DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hastings in view of Welch (US 1635518).
For claim 1, Hastings discloses topwater floating lure (description and figs.) comprising:
a body having a density to float on water (Col. 1, line 38, rubber, in the year 1895 the only rubber in existence was natural rubber which floats) and being compressible to have a resting configuration and a compressed configuration in response to a fish bite (Col. 1, lines 24-26, Col. 2, lines 80-84), the body having at least one channel (a’) defined in an outer surface thereof (see fig. 2, Col. 2, lines 64-80);
at least one fishhook (b) connected to the body (connect via staple C, see figs. and Col. 2, lines 75-80) and cooperating with a corresponding one of the at least one channel (see figs. see Col. 2, lines 64-80), the fishhook comprising a shank, a bend and a point (see hook B) where a hook gap is defined between the point and the shank (see hook B); and
wherein the hook gap is occupied by part of the body in the resting position (see fig. 1 and 2), and the shank is aligned with the corresponding channel (see figs.) and is displaced therein when the body moves to the compressed configuration to increase hook gap exposure (hook B will be in the channel when under compression, see Col. 2, lines 80-85, compression leaves the hook free to engage the fish, i.e. the body is pushed down on the channel).
If for any reason applicant disagrees that Hastings teaches a floating lure having a density to float on water, then Welch teaches a top water floating lure (description and figs.) having a density to float on water (Page 1, Col. 2, lines 60-85, rubber lure being of a buoyant material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the lure of Hastings buoyant, as taught by the lure of Welch, in order to portray a frog swimming through the water (see Welch, Col. 2, lines 80-85 “its construction will cause the rear portion to settle down when at rest into the oblique position of a resting frog”).
For claim 2, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the body is hollow and comprises a wall that defines an inner cavity (Col. 2, lines 55-60).
For claim 3, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the wall is composed of a flexible material (Col. 2, lines 80-85).
For claim 5, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the wall is configured such that opposed sides of the wall are capable of touching each other in the compressed configuration (with enough given force the lure can be compressed in this manner).
For claim 6, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses the body has a front, a rear, a top and a bottom (see figs.); the at least one channel is located along a portion of the rear and the bottom (see figs. 1-2, channel at rear and on bottom); and the at least one fishhook is arranged so that the bend is located proximate to the rear and the point is located proximate to the top when the body is in the resting configuration (see figs. 1-2).
For claim 7, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein, in the compressed configuration, a portion of the bend also displaces with respect to the at least one channel to move within a part of the at least one channel (hook B will be in the channel when under compression, see Col. 2, lines 80-85).
For claim 8, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the at least one channel is sized and configured to receive all of the shank therein (see figs.).
For claim 9, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the at least one channel is sized and configured to have a depth that is greater than a diameter of the shank (see figs.).
For claim 11, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the at least one channel extends an entire length of the body (see figs.).
For claim 19, Hastings discloses a topwater floating body for use in a lure (figs. and description), wherein the topwater floating body has a density to float on water (Col. 1, line 38, rubber, in the year 1895 the only rubber in existence was natural rubber which floats) and is compressible to have a resting configuration and a compressed configuration in response to a fish bite (Col. 1, lines 24-26, Col. 2, lines 80-84), the body comprising at least one channel (a’) defined in an outer surface thereof for receiving at least a portion a shank of a fishhook in the compressed configuration, such that the portion of the shank moves into the channel when the body is moved from the resting configuration to the compressed configuration (see figs., hook B will be in the channel when under compression, see Col. 2, lines 80-85, compression leaves the hook free to engage the fish, i.e. the body is pushed down on the channel).
If for any reason applicant disagrees that Hastings teaches a floating lure having a density to float on water, then Welch teaches a top water floating lure (description and figs.) having a density to float on water (Page 1, Col. 2, lines 60-85, rubber lure being of a buoyant material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the lure of Hastings buoyant, as taught by the lure of Welch, in order to portray a frog swimming through the water (see Welch, Col. 2, lines 80-85 “its construction will cause the rear portion to settle down when at rest into the oblique position of a resting frog”).
For claim 20, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses a wherein the topwater floating body is hollow and comprises a wall that defines an inner cavity (Col. 2, lines 55-60).
For claim 21, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the wall is composed of a flexible material (Col. 2, lines 80-85).
For claim 23, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the wall is configured such that opposed sides of the wall are capable of touching each other in the compressed configuration (with enough given force the lure can be compressed in this manner).
For claim 24, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the topwater floating body has a front, a rear, a top and a bottom (see figs.); and the at least one channel is located along the rear and the bottom (see figs., channel a’).
For claim 26, Hastings or modified Hastings further discloses wherein the at least one channel extends an entire length of the topwater floating body (a’, see figs.).
Claim(s) 16, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings in view of Olson (US 2651877).
For claim 16, Hastings teaches a lure (figs. and description) comprising:
a body that is compressible to have a resting configuration and a compressed configuration in response to a fish bite (Col. 1, lines 24-26, Col. 2, lines 80-85);
at least one fishhook (B) connected to the body, the fishhook comprising a shank, a bend and a point (see figs.) where a hook gap is defined between the point and the shank (see figs.), wherein the hook gap is occupied by part of the body in the resting position (see figs. 1-2); and
a hook gap exposer configured to increase hook gap exposure when the body moves to the compressed configuration (see figs. channel a’ and compression, hook B will be in the channel when under compression, see Col. 2, lines 80-85, compression leaves the hook free to engage the fish, i.e. the body is pushed down on the channel).
Hastings is silent about wherein the hook gap exposer is configured to enable the shank of the fishhook to move from a spaced-away position in the resting configuration to an adjacent position when the body is in the compressed configuration.
Olson teaches a lure including a body having a fish hook connected thereto (see figs.) the hook including a shank, a bend, and a point (see hook 15) wherein a hook gap is defined between the point and the shank (see figs.) and wherein the hook gap is occupied by part of the body in a the resting position (see fig. 2 for instance), a hook gap exposer configured to increase hook gap exposure when the body moves to the compressed configuration, wherein the hook gap exposer is configured to enable the shank of the fishhook to move from a spaced-away position in the resting configuration to an adjacent position when the body is in the compressed configuration (see fig. 2, shank of 15 spaced away from a bottom channel and movable thereto in the compressed configuration, Col. 2, lines 43-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a spacing between the shank of the Hastings and the body, as taught by the hook spacing of Olson, in order to provide for movement of the barb and sufficient uncovering thereof to ensure proper embedding into the fish’s mouth (Col. 2, lines 43-55 of Olson).
For claim 17, modified Hastings further discloses wherein the hook gap exposer comprises a channel (a’) provided in the body to receive a corresponding one of the at least one fishhook in the compressed configuration (Col. 2, lines 80-85).
For claim 18, modified Hastings further discloses wherein the hook gap exposer is configured to reduce upward pressure of the fishhook on the body in the compressed position (see figs. channel a’ and compression, hook B will be in the channel when under compression, see Col. 2, lines 80-85, compression leaves the hook free to engage the fish, i.e. the body is pushed down on the channel).
Claim(s) 10, 15, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings or Hastings as modified by Welch.
For claims 10 and 25, Hastings or modified Hastings is silent about wherein a length of the at least one channel is between 0.25 and 1 inch; and a depth of the at least one channel is between 0.125 and 0.5 inch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the length of Hastings or modified Hastings between 0.25 and 1 inch; and depth between 0.125 and 0.5 inch, in order to effectively accommodate the hook and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claims 15 and 28, Hastings or modified Hastings is silent about wherein the at least one channel is configured such that the hook gap exposure is at least 60%, or such that the hook gap exposure in the compressed configuration is between 60 -80%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the hook gap exposure of Hastings or modified Hastings at least 60% or between 60-80%, in order to effective pierce and engage the mouth of the fish and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4, 12-14, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hastings or Hastings as modified by Welch, in view of Hancock (US 10888073).
For claims 4 and 22, Hastings or modified Hastings is silent about wherein the wall is composed of plastisol, PVE, PVC or silicone.
Hancock teaches a fishing lure made of PVC (Col. 2, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the fishing lure of Hastings or modified Hastings from PVC as taught by Hancock, in order to provide a cheap and effective material for making the lure.
For claims 12-14, 27, Hastings or modified Hastings is silent about wherein the at least one fishhook includes two points and the at least one channel includes two channels.
wherein the two channels are arranged in parallel relation to each other.
wherein each point of the at least one fishhook is pointing forward and outside from the body, one pointing on each side of the body.
Hancock teaches a fishing lure (abstract and figs.) with at least one fish hook (14) that includes two points (38, fig. 3, Col. 2, lines 8-9) and at least two channels (40, fig. 3, Col. 3, lines 5-7) arranged in parallel relation to each other (see fig. 3) wherein each point of the at least one fishhook is pointing forward and outside from the body, one pointing on each side of the body (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to make the fishing lure of Hastings or modified Hastings include a double hook and double parallel channels, as taught by the double hook arrangement of Hancock, in order to better secure the fish which is caught.
Furthermore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate the hook points and channels, to better secure fish and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Hastings fails to teach Claim 1, “the shank is aligned with the corresponding channel and is displaced therein when the body moves to the compressed configuration to increase hook gap exposure” or claim 19, “such that the portion of the shank moves into the channel when the body is moved from the resting configuration to the compressed configuration”.
This is not found persuasive because these limitations do not establish that the hook shank must be spaced apart from the channel at any point in time. For claim 1, the shank is aligned with the channel in Hastings in all configurations and it is displaced any time a fish bites down on the hook, i.e. a fish will move the bait around displacing all parts of the fishing hook. Notably in that configuration the shank is located within the channel. Similarly in claim 19, fish bite will cause movement of the shank in the channel. Additionally, it must be noted that functional limitations only require the ability to perform. Hastings teaches a staple at C but the remainder of the shank is not secured and will be movable within the channel at least to some degree. Absent the specific limitation of purposeful spaced away position, Hasting teaches the limitations as claimed. Furthermore, the office notes that the space away limitations are taught by Olson as detailed in claim 16 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642