DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALIVERTI; BRENT D. et al. US 20170330600 A1 (hereafter Aliverti) and in further view of NIYOGI; Somrat et al. US 20130312049 A1 (hereafter Niyogi) and in further view of Genen; Lawrence US 20090018898 A1 (hereafter Genen).
Regarding claim 1, “a method comprising: at a first electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices: while the first electronic device is in communication with a second electronic device that is currently playing first content, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface that includes: in accordance with a determination that the first content includes a first sub-content item at a current playback position of the first content: a representation of the first sub-content item; and a first selectable option that is selectable to add the first sub-content item to a library of a user of the first electronic device; and in accordance with a determination that the first content includes a second sub-content item, different from the first sub-content item, at the current playback position of the first content: a representation of the second sub-content item; and a second selectable option that is selectable to add the second sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device” Aliverti teaches a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content as disclosed in ¶22-23 and 31-38 and corresponds to a first and second sub-content; see also para 41 disclosing input devices; see also para 10, 23-24 corresponds to a representation of the sub-content items available for adding to purchase, download, or rental using element 245 for addition to a list component or may also or instead facilitate an immediate acquisition of the current audio track 242; see also para 27-28 corresponds to storing content added to purchase and rental history associated with a library of content; see also para 22-24, 41, 59 for position in time with respect to video content where the subcontent/extrinsic data appears; see also ¶15-21 - extrinsic data generation service 118 may generate a collection of extrinsic data to be sent to the client 106 along with initial portions of the video feature; extrinsic data items may include names or descriptions of performers in the video content features 139, biographies or filmographies of the performers, commentary, trivia, mistakes, user comments, images, and/or other data. The extrinsic data items may include curated data; extrinsic data library 130 may include cast member data 142, scene data 145, quote data 148, soundtrack data 151, product data 154, and/or other data ¶31-38 teaches a first and second electronic device 106.
Whereas Aliverti does not use the same reference the terms “second selectable option”, based on the teachings of Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3.
In an analogous art, Genen teaches a motivation for utilizing two separate electronic devices for playing first content and for presenting subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aliverti comprising a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content for enabling the consumption of subcontent by a viewer to a storage library of the viewer because Niyogi teaches a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon on a second device as suggested by Genen.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein: playing the first content includes the second electronic device displaying visual content included in the first content via a second display generation component in communication with the second electronic device, and the first sub-content item is audio content included in the first content” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Aliverti teaches extrinsic data are songs presented in the video content (para 10, 23-24 corresponds to a representation of the sub-content items available for adding to purchase, download, or rental using element 245 for addition to a list component or may also or instead facilitate an immediate acquisition of the current audio track 242; see also para 27-28 corresponds to storing content added to purchase and rental history associated with a library of content; see also para 22-24, 41, 59 for position in time with respect to video content where the subcontent/extrinsic data appears; see also ¶15-21); see also Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the first user interface is a user interface of a remote control application on the first electronic device, wherein the remote control application is for controlling the second electronic device from the first electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Aliverti teaches para 41 wherein user interface is utilized as a remote control. See also Genen para 29-32, 35-36, 39, 41, 48-50,90.
Regarding claim 4, “further comprising: before displaying the first user interface, and while displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface of the remote control application, different from the first user interface, wherein the second user interface includes one or more control elements for controlling the second electronic device, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input including selection of a first selectable option in the second user interface; and in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, the first user interface” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-3 wherein Genen ¶ 59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88 and Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45 enabling a viewer to select an interface for selecting a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the current playback position in the first content is a first playback position, the first user interface includes the representation of the first sub-content item and the first selectable option that is selectable to add the first sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device, and the first sub-content item is a content item of a first type, the method further comprising: after the current playback position of the first content progresses away from the first playback position to a second playback position, different from the first playback position: in accordance with a determination that the first content item includes no sub-content item of the first type at the second playback position, displaying, via the display generation component, the first user interface, wherein the first user interface does not include a representation of a sub-content item, and does not include a selectable option that is selectable to add a sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-4 wherein Aliverti teaches a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content as disclosed in ¶22-23 and 31-38 and corresponds to a first and second sub-content; and wherein Aliverti does not reference the terms “second selectable option”, based on the teachings of Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen teaches utilizing two separate electronic devices for playing first content and for presenting a plurality of subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the current playback position in the first content is a first playback position, the first user interface includes the representation of the first sub-content item and the first selectable option that is selectable to add the first sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device, the method further comprising: after the current playback position of the first content progresses away from the first playback position to a second playback position, different from the first playback position: in accordance with a determination that the first content includes a third sub-content item at the second playback position of the first content, and does not include the first sub-content item at the second playback position of the first content, displaying, via the display generation component, the first user interface, including: a representation of the third sub-content item; and a third selectable option that is selectable to add the third sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device, wherein the first user interface does not include the representation of the first sub-content item and the first selectable option that is selectable to add the first sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-5 wherein Aliverti teaches a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content as disclosed in ¶22-23 and 31-38 and corresponds to a first and second sub-content; and wherein Aliverti does not reference the terms “second selectable option”, based on the teachings of Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen teaches utilizing two separate electronic devices for playing first content and for presenting a plurality of subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 7, “further comprising: in accordance with the determination that the first content includes the first sub-content item at the current playback position of the first content: in accordance with a determination that the first content includes a first actor at the current playback position of the first content, displaying, in the first user interface, a representation of the first actor, including information about the first actor; and in accordance with a determination that the first content does not include the first actor at the current playback position of the first content, forgoing displaying, in the first user interface, the representation of the first actor and the information about the first actor” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-6 wherein Aliverti teaches a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content as disclosed in ¶22-23 and 31-38 and corresponds to a first and second sub-content; ¶15-21 - extrinsic data generation service 118 may generate a collection of extrinsic data to be sent to the client 106 along with initial portions of the video feature; extrinsic data items may include names or descriptions of performers in the video content features 139, biographies or filmographies of the performers, commentary, trivia, mistakes, user comments, images, and/or other data. The extrinsic data items may include curated data; extrinsic data library 130 may include cast member data 142, scene data 145, quote data 148, soundtrack data 151, product data 154, and/or other data ¶31-38 teaches a first and second electronic device 106. Wherein Aliverti does not reference the terms “second selectable option”, based on the teachings of Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen teaches utilizing two separate electronic devices for playing first content and for presenting a plurality of subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 8, “further comprising: while displaying the first user interface including the representation of the first sub-content item, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the representation of the first sub-content item; and in response to receiving the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface of a content application, wherein the second user interface corresponds to the first sub-content item” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-7 wherein Aliverti teaches para 41 wherein user interface is utilized as a remote control for displaying interface as claimed. See also Genen para 29-32, 35-36, 39, 41, 48-50,90. See also Genen ¶ 59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88 and Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45 enabling a viewer to select an interface for selecting a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 9, “wherein the current playback position in the first content is a first playback position, and the first user interface includes the representation of the first sub-content item and the first selectable option that is selectable to add the first sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device, the method further comprising: after the current playback position of the first content progresses away from the first playback position and while the second electronic device is playing second content, different from the first content, displaying, via the display generation component, the first user interface that includes: in accordance with a determination that the second content includes a third sub-content item at a current playback position of the second content: a representation of the third sub-content item; and a third selectable option that is selectable to add the third sub-content item to the library of the user of the first electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-8 wherein Aliverti teaches a first and second device for displaying video content on a second device and a first device for displaying a plurality of subcontent comprising a plurality of extrinsic data at particular points in the video content as disclosed in ¶22-23 and 31-38 and corresponds to a first and second sub-content; and wherein Aliverti does not reference the terms “second selectable option”, based on the teachings of Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen teaches utilizing two separate electronic devices for playing first content and for presenting a plurality of subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 10, “wherein the first user interface further includes a third selectable option that is selectable to display information about the first content playing on the second electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-9 wherein Aliverti teaches extrinsic data are songs presented in the video content (para 10, 23-24 corresponds to a representation of the sub-content items available for adding to purchase, download, or rental using element 245 for addition to a list component or may also or instead facilitate an immediate acquisition of the current audio track 242; see also para 27-28 corresponds to storing content added to purchase and rental history associated with a library of content; see also para 22-24, 41, 59 for position in time with respect to video content where the subcontent/extrinsic data appears; see also ¶15-21); see also Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45, a plurality of scenes in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3. See also Genen subcontent made available for consumption to be stored in a library associated with a user (59-65, 67, 71-73, 83-85, 88).
Regarding claim 11, “wherein the first user interface further includes a third selectable option that is selectable to display representations of one or more content items that are in a content queue including the first content, wherein the content queue is associated with the second electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-10 wherein Niyogi Fig. 3 and para 40-45 disclose a plurality of scenes identified in the user interface in the corresponding television show (displayed on the first display screen) in which one or more songs is being played comprises an icon for adding the content for purchase or download by selecting an icon in element 326 of Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 12, “wherein playback of the first content at the second electronic device is maintained in response to input directed to the first user interface at the first electronic device” is further rejected as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-11 wherein Aliverti para 33 teaches user interfaces may be dynamically updated as the video content feature 139 progresses in the foreground or in the background.
Regarding the device claim 13 and the non-transitory computer readable media claim 14, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 1-12 because the steps of the method claims are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-12 and because the steps of the method are easily converted into elements of computer implemented devices and programs by one of ordinary skill in the art.
CONCLUSION
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421