DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Achddou et al. (US11741995, hereinafter Achddou).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 20, Achddou discloses a method for content generation, comprising:
in response to a target material being selected for content generation(see Achddou, at least at col 4, lines 12-30, 7, lines 10-25, and other related text), presenting a preview area and an interactive element for the target material (see Achddou, at least at col 10, lines 5-48, and other related text), the preview area comprising a visual content associated with at least a part of the target material (see Achddou, at least at col 10, lines 34-60, and other related text), the interactive element corresponding to a sub-area of the preview area to indicate a selected part of the target material (see Achddou, at least at Figs. 3, and other related text);
receiving an operation on at least one of the preview area or the interactive element (see Achddou, at least at col 12, lines 19-65, Figs. 3, and other related text); and
in response to completion of the operation, determining a target part for content generation in the target material (see Achddou, at least at col 12, lines 19-65, Figs. 3, and other related text).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Achddou discloses wherein the target material comprises a video, and the visual content comprises at least a portion of frames of the video (see Achddou, at least at col 4, line 49 – col 5, line 30, and other related text).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Achddou discloses wherein the target material comprises an audio, and the visual content comprises a waveform corresponding to at least a part of the audio (see Achddou, at least at col 4, line 49 – col 5, line 59, and other related text).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Achddou discloses wherein a position of the interactive element relative to the preview area is specified by a user input (see Achddou, at least at col 12, lines 19-65, Figs. 3, and other related text).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Achddou discloses wherein the operation comprises a sliding operation on the preview area (see Achddou, at least at col 12, lines 19-65, Figs. 3, and other related text), and the method further comprises:
updating, according to the sliding operation, the visual content in the preview area from a first visual content associated with a first part of the target material to a second visual content associated with a second part of the target material, the second part being at least partially different from the first part (see Achddou, at least at col 12, lines 19-65, Figs. 3, and other related text).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Achddou discloses wherein the interactive element comprises a first positioning control and a second positioning control indicating a start and an end of the selected part, respectively, and the operation comprises a moving operation on at least one of the first positioning control or the second positioning control (see Achddou, at least at col 13, lines 7-51, and other related text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achddou (previously cited), as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Langmacher et al. (US20100281380, hereinafter Langmacher).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Achddou does not specifically disclose presenting a play control for the target material; and
in response to that a trigger on the play control is detected, playing the selected part of the target material.
Iaaa relating to a system for previewing video, Langmacher discloses presenting a play control for the target material (see Langmacher, at least at [0096], and other related text); and
in response to that a trigger on the play control is detected, playing the selected part of the target material (see Langmacher, at least at [0096], and other related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of the system of Achddou to include the limitations as taught by Langmacher for the advantage of providing a more robust video previewing interface.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achddou (previously cited), as applied to claims 7 and 18 above, and further in view of Wehrman et al. (US20220374139, hereinafter Wehrman).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Achddou does not specifically disclose wherein a visual content in a sub-area corresponding to the interactive element has a display pattern different from that of a visual content outside the sub- area, and the method further comprises: updating, according to a moving track indicated by the moving operation, the display pattern of the visual content in a sub-area corresponding to the moving track in the preview area.
In an analogous art relating to a system for video previewing, Wehrman discloses a visual content in a sub-area corresponding to an interactive element has a display pattern different from that of a visual content outside the sub-area (see Wehrman, at least at Fig. 8 and related text), and updating, according to a moving track indicated by a moving operation, the display pattern of the visual content in a sub-area corresponding to the moving track in the preview area (see Wehrman, at least at Fig. 8 and related text).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of the system of Achddou to include the limitations as taught by Wehrman for the advantage of providing a more robust video previewing interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lin (US20140029915), Zhou (US20210004604).
/CHENEA DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421