios where the tack is outside of the range listed.
In reference to claim 5:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose when the tack of the resin layer is from 100 grams 500 grams, a separation angle of the film layer and the resin layer in the film layer separator is adjusted to be in a range of from 13° to 18°. However, the use of the term “when” renders the limitation conditional on the tack being in the range of 100g to 500g. As such, the claim does not explicitly require the rack and angle combination listed as the claim necessarily includes scenarios where the tack is outside of the range listed.
In reference to claim 6:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Sasaki does not explicitly disclose when a tack of the resin layer is greater than 2000 grams, a separation angle of the film layer and the resin layer in the film layer separator is adjusted to be 45°. However, the use of the term “when” renders the limitation conditional on the tack being greater than 2000g. As such, the claim does not explicitly require the rack and angle combination listed as the claim necessarily includes scenarios where the tack is outside of the range listed.
Conclusion
/ANDREW L SWANSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745