DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8-11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0257359 by Klingstrom (“Klingstrom”).
As to claim 1, Klingstrom discloses a method (Klingstrom, eye tracking methods, Figures 3-8, ¶ [0031]) of determining one or more parameters including a center of rotation of an eye of a user (Klingstrom, This type of eye tracking is often referred to as pupil center corneal reflection (PCCR). The PCCR scheme 700 may for example be based on corneal reflections 112 (also called glints) of multiple illuminators 301, and/or images of the eye 100 captured by multiple cameras 302. ¶ [0087])(Klingstrom, PCCR eye tracking typically includes finding out where the eye ball is located in space, and finding out a rotation (or direction) or the eye ball. This is usually done by finding the pupil center 103 and the center of the glint 112. ¶ [0089]), the one or more parameters usable for rendering virtual image content in a display system configured to display the virtual image content in a vision field of the user (Klingstrom, The display 303 may for example be a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or a LED display. However, other types of displays may also be envisaged. The display may 303 may for example be flat or curved. The display 303 may for example be a TV screen, a computer screen, or may be part of a head-mounted device (HMD) such as a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) device. The display 303 may for example be placed in front of one of the user's eyes. In other words, separate displays 303 may be employed for the left and right eyes. Separate eye tracking equipment (such as illuminators 301 and cameras 302) may for example be employed for the left and right eyes. ¶ [0037]), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of images of an eye of the user, the plurality of images captured using a plurality of eye tracking cameras (Klingstrom, The system 300 comprises one or more illuminators 301 for illuminating the eye 100 and one or more cameras 302 for capturing images of the eye 100 while the eye 100 looks at a display 303. Figure 3, ¶ [0033]), the plurality of images comprising a plurality of glints that are formed by plurality of light emitters emitting light that is reflected off of the eye (Klingstrom, FIG. 5 is a flow chart of a scheme for estimating 403 the cornea radius 105 in the method 400 from FIG. 4, according to an embodiment. In the present embodiment, the step 403 of estimating an updated value of the cornea radius 105 comprises: obtaining 501 at least two images of the eye 100 captured by respective cameras 302 when the eye 100 is illuminated by at least two illuminators 301; estimating 502, based on the images, positions of reflections 112 of the illuminators 301 at the cornea 101 of the eye 100; Figures 4 and 5, ¶¶ [0061-0063]); and
obtaining an estimate of the center of rotation of the eye based on the plurality of glints (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]), wherein obtaining the estimate of the center of rotation of the eye comprises:
determining a plurality of estimates of the center of corneal curvature of the eye based on the plurality of glints (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064])(Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]);
generating a three-dimensional surface based at least partly on the plurality of estimates of the center of the corneal curvature (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]); The spherical surface, of Klingstrom, is the three-dimensional surface as claimed.
determining the estimate of the center of rotation of the eye based at least partly on the three-dimensional surface (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]) (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 5, Klingstrom discloses the method wherein generating the three-dimensional surface based at least partly on the plurality of estimates of the center of the corneal curvature comprises fitting a surface to the plurality of estimates of the center of the corneal curvature (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032])(Klingstrom, FIG. 5 is a flow chart of a scheme for estimating 403 the cornea radius 105 in the method 400 from FIG. 4, according to an embodiment. In the present embodiment, the step 403 of estimating an updated value of the cornea radius 105 comprises: obtaining 501 at least two images of the eye 100 captured by respective cameras 302 when the eye 100 is illuminated by at least two illuminators 301; estimating 502, based on the images, positions of reflections 112 of the illuminators 301 at the cornea 101 of the eye 100; estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶¶ [0061-0064]).
As to claim 6, Klingstrom discloses the method wherein generating the three-dimensional surface based at least partly on the plurality of estimates of the center of the corneal curvature comprises fitting a sphere to the plurality of estimates of the center of the corneal curvature (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 8, Klingstrom discloses the method wherein the plurality of images of the eye comprise images associated with different gaze directions of the eye (Klingstrom, The system 300 also comprises processing circuitry 304 configured to estimate where the eye 100 is located and/or where the eye 100 looking. The processing circuitry 304 may for example estimate a gaze direction (or gaze vector) of the eye 100 (corresponding to a direction of the visual axis 107), or a gaze point 111 of the eye 100 at the display 303 (as shown in FIG. 2). ¶ [0033]).
As to claim 9, Klingstrom discloses the method further comprising mapping a cornea of the eye using a gaze target (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 may also be communicatively connected to the display 303, for example for controlling (or triggering) the display 303 to show test stimulus points 305 for calibration of the eye tracking system 300. ¶ [0034]) (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]).
As to claim 10, Klingstrom discloses a display system configured to display virtual image content in a vision field of a user (Klingstrom, The display 303 may for example be a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or a LED display. However, other types of displays may also be envisaged. The display may 303 may for example be flat or curved. The display 303 may for example be a TV screen, a computer screen, or may be part of a head-mounted device (HMD) such as a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) device. The display 303 may for example be placed in front of one of the user's eyes. In other words, separate displays 303 may be employed for the left and right eyes. Separate eye tracking equipment (such as illuminators 301 and cameras 302) may for example be employed for the left and right eyes. ¶ [0037]), the display system comprising:
a head-mountable display configured to project light into an eye of the user to display the virtual image content (Klingstrom, The display 303 may for example be a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or a LED display. However, other types of displays may also be envisaged. The display may 303 may for example be flat or curved. The display 303 may for example be a TV screen, a computer screen, or may be part of a head-mounted device (HMD) such as a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) device. The display 303 may for example be placed in front of one of the user's eyes. In other words, separate displays 303 may be employed for the left and right eyes. Separate eye tracking equipment (such as illuminators 301 and cameras 302) may for example be employed for the left and right eyes. ¶ [0037]);
first and second eye tracking cameras configured to image the eye (Klingstrom, Separate eye tracking equipment (such as illuminators 301 and cameras 302) may for example be employed for the left and right eyes. ¶ [0037]); and
processing electronics in communication with the display and the first and second eye tracking cameras (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 is communicatively connected to the illuminators 301 and the cameras 302, for example via a wired or wireless connection. The processing circuitry 304 may also be communicatively connected to the display 303, for example for controlling (or triggering) the display 303 to show test stimulus points 305 for calibration of the eye tracking system 300. ¶ [0034]), the processing electronics configured to:
receive multiple pairs of captured images of the eye from the first and second eye tracking cameras (Klingstrom, FIG. 5 is a flow chart of a scheme for estimating 403 the cornea radius 105 in the method 400 from FIG. 4, according to an embodiment. In the present embodiment, the step 403 of estimating an updated value of the cornea radius 105 comprises: obtaining 501 at least two images of the eye 100 captured by respective cameras 302 when the eye 100 is illuminated by at least two illuminators 301; Figures 4 and 5, ¶¶ [0061-0062]).;
for each pair of captured images received from the first and second eye tracking cameras, determine an estimate of a center of corneal curvature of the eye based at least in part on the respective pair of captured images (Klingstrom, FIG. 5 is a flow chart of a scheme for estimating 403 the cornea radius 105 in the method 400 from FIG. 4, according to an embodiment. In the present embodiment, the step 403 of estimating an updated value of the cornea radius 105 comprises: obtaining 501 at least two images of the eye 100 captured by respective cameras 302 when the eye 100 is illuminated by at least two illuminators 301; estimating 502, based on the images, positions of reflections 112 of the illuminators 301 at the cornea 101 of the eye 100; estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶¶ [0061-0064]).;
determine a three-dimensional surface based on the estimated centers of corneal curvature of the eye determined based on the multiple pairs of captured images of the eye (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]) (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]); The spherical surface, of Klingstrom, is the three-dimensional surface as claimed.
identify a center of curvature of the three-dimensional surface (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]) (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]). ; and
based at least partly on the center of curvature of the three-dimensional surface, determine an estimate of a center of rotation of the eye (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]) (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 11, Klingstrom discloses the display system wherein generating the three-dimensional surface includes fitting the three-dimensional surface to the estimated centers of corneal curvature of the eye (Klingstrom, estimating 503 an updated value of the cornea radius 105 based on the positions of the reflections 112 at the cornea 101 and positions of the illuminators 301 relative to the cameras 302 by which the images were captured. Figures 4 and 5, ¶ [0064]) (Klingstrom, The cornea 101 is often modeled as a spherical surface with a center of curvature 104 which is simply referred to as the cornea center 104. In such a spherical cornea model, the cornea 101 has a radius of curvature referred to as the radius 105 of the cornea 101 or simply the cornea radius 105. ¶ [0032]).
As to claim 15, Klingstrom discloses the display system wherein the processing electronics is configured to use a render camera to render the virtual image content to be presented to the eye of the user, the render camera having a position determined based at least partly on the estimated center of rotation of the eye (Klingstrom, FIG. 3 is a schematic overview of an eye tracking system 300, according to an embodiment. The system 300 comprises one or more illuminators 301 for illuminating the eye 100 and one or more cameras 302 for capturing images of the eye 100 while the eye 100 looks at a display 303. The system 300 also comprises processing circuitry 304 configured to estimate where the eye 100 is located and/or where the eye 100 looking. The processing circuitry 304 may for example estimate a gaze direction (or gaze vector) of the eye 100 (corresponding to a direction of the visual axis 107), or a gaze point 111 of the eye 100 at the display 303 (as shown in FIG. 2). Figure 3, ¶ [0033]) (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 is communicatively connected to the illuminators 301 and the cameras 302, for example via a wired or wireless connection. The processing circuitry 304 may also be communicatively connected to the display 303, for example for controlling (or triggering) the display 303 to show test stimulus points 305 for calibration of the eye tracking system 300. ¶ [0034]).
As to claim 17, Klingstrom discloses the display system wherein at least a portion of the display is transparent and disposed at a location in front of the eye while the user is wearing the head-mountable display such that the transparent portion transmits light from a portion of the environment in front of the user and the head-mountable display to provide a view of the portion of the environment (Klingstrom, The display 303 may for example be a liquid-crystal display (LCD) or a LED display. However, other types of displays may also be envisaged. The display may 303 may for example be flat or curved. The display 303 may for example be a TV screen, a computer screen, or may be part of a head-mounted device (HMD) such as a virtual reality (VR) or augmented reality (AR) device. The display 303 may for example be placed in front of one of the user's eyes. In other words, separate displays 303 may be employed for the left and right eyes. Separate eye tracking equipment (such as illuminators 301 and cameras 302) may for example be employed for the left and right eyes. ¶ [0037]). The virtual and augmented reality display are transparent in order to place virtual images on the real world environment.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0257359 by Klingstrom (“Klingstrom”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0346495 by Welch et al. (“Welch”).
As to claim 16, Klingstrom does not expressly disclose the display system wherein the display is configured to project light into the eye to display the virtual image content to the vision field of the user at different amounts of at least one of divergence and collimation to cause the displayed virtual image content to appear to originate from different depths at different times.
Welch teaches a virtual and augmented reality system wherein the display is configured to project light into the eye to display the virtual image content to the vision field of the user at different amounts of at least one of divergence and collimation to cause the displayed virtual image content to appear to originate from different depths at different times (Welch, a portion of the desired image, comprising an image of the sky at optical infinity may be injected at time 1 and the diffraction grating retaining collimation of light may be utilized; then an image of a closer tree branch may be injected at time 2 and a DOE configured to create a depth plane 10 meters away may be utilized; then an image of a pen may be injected at time 3 and a DOE configured to create a depth plane 1 meter away may be utilized. This kind of paradigm can be repeated in rapid time sequential fashion such that the eye/brain perceives the input to be all part of the same image, and such that the multiple image planes/slices are perceived almost simultaneously by the user. ¶ [0143]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Klingstrom’s augmented reality display to include Welch’s augmented reality display system because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify Klingstrom to include Welch is expressly provided by Welch, stating that this kind of paradigm can be repeated in rapid time sequential fashion such that the eye/brain perceives the input to be all part of the same image, and such that the multiple image planes/slices are perceived almost simultaneously by the user. (Welch, ¶ [0143]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Klingstrom’s augmented reality display to include Welch’s augmented reality display system with the motivation of presenting images at varied depths. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of providing improved image display to the user.
Thus, Klingstrom, as modified by Welch, teaches the presented images appearing to originate at different depths.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, Klingstrom teaches a gaze vector for the user’s eyes (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 may for example estimate a gaze direction (or gaze vector) of the eye 100 (corresponding to a direction of the visual axis 107), or a gaze point 111 of the eye 100 at the display 303 (as shown in FIG. 2). ¶ [0033]).
Klingstrom does not expressly disclose the method wherein determining the plurality of estimates of the corneal curvature of the user's eye comprises:
determining a first vector directed toward the center of corneal curvature based on the locations of at least a portion of the plurality of light emitters and the location of a first camera of the plurality of eye tracking cameras;
determining a second vector directed toward the center of corneal curvature based on locations of at least a portion of the plurality of light emitters and the location of a second camera of the plurality of eye tracking cameras; and
determining a region of convergence between the first vector and second vector to determine an estimate of the center of corneal curvature of the user's eye.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 3 and 4, these claims are objected to the for the same reasons as claim 2 as they depend upon objected dependent claim 2.
As to claim 7, Klingstrom teaches a gaze vector for the user’s eyes (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 may for example estimate a gaze direction (or gaze vector) of the eye 100 (corresponding to a direction of the visual axis 107), or a gaze point 111 of the eye 100 at the display 303 (as shown in FIG. 2). ¶ [0033]).
Klingstrom does not expressly disclose the method wherein determining the estimate of the center of rotation of the eye comprises:
determining two or more vectors normal to the three-dimensional surface; and
determining a region of convergence of the two or more vectors normal to the three-dimensional surface, wherein the region of convergence comprises the estimate of the center of rotation of the eye.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 12, Klingstrom teaches a gaze vector for the user’s eyes (Klingstrom, The processing circuitry 304 may for example estimate a gaze direction (or gaze vector) of the eye 100 (corresponding to a direction of the visual axis 107), or a gaze point 111 of the eye 100 at the display 303 (as shown in FIG. 2). ¶ [0033]).
Klingstrom does not expressly disclose the display system wherein determining the estimate of the center of corneal curvature of the eye based at least in part on the respective pair of captured images comprises:
determining a first vector along which the center of corneal curvature of the eye is estimated to be located based on a first image received from the first eye tracking camera;
determining a second vector along which the center of corneal curvature of the eye is estimated to be located based on a second image received from the second eye tracking camera, the first and second images included in the respective pair of images; and
determining a region of convergence between paths extending in the directions of the first vector and the second vector to obtain the estimate of a center of corneal curvature of the eye.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to dependent claims 13 and 14, these claims are objected to the for the same reasons as claim 12 as they depend upon objected dependent claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0263007 by Cavin et al. teaches an eye tracking system which captures images of a user’s cornea to determine the radius of the eye’s corneal sphere.
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0017299 by Biedert et al. teaches a gaze tracking based on detecting the glints or reflections on user’s eye to determine the cornea position.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623